Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Imperial Palace (Hofburg)

The House of Habsburg was one of the most important royal dynasties in Europe and ruled Austria for six centuries. Through prudent marriages they managed to also gain Spain, Hungary, parts of France and many other lands. They built many fine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 160 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rebecca R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I bought this for my brother and his wife to start their visit in Innsbruck. They have raved about it. The pictures are incredible. A great introduction to such a beautiful place. The dinner was wonderful and they can't say enough about the delicious tort.

Doing what: Innsbruck Combo: Innsbruck Card, Traditional Café and Austrian Dinner

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great way to learn about old Vienna, the first district. Our guide was very knowledgable walking us bast all of the sights. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vienna First District Walking Tour

Darrington B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Well worth a visit for a day trip to Vienna from Prague. Get to see the palace and explore its many rooms with audio tape to listen to the information. Also you have free time at the end to explore and get something to eat and use the opportunity wisely and take couple pictures. Definitely value for money.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

Teresa T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The tour is great but the ride to Vienna is long which doesn't leave a lot of free time.
Allison , tour guide was great !!!

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

Christina C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

The worst tour I have ever taken due to the tour guide who clearly hates Americans! I thought I lucked out when only one other person came on the tour. I thought it would be more personable. This was not the case I wished 20 other people came along! It seemed every question I asked insulted the tour guide. She was so defensive and hated me from the very start. For instance, when we were talking about Prague - Me: Have you seen tourism in Prague go up in the last 10-20 years?, Tour guide: We have always had high tourism. You Americans just never caught on. She took a liking to the girl from Shanghai, though. So, she only talked to her the whole time. Too bad I got stuck with a nasty tour guide. I really wanted to enjoy Vienna, it being my first time there, and it being quite expensive. This tour guide needs to be fired, or give tours to anyone, but Americans.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

judy c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Vienna tour was amazing-both the excellent driver and knowledgeable guide made sure our small group of 4 were engaged and comfortable all during the trip.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

wapatterson3

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

a good trip. We saw the county side and the highlights of the city. Driver was knowledgeable and entertaining

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our Family of Four took the 3 hour afternoon bike tour with Kaspar. This was the perfect way to see the city, and we got to see many things, we would have otherwise missed, like the hotel with all the nuclear discussions in the news. Kaspar loves Vienna and his enthusiasm is infectious. Everyone enjoyed the exercise of cycling, not too challenging physically. Kaspar gave the perfect amount of historical information and stopping at the sights interspersed with the cycling. We loved the experience, and will ask for Kaspar, when we visit Austria again. Highly Recommended.

Doing what: Vienna Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus Highlights Bike Tour

Loren W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour guide was excellent. The day was rainy and cold yet the tour guide made the best of it and did her very best to make sure that everyone enjoyed the experience despite the obstacles

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

JOCELYN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was excellent and our drivers were wonderful. One of the people on the tour did not bring her passport, so she was driven back to her hotel to collect it. The tour was very informative and had a relaxed atmosphere - we didn't feel pressured by time.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

khan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Alice was good and knowledgable.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

Ed D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Long van ride from Prague 4 hours. The driver was very accommodating and stopped 3 times each way for breaks. Once in Vienna we drove around and got oriented with the major sites of the city. Then we had 3 hours free time to explore on our own.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

Dixon R. Arevalo United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Viator in Prague through the local tour operator was not good as it was mainly a bus tour going over the same blocks over and over and driving by places quickly. There were no photo stops which is one of the reasons that I travel so much - for the photography. The hotels in Prague, Vienna and Budapest were adequate and the central location was good. The city tour guide in Vienna was better. The train rides were all very good and easy to access. The city tour in Budapest was the worst. To begin with it was supposed to start at 10:40 am and be a 3.5 hour tour which is poor planning since it was over the lunch hour. The taxi picked us up at our hotel and dropped us at another hotel to be picked up for the tour by bus. The bus never came. Anna substituted for the guide and tried to accommodate us, but she did not have a bus with loud speaker to hear her explanation. We had only one photo stop which did not include the Palace district. On being dropped at the Parliament bldg, hungry and frustrated we complained to Anna who arranged a private tour for us back to the Palace district etc. She was accommodating, but the morning was extremely frustrating. VIATOR dropped the ball with this one.

Doing what: 6-Night Independent Rail Experience: Prague, Vienna and Budapest with City Sightseeing Tours

Lauren E K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The bus travel time is not the 3 hours as advertised. It took almost 5 each way leaving us very little time to see anything. We spent most of the day and evening on the bus. Guide did a nice job.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

ChemDevil USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a very long and busy day, but the tour guide and driver were fantastic. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

Dan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent tour Walter is a great guide very knowledgable with good sense of humor we covered so much but only scratched the surface this tour is must see in if you are visiting Vienna highly recommended

Doing what: Vienna Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus Highlights Bike Tour

Lucy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a great way to see Vienna in one day! Yes the tour is long, but you are travelling a long way and it was great to see a new city. Our tour guide Alice was fabulous keeping us up to date with facts throughout the day! If uou have the time go!

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

Natalie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great guide. Very nice to use the bike in the city!

Doing what: Vienna Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus Highlights Bike Tour

michael d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

If you want to get to know vienna these tours are the business both guides were good and you get a real understanding of vienna and it's history

Doing what: Vienna Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus Highlights Bike Tour

Adam S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was great. Our tour guide was Nathalie and she was wonderful. The weather was unbearably hot though so we skipped the afternoon bike portion.

Doing what: Vienna Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus Highlights Bike Tour

Moustafa G United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The ticket agent did not understand our package so we did not get a ticket for Hofburg Palace. Dinner was great. The concert was combination of symphony, opera and ballet is a class act. Highly recommended

Doing what: Empress Sisi Sightseeing Combo in Vienna Including Schonbrunn Palace, Hofburg Palace, Dinner and Orangery Concert

Kathryn S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

If I could give this rating 0 stars, I would.

Unfortunately I did not get to experience the trip. My booking experience was awful. I SUCCESSFULLY booked a trip on Saturday, my card was charged...I called the number for transportation in the morning and was informed that, We do not have any trips planned to Vienna today. Now you tell me why I could book for that day when travel was not an option. Awful, AWFUL customer/user interface and experience.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

Lesley U

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

This tour was sadly disappointing.
First and foremost, the tour was over booked and therefore one of the tour guides sat on the floor in the isle of the bus practically on top of my fiancé. The driver of the bus was not familiar with how to operate the air conditioner, and as a result the entire trip to Vienna was extremely hot eventually he was able to turn on the individual seat air dispensers, but they only blew hot air. Over ten hours were spent on the buss and approximately only 4 hours were spent exploring Vienna. The WORST part of the entire trip is when our tour guide instructed us to buy the imperial pass once at the palace only to find out that we had 20 minutes to participate in the tour, and the facility refused to give us the audio or book tour so we essence paid 50 to run through a palace. DO NOT RECOMMEND

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

Geoffrey S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

Took 5 hours to get to Vienna, should have taken 3.5 hours. Bus driver was a smoker and stopped often for mini excursions really to smoke. We had a total of 2 hours in Vienna with no map or real opportunity to see anything of significance. This was supposed to be a guided tour, but our driver/tour guide dropped us off and left. Basically, this was a windshield tour of Vienna, do not go on this trip, you will regret it! The tour company Bohemia Travel knew 16 people had booked and ended up splitting up couples...we had to stop after an hour to move people around in the buses. Waste of time, do not book!

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

Mike P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome, enthusiastic guide with good information on some great stops. I especially enjoyed our ride along the Danube River bike trail....an unexpected bonus!

Doing what: Vienna Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus Highlights Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message