Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Imperial Palace (Hofburg)

The House of Habsburg was one of the most important royal dynasties in Europe and ruled Austria for six centuries. Through prudent marriages they managed to also gain Spain, Hungary, parts of France and many other lands. They built many fine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 123 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Vienna was absolutely beautiful. It's a very long day and there is not enough time to see everything there, but if you don't have the time to spend a whole day or two here then this tour is definitely worth taking. Everyone was so friendly and the buildings are stunning, you get 2 hours on your own time which is great, the food was delicious. I would love to come back here for longer.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was very good , we liked it a lot and we saw all we had to see , the biking part was very interesting , the walking part could have been a bit more interesting though. We saw all the old part and the new part of the city, super recommendable the biking part completely above expectations .

Doing what: Vienna Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus Highlights Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Mr Walter was our Guide for both the Vienna City Walking and Bike Tour. He was such a wonderful guide with juicy explanation of the areas we visited and he has a loud and clear vocal.

The weather during the time of our visit was quite hot, thus the walking tour of two and half hours is quite long, however, if its during Spring time, the timing would be nice.

The bike tour to the suburban district was an eye opener. we visited areas like the very antique amusement park new housing area, the very unique university, the lovely Hundertwasser and many others wonderful sights.

This is the first time that we have joined a biking tour, and will definitely join another for our further tours.

Doing what: Vienna Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus Highlights Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

ilsrwy8
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Small group. Fun guide. The tour lets you to see at lease major sites in Vienna.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I did this tour in May 2015. The Walking Tour was about 4 hours long. We walked around many parts of the city, our guide explaining us the history of the place, along with tons of snippets. We covered much more than the main city attractions, including some spots which otherwise as a tourist we'd never know/visit. For ex. the wine cellar, which was underground and was huge inside. The tour ended up at Stephansplace which is a big touristy square bustling with shops, restaurants, etc. We had an hour before the bike tour, so this was a perfect place to grab lunch.

The bike was in the second half of the day. Our guide Walter was an energetic, loud and quite entertaining. Having walked for 4 hours earlier, it felt good riding around town. The bikes were comfortable with bins at the rear of the bike to put your backpacks while riding. We rode through an amusement park, which had the oldest Ferris Wheel, then through a large city park, along the Danube canal, to the Hofburg Palace, to the public quarters apartments, then to Mozart, Beethoven's house, the Parliament, etc. The list was endless and we ended up riding for over 4 hours. It felt we'd seen every street of Vienna.

The best part was that there was very little overlap of places between the walking tour and biking tour. Else it would've been redundant and boring. The walking tour was ok but the biking was a lot of fun. We must have covered thrice the distance compared to the walk. The weather was beautiful and Vienna by bike is simply amazing. By the end of the day we were quite tired but it was total value for the entire day's time. Highly recommend the biking tour !! In one day what we covered by walk and bike, individually would've taken us 3-4 days for sure. Value for time and money, must do !!!

Doing what: Vienna Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus Highlights Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Prague is wonderful though we had rain during our guided tour. Tour guide was busy with 2 languages and I think it was a second best arrangement. Hotel Axa is good, clean and tidy. Staff are very helpful. Breakfast is wonderful.

Doing what: 6-Night Independent Rail Experience: Prague, Vienna and Budapest with City Sightseeing Tours

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Nice tour. We enjoyed the bike tour more than the walking tour, but both tours gave us a good intro to the city.

Doing what: Vienna Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus Highlights Bike Tour

noora.abbas
United Arab Emirates

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The places we visited were beautiful and very interesting. The issue we faced that our tour guide Mr. Edward was very rude, not responsive and not friendly at all. He showed an attitude of an arrogant and unsatissfied person. He walked and talked very quickly and did not respond to our questions. He also commented to some of our comments with sarcasm and bad behavior. Did not expect that a tour guide can be this rude! He made our experience on this tour the worst nightmare.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The tour was a complete disappointment, primarily due to the tour guide. HIs name is Edward. Not only was he not friendly, he was darn out rude! He was not reception to taking questions. I have taken many good tours from Viator but this one was the worst!!!

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

I would like the bus tour to Salzburg to be much more informational. The tour guide's comments were minimal.

Doing what: Vienna Super Saver: Salzburg Day Trip plus Vienna City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

This was a long day and I'd have to say, save your money and opt to spend a few days in Vienna rather than doing this tour. We didn't get back until after 11:00 having left at 9:00 that morning and most of the time is spent driving there and back.
There were only three of us on this tour and we travelled in a van which was comfortable enough although there was no lunch break scheduled. We were able to stop for coffee and get a pastry but were told we couldn't eat or drink in the van. But no rush!
Vienna was seen from the window of a moving vehicle and if you want to get a picture you'd better have it ready to shoot because otherwise you won't get anything.
The audio tour of the palace was okay although if given a choice there would have been other sites I would rather see but, of course, the time is limited.
Honestly, if you want to see Vienna, spend a few days there and explore a bit. Go to the opera, visit Mozart's house whatever. This to me was just an uncomfortable experience in a day that was too long to see next to nothing in a beautiful city. I'd do it differently next time that's for sure.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

I thought that the fee to enter the casel was included in the package but I was told in Viana that it was not,big disappointment.the fee to visit it was euro 11.please explain thanks. sidhu

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

I booked a Viator tour before and was happy with it, but this was terrible! I attempted to email the tour operator at the address provided through my confirmation email to set up my pick-up location. Two days later, no response. It was only when I replied to Viators email to inform the tour operator of my pick up location the day prior that I was able to communicate with the tour operator as they stated that they never received my previous email. My pickup was 10min late. The actual tour was a waste of time as we only spent a total of 3hrs and 15mins actually walking around Vienna. It takes about 4hrs each way to drive to Vienna from Prague less coming home since the tour guide drove very fast, weaving in and out of traffic. We made a 15min coffee/bathroom stop at a gas station on the way to Vienna and continued on. The advertised See Vienna's top attractions, such as Schwarzenberg Square, the State Opera, Schönbrunn Castle, Ringstrasse and more was disappointing because most of this was done in the van with minimal commentary from the guide. We did get off at Schönbrunn Castle but were limited to only 1:15hrs to explore on our own so you had to choose between walking in the garden or going inside the castle for an additional 11EUR fee. Then it was back on the van for 30mins looking for parking. We hurried to follow the guide for a 10min walk to the square where the guide made some commentary only after reaching the square, handed out maps, and followed him to St. Stephens Cathedral. There was NO tour of St. Stephens Cathedral. The guide only provided a short background on the cathedral outside, pointed out directions to Mozarts home and the Socher cake shop, and left us 2hrs to explore the area on our own. Worst of all was the inappropriateness of the tour guide. Throughout the tour, he made numerous sexual comments or jokes. I am appalled that Viator continues to partner with this company!

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

only problem was that during one of the individual walk arounds, we came back to the van and it reeked of liquor. The driver/guide had been drinking all afternoon. This was disconcerting as we had a 4 hour drive ahead of us. Otherwise it was a smooth process to get the trip and pick up was on time.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was a long day but well worth the trip if staying a long time in Prague. The journey wasn't as picturesque as I had imagined.
Vienna is beautiful and it was interesting to see the differences between the two cities.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Even though I'd been here before it was worth the long drive from Prague. Very good guide, who recommended an excellent schnitzel restaurant for dinner. Pleased we had time to tour Schonbrunn as well as explore independently.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

it was very cold, but the trip was very nice and informative. I think I would have liked more information on the way to Vienna, although I was so tired that I slept a good portion of the trip. We visited interesting sites and god good answers from the tour guide. it is a good experience, worth doing

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Our tour guide was very informative.
As there were few people, we were put in a small bus which definitely detracted from the experience.
The driver was a total maniac. On the last leg I watched with total incredulity as the speedometer went up to 165km per hour. It had been snowing and the roads were treacherous and we had so many near misses that we were relieved to get back to the hotel alive.
We didn't see the Schonbrunn palace and generally there were a lot of complaints from members of the group about the change of itinerary. The guide was very pleasant though and cheerful and inspirational.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great trip.Peter(tour driver) and Alice(tour guide) are excellent.I believe the trip is nice,short and sweet.CAn get a taste of Vienna.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The long drive to and from Vienna was comfortable because we had a nice bus in which to travel. The one stop on the way to Vienna was much appreciated. Nice drive around Vienna upon arrival; saw lots of beautiful buildings. Walked to the castle and stayed there for more than an hour. The castle grounds were very pretty, even in November, and the Christmas markets were set up in the courtyard. The free time we had after the castle visit was adequate for the things we chose to do. Our guide, Peter, was good, but set a fast (for me) pace for walking. This was a really good tour, in my opinion, and a good chance to visit Vienna, however briefly. If you have the time, it is worth the trip.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message