• USD ($)
  • English
Melk stands at the western end of the Wachau Valley wine-producing region in Lower Austria, accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. It is a small town on the south side of the Danube River with a Baroque center and is an ideal base from which to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 172 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely mind blowing trip which everyone visiting Vienna should not miss. It is the best opportunity for those looking to view the Austrian countryside with visit to Krems, Melk and Danube.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very enjoyable trip. The boat ride on the Danube was excellent, and the tour of Melk was very interesting. Pickup and transport were efficient.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Nice trip. Scenery breathtaking. Cruise was nice.
The trip to Melk was the highlight. It is absolutely gorgeous and serene. The abbey tour is a must.
Lunch at the restaurant was delicious. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This is the genuine Danube tour to Melk that is worth the experience.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A beautiful day trip from Vienna! We enjoyed the scenic cruise from Spitz to Melk. The abbey tour was interesting, and we appreciated the unguided time to spend in the marvelous church. A nice, no-hassle way to enjoy this area.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Wonderful trip through the Austrian countryside, beautiful Danube boat trip to Melk. The tour of the Benedictine Abbey was spectacular. What a great day.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour. Melk was amazing.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Very pleasurable trip from Vienna to Melk. The place is magnificent. The only thing is that we didn't hava the time we expected to explore Melk. The place they took us to have lunch was wonderful.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The tour was well done. The guide did an excellent job and the river cruise and tour of Stift Melk was outstanding. I was very pleased with the trip and it was worth the money.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had a wonderful time on this tour...Fabulous itinerary and our tour guide Stelios was awesome. He took special interest in showing us so many different places and is a great tour guide. We've always taken viator tour all over Europe and always been more than satisfied. We definitely recommend this tour to anyone going to Vienna, Austria. It's a great mix of seeing the breathtaking Wachau Valley for wine tours, visit to the quaint town of Durnstein, lunch in a beautiful outdoor setting , relaxing cruise on the Danube river and visit to the amazing Melk Abbey.

Varanasi Family. California, USA

Doing what: Private Tour: Wachau Valley Tour and Wine Tastings from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Very well organized tour. Excellent English speaking guide. Just the right amount of time planned for the tour. Great lunch at the Melk Abby. An absolute must for anyone traveling to Vienna.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent trip - even in the rain for some of the time! All ran very efficiently and the scenery was fantastic in the Wachau valley. Had a lovely lunch in the café at Melk and the tour of the monastery was hugely interesting and informative. Well worth the emoney

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was a wonderful, relaxing way to spend the day exploring outside of Vienna. Stelios was a marvelous guide and very accommodating to the different interests and abilities within the group. I went with my mother and aunt and we all enjoyed the other very friendly people in our van. This tour is a good combination of sight seeing from the boat, wine tasting, and experiencing a couple of the charming villages along the way. We had a mix of two wineries featuring white wines and also stopped in a nice shop for some apricot schnapps and chocolate. For lunch we sat outside and each chose a simple but tasty plate of cheeses, meats and bread and it was very reasonably priced. We got to Melk and could see the Abbey, but didn't have an opportunity for a close up look or a walk around the town. I am not sure it it was because they were cleaning up after the recent flood or if it is just not part of the tour. Either way, we had a great day and thank Stelios for making it such a memorable experience.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent introducion to Vienna's valley. Tour guide was very knowledgable. Boat trip was great and Melk Abbey was amazing. Finding the tour guide/bus at the bus station was a challenge and could be improved upon.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a very good tour, both relaxing and interesting. The valley is a beautiful location, and the cruise allows you to see this in a comfortable way. Lunch is not provided but the restaurant outside Melk Abbey provides very nice and good value food, served by friendly and efficient staff. The highlight however has to be the tour of the Abbey, especially the library and the church.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message