Melk stands at the western end of the Wachau Valley wine-producing region in Lower Austria, accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. It is a small town on the south side of the Danube River with a Baroque center and is an ideal base from which to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 246 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was amazing. Melk city is a gorgeous city. I'll do this tour again

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Probably the best tour we did in our 10 day trip. You should definitely take the time to do this. Again the guide made it very enjoyable. This was handled through Vienna Explorer. The group was small we had 7 people. The mini van was very comfortable. The trip to Melk was an hour long and enjoyed seeing the monastary. Then off to tast wine. Again our guide was very informed and the vineyards he chose were quite tasty. We got to see the countryside and stopped in the little town of Durnstein.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a thoroughly enjoyable and well-thought out tour. The guide was particularly impressive with his ability to speak in 5 major languages. There was just the right amount of bus travel and stops. The tour guide explained everything clearly and made the history of what we were exploring very interesting. The highlight of course was the monastery of Melk and we all enjoyed the time we spent there. I went during the winter so we had the lunch option (in a restaurant) instead of the Danube tour. I would have preferred the tour company planning something else since the restaurant did not go to the greatest of efforts and I felt that what they served was a blight on Austrian cuisine.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

very nice break from walking everywhere, scenery in the country very beautiful and the Richard the Lionheart visit something I've always anted to do.
Melk Abbey deserves it's World Hertitage Site Status, good guide here.
I would recomend this trip

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was absolutely wonderful, we were blessed whit great autumn weather, real Indian summer. The scenery, Danube cruise, picturesque little towns, vineyards and at the end of the tour the magnificent Melk's Abbey, real gem!
It was well organised but we did not care for our guide, very boring and lacking "people skills ".
I would positively recommend this tour

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed the trip to Melk. The Monastery was beautiful, and the boat trip was great. I was under the impression that we traveled to Melk completely on the boat and was surprised when we were loaded onto a bus, but once we got past that, we had a great time.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very well organised.Boat trip was just right length and Melk was beautiful.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Krishan S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic tour - the cruise on the Danube was really relaxing. Melk is really quite stunning and the tour was wonderful. There was also some free time allocated for lunch, which I actually used as an opportunity to take some photos.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The valley is very beautiful and the boat cruise was amazing and so relaxing. The melk abbey was beautiful and very interesting. The views are to die for.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Even though our voucher was checked by lady at hotel pick up, again by lady when disembarking at bus station to join tour and again by tour guide when getting on coach we had been directed to by 2nd lady, as coach was heading down expressway, we had an inkling we were on wrong tour. Guide had very heavily accented English so werent sure. however, what could he have done, no head count was undertaken so we enjoyed a tour to Melk and the Abbey. This was worth 5 stars. Make sure you are on right coach!

Doing what: Vienna Woods and Mayerling Half Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was fantastic! The boat ride down the Danube river was so relaxing and, over all, a wonderful experience. The Melk Abbey was magnificent.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful trip, excellent tour guide, Melk was awesome as was boat ride.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Abby in Melk was wonderful, everything it was written to be. The boat ride on the Danube was relaxing and had some beautiful sights.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a beautiful and relaxing day on the Danube from start to finish. We were picked up at our hotel and taken by bus to the beautiful Wachau Valley where we boarded the riverboat. We were lucky with perfect weather. We were given ample time for lunch at the Melk Abbey and given an excellent tour with knowledgable guides. My 81 yr old mother and I loved our trip and highly recommend it to anyone looking to get a peak at the scenery outside of Vienna.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It's all about the guide...Stelios was extremely nice, made the little group of 7 feel good, and we had a wonderful day...Durnstein is gorgeous, wine tastings were enjoyable, boat ride to Melk abbey was a delight.

Really a must if you have time...and some money cause it's a rather expensive one.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great day on this trip. Our tour guide, Hans was very personable and knowledgeable. Would recommend this day trip. The tour of Melk definitely worth seeing.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The river cruise was soooo beautiful! The tour of the abbey Melk was also beautiful. The lunch spot was also beautiful! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We decided to board the coach at its starting point at the bus station instead of being picked up at our hotel as there were 3 of us and we wanted to make sure we were seated together. Just as well we did because a minibus picked up the hotel passengers for three separate tours and delivered them to the almost full coaches where they had to make do with whatever remaining seats were available.
The trip was very enjoyable, starting with a drive through the very pretty little wine villages where everyone seemed to have vines in their back gardens. The Danube boat trip was lovely and very picturesque. We arrived at Melk Abbey at lunchtime and, as we only wanted a light snack, were very pleased with the €5 cheese plate which consisted of four or five different cheeses, apple, grapes, the most delicious fig preserve and two different kinds of bread.
After lunch there was a tour of the Abbey and museum which we didn't take because my elderly father is not able to walk very far. Our guide had said we would be able to go slowly at our own pace but clearly we were expected to stay together with the rest of the group so we stayed outside and enjoyed the pleasant gardens instead.
One thing that should be mentioned is that there are some very steep steps from the coach park down to and, more importantly back up from, the abbey. My father found these difficult to manage, and several much younger folk arrived back at the coach puffing and panting!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was so well organised and our leader Tommy was so professional and a fantastic guide. We travelled in a first-class double decker coach, then transferred onto a wonderful cruise boat on the Danube to Melk. The young tour guide at Melk Abbey, Nicolina, was brilliant. This tour was the same price as the Bratislava tour and this tour was 100 times better.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything was wonderful except I did not enjoy hearing the tour guide on the bus describing what we were looking at or what was coming up on either side of the bus, in four different languages. By the time he got to English, we had already passed it. When I had signed up for the Day Trip, it had asked in what language, I had specified English. This was just for the tour of Melk in the monastery and not for the bus ride back and forth, which I now realize. I probably took 200 pictures of Melk and the surrounding area. LOVED IT!!!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

For those with limited time or anyone visiting Vienna, this day tour of the Danube Valley by bus and then by boat up the Danube River was a wonderful experience. I particularly liked being picked up from my hotel. The commentary while on the bus and the guided tour of the Melk Abbey was very good as well. There was plenty of free time to look around, buy souvenirs and have lunch. Good value for money tour.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful way to tour the Danube Valley and the Abbey. We had a short and informative bus ride thru the country side to the town of Spiz where we picked up the boat. Very nice boat with clothed tables, generous food and bar menu and a wonderful and attentive staff. Top deck was more casual but still top notch. The ride was perfect for us. We saw castles, churches and little towns. When we docked at Melk off to lunch on our dime at the Abbey then a tour of the beautiful Abbey. After the tour it was back to Vienna. The tour was well organized and very comfortable....

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I absolutely loved this tour Fabulous scenery , pleasant company .Melk Abbey should definitely be on everyone's must see list. MARILYN Australia

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lovely relaxing trip on the Danube by boat to Melk Abbey. The Abbey is very lovely but quite busy with lots of tourists.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Beautiful day and a very relaxing day away from bsuy Vienna. The wine tasting was very nice and the scenery awesome. Sailing on Danube River was a lovely way to break the day from driving. Only thing that could be improved would be to have time to see Stift Melk.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message