Melk stands at the western end of the Wachau Valley wine-producing region in Lower Austria, accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. It is a small town on the south side of the Danube River with a Baroque center and is an ideal base from which to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 319 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Johnray E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The river cruise to Melk Abbey is worth the ticket. So many things to enjoy on the river, and then the incredible Abbey itself is priceless. We had toured many major attractions through Europe, and this ranks with any of them. worth the time and the money

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Joyce F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a tour worth taking. The tour leader was very friendly and very informative. Melk monastery is stunning and you could enjoy beautiful scenery all the way.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A wonderful day. The boat ride was relaxing and inspiring. Melk is a joy to visit. The abbey is fascinating and the guided tour is very informative. A great all-around experience.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Gina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a terrific guide, Stylianos, for this tour. He was extremely knowledgeable, informative, and friendly yet not at all intrusive. Wine tasting was well planned---all arranged, no waiting---and included some great selections. Plenty of time to relax while tasting in a beautiful setting. Lunch was excellent as well, and the Melk Abbey visit was incomparable. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Shouryadeep S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very well organized. Melk is amazing!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Gary F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip! The experience was everything as advertised and more. Motor coach picked us up at our hotel. Fantastic views especially through the wine country. The abbey at Melk is one of a kind very memorable. The riverboat ride up the Danube is special. We definitely recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

IVEYK1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A fantastic day though the weather was bad. The river cruise was incredible and Melk Abbey was a gem.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

kbandrs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The bus ride, the boat ride on the Danube and the Abbey at Melk were excellent. Our eyes lit up when we saw the Garlic crème soupone of our favs on the boat menu, wunderbar. The abbey is beautiful.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Judy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very good tour as the place itself was really good. Melk town is really nice. It is a must go if in vienna.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Madalina I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful day trip from Vienna! The bus leaves at 10 am after it collects all the passengers and returns around 6 pm. The boat ride was 1.5 hours and we were able to eat on the boat. It's a very large boat restaurant with a top open deck. The top deck gets full very quickly. If you are a non smoker, I would suggest you stay inside, otherwise there is a strong smell of cigarette smoke on the deck. Everybody smokes there. That was one of the annoying parts of our entire trip.
Also, make sure you order water and ice instead of just water, or you will pay 2 euros for a small glass water bottle that you can't even carry with you for refil, because they don't leave you the lid....
The Melk Abbey was beautiful, our guide was very knowledgeable, although difficult to understand at times.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a spectacular tour and one of the highlights of our Austria trip. We were originally scheduled to take the tour a day earlier, but when the weather forecast for that day was less than desirable, we called 24 hours prior to re-schedule. Much to our delight, Viator accommodated us. On the day of the tour, we were picked up in a timely manner at a Vienna hotel near our rented apartment. After a one-hour bus ride with an informative and helpful guide, we boarded a boat for the Danube Valley cruise. What can I say? Being able to soak up the beauty of the Danube Valley during the 1.5-hour ride was worth the cost of the trip alone. Then came Melk Abbey. An absolutely stunning place inside and out. In the end, a great day filled with beauty. We would do this tour again in a heartbeat and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Ian D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very entertaining and informative guide. Pleasant trip on Danube and impressive visit to Melk Abbey - the large library is a must see.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Not to be missed. Great tour of the Melk Abbey and the Wachau Valley via the Danube

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

CARLOS G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a wonderful easy day trip from Vienna. The bus ride is very informative and the boat trip is scenic and lovely. Drinks and snacks are available on the boat. The Abbey is impressive and the grounds and panoramic views of Melk are breathtaking. I highly recommend this tour. Note of caution: the bus leaves from the actual bus terminal, NOT from a Viator office. Walk toward the end of the terminal to locate your particular tour guide and group identified by a sign indicating destination/language.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Ivan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a very relaxing way to visit the Danube at the outskirts of Vienna. It's an hour away by bus. During that time, our guide had something to say about everything along the way. Most of the information was quite interesting and made us visit other places at a later time. The tour ends at Melk Abbey. Although the Abbey is smaller than the palaces around Vienna, it's history and charming location make it a great place to visit. I wouldn't recommend this if you only have one or two days in Vienna, as there is much to see at the city, but if you are there for a little while longer, it's definitively worth it, as this is one of the most beautiful landscapes you will see around here.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

switzerj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The boat ride was enjoyable and Melk Abbey was beautiful. We had a beautiful sunny day to enjoy it

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Carmen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took the trip to Danube valley from Vienna to Melk where we visited the Abbey. Everything was really good. On the ship though you just have to have patience when the waitress come to your table to take the order. If you go at the bar to buy a beer you end up waiting a longer time as the waitress orders have priority.
The view on The Danube valley is superb.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Alparslan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

highly reccomend this tour.Even just to see Melk Abbey,plus beautifull landscape is bonus during the trip.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Nan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved the Melk Abbey tour. River cruise was nice. However we find them a bit long. We took this tour for the Abbey visit and were not disappointed. Eat lunch in Melk at the first café upon your bus arrival. Skip lunch on the boat unless you want a snack versus a nice lunch.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

MARISOL L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very well organized. The cruise on the Danube was relaxing and the scenery spectacular. The highlight of the trip however is the visit to the Melk Abbey and church. Wow! Highly recommend this tour because it blends in cultural / artistic touring with nature!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

cindylr42

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We visited Austria for 9 days in July so we had time to take this tour. Great way to experience the Danube, country side, and Melk Abbey.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Very well organized. The boat trip offers some of the most beautiful scenery along Danube. The Melk Abbey is great as well. We had a very good tour guide. It was a fantastic experience. Highly recommend it to everyone who visits Austria.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Irene D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Took a bus ride, and part way, boarded a boat for the river cruise. Lovely scenery, Melk Abbey is beautiful. The trip through the wine region was very scenic and beautiful, even on an overcast day.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

thorsonp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a highlight of our Vienna trip! Our guide, Mario, was very personable and companionable. An asset to Viator, for sure. He shared much good information, but also left space for questions and quiet time. Winery tour was great, informative and just the right length. Lunch, I believe was in Spitz, was shaded and delish. The river boat was full of people, but the views were just what we hoped. To finish at Melk took our breath away, it was so beautiful and amazing! We would all highly recommend both Mario and this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Wachau Valley Tour and Wine Tastings from Vienna

Arthur S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was worth the money and a great day out if on limited time. The Melk Abbey was my highlight. The cruise portion was very good and interesting but little commentary contrary to what they said.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message