Melk stands at the western end of the Wachau Valley wine-producing region in Lower Austria, accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. It is a small town on the south side of the Danube River with a Baroque center and is an ideal base from which to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 340 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sharon p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Superb trip down the blue danube to the Melk Abbey. The weather was perfect. Our guide George was funny and entertained us along the way. The view of the abbey amd the journey to the abbey were breathtaking.Im so glad i took this trip. Highlight of my holiday in vienna....

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

patriciarodrigueznas ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great experience. The cruise was very enjoyable and Melk abbey is a jewel.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Robin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour with a guide who was passionate about wine and the region. The tour varies the wineries and lunch locations depending on opening days/times. The wines at all locations were excellent, lunch options were superb, and beautiful vistas plentiful. Note- if you are interested in staying to see Melk Abbey it is possible to do so and catch a train back to Vienna, but you will be a little pressed for enough time to see the whole abbey due to closing times.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

MARK H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

really nice trip well worth taking , a coach from vienna to spitz then a great trip along the Danube to melk by boat worth it alone , then on to the abbey half an hour to look round the little village and the gardens next to the abbey are really special the view from the back and the wooded area are worth checking out ,then into the abbey we were met by our tour guide Bettina first rate guide we went on a 50min tour of the various rooms courtyards etc well versed and witty polite etc, the abbey is stunning worth the trip alone ,then back on the coach all the way back to vienna ,do yourself a favour take this trip....

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Rachel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent day trip! The Mercedes mini-van was comfortable and the scenery was lovely. Mario was a superb driver.

Mario was extremely well informed and kept our small group interested. He also kept us warm on a cold and windy day! Mario ensured our group got on very well and had many laughs.

The Abbey in Melk was glorious! Wine tastings were generous and very well explained. We also tasted apricot brandies and apricot chocolates - very nice.

We really couldn't improve on this tour. It was outstanding!!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Jackie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was one of the highlights of our trip. It was amazing to see the Valley and Melk Abby outside of Vienna. Our tour guide, Stelios was so nice and knowledgable. He did a fantastic job and was made it a lovely experience. Stelio took us to amazing vineyard for lunch where the proprietors made all the cheeses and meats there on the farm/vineyard. I would highly recommend this tour if you are visiting Vienna.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Douglas M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is a must for people visiting Vienna. Unfortunately we arrived before the river boats were operating but the trip by bus was most emjoyable and the visit to Melk Abbey was fantastic and a must visit for tourists.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Johnray E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The river cruise to Melk Abbey is worth the ticket. So many things to enjoy on the river, and then the incredible Abbey itself is priceless. We had toured many major attractions through Europe, and this ranks with any of them. worth the time and the money

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Joyce F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a tour worth taking. The tour leader was very friendly and very informative. Melk monastery is stunning and you could enjoy beautiful scenery all the way.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A wonderful day. The boat ride was relaxing and inspiring. Melk is a joy to visit. The abbey is fascinating and the guided tour is very informative. A great all-around experience.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Gina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a terrific guide, Stylianos, for this tour. He was extremely knowledgeable, informative, and friendly yet not at all intrusive. Wine tasting was well planned---all arranged, no waiting---and included some great selections. Plenty of time to relax while tasting in a beautiful setting. Lunch was excellent as well, and the Melk Abbey visit was incomparable. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Shouryadeep S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very well organized. Melk is amazing!

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Gary F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip! The experience was everything as advertised and more. Motor coach picked us up at our hotel. Fantastic views especially through the wine country. The abbey at Melk is one of a kind very memorable. The riverboat ride up the Danube is special. We definitely recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

IVEYK1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A fantastic day though the weather was bad. The river cruise was incredible and Melk Abbey was a gem.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

kbandrs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The bus ride, the boat ride on the Danube and the Abbey at Melk were excellent. Our eyes lit up when we saw the Garlic crème soupone of our favs on the boat menu, wunderbar. The abbey is beautiful.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Judy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very good tour as the place itself was really good. Melk town is really nice. It is a must go if in vienna.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Madalina I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful day trip from Vienna! The bus leaves at 10 am after it collects all the passengers and returns around 6 pm. The boat ride was 1.5 hours and we were able to eat on the boat. It's a very large boat restaurant with a top open deck. The top deck gets full very quickly. If you are a non smoker, I would suggest you stay inside, otherwise there is a strong smell of cigarette smoke on the deck. Everybody smokes there. That was one of the annoying parts of our entire trip.
Also, make sure you order water and ice instead of just water, or you will pay 2 euros for a small glass water bottle that you can't even carry with you for refil, because they don't leave you the lid....
The Melk Abbey was beautiful, our guide was very knowledgeable, although difficult to understand at times.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a spectacular tour and one of the highlights of our Austria trip. We were originally scheduled to take the tour a day earlier, but when the weather forecast for that day was less than desirable, we called 24 hours prior to re-schedule. Much to our delight, Viator accommodated us. On the day of the tour, we were picked up in a timely manner at a Vienna hotel near our rented apartment. After a one-hour bus ride with an informative and helpful guide, we boarded a boat for the Danube Valley cruise. What can I say? Being able to soak up the beauty of the Danube Valley during the 1.5-hour ride was worth the cost of the trip alone. Then came Melk Abbey. An absolutely stunning place inside and out. In the end, a great day filled with beauty. We would do this tour again in a heartbeat and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Ian D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very entertaining and informative guide. Pleasant trip on Danube and impressive visit to Melk Abbey - the large library is a must see.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Not to be missed. Great tour of the Melk Abbey and the Wachau Valley via the Danube

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

CARLOS G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a wonderful easy day trip from Vienna. The bus ride is very informative and the boat trip is scenic and lovely. Drinks and snacks are available on the boat. The Abbey is impressive and the grounds and panoramic views of Melk are breathtaking. I highly recommend this tour. Note of caution: the bus leaves from the actual bus terminal, NOT from a Viator office. Walk toward the end of the terminal to locate your particular tour guide and group identified by a sign indicating destination/language.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Ivan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a very relaxing way to visit the Danube at the outskirts of Vienna. It's an hour away by bus. During that time, our guide had something to say about everything along the way. Most of the information was quite interesting and made us visit other places at a later time. The tour ends at Melk Abbey. Although the Abbey is smaller than the palaces around Vienna, it's history and charming location make it a great place to visit. I wouldn't recommend this if you only have one or two days in Vienna, as there is much to see at the city, but if you are there for a little while longer, it's definitively worth it, as this is one of the most beautiful landscapes you will see around here.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

switzerj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The boat ride was enjoyable and Melk Abbey was beautiful. We had a beautiful sunny day to enjoy it

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Carmen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took the trip to Danube valley from Vienna to Melk where we visited the Abbey. Everything was really good. On the ship though you just have to have patience when the waitress come to your table to take the order. If you go at the bar to buy a beer you end up waiting a longer time as the waitress orders have priority.
The view on The Danube valley is superb.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Alparslan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

highly reccomend this tour.Even just to see Melk Abbey,plus beautifull landscape is bonus during the trip.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message