Melk stands at the western end of the Wachau Valley wine-producing region in Lower Austria, accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. It is a small town on the south side of the Danube River with a Baroque center and is an ideal base from which to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 265 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a highlight of our Vienna trip! Our guide, Mario, was very personable and companionable. An asset to Viator, for sure. He shared much good information, but also left space for questions and quiet time. Winery tour was great, informative and just the right length. Lunch, I believe was in Spitz, was shaded and delish. The river boat was full of people, but the views were just what we hoped. To finish at Melk took our breath away, it was so beautiful and amazing! We would all highly recommend both Mario and this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Wachau Valley Tour and Wine Tastings from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was worth the money and a great day out if on limited time. The Melk Abbey was my highlight. The cruise portion was very good and interesting but little commentary contrary to what they said.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was very efficient and interesting. Tour guide was excellent.Melk Abbey is amazing.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed the boat tour and the Melk Abbey is amazing.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and very well organized! Complimentary pick-up from hotel was great, driver then dropped us off at the central meeting point for our bus, each bus port is marked with the specific tour easy to find, our tour guide was very well organized and informative, and the boat ride to Melk Abbey was lovely...as was our tour of Melk Abbey and the BEAUTIFUL gardens!!! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is awesome each time I do it! The boat ride on the Danube alone is worth it but the town of Melk and the Abbey are spectacular too.

I had the same guide, Tommy, on both tours October 2013 and May 2015. He is fluent in English, Spanish, French and German, and is quite impressive. In fact, at the main bus terminal, he was helping most of the customers figure out which bus to get on.

The tour guide for the Abbey this time was great!! She was funny, animated and very engaged with the tour group. The views of the town from the Abbey were great in the Spring, but are really spectacular in the fall when the leaves change and are full of vibrant colors. So I recommend a mid-October trip.

This is a MUST DO tour in Austria!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My wife and I wanted to see the Danube and countryside and this tour provided a perfect opportunity to do so from a ship. We were picked up from our hotel and Driven to a meeting point where all the tourists were divided by language speaking groups - ours was in English. The time on the Danube was superb, our tour guide was very good, and the monastery at Melk was a real plus. This tour was an exceptional value. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Spectacular view of the castles as we went down the Danube. Melk Abbey was truly worth the experience.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was amazing. Melk city is a gorgeous city. I'll do this tour again

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Probably the best tour we did in our 10 day trip. You should definitely take the time to do this. Again the guide made it very enjoyable. This was handled through Vienna Explorer. The group was small we had 7 people. The mini van was very comfortable. The trip to Melk was an hour long and enjoyed seeing the monastary. Then off to tast wine. Again our guide was very informed and the vineyards he chose were quite tasty. We got to see the countryside and stopped in the little town of Durnstein.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a thoroughly enjoyable and well-thought out tour. The guide was particularly impressive with his ability to speak in 5 major languages. There was just the right amount of bus travel and stops. The tour guide explained everything clearly and made the history of what we were exploring very interesting. The highlight of course was the monastery of Melk and we all enjoyed the time we spent there. I went during the winter so we had the lunch option (in a restaurant) instead of the Danube tour. I would have preferred the tour company planning something else since the restaurant did not go to the greatest of efforts and I felt that what they served was a blight on Austrian cuisine.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

very nice break from walking everywhere, scenery in the country very beautiful and the Richard the Lionheart visit something I've always anted to do.
Melk Abbey deserves it's World Hertitage Site Status, good guide here.
I would recomend this trip

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was absolutely wonderful, we were blessed whit great autumn weather, real Indian summer. The scenery, Danube cruise, picturesque little towns, vineyards and at the end of the tour the magnificent Melk's Abbey, real gem!
It was well organised but we did not care for our guide, very boring and lacking "people skills ".
I would positively recommend this tour

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed the trip to Melk. The Monastery was beautiful, and the boat trip was great. I was under the impression that we traveled to Melk completely on the boat and was surprised when we were loaded onto a bus, but once we got past that, we had a great time.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very well organised.Boat trip was just right length and Melk was beautiful.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Krishan S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic tour - the cruise on the Danube was really relaxing. Melk is really quite stunning and the tour was wonderful. There was also some free time allocated for lunch, which I actually used as an opportunity to take some photos.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The valley is very beautiful and the boat cruise was amazing and so relaxing. The melk abbey was beautiful and very interesting. The views are to die for.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Even though our voucher was checked by lady at hotel pick up, again by lady when disembarking at bus station to join tour and again by tour guide when getting on coach we had been directed to by 2nd lady, as coach was heading down expressway, we had an inkling we were on wrong tour. Guide had very heavily accented English so werent sure. however, what could he have done, no head count was undertaken so we enjoyed a tour to Melk and the Abbey. This was worth 5 stars. Make sure you are on right coach!

Doing what: Vienna Woods and Mayerling Half Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was fantastic! The boat ride down the Danube river was so relaxing and, over all, a wonderful experience. The Melk Abbey was magnificent.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful trip, excellent tour guide, Melk was awesome as was boat ride.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Abby in Melk was wonderful, everything it was written to be. The boat ride on the Danube was relaxing and had some beautiful sights.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a beautiful and relaxing day on the Danube from start to finish. We were picked up at our hotel and taken by bus to the beautiful Wachau Valley where we boarded the riverboat. We were lucky with perfect weather. We were given ample time for lunch at the Melk Abbey and given an excellent tour with knowledgable guides. My 81 yr old mother and I loved our trip and highly recommend it to anyone looking to get a peak at the scenery outside of Vienna.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It's all about the guide...Stelios was extremely nice, made the little group of 7 feel good, and we had a wonderful day...Durnstein is gorgeous, wine tastings were enjoyable, boat ride to Melk abbey was a delight.

Really a must if you have time...and some money cause it's a rather expensive one.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great day on this trip. Our tour guide, Hans was very personable and knowledgeable. Would recommend this day trip. The tour of Melk definitely worth seeing.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The river cruise was soooo beautiful! The tour of the abbey Melk was also beautiful. The lunch spot was also beautiful! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message