Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Schonbrunn Palace (Schloss Schonbrunn)

Schonbrunn Palace, or Schloss Schonbrunn, means 'beautiful spring' and was a royal hunting park when plans were made to build a sumptuous palace to rival Versailles. Queen Maria Theresa's architect, Nicholas Pacassi, is responsible for the eventual ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 621 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

patriciarodrigueznas ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it! The concert was great and so was the dinner. One advice, make sure to arrive at the palace the latest by 1 pm. We arrived by 4 pm and we're not able to see the palace . However, the staff arranged for us to see it the following day.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Dinner and Concert

Celia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I love old History. Schonbrunn Palace is absolutely Beautiful. A must for every tourist..

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Jeremy M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I would definitely have given this 5 stars if it wasn't for a couple of wrinkles. On arriving at the Palace we did not know we would have to 'book' our tour time so we wasted an hour hanging around. Dinner was excellent although the menu was limited. The concert was brilliant but VIP drinks consisted of a half glass of fizzy wine. The ticket also did not cover 'extras' like entrance fees to certain parts of the gardens.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Grant R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I and #39;m not really into symphony concerts but that aside this was well done and organized. Also got the opportunity to listen in the palace great room as a bonus.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

SAMI M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Hi,
We had a wonderful evening at the Schonbrunn Palace.
The orchestra was magnificent and so were the opera singers. The room in the Palace was magic .
The only problem : there was a very hot day and there is no air condition, but even so we enjoyed the evening.
Esther Metser

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

Josie F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

NOT ENOUGH EMPHASIS ON WHERE TO PICK UP VOUCHER--WE WENT TO pALACE--WRONG!

STARTED ON WRONG FOOT AND ENDED WITH A WONDERFUL DINNER AND PERFORMANCE

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

LamSam T

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The instructions to obtain vouchers are not clear! It sent me on a wild goose chase to obtain the vouchers to catch the Palace Tour!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Dieter V

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The concert was very good - dinner would not do again
The guests expectations were to get dinner and concert truely in the palace not in the orangerie and the tourist cafe or else in a congress hotels restaurant. The ambiance was not as expected.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Dinner and Concert

bkbaggs

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This was a good overview of the city. The visit to Schonbrunn Palace was nice. The guide wasn't the best, but she wasn't horrible either. It was just an average tour.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Nitya

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

City trip was just OK - pretty rushed and you don't see much close up. Useful for a very brief overview of main attractions, but not so good for having a close look or taking photos. Palace tour was disappointing - huge crowds meant you saw very little. Guide was authoritative, but not very friendly.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Erminia G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Our guide was arrogant
The Schonbrunn Palace tour was minimal it best
Would do this tour on my own in the future

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Rajesh K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This tour was not very good. Guide was absolutely rude to us . She had very big attitude in her.
Only thing the tour offered was schunbrunn palace. Nothing else was good.
Not worth d price ! NOT RECCOMENDED!!

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Kushal S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Cruise was poor and waste of time Vienna offers little by way of riverside views anyway. Dinner and concert was okayish. There was noise from another event in the palace which was unacceptable. Wouldn't recommend this excursion. Instead go to concert in the opera or a number of other places in the town centre. Or maybe trip to Salzburg if looking for day trip.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

Saule A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

We've bought a pack and reached the Palace close to 6 pm and found it closed. No one knew about our Palace Evening event. So, we were walking more than half an hour trying to find where to go. Ticket office was closed and in the end it appeared that we first had to go outside the Palace 300m to another ticket office for changing e-voucher to a ticket , then go back to the Palace and find a restaurant inside. Food was served and, in the city it was much more delicious. Then we had to go back to the building/ ticket office 300m from Palace and concert was there. Music was wonderful, that was the only thing we really enjoyed, though we were very tired after long walks when chilly and windy. Since we had only one free day in Vienna we unfortunately had no another chance to visit the Palace itself. I do not recommend buying package, it is better to enjoy Vienna sight seeing step by step and on your own. Saule

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Barbara B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Got ther and Wasserstein t from one ticket office to another the Paula e was closed by the time we returned. There were no choices for dinner and it was awful. The concert was not actually help at the palace. Yes, I know there is a disclosure, but that is what everyone e pecks. If I want to see a mediocre orchestra in a large room I can see. The Pasadena orchestra. We returned the next day to do the tour and had to wait in line an hour to get tickets for our voucber

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Jenifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We would highly recommend the Vienna Combo. The cruise was well organised, the dinner superb and the Palace concert excellent. It was very good value for money.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

Liesl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great overview of the city and the Schonbrunn Palace was amazing.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Yussef J

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The highlight of this tour is the Schonbrunn palace and having the personalized guided tour is a plus, the rest of it can easily be done on a walking tour.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Shirley B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Excellent bus tour around Ringstrasse and walking tour into Palace. Guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. Allow an extra hour before the tour for hotel pickup. Read the fine print. Tour ends at Opera House and you must get back to your hotel on your own or using Vienna's excellent subway system.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Rosario R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour is a great way to get an overview of the city. However, there was not much time to go around the palace grounds.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Jennifer T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

I enjoyed this tour, but have realised drive by tours aren't exactly my thing. Our guide was informative and having the tickets booked for Schonbrunn Palce was fantastic, as we walked straight in.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Benjamin S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The concert itself was great and worth seeing. However the dinner was a letdown. We got bumped to the Courtyard Marriott hotel which was quite ho hum - average food and the staff were overworked. Would have much preferred to eat in the palace, as the itinerary for this suggests we should have.

Doing what: Sch��nbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Michael

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The tour from the beginning seemed to start off on a bad foot. The instructions said to arrive 30 minutes before the tour and we ended up departing 15 minutes late. There was only one tour guide for two groups of people that spoke English and French. This resulted in the narrative being spoken in two different languages, which was annoying. Additionally, during the time it took for the guide to spiel the French narrative, we were passing locations that I thought the guide could have given more detail on but couldn't because she was speaking French. Finally, about the narrative on the bus, it wasn't very in depth almost like a superficial overview of random locations, I could have done just as well with a bike and an eyewitness book.

As for the bus, there was not much the guide or any other tour operator could do in this situation, but if you're sitting on the left side of the bus as I was and something is happening on the right, you can't see it. A person would have to look through the people on the right side of the bus and then duck down to see the landmark, assuming you saw it at all. An open air bus would be better for the type of sightseeing we were doing.

Last thing, the palace visit. Simply put, it was a clustered mess. I had to rush off the bus, couldn't use the restroom because we were on a tight time schedule and the tour guide said she'd leave us. When we got through the entrance on the palace, we were basically corralled into an area to collect our earpieces for the tour narrative. People were on top of each other and it just seemed very disorganized. When we got into the palace, it was the same situation as the bus, English then French narrative and no real opportunity to ask questions. We were rushed through the palace and the given 25 minutes of free time to explore the gardens. The gardens are humongous, to get to the far end would take at least 25 minutes alone. This was the point when I said I had enough and left the tour group.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lovely tour conducted at a comfortable pace with a guide who was both relaxed and very knowledgeable. Schonbrunn was spectacular and we found out so much about poor Elisabeth 'Sisi'. Would highly recommend to anybody taking a city break in Vienna.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message