Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Schonbrunn Palace (Schloss Schonbrunn)

Schonbrunn Palace, or Schloss Schonbrunn, means 'beautiful spring' and was a royal hunting park when plans were made to build a sumptuous palace to rival Versailles. Queen Maria Theresa's architect, Nicholas Pacassi, is responsible for the eventual ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 601 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Liesl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great overview of the city and the Schonbrunn Palace was amazing.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Yussef J

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The highlight of this tour is the Schonbrunn palace and having the personalized guided tour is a plus, the rest of it can easily be done on a walking tour.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Shirley B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Excellent bus tour around Ringstrasse and walking tour into Palace. Guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. Allow an extra hour before the tour for hotel pickup. Read the fine print. Tour ends at Opera House and you must get back to your hotel on your own or using Vienna's excellent subway system.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Michael

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The tour from the beginning seemed to start off on a bad foot. The instructions said to arrive 30 minutes before the tour and we ended up departing 15 minutes late. There was only one tour guide for two groups of people that spoke English and French. This resulted in the narrative being spoken in two different languages, which was annoying. Additionally, during the time it took for the guide to spiel the French narrative, we were passing locations that I thought the guide could have given more detail on but couldn't because she was speaking French. Finally, about the narrative on the bus, it wasn't very in depth almost like a superficial overview of random locations, I could have done just as well with a bike and an eyewitness book.

As for the bus, there was not much the guide or any other tour operator could do in this situation, but if you're sitting on the left side of the bus as I was and something is happening on the right, you can't see it. A person would have to look through the people on the right side of the bus and then duck down to see the landmark, assuming you saw it at all. An open air bus would be better for the type of sightseeing we were doing.

Last thing, the palace visit. Simply put, it was a clustered mess. I had to rush off the bus, couldn't use the restroom because we were on a tight time schedule and the tour guide said she'd leave us. When we got through the entrance on the palace, we were basically corralled into an area to collect our earpieces for the tour narrative. People were on top of each other and it just seemed very disorganized. When we got into the palace, it was the same situation as the bus, English then French narrative and no real opportunity to ask questions. We were rushed through the palace and the given 25 minutes of free time to explore the gardens. The gardens are humongous, to get to the far end would take at least 25 minutes alone. This was the point when I said I had enough and left the tour group.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lovely tour conducted at a comfortable pace with a guide who was both relaxed and very knowledgeable. Schonbrunn was spectacular and we found out so much about poor Elisabeth 'Sisi'. Would highly recommend to anybody taking a city break in Vienna.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Karla A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was fabulous- fluent in several languages. Although the palace was crowded with lots of tourists, we thought the tour most informative and efficient. Pick up and delivery right on schedule. Thumbs up.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Janet.tomlinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful experience, enjoyed tour of the palace, wonderful dinner not sure about the semolina dumplings though followed by fantastic concert which was held on this night within the Palace.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Laura K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely fantastic!

We enjoyed every minute of this trip. In fact we wished that we arrived earlier to Schoenbrunn Palace as there is so much to see. The gardens are absolutely beautiful.

The food was very nice, we were all a little worried as to what the set meal would be but it ended up being lovely Beef Consomme for Starter, Braised Beef and Potato Pie in a shallot gravy for Main and a Chocolate and Orange mousse for Desert. and was served in the Palace restaurant.

The opera was held in the Orangerie and again was lovely, we wished it would of lasted a little longer we were enjoying it that much.

I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Liliana K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Good but Palace visit could be a little longer

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Megan W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a great way to get out to the palace but you are limited with time. If you want time to actually wander around the grounds and enjoy it then I wouldn't recommend this tour because you are limited on time. If you don't mind a quick review of the inside and about an hour to wander the grounds then this is a great tour. The best part of the tour for me was the bus tour of Vienna. It takes you all around ring road. It was nice to see all of ring road. The tour guide was really informative and helpful.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Marilyn C

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

An enjoyable excursion but not sure I and #39;d recommend it. Personally I and #39;d book things separately if returning. Schonbrunn Palace was amazing but needed more time than made aware of. The meal wasn and #39;t great and a lengthy walk to the concert which was very good but seating not ideal if you are short!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Isabelle R Bermuda

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

We bought many Viator excursions and this one was not good at all. We really felt like we were tourists and not treated to an authentic experience. Dinner was not very good: roast beef with thick salty sauce, served in this room again set up for a quick turn around. Then we were moved to the palace to have our concert in this spectacular room. When we arrive there, we must buy the program for 5 Euros I just want to know what will be played - I don't want to buy a program!! and they want to sell us made in China toy/souvenir violins and other trinkets. I felt trapped. The concert barely lasted one hour. We went to see other concerts organised by Viator in Salzburg that were spectacular. This one was a tourist trap. Don't go there. Go to St. Charles Church or the Opera for real and authentic Austrian music.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Jillianthetravelller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Schonbrunn Palace was easy access by train. The Christmas markets were in front of the palace, which filled in the time after our palace tour until our dinner. The dinner was enjoyable, then we made our way back down to the concert venue, across from the train station. Beautiful night in Vienna!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Kyla W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Loved the Palace, especially the gardens. A must see. I spent 3 hours exploring. Easter Market was available outside. Lots of walking. Dinner was good. The concert was great. Very talented people. Small venue - all tickets are great. Ticket office is in the Orngerie not public ticket office.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Claire

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

good food and concert totally enjoyed the palace.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Jacqueline G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Our guide, Thomas, was friendly and very knowledgable about the local history. The palaces visited were impressive and very pretty. The tour of Schonbrunn Palace was okay, but can be a bit difficult, particularly if crowded. I would have preferred to spend more time at Belvedere Palace. However, this is a good way to get a historical view of the city.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Margaret H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

once we worked out where to collect our tickets all went well. The Palace and garden were lovely, even though they were conducting their off season cleaning. Dinner was great, the staff very friendly. the concert was very good and we enjoyed ourselves immensley.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

John M

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Tour was interesting. Concert was charming and really allowed us to soak up the atmosphere that makes up the real feel of Vienna.
Dinner was to be served in a soulless 3 Star hotel well away from the Palace and this was extremely disappointing. Completely destroyed the atmosphere that have been created so far.
So much so we declined to eat there and made our own arrangements.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Manjola M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The tour was not worthing. The price was too high for what was delivered. I couldn and #39;t do the audio tour as the palace closed quite in advance of dinner begining. The places were distant from one another. The dinner was in a place and then the concert far from it. The dinner was not fresh

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Mari United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well worth it! The palace and gardens were beautiful, the dinner was quite good, and the concert was delightful. Because the city center isn't far, would recommend visiting the palace in the morning less crowded, then sightseeing for a few hours around the city, before returning for dinner and the concert. Otherwise, you will have an hour or more of downtime between when the palace closes and when dinner begins, and there isn't much to see in the immediate area.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Nasim M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We had a lovely experience from the tour of the Palace, to dinner and concert. very enjoyable

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Steve H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Despite the heavy snow we made it to the palace and had a fabulous time. Excellent meal, good wines and the concert was superb!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

tgroover

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

My Husband and I took this tour and really enjoyed it. Quite a bit was in the bus and we had two language groups - so a little hard to follow but a good overview of the city. Would have liked to spend more time at the Belvedere palace. All in all a good tour.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic, definitely worth going to on the tour of the palace before hand. At this time of the year there is a Christmas Market in front of the Palace which is very good. Easy to get to the palace on the U4 underground line.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

J W C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. We were collected from our hotel and taken on an interesting journey through Vienna before arriving at the Schonbrunn Palace. Our tour guide was friendly and helpful and it was a joy to beat the queues no need to queue when you're with a tour guide. We didn't feel rushed inside the palace but would have liked an hour once the tour was finished, mostly because there was a Christmas market. We had a little over half an hour and had to choose between the gardens and the market at the front of the palace. I would recommend this tour though, it's good for the price.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message