• USD ($)
  • English

Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Schonbrunn Palace (Schloss Schonbrunn)

Schonbrunn Palace, or Schloss Schonbrunn, means 'beautiful spring' and was a royal hunting park when plans were made to build a sumptuous palace to rival Versailles. Queen Maria Theresa's architect, Nicholas Pacassi, is responsible for the eventual ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 153 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Pick up at our hotel was prompt. Our guide was excellent and very friendly. Great overview of the City of Vienna along with some history. Schonbrunn Palace is not to be missed.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Having done a similar tour in Berlin several years ago this was different. The tour of Schonbrunn Palace has to be done earlier in the day as the Palace tours close at 4.30. The dinner is off site in the Palace café at 6.30 and the concert starts at 8.00pm. I probably would not bother with the dinner - it did not add much to the experience but the concert was fantastic. It was a wonderful combination of Mozart, Strauss, orchestra, opera and dance. It was quite unforgettable

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Schonbrunn Palace WAS beautiful!! However, we were VERY disappointed with this Tour by Viator! First of all, telling your people to come by 4 pm will be enough time to take the tour is ridiculous! We had NO time at all to explore the gardens...should have been noted for your guest. Plus, we were mis-lead by your description! We understood that we were touring with ample time, then having dinner AT THE PALACE, then enjoying a concert! After having to cut our tour of palace/grounds short, we find out we have to WALK about 3-4 city blocks to an off site restaurant! We are assuming an upscale hotel/ restaurant at least...but NO! Our "fabulousness" authentic Vienese dinner was at the COURTYARD MARRIOTT!! Truly a disappointing experience!! Then we had to waste more time WALKING back for the concert!! And we bought the Group A tickets!! NOT CHEAP!!! If you are sending people somewhere you should at least bus them!! Sssoooo disappointed over all with this!!

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Although it may seem expensive the combination's very worthwhile. We had a great time at Schonbrunn Palace and loved the cakes at Cafe Central. It was thunder, lightning, and rain during our concert but that just added to the atmosphere and the musicians and dancers were excellent. Note that the company will reserve times for the sightseeing tour, Schonbrunn Palace, and concert - it might be worth getting your combination card and checking the plan before making any other reservations to ensure you can do everything you want to do. We'd booked one separate thing that conflicted and due to a holiday there the company wasn't able to put us on a different sightseeing tour. Overall though the convenience of the Vienna card and tickets for dinner and coffee and cake at our convenience was a tremendous plus for our visit to Vienna.

Doing what: Imperial Vienna Combo: Vienna Card, Mozart Concert, Sightseeing Tour, Schonbrunn Palace and Lunch or Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A wonderful experience that culminated in a splendid Concert at the Schonbrunn Palace.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent trip covering the main tourist attractions in Vienna. The tour of the Schonbrunn Palace and Gardens was enhanced by an excellent guide. My husband who is totally blind told the guide he had no need for sight as her descriptions we so descriptive. A day to be recommended.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Schonbrunn was closing as we arrived, so we did not get to see the palace interior. Shame but not a tragedy. However the dinner and concert were worth the effort. The restaurant is inside the palace walls but not inside the palace. We felt the dinners was excellent considering that it was a set menu. The service was very good and we did not feel rushed at all. The restaurant room was very nicely decorated and the tables were well spaced.

The concert was excellent. The orchestra of 15 was so good. The soprano and tenor were young and very competent. The dancers were excellent. Including intermission the concert started at 8.30 and finished a bit after 10pm. Well worth the price and a great memory for us.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Dinner and Concert

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

It was nice to have the bus tour of the city, but the guided tour provided all the same information as the audio guides available at the Schonbrunn at no extra charge when you purchase a ticket. If you have limited time, this tour is nice because it allows you to tour the most impressive rooms. However, we ended up going back the next day and purchased a combination ticket for a full Schonbrunn Palace tour and access to the Sisi Museum.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Departed late at 10:10am. It was understandable as someone was in travel jam. However, the tour finished at about 12:45pm. So, not quite 3 hours. We only have half an hour free time to take photos at the Schonbrunn Palace. Why not make it longer instead of finishing early? The bus departed 12:30pm at the Palace. Because our kid needed to go to the toilet, we arrived 2-3 minutes late.....the bus has gone! Fortunately, we found another bus from the same company and the tour guide was willing to take us back to the city.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Schonbrunn is a must while in Vienna and it is so much easier to do it with a tour if you don't have a car during your visit. We really enjoyed the tour and its quick overview of the city and its history. Schonbrunn was lovely, though it would have been nice if we could have taken picture inside and if we'd had more than 20 minutes to explore the gardens since I had hoped to go to the maze.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Schonbrunn is a MUST DO during even the shortest of visits to Vienna. The principal attraction is that the original furniture is in the original position as when the Imperial family resided at the palace. We recommend doing the tour in the morning and then returning for the dinner and concert. Otherwise you wait around for a couple of hours after the palace closes.

Be sure to go to the tour company ticket office - not the palace ticket office through the palace gates - first to convert your voucher to tickets. The office is through an unmarked door to the left of the underground.

Dinner was quite good for a tour in a very pleasant setting. The audio tour was well done, and if you wish you can purchase add-ons for the gardens.

The concert was excellent - amazing that such a small orchestra can produce such a big sound. And, they did not play the expected war horses but a variety of Mozart and Strauss. Singers were excellent, but we were not as impressed by the dancers.

A good package of things to do in an easy format.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The historical city tour of Vienna was informative and interesting. Schonbrunn Palace is huge and spectacular. There are 1,441 very ornate rooms of which you get to see a small but impressive number. On the way back, we had a short visit to Belvedere Palace.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Vienna is beautiful and there are lots to see. This tour provides a generalized overview of the city. The highlight is the Schonbrunn Palace - which is worth seeing. Driving through the city by coach gives a nice relaxed journey of seeing the city, but I think you will be better off walking and sightseeing at your own pace, because there is so much to see and this tour is really just too short to make you fully appreciate the beauty and history of Vienna.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

2-3 stars. First ir emailed Viator twice to get a few specific questions answered and never heard back. Second office to exchange voucher # for tickets at Schonbrunn was impossible to find and no one was in the office. After walking around we found someone to help us out. Very frustrating and upsetting. Third, the dinner we were looking forward to in a special cafe setting as described was moved to a modern Marriott lobby restaurant. We realized dinner could be changed to a different location but seriously we could eat at a Marriott Hotel restaurant anywhere in the world. We found this to be a real bait and switch! The food was fair at best. Service was minimal. The beef broth we could have made from a can , the boiled beef literally boiled down to 2 oz.. The potatoes were in our opinion pre packaged, the strudel was minimal, vanilla sauce had no taste and to top it off try to get tea or coffee was impossible. We also didn't figure we would have had to walk as far as we did from the palace to the restaurant. Especially in pouring rain. So sad the dinner was not in the atmosphere of the old world palace style. This was very disappointing. The palace tour and concert was lovely. Skip dinner portion of this package!

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was a lovely evening to attend the concert at the Schonbrunn Palace. We did the Palace tour on our own and had dinner on our own. Took the subway to the concert and the entrance to the concert was only a few steps from the subway station. We took the subway back to the hotel. It was very easy.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message