Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Schonbrunn Palace (Schloss Schonbrunn)

Schonbrunn Palace, or Schloss Schonbrunn, means 'beautiful spring' and was a royal hunting park when plans were made to build a sumptuous palace to rival Versailles. Queen Maria Theresa's architect, Nicholas Pacassi, is responsible for the eventual ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 169 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Everything was not as described. Only knew to go to Orangerie to pick up tickets because of a review left by a previous customer. We opted for VIP tour, which entitled us to two drinks, described in promotion as sparkling wine, but, in fact, were limited to two glasses of sparkling water or orange juice. We were seated in the first row for performance, which was nice. Unfortunately, service did not include car pickup and return to hotel after performance, as there were few cabs to be found around the Schonbrunn Palace after the performance. We waited and finally got a taxi after about 45 minutes...

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Dinner and Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Schonbrunn was beautiful although wondered about installation sticking out windows on the side of house. Grounds were lovely, and we had a blast in the maze. Dinner was better than expected. Concert was good for a small orchestra. Skip the dancers.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Tour is okay. Wish more time is spent with the city tour than in Schonbrunn Palace.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This trip takes the whole day and evening. Good value. Tour of the beautiful palace and gardens followed by dinner and the concert.
If you go to the Schonbrunn by underground look out for the Orangerie as you come out the staion. It is right across the road. We just followed the crowds to the ticket office and had to walk back about 10 minutes

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The dinner venue was not as pretty and magical as at the stifskellar in Salzburg in vienna. neither was the food. It was at the courtyard marriott schonbrunn. However the concert was good at the schonbrunn.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Dinner and Concert

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Our Schonbrunn Palace Evening Tour was very good. The Palace is beautiful and the Concert was exceptional, however the meal was very ordinary. No choice of food - First Course Beef Consomme which was just OK Second Course Boiled Beef which was revolting along with unrecognisable vegetables. Third Course was Apple Strudel which was not bad except not all the apples were cooked. We had to buy our coffee and this was quite expensive. They also did not advise us that the coffee was not included.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour guide seemed to be a history buff and we enjoyed his interesting stories. This brought the human side to the various buildings of the city and the many chambers of the Schonbrunn. As no photos are allowed inside the Schonbrunn, it would have been nice if we had been allowed a few minutes to browse the gift shop and to get some hot coffee --we were in middle of snow storm but following the tour timetable seemed to have been higher priority. Otherwise, we would rate this 5 stars. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

I twas a nice night- but I thought that the evening was going to be tour, dinner, and concert one following the other...we were not staying close to Schonbrunn so going back and forth between the last palace tour and dinner was not an option so we had to wait outside (and it was quite cold) for a long time. I didn't like that. Also I thought that the concert was going to be a large group of musicians- but it was only about 7 or 8 max musicians. Nice night out, but a bit inconvenient with the timings.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I would thoroughly recommend this as a good way to get an introduction to Vienna. I was only there for 2 days but I am glad that I did this tour on the first day. There was a lot to see and you only get a small amount of time at each grand building but I was able to return later to the places where I wanted to spend more time. Hotel pick up worked well - right on time. The Schonbrunn palace tour was also good and we had a bit of free time to visit the christmas market and the museum shop. The guide was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

My recommendation: if possible, purchase the items separately rather than the package. Avoid the dinner portion where possible.

Why: Flexibility. One can do the items on different days, and can avoid inclusions in this package.

Our experience:
We arrived at 3pm, which was perfect, as the Palace Tour was for 1 hour only. The Palace is beautiful but only a limited portion is open to the public. On most time of the year, the Schonbrunn closes at 4:30pm while the dinner starts at 6:30pm.

During this two hours, we roamed the Palace grounds as it is extremely beautiful. However, as we were there on a cold autumn day, that two hours did feel like an eternity! The dinner was not appetizing, as it tasted like a $5 meal one can buy at a local food court.

The chamber music orchestra was enjoyable. Note, the seats can be tight. There's a mandatory (paid) coat check, which the tour description does not mentioned here.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This was a large tour and as such impersonal, but nevertheless interesting.

We began with a coach trip of the main sites in Vienna during which we had a commentary and then we visited the Palace.

The Palace was stunning and we were directed round by our guide using audio headsets which was needed due to the size of the group. The guide was informative.

We finished with free time to look round the gardens which were large. It was November so gardens were obviously not at there best.

Would love to go back to Schonbrunn Palace and Gardens but would go on a small group tour and in warmer months when I am sure it would be outstanding!

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Hyun Joo Kim
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Good for skim looking! Schonbrunn Palace guide tour was really good.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was amazing. There was an engagement at the original concert hall so the concert was held on the main ballroom of the Schonbrunn palace.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Dinner and Concert

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour focuses only on the Schonbrunn Palace. Your opportunities for picture taking are minimal due to time constraints, so make the most out of it!

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

We arrived about an hour and a half before dinner, thinking this would be more than enough time to take in the grounds and enjoy the tour, only to find out that the palace closed for tours at 4:00. This means that we would have had to have gotten to the palace in the middle of the afternoon for the tour, and then waited for two and a half hours until dinner was served. Not what I was expecting, and I was very upset to have paid for a tour that we couldn't take.

For dinner, we were directed across the street and about a half a mile down the block to a Marriott Courtyard Inn, where we were served in their little lobby restaurant. Again, not what I paid for, and extremely disappointing. We could have gone to any one of Vienna's spectacular restaurants and gotten a much better meal in a much nicer atmosphere. When I purchased the tickets, I was under the assumption that we would be dining in Schonbrunn Palace, not in a mediocre hotel restaurant down the street.

The concert itself was nice, in that the musical selections were well performed and entertaining. While this was the only portion of the tour in which we got to actually be on the palace grounds, the concert was held in a large visitor/conference-like room adjacent to the main palace building, not in the main building itself.

Overall, I was extremely disappointed with this package, and feel that the description was very deceiving, especially for the high price of the tickets. I've attended a similar concert in Vienna in the past while touring with my family, and the atmosphere was what you would expect of a grand Viennese, Baroque concert. I purchased this package expecting something more special and unique, but was let down.

If you are interested in this package, I would recommend doing the concert only, but I would also investigate other concert options in the city at different locations, as Vienna has a lot of choices to offer!

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was terrific. The bus ride around the city was filled with solid info about what we were seeing. We had a fantastically knowledgeable tour guide. And the Schonbrunn Palace visit rocked. Our only complaint was that we didn't have nearly enough time at the Palace. Why not add on an hour so sightseers can truly have some time to go exploring the grounds instead of rushing us around so frenziedly???

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The visit to the Schonbrunn Palace was excellent - with great credit to the guide and her commentary through the rooms.
The tour in the town could have been better - part of the Ring seemed to be blocked off for some reason, so there was little cohesion..
I would suggest a trip purely to the Schonbrunn - it would have been good to have time to see the gardens

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The audio tour of Schonbrunn is quite good, make sure to include plenty of time to walk the gardens and see the Glorietta as the view of Vienna is amazing from up there. Dinner was just okay because we had to walk to Coutryard Marriott -no atmosphere there. Concert was the highlight!! Definite must!

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This is a performance for tourists. The venue is a large room in the Schonbrunn Orangery, with a make-shift platform for the orchestra and very uncomfortable portable chairs for audience. Front 3/4 rows are VIP seats with seat covered chairs. The rest are sec.A,B,Cs. Performance was average.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Schonbrunn Palace tour was good..but the city tour was average (at best). Too short..too little info. Need 'English Only' Tours. Repeating info in 2 (or more) languages obviously cuts down on the time available for the guide!

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Nice tour of the Schonbrunn Palace ( auto guide ) , the dinner was nice and the concert was lovely.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Driver was late picking us up from the hotel. He gave us very little information after dropping us off to the tour bus area. He basically told us to just sit down and wait and that he wasn't sure if the parked tour bus was for us. There was no one from vienna tours that greeted us or was visible at the time.

We saw a lady wearing a Vienna sightseeing vest hop onto the bus. We tried to speak to her and found her very cold, unhelpful and unwelcoming!! She ended up being our tour guide, Tanya. She was sitting on the bus instead of greeting people outside. This is poor customer service and resulted in a poor start to the tour.

Luckily the people on the tour were very friendly and made the environment more comfortable.

The tour was in English and German and we thought it was English only. This made the tour more difficult to follow. Tanya was difficult to understand. She had her back to everyone while conducting the tour and did not engage us with her tour information. The only time she got off her chair and faced everyone was when she was telling people off for talking.

The Schonbrunn palace was ok. Tanya was knowledgable and more engaging there. She became much more friendly as it came closer to receiving tips.

A number of others on the bus also commented about how bad a your guide she was and shared with us previous negative experiences with the same tour group due to a cold and unwelcoming tour guide. We have been on many tours over the past few years and this is by far the worst one. Unfortunately I would never recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My daughter and I really enjoyed the concert. We had spent the day at Schloss Schonbrunn doing a palace tour, visiting the carriage museum and had walked up to Gloriette. The concert was in the Orangerie in the evening. The music was wonderfully engaging, the ballerinas were spectacular and the opera singers were so talented. It was very warm in the room, but we went outside into the courtyard at intermission and it was so nice to see the palace after dark. We would definitely recommend this concert as a must do in Vienna.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our at-our-own-time tour of the palace. Dinner at the Residenz was lovely, and the concert was beautiful. Roadwork outside must have prevented taxis from queuing up, but a very polite young woman from the coatroom called a cab company for us.
Our visit to the Schonbrunn was a highlight of our visit to Vienna.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Pick up at our hotel was prompt. Our guide was excellent and very friendly. Great overview of the City of Vienna along with some history. Schonbrunn Palace is not to be missed.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message