• USD ($)
  • English

Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Schonbrunn Palace (Schloss Schonbrunn)

Schonbrunn Palace, or Schloss Schonbrunn, means 'beautiful spring' and was a royal hunting park when plans were made to build a sumptuous palace to rival Versailles. Queen Maria Theresa's architect, Nicholas Pacassi, is responsible for the eventual ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 135 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour of the city. The guide was both instructive and amusing. Certainly learnt a lot about a stunning city. The Schonbrunn Pakace was of course the highlight, but everything else we saw was also a delight. A real must-do for anyone who has only a limited time to see Vienna.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Bus tour around the city of Vienna only stopped at Schonbrunn Palace which was definitely worthwhile but I would suggest that a taxi ride to the Palace would have been cheaper and quicker.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a terrific way to seen Vienna in 1/2 day. Our guide was knowledgable and charming. She was very informative throughout but especially during our tim,e at Schonbrunn Palace.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent guide and tour of the both the city and Schonbrunn palace. Guide was very informative and helpful

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were picked up from our hotel on time, taken to the tour bus (French/English-speaking tour guide) and set off for a very interesting and comprehensive tour of Vienna. The visit to Schonbrunn (with time to stroll around the Christmas market) was the highlight, and not having to queue for tickets was great. Our tour guide was well-organised, informative and clear and this tour was the ideal start to our first visit to Vienna. It orientated us, gave us a good idea of what we would like to explore further in the limited time (2.5 days) we had left and we would recommend it to anyone as a great introduction to this fascinating city with its stunning architecture and almost overwhelming choice of attractions to visit.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We really enjoyed the tour of Schonbrunn, our time in the gardens and the dinner and concert. To be honest the food was pretty bland, but the restaurant was nice, service was fairly good, and it was delightful to be at Schonbrunn at dusk after the crowds had gone. We did the tour 2 days before the dinner and concert, which was the best choice, as we then had several hours to enjoy the gardens and grounds, and were able to get fresh and spruced up for our night out. The concert was fabulous - an up tempo programme of Strauss and Mozart, in a gorgeous venue, with a very lively conductor and very good orchestra. I would urge people to get into the spirit and dress up a little for the occasion - most did but there were some very odd interpretations of the "smart casual" dress code.
All up a very good choice of tour as long as you like light classical music.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was a pretty good tour except I would have preferred if the tour could stop at some of the sights for picture taking. Schonbrunn Palace visit was brief. Overall, this tour gave a great overview of the city and places you might go back to. The tour guides were very good and kept us engaged.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Overall this was a very good package, once we had found the Orangerie Ticket Office to collect our vouchers. Though we followed the instructions the office was not clearly identified with a sign of any kind. We finally had to ask at the information point at the Palace entrance. Perhaps more detailed instructions to mention it is almost opposite the entrance to the Ubahn station for Schonbrunn would be helpful. The meal was excellent and they were prepared to provide an alternative for my friend who is not able to eat beef.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Miniature Versailles! This tour was well organised and run. Very informative, only downside was trying to find pickup/meeting point as not very well described. It is in the bus depot outside of what will soon be Vienna Hauptbannhof.
A good insight to the beautiful palace of Schonbrunn. It would have been nice to have alittle more time to view the grounds.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very enjoyable and a lot of fun however the evening did not match the advertised programme as the promotional information indicated that the dining and the performance were in the one venue. This proved not to be correct dinner was in a cafe at Schonbrunn and the performance was in the Orange Room a short distance from the café.
We also felt the Vienna transport system was excellent and the underground efficient clean and safe and we travelled at midnight back to our hotel on it after the performance.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Was very enjoyable. It was great that we could divide into two days. I wish there would have been a ticket pickup point at the Hofburg, where we would have received the subway tickets to the Schonbrunn. We had wasted a full day on out multi-day pass getting to the Schonbrunn to pick up tickets and then received our to and from subway tickets. The palaces were beautiful with audio guides with great information. The dinner was somewhat disappointing-food was good, but Courtyard by Marriott, wasn't the setting for dinner that I expected. I had hoped for a more Vienna historical setting.

Doing what: Empress Sisi Sightseeing Combo in Vienna Including Schonbrunn Palace, Hofburg Palace, Dinner and Orangery Concert

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Schonbrunn Palace itself is absolutely fantastic. The audio guided tour was very good. However we were told that the concert would be in the white-gold room only to find it was in the orangery. It was just over half full and I was very disappointed with the quality of the concert. It was nothing like the pictures shown on the website and I feel that I was misled. There were only 6-7 people in the orchestra, 2 singers, who were good, and 2 dancers that were not great. The concert was just 40 mins each half with a 20 minute interval. I thought it was poor value for money. The food was nice but overall I would not have booked the package if I had known what it was like.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The problem was NOT Viator, but the local company. They put us on an German only speaking tour -- so the city tour was a waste of time. We told the guide that we didn't speak German and that our voucher clearly stated -- that we gave her and she looked at -- that it was supposed to be an English speaking tour. When we arrived at Schonbrunn they put us with the correct group. She acted irritated and angry with us even though she was the one who said that this was our bus.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

It is ok if you want to ride quickly past certain buildings and spend a very short time in Schonbrunn Palace without time for the gardens. I think a hop-on-hop-off is much better . Value for the money = not good!

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Got off to a rather slow start as we had to take a shuttle bus to the main bus station to join up with the main buses including others who were doing other trips. Guide was very knowledgeable and spoke good English. Good experience as an introduction to the city. Schonbrunn is spectacular!

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message