Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Schonbrunn Palace (Schloss Schonbrunn)

Schonbrunn Palace, or Schloss Schonbrunn, means 'beautiful spring' and was a royal hunting park when plans were made to build a sumptuous palace to rival Versailles. Queen Maria Theresa's architect, Nicholas Pacassi, is responsible for the eventual ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 192 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

J W C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. We were collected from our hotel and taken on an interesting journey through Vienna before arriving at the Schonbrunn Palace. Our tour guide was friendly and helpful and it was a joy to beat the queues no need to queue when you're with a tour guide. We didn't feel rushed inside the palace but would have liked an hour once the tour was finished, mostly because there was a Christmas market. We had a little over half an hour and had to choose between the gardens and the market at the front of the palace. I would recommend this tour though, it's good for the price.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Marguerita T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The concert which took place in Schonbrunn Palace's Orangery was really good. An 8-player ensemble played a good number of enjoyable Viennese pieces, accompanied by two operatic singers really godo and two dancers so-so. Prior to concert, there's a foyer with a bar and souvenir stall. My only gripes are that you have to collect the ticket at the venue instead of providing an official e-ticket since we already have a printed voucher and that they insisted that you check in your jackets and having to pay a fee for it. Other than that, the concert itself is well worth it I opted for the middle portion seats.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

prempais India

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Actually this should be called a tour of the Schonbrunn Palace. You get to see it in detail and it is a treat. The rest of the tour is just a drive around town with some rather vague commentary

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Judith K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

For value this could not be beaten. Paying only 68 for a lovely meal, tour of Schonbrunn Palace including the gardens, and a concert with a bit of ballet added in the Orangerie where Mozart gave a first performance of one of his lesser known pieces of music was so special, and a memory I shall never forget, along with my memories of Vienna as a child aged 13 when I was last there.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Malcolm D B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A Fantastic evening of great food and Mozart and Strauss music at the Schonbrunn palace orangerie

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Grace

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The Schonbrunn Palace visit was impressive and worth seeing.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Madalina I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful tour! We enjoyed the Schonbrunn palace and the labyrinth! the gardens are beautiful!

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

lbryantbogard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic Tour Guide! Very knowledgeable!! During the Historic Tour she constantly repeated herself to make sure we got the information. She always asked if there was any questions. Inside of the Schonbrunn Palace she kept the group together. As she was giving explanations, she would pause when another group mingled with ours because it caused an interruptions on the earphones. After the group passed, she would continue. She was great!!!

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

William M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This tour certainly takes you to the the beautiful Schonbrunn Palace, but the whole tour seemed rushed. The headsets in the palace did not work correctly at first, once that was resolved, we were hurrried through the rooms. It was a nice overview of the Ringstrasse.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Sabado

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This package was an excellent value. We saw the Hofburg early in the day, had lunch, then took the metro out to Schonbrunn in the afternoon. We had coffee and cake in the cafe in the ticketing area then dinner and performance. The food and service at the RESIDENZ was wonderful and the performance was a perfect way to end the trip.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This concert is not to be missed. My husband and I first walked through the massive gardens then took the tour of the castle. The concert was held inside the Schonbrunn Palace. The music and opera singers were excellent. Don't miss this one. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

Anne

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The Danube cruise was disappointing. I was visualizing countryside along the Danube, but it was very urban. The boat was marginal. I would not recommend this. However the dinner and concert at Schonbrunn were fabulous. Especially the concert. Very entertaining and you felt the culture and history of Vienna.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

Sara C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Pick up from the hotel was 35 minutes late so we were concerned and had to get the hotel to phone. Apparently the pick up that morning for all our group and others was a fiasco. However the guide for our trip around historic Vienna and the State Apartments of the Schonbrunn Palace was really good and the tour itself was excellent and we thoroughly recommend this. The delayed start meant that we had little time to explore the gardens of the Schonbrunn or take a train ride around the grounds. A beautiful sunny day and the quality of our guide did make this a really worthwhile day.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Ian D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very good tour for getting your bearings. Well worth seeing the inside of Schonbrunn Palace

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Mohanbir S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The guide was very rude - she was openly criticizing the guests for not having their tickets handy and passed snide remarks about incompetent guests. She did not speak clearly and was hard to follow. The visit to Belvedere was a bust - we were given 5 minutes to take a photo opp and were sent back to the buses. This tour is essentially a visit to Schonbrunn - take a cab and buy a ticket to visit the palace yourself.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Nayeni F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The Schonbrunn Palace was very beautiful and a must see in Vienna as it is part of the historical past of not only Vienna but other European Countries as well. The guide was good and her explanations had a touch of humour. We were picked up from our Hotel but dropped off somewhere else and had a bit of trouble finding our way to our Hotel.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Dee United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This tour is great because it gives an overview of many historical sites in Vienna and of the Schonbrunn Palace. After the tour you will probably want to go back so you can spend more time visiting the sites mentioned during the tour at your leisure.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Regina K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent concert in the Orangerie, right off the Schonbrunn u-bahn 4 stop, 10 mins from Karlsplatz station. Nice variety of music, dance, and song.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

Ann P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good audio tour - schonbrunn palace well presented. Vegetarian meal excellent and concert in the orangery enjoyable

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Laetitia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a fantastic evening, starting with a tour of the magnificent Schonbrunn Palace. The dinner was of the highest standard, and the concert was very very enjoyable. All in all, a wonderful afternoon and evening absorbing all that culture and history.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

aecureton23

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wow! This is a must-see concert! It was a great deal for the price. Also, it was nice to visit Schonbrunn again in the evening. The music was very good, and the service was superb!

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

Ebi1975 India

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

good tour but would have liked more time for exploring Schonbrunn Palace.
fast access and entry into palace .

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Peter B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Worth the visit. Vienna and Schonbrunn Palace are captivating.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

BENJAMIN M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Everything was not as described. Only knew to go to Orangerie to pick up tickets because of a review left by a previous customer. We opted for VIP tour, which entitled us to two drinks, described in promotion as sparkling wine, but, in fact, were limited to two glasses of sparkling water or orange juice. We were seated in the first row for performance, which was nice. Unfortunately, service did not include car pickup and return to hotel after performance, as there were few cabs to be found around the Schonbrunn Palace after the performance. We waited and finally got a taxi after about 45 minutes...

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Dinner and Concert

Kelly M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Schonbrunn was beautiful although wondered about installation sticking out windows on the side of house. Grounds were lovely, and we had a blast in the maze. Dinner was better than expected. Concert was good for a small orchestra. Skip the dancers.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message