Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Schonbrunn Palace (Schloss Schonbrunn)

Schonbrunn Palace, or Schloss Schonbrunn, means 'beautiful spring' and was a royal hunting park when plans were made to build a sumptuous palace to rival Versailles. Queen Maria Theresa's architect, Nicholas Pacassi, is responsible for the eventual ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 158 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was terrific. The bus ride around the city was filled with solid info about what we were seeing. We had a fantastically knowledgeable tour guide. And the Schonbrunn Palace visit rocked. Our only complaint was that we didn't have nearly enough time at the Palace. Why not add on an hour so sightseers can truly have some time to go exploring the grounds instead of rushing us around so frenziedly???

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My daughter and I really enjoyed the concert. We had spent the day at Schloss Schonbrunn doing a palace tour, visiting the carriage museum and had walked up to Gloriette. The concert was in the Orangerie in the evening. The music was wonderfully engaging, the ballerinas were spectacular and the opera singers were so talented. It was very warm in the room, but we went outside into the courtyard at intermission and it was so nice to see the palace after dark. We would definitely recommend this concert as a must do in Vienna.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The zoo was fabulous, we really enjoyed it and the wheel was great too. These 2 destinations aren't close together so you need to get to know the underground system to visit both. The printed voucher from aviator was accepted at Schonbrunn Zoo with no problem at all. The ticket from the zoo was a multi use ticket to include entry to the wheel. That ticket then needed to be swapped at the wheel ticket office for entry there.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our at-our-own-time tour of the palace. Dinner at the Residenz was lovely, and the concert was beautiful. Roadwork outside must have prevented taxis from queuing up, but a very polite young woman from the coatroom called a cab company for us.
Our visit to the Schonbrunn was a highlight of our visit to Vienna.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great cheap way to get around to the sites. Buy the 2 or 3 day pass. The hop on hop off stops at most of the major sites; museum quarter, schonbrunn palace, belvidere...etc... The palace has gardens that you might want to go back to. Runs every 30 minutes...more or less, super convenient and super easy to use.

Doing what: Vienna City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Pick up at our hotel was prompt. Our guide was excellent and very friendly. Great overview of the City of Vienna along with some history. Schonbrunn Palace is not to be missed.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Having done a similar tour in Berlin several years ago this was different. The tour of Schonbrunn Palace has to be done earlier in the day as the Palace tours close at 4.30. The dinner is off site in the Palace café at 6.30 and the concert starts at 8.00pm. I probably would not bother with the dinner - it did not add much to the experience but the concert was fantastic. It was a wonderful combination of Mozart, Strauss, orchestra, opera and dance. It was quite unforgettable

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Schonbrunn Palace WAS beautiful!! However, we were VERY disappointed with this Tour by Viator! First of all, telling your people to come by 4 pm will be enough time to take the tour is ridiculous! We had NO time at all to explore the gardens...should have been noted for your guest. Plus, we were mis-lead by your description! We understood that we were touring with ample time, then having dinner AT THE PALACE, then enjoying a concert! After having to cut our tour of palace/grounds short, we find out we have to WALK about 3-4 city blocks to an off site restaurant! We are assuming an upscale hotel/ restaurant at least...but NO! Our "fabulousness" authentic Vienese dinner was at the COURTYARD MARRIOTT!! Truly a disappointing experience!! Then we had to waste more time WALKING back for the concert!! And we bought the Group A tickets!! NOT CHEAP!!! If you are sending people somewhere you should at least bus them!! Sssoooo disappointed over all with this!!

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Although it may seem expensive the combination's very worthwhile. We had a great time at Schonbrunn Palace and loved the cakes at Cafe Central. It was thunder, lightning, and rain during our concert but that just added to the atmosphere and the musicians and dancers were excellent. Note that the company will reserve times for the sightseeing tour, Schonbrunn Palace, and concert - it might be worth getting your combination card and checking the plan before making any other reservations to ensure you can do everything you want to do. We'd booked one separate thing that conflicted and due to a holiday there the company wasn't able to put us on a different sightseeing tour. Overall though the convenience of the Vienna card and tickets for dinner and coffee and cake at our convenience was a tremendous plus for our visit to Vienna.

Doing what: Imperial Vienna Combo: Vienna Card, Mozart Concert, Sightseeing Tour, Schonbrunn Palace and Lunch or Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A wonderful experience that culminated in a splendid Concert at the Schonbrunn Palace.

Doing what: Vienna Combo: Danube River Cruise, Dinner and Schonbrunn Palace Concert

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent trip covering the main tourist attractions in Vienna. The tour of the Schonbrunn Palace and Gardens was enhanced by an excellent guide. My husband who is totally blind told the guide he had no need for sight as her descriptions we so descriptive. A day to be recommended.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Schonbrunn was closing as we arrived, so we did not get to see the palace interior. Shame but not a tragedy. However the dinner and concert were worth the effort. The restaurant is inside the palace walls but not inside the palace. We felt the dinners was excellent considering that it was a set menu. The service was very good and we did not feel rushed at all. The restaurant room was very nicely decorated and the tables were well spaced.

The concert was excellent. The orchestra of 15 was so good. The soprano and tenor were young and very competent. The dancers were excellent. Including intermission the concert started at 8.30 and finished a bit after 10pm. Well worth the price and a great memory for us.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Dinner and Concert

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

It was nice to have the bus tour of the city, but the guided tour provided all the same information as the audio guides available at the Schonbrunn at no extra charge when you purchase a ticket. If you have limited time, this tour is nice because it allows you to tour the most impressive rooms. However, we ended up going back the next day and purchased a combination ticket for a full Schonbrunn Palace tour and access to the Sisi Museum.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Departed late at 10:10am. It was understandable as someone was in travel jam. However, the tour finished at about 12:45pm. So, not quite 3 hours. We only have half an hour free time to take photos at the Schonbrunn Palace. Why not make it longer instead of finishing early? The bus departed 12:30pm at the Palace. Because our kid needed to go to the toilet, we arrived 2-3 minutes late.....the bus has gone! Fortunately, we found another bus from the same company and the tour guide was willing to take us back to the city.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Schonbrunn is a must while in Vienna and it is so much easier to do it with a tour if you don't have a car during your visit. We really enjoyed the tour and its quick overview of the city and its history. Schonbrunn was lovely, though it would have been nice if we could have taken picture inside and if we'd had more than 20 minutes to explore the gardens since I had hoped to go to the maze.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message