• USD ($)
  • English

Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Tiergarten Schonbrunn

Founded in 1752 as a menagerie by Franz Stephan, Tiergarten Schönbrunn, or Vienna Zoo, is the oldest zoo in the world. It houses some 750 animals of all shapes and sizes; the most recent arrivals to excite crowds were giant pandas in 2003 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the line to the ferris wheel was short and there was a carnival going on in the parking lot, which was a great time. The zoo was amazing

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed our trip to the zoo and the Prater, however, the joint trip tickets are available at both venues and you do still need to queue to present the voucher for it to be converted in to a joint ticket.

The zoo is spacious and well laid out with plenty of options for food and drinks. There are a number of construction projects at the moment which look like they will be quite impressive once they are completed.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The zoo was nice but unfortunately it was so hot that day it was hard to enjoy it. When we gave our ticket to the clerk she never gave us a voucher for the Ferris wheel so be sure you ask for it because we didn't. The grounds around the zoo are beautiful.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A nice zoo,seeing the Panda Bears was great and the reason I booked this tour,I didn't take the Ferris wheel ride

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

An excellent combination. The zoo is extensive so at least half a day is needed. The journey from the zoo to the ferris wheel is easy by metro but including walking to and from the stations you need to allow 45 minutes. Before the ride (which gives excellent views of the city) there's a very interesting exhibition.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The zoo is impressive, allow a good 4-5 hours to explore everything. The new polar bear exhibit is still under construction however it appears it will be the best exhibit once opened. We rode the Ferris Wheel at dusk - wonderful views of the city and the surrounding fairground. Take your time too enjoy the Ferris Wheel museum located just after the ticket counter.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Good package - really nice zoo.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

The zoo was great. I was very underwhelmed by the Riesenrad though. I expected it to be much better than it was.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

The zoo is inside the Schonbrunn Palace, an amazing place to see. I did enjoy the grounds of the palace more than the zoo itself to be honest, but if you do them together, you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

didnt do the ferris wheel and it was a rainy day so did not get full appreciation of zoo. what we saw was very nice.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Well worth the effort but I'd advised to start at the Zoo no later than 0930hrs and spend at least 6 hours wandering around the Zoo and then go onto Ferris Wheel making sure you get a copy of both Zoo and Ferris Wheel Voucher otherwise you have to pay again when you arrive at the Prater and go on the Ferris Wheel. Spectacular views of the city from wheel so I'd suggest doing this at night time or even do 2 trips on the wheel -- 1 Day and 1 Night. Can have special meal in one of the carriages of the Giant Ferris Wheel. Would be ideal if celebrating something special whilst in Venna. Make sure you have enough memory cards for your camera so you can take as many phots as you like on any of the tours.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Both the Zoo and the Prater are fairly empty in Winter. If you want to take photos at the zoo, it was easier this time of year than I imagine it would be in the summer. Most of the rides at the Prater were not running, but a few were, which was ok, because we mostly just wanted to walk around and take pictures. The woman working the ticket desk at the zoo was confused when we presented our vouchers, but they figured it out. I highly recommend both the zoo and the Prater!

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Clean Zoo, tons of exotic animals and is surrounded by a fabulous park. I believe this is the 4th best Zoo in the world. I would recommend bringing a packed lunch for the park outside of the Zoo. It is gorgeous. It is also very close to this wonderful palace we stumbled upon within the park area.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

i didn't make it to the ferris wheel, but the zoo was really cute and in stunning surroundings...not a 'must see' for random travellers, but those whop enjoy zoo's will like it

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Even with the rain and wind we had a great day. The zoo was just so well kept and the animals all looked happy.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message