Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Tiergarten Schonbrunn

Founded in 1752 as a menagerie by Franz Stephan, Tiergarten Schönbrunn, or Vienna Zoo, is the oldest zoo in the world. It houses some 750 animals of all shapes and sizes; the most recent arrivals to excite crowds were giant pandas in 2003 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

As Wien is such a great city to visit anyway, a trip to the zoo and a ride on the famous wheel is all part of the touristy stuff you do. Both well worth it. The two in one offer made it even better value. As with most attractions anywhere you go, if you can do them on a week day, you get less crowds. We were also blessed with nice weather...not the 30 degrees of the previous weeks I am glad to say!!! If you have kids, they will love the park where the wheel is as much, if not more than the zoo, but there is a lot of walking involved. Make sure you have comfy shoes, and enjoy.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The zoo was very nice even though the pandas did not come out. The giant ferris wheel was awesome! I was able to get a great view of the city. Vienna is a beautiful city!

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I bought these tickets thinking that they would save us time in lines, etc. However, you still have to wait in line to turn in your voucher to then get tickets printed. So we waited at both the Ferris Wheel line and then again at Schonbrunn Zoo. Thankfully the lines weren't too long, but it seemed to defeat the purpose.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great zoo,which has pandas also.The Ferris wheel was exhilarating and very historical

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

No train as you said. They almost didnt accept the voucher at the restaurant which was the most remote one at the zoo

Doing what: Best Family Vienna Combo: Vienna Card, Schonbrunn Zoo, Prater Ferris Wheel and Madame Tussauds

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very well maintained zoo, amazed to see Panda, Polar bear, Koala bear along with Siberian Tiger, Sea Lions, Penguins etc .

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great Value, especially the Vienna Card. Very easy to use public transportation and the zoo is outstanding!!!

Doing what: Best Family Vienna Combo: Vienna Card, Schonbrunn Zoo, Prater Ferris Wheel and Madame Tussauds

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Really enjoyable. Only spoiled by the lack of directions to the entrance to the Zoo

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The zoo was fabulous, we really enjoyed it and the wheel was great too. These 2 destinations aren't close together so you need to get to know the underground system to visit both. The printed voucher from aviator was accepted at Schonbrunn Zoo with no problem at all. The ticket from the zoo was a multi use ticket to include entry to the wheel. That ticket then needed to be swapped at the wheel ticket office for entry there.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the line to the ferris wheel was short and there was a carnival going on in the parking lot, which was a great time. The zoo was amazing

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed our trip to the zoo and the Prater, however, the joint trip tickets are available at both venues and you do still need to queue to present the voucher for it to be converted in to a joint ticket.

The zoo is spacious and well laid out with plenty of options for food and drinks. There are a number of construction projects at the moment which look like they will be quite impressive once they are completed.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The zoo was nice but unfortunately it was so hot that day it was hard to enjoy it. When we gave our ticket to the clerk she never gave us a voucher for the Ferris wheel so be sure you ask for it because we didn't. The grounds around the zoo are beautiful.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A nice zoo,seeing the Panda Bears was great and the reason I booked this tour,I didn't take the Ferris wheel ride

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

An excellent combination. The zoo is extensive so at least half a day is needed. The journey from the zoo to the ferris wheel is easy by metro but including walking to and from the stations you need to allow 45 minutes. Before the ride (which gives excellent views of the city) there's a very interesting exhibition.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The zoo is impressive, allow a good 4-5 hours to explore everything. The new polar bear exhibit is still under construction however it appears it will be the best exhibit once opened. We rode the Ferris Wheel at dusk - wonderful views of the city and the surrounding fairground. Take your time too enjoy the Ferris Wheel museum located just after the ticket counter.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Good package - really nice zoo.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

The zoo was great. I was very underwhelmed by the Riesenrad though. I expected it to be much better than it was.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

The zoo is inside the Schonbrunn Palace, an amazing place to see. I did enjoy the grounds of the palace more than the zoo itself to be honest, but if you do them together, you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

didnt do the ferris wheel and it was a rainy day so did not get full appreciation of zoo. what we saw was very nice.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Well worth the effort but I'd advised to start at the Zoo no later than 0930hrs and spend at least 6 hours wandering around the Zoo and then go onto Ferris Wheel making sure you get a copy of both Zoo and Ferris Wheel Voucher otherwise you have to pay again when you arrive at the Prater and go on the Ferris Wheel. Spectacular views of the city from wheel so I'd suggest doing this at night time or even do 2 trips on the wheel -- 1 Day and 1 Night. Can have special meal in one of the carriages of the Giant Ferris Wheel. Would be ideal if celebrating something special whilst in Venna. Make sure you have enough memory cards for your camera so you can take as many phots as you like on any of the tours.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Both the Zoo and the Prater are fairly empty in Winter. If you want to take photos at the zoo, it was easier this time of year than I imagine it would be in the summer. Most of the rides at the Prater were not running, but a few were, which was ok, because we mostly just wanted to walk around and take pictures. The woman working the ticket desk at the zoo was confused when we presented our vouchers, but they figured it out. I highly recommend both the zoo and the Prater!

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Clean Zoo, tons of exotic animals and is surrounded by a fabulous park. I believe this is the 4th best Zoo in the world. I would recommend bringing a packed lunch for the park outside of the Zoo. It is gorgeous. It is also very close to this wonderful palace we stumbled upon within the park area.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

i didn't make it to the ferris wheel, but the zoo was really cute and in stunning surroundings...not a 'must see' for random travellers, but those whop enjoy zoo's will like it

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Even with the rain and wind we had a great day. The zoo was just so well kept and the animals all looked happy.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Great zoo would recomend this for kids and adults alike,but u do need to set aside a whole day for this to realy enjoy it and there is a massive park to look round when you have finished at the zoo.The ferris wheel is worth going on and its set in a massive fair ground so loads of fun but will cost a bit extra.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message