Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Vienna Opera House (Staatsoper)

Staatsopera, the Vienna Opera, began in the early 18th century. Since then it has continuously produced performances every year. The building was opened in 1869, part of Franz Joseph's expansion of Vienna which has left such a magnificent legacy of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent evening. The dinner was superb, the concert excellent, and the volunteer who shepherd us through it was wonderful. A hotel pickup would have been nice.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

very uplifting concert! lovely night out.

I think that online description of Electronic Vouchers failed to explain that these vouchers have to be presented in the ticket office across the road from Opera House, so that you get SEAT NUMBERS.
We discovered it just by chance. Seat numbers are important - we were presented with available choices and selected the best available at the time ( morning of the concert day).

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a wonderful evening. Getting a cab after the show was difficult but other than that on a scale of 1 to 10 I give this a 9.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was very informative, getting into some Austrian history but not in an overwhelming way. It was well-paced in that we stopped for the coffee/cake about 2/3 way through. Our guide was amazing--very professional and friendly.

Doing what: Small-Group Vienna Highlights Walking Tour Including Coffee and Cake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What an insightful, fun and delicious guided tour! Our tour guide was friendly, funny and professional, and the coffee and cake were absolutely divine. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see a bit of Vienna's main landmarks and wanting to know quirky facts and the history of this beautiful city. It helps if you have got a sweet tooth too!

Doing what: Small-Group Vienna Highlights Walking Tour Including Coffee and Cake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very interesting concert in a great location, with an amazing orchestra! Good selection of Mozart masterpices. A magic experience to do in Vienna. I totally suggest it!

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Dinner at Bristol Lounge was very good- meal was good and staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful! Vienna Mozart orchestra concert was excellant and Vienna opera house was amaging!! We both, my wife and I enjoyed the evening!

Doing what: Vienna Mozart Evening: Gourmet Dinner and Concert at the Vienna Opera House or Vienna Konzerthaus

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable concert combining a degree of formality but with a good connection between the audience and performers, concluding with less formal encores of traditional favourites and with audience joining in. A memorable evening.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour, great guide, informative, funny, engaging with coffee and cake really a nice touch. Truly a memorable time, highly recommended for everyone !!

Doing what: Small-Group Vienna Highlights Walking Tour Including Coffee and Cake

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great service. Breakfast included and they will cook delicious omelet for you. Room is clean except some carpet stains. Good wifi and tidy quiet room when window closed even it's facing to main street. It's right next to train station and tour meeting point. Location is in dirtiest part of the Munich but safe and walking distance to everything.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great experience! Beware that if you order the tickets on line, you have to queue for more than 20 minutes to get your tickets.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Nice to hear Mozart and visit the inside of the theater. The performance was good but not extraordinary. Everything is for tourists and a bit superficial.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It is good to join this tour to explore Vienna by walking

Doing what: Small-Group Vienna Highlights Walking Tour Including Coffee and Cake

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Great orientation to the lovely city of Vienna.

Doing what: Small-Group Vienna Highlights Walking Tour Including Coffee and Cake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great experience and more than worth it!

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

We enjoyed the concert with its variety of musical pieces being played, particularly my favourite Blue Danube and the Magic Flute. The conductor was fun and got the entire audience involved in clapping with the music. Though its performance is not as good as that of the Schönbrunn Palace concert, it is worthwhile to experience a concert in such beautiful opera house and also get a complimentary CD. It is a bit disappointing that the CD was not for each person, but for each party attended the concert.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

It was amazing as far as the music goes. Our seats were in a good location but the only problem was seating as we were in the second row so that we had to stand up to see the stage.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

It was an interesting experience! The concert at the State Opera of Vienna shouldn't be missed!

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

There are many concerts like this one offered in Vienna.

Although the concert, costumes, and Opera singers were fairly good, the venue of the Opera House was MUCH too large and the acoustics were WAY below satisfaction due to the large amount of air/space. The string section simply got "lost".

I suggest future travelers pick a concert at another venue, which you offer, that will be much smaller and enjoyable.

Mark

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The opera itself was great, but the seats we got by paying for Cat A were lousy. I would suggest booking directly on viennaconcerts or booking while in Vienna so you get good seats for the category you pay for.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Really good tour by an experienced guide who was happy to answer questions and gave us plenty of time to take photos. Lots of walking but not overwhelming or difficult.

Doing what: Small-Group Vienna Highlights Walking Tour Including Coffee and Cake

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

This was a great introduction to the history of Vienna. We were shown many of the historical palaces that related to the Hapsburg Empire. The guide was friendly, approachable and very informative. This was a very worthwhile experience for us.

Doing what: Small-Group Vienna Highlights Walking Tour Including Coffee and Cake

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

It was a little unclear of who/which company we were supposed to be meeting/looking out for. Eventually found a lady who we think was our guide, but she did not accept the smart phone option of having your certificate, so this was confusing. The tour itself was great, if this was the correct person!

Doing what: Small-Group Vienna Highlights Walking Tour Including Coffee and Cake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Vienna is very beautiful and it was nice to have a guide so knowledgeable about this city. Great introduction to Vienna.

Doing what: Small-Group Vienna Highlights Walking Tour Including Coffee and Cake

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message