• USD ($)
  • English

Vienna ATTRACTIONS See all

Vienna Opera House (Staatsoper)

Staatsopera, the Vienna Opera, began in the early 18th century. Since then it has continuously produced performances every year. The building was opened in 1869, part of Franz Joseph's expansion of Vienna which has left such a magnificent legacy of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour, great guide, informative, funny, engaging with coffee and cake really a nice touch. Truly a memorable time, highly recommended for everyone !!

Doing what: Small-Group Vienna Highlights Walking Tour Including Coffee and Cake

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great service. Breakfast included and they will cook delicious omelet for you. Room is clean except some carpet stains. Good wifi and tidy quiet room when window closed even it's facing to main street. It's right next to train station and tour meeting point. Location is in dirtiest part of the Munich but safe and walking distance to everything.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

suppose to be a two hour tour, patricia told us right after hello it was a 1 I/2 tour? Nice lady but very flat
personality, nothing like we expected, used viator for rome, san fran, paris and Vienna, this was the
least favorite, sorry

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Nice to hear Mozart and visit the inside of the theater. The performance was good but not extraordinary. Everything is for tourists and a bit superficial.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It is good to join this tour to explore Vienna by walking

Doing what: Small-Group Vienna Highlights Walking Tour Including Coffee and Cake

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Our guide was knowledgeable, and the tour moved at a good pace. Overall satisfied. However, we nearly missed the tour altogether, because we found no one at the specified meeting point in Albertina Platz behind the Opera Building. We nearly gave up but then saw a group taking off near there. We joined it hoping that it was ours, and thankfully it was. The tour group needs to be more precise with the meeting place.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The tour was worth doing but it stated an English tour guide, in fact we had a bi-lingual guide who preferred to speak in German, she did say it in English but throughout the tour would have conversations in German to the German people. The tour gave you a good inside on what to have a better look at later.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Great orientation to the lovely city of Vienna.

Doing what: Small-Group Vienna Highlights Walking Tour Including Coffee and Cake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great experience and more than worth it!

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

We enjoyed the concert with its variety of musical pieces being played, particularly my favourite Blue Danube and the Magic Flute. The conductor was fun and got the entire audience involved in clapping with the music. Though its performance is not as good as that of the Schönbrunn Palace concert, it is worthwhile to experience a concert in such beautiful opera house and also get a complimentary CD. It is a bit disappointing that the CD was not for each person, but for each party attended the concert.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

this was a large group and split language which i was not expecting. while it suited me to take my time while shooting photographs as she started with the German tour, it did feel a little disjointed waiting your turn to find out what she was pointing at and making half the group laugh. it was a very short and rushed tour due to having both German the English translations. however, it was a highlights tour and it covered most of the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

It was amazing as far as the music goes. Our seats were in a good location but the only problem was seating as we were in the second row so that we had to stand up to see the stage.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

It was an interesting experience! The concert at the State Opera of Vienna shouldn't be missed!

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

There are many concerts like this one offered in Vienna.

Although the concert, costumes, and Opera singers were fairly good, the venue of the Opera House was MUCH too large and the acoustics were WAY below satisfaction due to the large amount of air/space. The string section simply got "lost".

I suggest future travelers pick a concert at another venue, which you offer, that will be much smaller and enjoyable.

Mark

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The opera itself was great, but the seats we got by paying for Cat A were lousy. I would suggest booking directly on viennaconcerts or booking while in Vienna so you get good seats for the category you pay for.

Doing what: Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message