The Wachau Valley, formed by the Danube River west of Vienna, is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Austria. The valley, located between the towns of Melk and Krems, has been designated a UNESCO World Heritage site since 2000 and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I highly recommend this tour. Visit to the monastery was great and so was the scenery at wachau valley. Didn't see much at krems as it was christmas eve and everything was closed however seems like it's a charming little town.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Really enjoyed the trip to the beautiful Danube valley and Melk Abbey. The trip was well organised and hotel pickup was really appreciated. Our guide Sylvia was very helpful and answered all sort of questions very patiently. She also gave us interesting insights to the areas, food and history.

It would have been nicer if we could spend some more time in the Wachau valley specially during the walk through Dürnstein. Rest of the trip was lovely.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Hanna G
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Right from the beginning, its a good time! At the end of the scenic hour train ride into Wachau Valley, everyone is well acquainted and buddies. Adam, the tour guide, is very friendly, knowledgeable and fun! He puts everyone on a good head- even if you resist. The ride throughout is amazing-the views, the air and of course the wine!! Great way to see Austria's wine country, meet the friendly locals and families who own the wineries. You'll also make friends for life :))

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Over the Top Fantabulous! We spent 4 days in Vienna and 4 days in Prague and the bike tour in Wachau Valley along the Danube River was hands down the hilite. Riding amongst the vineyards and through quaint towns, enjoying local wines and people, encountering photo ops around every bend and atop every incline, all with a great group and our extraordinaire leader Adam. Book it Danno

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My friend and I went on Viator's wine tasting bike tour with Megan, hailing from Australia, as our guide. We had a great, cohesive group, which made for a wonderful day in the Wachau Valley, where we stopped at three vineyards and climbed to where King Richard was imprisoned in Dürnstein. Megan was upbeat, fun and knowledgable; I recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Vienna!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome. What a wonderful wonderful way to see the Wachau Valley. Megan was a great guide. Thanks for an unforgettable day. Regards, John and Ann-Maree. Newcastle Australia.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time biking through the Wachau Valley. It was nice to see the countryside after a couple days in the city center. We also got to meet several people from around the world and our guide, Hanas, I hope is spelled it right was great.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Just finished the bike tour with Alain. We were just a small group of 6 people which was really great. The tour is paced ideally and the Biking isn't very challenging. The Wachau valley is really beautiful and the wines were lovely. The whole day was completely satisfying and it was worth every penny spent. I can't recommend any better way to spend one day away from the city when one arrives in Vienna. Thanks Alain for making the day extremely enjoyable and memorable...:-)

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Vienna was in rain but the Wachau Valley was sunny and, as already reported by others, Stelios was great! Well paced, informative and really enjoyable.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip started on a train journey of one hour to Wachau valley. Alain entertained us on the train before we picked up our bikes at the depot. Alain was a hit with his humour and vast knowledge of the area. We stopped three times, tasting the wine and lovely food. One of the stops we had free time to walk up to a fantastic viewpoint of the Danube. This tour was the highlight of our holiday, having great company and getting guided through beautiful Austrian villages. A lovely retreat from the city. We would definitely recommend this for all abilities and ages!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Wachau Valley Wine Tasting Wine Tour was a wonderful experience. Our guide Nicolette (Nico) was personable, knowledgeable and very capable. We had perfect weather, the wineries were accommodating and efficient, lunch was good value. The bikes wer easy to ride and well maintained. Magic scenery (village of Krems is sensational), the riding relativley easy. The climb up to and view from the "Richard the 3rd" castle was a great experience. Definitely one of the highlights of our six weeks travel.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful time on the full day bike trip to the Wachau Valley with approximately 10 other adults and our trip guide, Alain. The meeting place is easy to find in bright green letters on Franz Josefs Kai (see their logo above). It is a short train ride to Krem where we picked up our bikes-all with humorous names. The bike ride itself is easy going with a few hills (just stand up and pedal through them). You will enjoy this trip much more if you listen to Alain who is very familiar with the area and take in the beautiful surroundings. Do not try to take videos or pictures when you are on your bike, he will stop at the most interesting areas for photo ops and give you a quick history lesson. Our group was made up of people from all over the world. We had a great time tasting wines, exploring the castle ruins (highly recommend the climb to the top) in Durnstein as well as taking a dip in the Danube. If you like wine, people, beautiful scenery, biking and hiking this is definitely for you!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our guide Megan speaks frequent English and is knowledgeable. We like it because we sit inside a comfortable van and didn't need to endure the heat. While it's a pity that we went around Wachau but did not go into the monastery in Melk. Regardless of that, I will recommend this tour to those who seek beautiful scenery and want to have a taste of wine.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a beautiful and relaxing day on the Danube from start to finish. We were picked up at our hotel and taken by bus to the beautiful Wachau Valley where we boarded the riverboat. We were lucky with perfect weather. We were given ample time for lunch at the Melk Abbey and given an excellent tour with knowledgable guides. My 81 yr old mother and I loved our trip and highly recommend it to anyone looking to get a peak at the scenery outside of Vienna.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a highlight of my two-week trip this summer. Stelios, our guide, was probably one of the most amazing, intelligent guides I have ever had on any tour with the accommodating personality to match. The scenic drive to the Wachau was lovely in a small Mercedes van with our group. The wines coming from the Wachau are really crisp and fresh, and the tastings were informative as each winery took its time in explaining its individual process to us. Lunch at a traditional tavern in the countryside was lovely. This is the perfect day trip from Vienna-- a must for all wine lovers!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message