• USD ($)
  • English
The Wachau Valley is a stretch of the Danube River between Melk and Krems in Lower Austria. It has been peopled since prehistoric times. How do we know this? Because its surrounding mountains contains traces of millennia of civilization, from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We went on this tour fully expecting a nice experience and what we got was a spectacular tour with our guide Gretel. She was just so knowledgeable about the region, the history and the people, not only for the Wachau valley but Vienna and Austria as well. This tour was the highlight of our Austria stay, it is well worth every penny you spend. I would recommend this tour to anyone who has a deep appreciation for wine all the way to someone who has no clue. You will have a memorable experience and if you are lucky enough to have Gretel as your guide you will be in store for something extra special. We loved every mnute of it and still talk about it to this day

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

C S
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

An interesting tour along the Danube and the vineyards in the Wachau valley. And a visit to the Melk abbey above the town of Melk overlooking the Danube. The guide in Melk was excellent.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

We were picked up at 9.00am driven to a central collection point by 9.40 to a larger bus and then sat for 40min before we left at 10.20 .The guide said this was a common occurrence .As such our drive through "winding roads and castles in the Austrian countryside " -your quote -was a 120kmh motorway dash -Durnstein Abbey was seen as a distant spec on top of a hill.When we got to Spitz another half hour wait before we got on the very crowded and noisy ferry .If there was any commentary we couldn't hear it . The wachau valley is pretty but not exceptional compared with other areas in the world.The only saving grace was the visit to Melk and the Abbey which was beautiful. We regretted we did not make the trip ourselves by public rail/ferry as your tour was very poor value for money crowded and uneventful

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This tour exceeded all of our expectations: the guide was marvelous, the six others on the tour added so much to our experience. We loved the "boutique feel" of this excursion and the ability to see things we would not have with any other guided tour. Cannot say enough about our day in the Wachau Valley except to say that we would take the tour again and would recommended it to all!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had a wonderful time on this tour...Fabulous itinerary and our tour guide Stelios was awesome. He took special interest in showing us so many different places and is a great tour guide. We've always taken viator tour all over Europe and always been more than satisfied. We definitely recommend this tour to anyone going to Vienna, Austria. It's a great mix of seeing the breathtaking Wachau Valley for wine tours, visit to the quaint town of Durnstein, lunch in a beautiful outdoor setting , relaxing cruise on the Danube river and visit to the amazing Melk Abbey.

Varanasi Family. California, USA

Doing what: Private Tour: Wachau Valley Tour and Wine Tastings from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had the opportunity to book this all day tour in mid-August. Aside from the warm weather and location, I was most impressed with our tour guide and the small-group nature of the tour. Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgable about the areas we visited, including the wines and had a great sense of humor. I really enjoyed the small-group van option as we had access to more quaint villages along the way that you would not have with a large tour bus. I would highly recommend this tour to get an overall experience of the Wachau Valley, Danube River, wineries and local villages.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Yi Ching
Taiwan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

It was a really great tour! I had a wonderful day at Wachau.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The guide was knowledgeable, telling us interesting facts, he was talking alsmost the whole trip, smoothly changing the language - English, German and Italian. Wachau valley is beautiful and the Abbey of Melk is a place which worths to be seen. We spent a great time though the excursion started in rain.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

We booked this tour as I has read how lovely the Wachau Valley was. The scenery itself was lovely - from a bus window. No time to stop and see anything. The guides seemed to be very disorganised and we had quite a lot of waiting time sitting on the bus at the beginning waiting for people to arrive. Also our guide gave the commentary in 3 different languages and that was very annoying, there was constant talking! The Boat trip was very average, crammed on a normal ferry with many other tourists. The Melk Abbey was worth seeing however. If I was to do this trip, I would either catch the train there or hire a car!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent trip - even in the rain for some of the time! All ran very efficiently and the scenery was fantastic in the Wachau valley. Had a lovely lunch in the café at Melk and the tour of the monastery was hugely interesting and informative. Well worth the emoney

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Biking around the Wachau valley was wonderful experience, the scenery was amazing. We got to taste about seven different white wines in two different wineries, but it was just a tasting, they did not give us much information about wines and how they are produced. Also we had to use same glass for all the wines. The guide was good and bikes were in excellent condition.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a wonderful experience to see the Wachau Valley and another part of Austria. The tour was ably led and the follow-up man saved me when the chain came off my bicycle. I would heartily recommend this tour. It was fun, energetic, we had folks of all ages and stripes. A highlight of our visit to Vienna. On the strength of this tour we are doing a viator trip to Red Rocks when we visit Las Vegas in the Fall.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

La excursión está bien y la Abadía de Melk es increible. Lo malo es que al subir al barco ya estaban todas las mesas buenas ocupadas y fueron dos horas de paseo que se hicieron algo largas.
El tiempo para comer es muy justo y no da tiempo a visitar el pueblo si se quiere comer en el restaurante y hacer la visita guiada.
Pero merece la pena hacer una excursión en Wachau, sin duda.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This tour was an easy way to see the Wachau Valley without having to worry about the little details. It was a well organised tour and our guide, Esther, was fantastic. We learnt a lot and really enjoyed the day. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Rae
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

it was a fantastic day trip which included a visit to the small but lovely towns of krems and Melk. Our trip included a free lunch en route to the Melk abbey. The views along the danube were fascinating. our tour guide offered information about the important sites along the way to wachau valley.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message