The Wachau Valley, formed by the Danube River west of Vienna, is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Austria. The valley, located between the towns of Melk and Krems, has been designated a UNESCO World Heritage site since 2000 and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Mario, was great. I was surprised to have an Italian tour guide in Wachau, but he knew his wines and was very personable. The small tour max size is 8 we had 7 and it is a nice pace with plenty of opportunity to taste local wines. The hour long cruise down the Danube was relaxing. I highly recommend Mario!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My husband and I agreed it was one of the highlights of our trek thru Eastern Europe! Wish we would have had more time so we could stop off in some of the cute villages we passed thru but we were a big group! The scenery was like something out of a movie set or a fairy tale. The Wachau Valley Is absolutely stunning! Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great tour to see a beautiful part of the world. Great wine sampled while viewing some lovely villages on a pleasant bike ride. The tour went off without a hitch and was well organized. Would highly recommend it for anyone that enjoys a nice ride through the wine country of the Wachau Valley.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was an extremely satisfying trip and the whole day was enjoyable. The town the food at Wachau and the cruise at the end was such a pleasure and simply tireless. Credit goes to guide Mario.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had such a fantastic day with Stelios in the Wachau Valley! In spite of a few rain drops here and there, our day was sunny tasting wine with new friends from all over the world. So relaxing traveling with a small group of people and having Stelios share his knowledge of this wine region.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had such a fantastic day with Stelios in the Wachau Valley! In spite of a few rain drops here and there, our day was sunny tasting wine with new friends from all over the world. So relaxing traveling with a small group of people and having Stelios share his knowledge of this wine region.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. We went in May 2015. Colder, kinda dreary day. Biking along the danube and in the wachau valley was surreal. Knowledgeable tour guide. made it very fun for us. This should be a priority if you visit vienna

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time on the Wachau Valley winery bike tour! This was by far our favorite excursion during our stay in Vienna. We had a great group of people and an amazing guide, Gianni! He was very knowledgeable about the wine and a lot of fun! Great views and heurigens!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing! Wachau Valley is beautiful. We biked through some quaint and lovely towns and vineyards. Our guide Hannes was very nice and brought us to two family owned wine tasting shops, 1st is where we had a great lunch and 2nd had breathtaking views of the valley. Would do this again.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great. Our guide, Stelios, was the best! He knew the history, the countryside and the wines of the Wachau Valley. His interaction with all the folks in our group was appreciated, he made us feel welcome and included. Thank you Stelios !!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is great - do it! It was one of the highlights of my 2 weeks in Europe. I spent a lot of time in European cities and this was a great way to get out of the city and explore some beautiful countryside. A 9-hour tour sounds very long, but you won't be biking for 9 hours. It's not too intense in terms of the biking you bike in fairly short increments, and it's mostly flat and it's not very intense or snobby in terms of the wine tasting. FYI, the Wachau Valley is mostly dry white wines, but some people on our tour weren't really into wine and they still enjoyed biking and wandering the small towns we visited including Durnstein, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Our guide Ian was from New Zealand it's nice to have a native English speaker you can ask questions but has lived in Austria a few months and taught us a lot about authentic Austrian wine culture and heurigens. We also had a fun, social group of people. Bikes are in good condition and helmets are provided/required. You're mostly on bike paths so it's not dangerous city riding you ride a train outside of Vienna before getting on a bike.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour and an excellent way to explore the Wachau valley. Choice of wineries and lunch spot were very good. Open air boat ride to Melk was stunning.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I was in Vienna for business and had just one day to try and see some sights. This tour fit the bill very nicely. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and organized - in 5 languages! It was a very hot day so the slow drift down the river was a bit uncomfortable but not so much that I wouldn't recommend it. I think it would have been nice to be able to visit a winery in the Wachau region, but Melk Abbey was worth the trip. It is a stunning Baroque confection and a must see!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Good points were an enthusiastic guide and a willingness to offer a climb to the castle at Dürnstein or to drop us back at the hotel after the trip. There was a kind of sameness to the experience, with three wine tastings and no chance to explore Melk on our own. A picture of the abbey finished off the visit. The cruise on the Danube was quite pleasant but we expected more startling scenry from the Wachau Valley.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was wonderful- our guide Mario was terrific and made our tour all the more memorable. The group of people we were with was also great. I would recommend a small group to anyone looking to tour the Wachau Valley.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I highly recommend this tour. Visit to the monastery was great and so was the scenery at wachau valley. Didn't see much at krems as it was christmas eve and everything was closed however seems like it's a charming little town.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Really enjoyed the trip to the beautiful Danube valley and Melk Abbey. The trip was well organised and hotel pickup was really appreciated. Our guide Sylvia was very helpful and answered all sort of questions very patiently. She also gave us interesting insights to the areas, food and history.

It would have been nicer if we could spend some more time in the Wachau valley specially during the walk through Dürnstein. Rest of the trip was lovely.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Hanna G
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Right from the beginning, its a good time! At the end of the scenic hour train ride into Wachau Valley, everyone is well acquainted and buddies. Adam, the tour guide, is very friendly, knowledgeable and fun! He puts everyone on a good head- even if you resist. The ride throughout is amazing-the views, the air and of course the wine!! Great way to see Austria's wine country, meet the friendly locals and families who own the wineries. You'll also make friends for life :))

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Over the Top Fantabulous! We spent 4 days in Vienna and 4 days in Prague and the bike tour in Wachau Valley along the Danube River was hands down the hilite. Riding amongst the vineyards and through quaint towns, enjoying local wines and people, encountering photo ops around every bend and atop every incline, all with a great group and our extraordinaire leader Adam. Book it Danno

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My friend and I went on Viator's wine tasting bike tour with Megan, hailing from Australia, as our guide. We had a great, cohesive group, which made for a wonderful day in the Wachau Valley, where we stopped at three vineyards and climbed to where King Richard was imprisoned in Dürnstein. Megan was upbeat, fun and knowledgable; I recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Vienna!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome. What a wonderful wonderful way to see the Wachau Valley. Megan was a great guide. Thanks for an unforgettable day. Regards, John and Ann-Maree. Newcastle Australia.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time biking through the Wachau Valley. It was nice to see the countryside after a couple days in the city center. We also got to meet several people from around the world and our guide, Hanas, I hope is spelled it right was great.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Just finished the bike tour with Alain. We were just a small group of 6 people which was really great. The tour is paced ideally and the Biking isn't very challenging. The Wachau valley is really beautiful and the wines were lovely. The whole day was completely satisfying and it was worth every penny spent. I can't recommend any better way to spend one day away from the city when one arrives in Vienna. Thanks Alain for making the day extremely enjoyable and memorable...:-)

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Vienna was in rain but the Wachau Valley was sunny and, as already reported by others, Stelios was great! Well paced, informative and really enjoyable.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip started on a train journey of one hour to Wachau valley. Alain entertained us on the train before we picked up our bikes at the depot. Alain was a hit with his humour and vast knowledge of the area. We stopped three times, tasting the wine and lovely food. One of the stops we had free time to walk up to a fantastic viewpoint of the Danube. This tour was the highlight of our holiday, having great company and getting guided through beautiful Austrian villages. A lovely retreat from the city. We would definitely recommend this for all abilities and ages!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message