The Wachau Valley is a stretch of the Danube River between Melk and Krems in Lower Austria. It has been peopled since prehistoric times. How do we know this? Because its surrounding mountains contains traces of millennia of civilization, from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hanna G
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Right from the beginning, its a good time! At the end of the scenic hour train ride into Wachau Valley, everyone is well acquainted and buddies. Adam, the tour guide, is very friendly, knowledgeable and fun! He puts everyone on a good head- even if you resist. The ride throughout is amazing-the views, the air and of course the wine!! Great way to see Austria's wine country, meet the friendly locals and families who own the wineries. You'll also make friends for life :))

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Over the Top Fantabulous! We spent 4 days in Vienna and 4 days in Prague and the bike tour in Wachau Valley along the Danube River was hands down the hilite. Riding amongst the vineyards and through quaint towns, enjoying local wines and people, encountering photo ops around every bend and atop every incline, all with a great group and our extraordinaire leader Adam. Book it Danno

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My friend and I went on Viator's wine tasting bike tour with Megan, hailing from Australia, as our guide. We had a great, cohesive group, which made for a wonderful day in the Wachau Valley, where we stopped at three vineyards and climbed to where King Richard was imprisoned in Dürnstein. Megan was upbeat, fun and knowledgable; I recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Vienna!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome. What a wonderful wonderful way to see the Wachau Valley. Megan was a great guide. Thanks for an unforgettable day. Regards, John and Ann-Maree. Newcastle Australia.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time biking through the Wachau Valley. It was nice to see the countryside after a couple days in the city center. We also got to meet several people from around the world and our guide, Hanas, I hope is spelled it right was great.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Just finished the bike tour with Alain. We were just a small group of 6 people which was really great. The tour is paced ideally and the Biking isn't very challenging. The Wachau valley is really beautiful and the wines were lovely. The whole day was completely satisfying and it was worth every penny spent. I can't recommend any better way to spend one day away from the city when one arrives in Vienna. Thanks Alain for making the day extremely enjoyable and memorable...:-)

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Vienna was in rain but the Wachau Valley was sunny and, as already reported by others, Stelios was great! Well paced, informative and really enjoyable.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip started on a train journey of one hour to Wachau valley. Alain entertained us on the train before we picked up our bikes at the depot. Alain was a hit with his humour and vast knowledge of the area. We stopped three times, tasting the wine and lovely food. One of the stops we had free time to walk up to a fantastic viewpoint of the Danube. This tour was the highlight of our holiday, having great company and getting guided through beautiful Austrian villages. A lovely retreat from the city. We would definitely recommend this for all abilities and ages!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Wachau Valley Wine Tasting Wine Tour was a wonderful experience. Our guide Nicolette (Nico) was personable, knowledgeable and very capable. We had perfect weather, the wineries were accommodating and efficient, lunch was good value. The bikes wer easy to ride and well maintained. Magic scenery (village of Krems is sensational), the riding relativley easy. The climb up to and view from the "Richard the 3rd" castle was a great experience. Definitely one of the highlights of our six weeks travel.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful time on the full day bike trip to the Wachau Valley with approximately 10 other adults and our trip guide, Alain. The meeting place is easy to find in bright green letters on Franz Josefs Kai (see their logo above). It is a short train ride to Krem where we picked up our bikes-all with humorous names. The bike ride itself is easy going with a few hills (just stand up and pedal through them). You will enjoy this trip much more if you listen to Alain who is very familiar with the area and take in the beautiful surroundings. Do not try to take videos or pictures when you are on your bike, he will stop at the most interesting areas for photo ops and give you a quick history lesson. Our group was made up of people from all over the world. We had a great time tasting wines, exploring the castle ruins (highly recommend the climb to the top) in Durnstein as well as taking a dip in the Danube. If you like wine, people, beautiful scenery, biking and hiking this is definitely for you!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our guide Megan speaks frequent English and is knowledgeable. We like it because we sit inside a comfortable van and didn't need to endure the heat. While it's a pity that we went around Wachau but did not go into the monastery in Melk. Regardless of that, I will recommend this tour to those who seek beautiful scenery and want to have a taste of wine.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a beautiful and relaxing day on the Danube from start to finish. We were picked up at our hotel and taken by bus to the beautiful Wachau Valley where we boarded the riverboat. We were lucky with perfect weather. We were given ample time for lunch at the Melk Abbey and given an excellent tour with knowledgable guides. My 81 yr old mother and I loved our trip and highly recommend it to anyone looking to get a peak at the scenery outside of Vienna.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a highlight of my two-week trip this summer. Stelios, our guide, was probably one of the most amazing, intelligent guides I have ever had on any tour with the accommodating personality to match. The scenic drive to the Wachau was lovely in a small Mercedes van with our group. The wines coming from the Wachau are really crisp and fresh, and the tastings were informative as each winery took its time in explaining its individual process to us. Lunch at a traditional tavern in the countryside was lovely. This is the perfect day trip from Vienna-- a must for all wine lovers!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Very disappointing trip. As we were going to be in Vienna for one day only before flying back to NZ we had booked and paid for the small group wine tasting tour of the Wachau valley months beforehand. All was great. Two wine tastings and lunch until our guide mismanaged times and we missed the boat for the Danube cruise which for us and the American couple who were with us was going to be our highlight. After apologising our guide then informed us the good news was we would be in Melk 20 minutes early!!!!!!!!! After much talking on his cell there was going to still be no cruise or compensation for our disappointment as the driver had to be back in Vienna. After a suggestion from the group we finally had a cruise going back from Melk and a return to Vienna in a bike truck (no air conditioned van)two hours late. Very inexperienced guide with little knowledge of area referring constantly to cell to answer questions. After a wonderful bus trip in Europe was a real disappointment to end our holiday Would recommend saving some money and take the coach trip.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was absolutely wonderful and I will be recommending it to all of my visitors going forward! Alex was an excellent tour guide. He shared a wealth of information from personal knowledge and experiences (not memorized from a guide book like so many other tours). But the best part was the way it was delivered - Alex was very personable and down to earth, and so it was almost like having your close friend give you a tour of his home town. I cannot say enough about the beauty of the Wachau Valley. As we were in a small touring van (but with big windows for sightseeing) Alex was able to drive us directly through the heart of various winemaking villages and on winding roads in the mountains to scenic overlooks providing great photo opportunities. We really felt immersed in the culture and old world charm of the region. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone - even if you do not like wine. I wish that Viator offered additional options for small-group tours in Europe, we would take them all!! One side note - during the visit to one of the villages there is an optional hike up to a mountain top castle. The views are surreal and if you are physically able I highly recommend the trek. However, I recommend wearing tennis shoes! While we managed in flip-flops it was not ideal.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message