Home to the Habsburg dynasty since the 15th century and once the de facto capital of the Holy Roman Empire, Vienna is one of the finest and most historic cities in Europe.  In addition to its vast imperial history, Vienna’s impressive musical legacy ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2641 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Johan B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Very touristy, but that was expected.

The concert was fun and a lot more light-hearted than expected, but the dinner was ok at best.

Doing what: Kursalon Vienna: Johann Strauss and Mozart Concert Including 4-Course Dinner

Michael

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The tour from the beginning seemed to start off on a bad foot. The instructions said to arrive 30 minutes before the tour and we ended up departing 15 minutes late. There was only one tour guide for two groups of people that spoke English and French. This resulted in the narrative being spoken in two different languages, which was annoying. Additionally, during the time it took for the guide to spiel the French narrative, we were passing locations that I thought the guide could have given more detail on but couldn't because she was speaking French. Finally, about the narrative on the bus, it wasn't very in depth almost like a superficial overview of random locations, I could have done just as well with a bike and an eyewitness book.

As for the bus, there was not much the guide or any other tour operator could do in this situation, but if you're sitting on the left side of the bus as I was and something is happening on the right, you can't see it. A person would have to look through the people on the right side of the bus and then duck down to see the landmark, assuming you saw it at all. An open air bus would be better for the type of sightseeing we were doing.

Last thing, the palace visit. Simply put, it was a clustered mess. I had to rush off the bus, couldn't use the restroom because we were on a tight time schedule and the tour guide said she'd leave us. When we got through the entrance on the palace, we were basically corralled into an area to collect our earpieces for the tour narrative. People were on top of each other and it just seemed very disorganized. When we got into the palace, it was the same situation as the bus, English then French narrative and no real opportunity to ask questions. We were rushed through the palace and the given 25 minutes of free time to explore the gardens. The gardens are humongous, to get to the far end would take at least 25 minutes alone. This was the point when I said I had enough and left the tour group.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Shondaray United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was amazing because of my tour guide, Hannes, the group I was riding with, the sites along the way, the wine tasting, and the slightly intense workout from the bike. The weather could have been better, but, even on my gray and occasionally misty day, it was a perfect tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Rui P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Altough the experience of collecting the voucher and the tickets, wasn't so simple as expected, since we had to go to one location to collect the voucher, and then, need to go to another location to convert the voucher in tickets to enter in the tour, apart from that, everything went perfectly.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Bryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Exceptional, informative and friendly service from start to finish - thank you!

Doing what: Big Bus Vienna Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Trevor T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant evening far exceeded our expectations. The meal was excellent as was the service and the concert itself was superb with some surprises I might add. Would thoroughly recommend , it has been the highlight of our stay in Vienna.

Doing what: Kursalon Vienna: Johann Strauss and Mozart Concert Including 4-Course Dinner

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lovely tour conducted at a comfortable pace with a guide who was both relaxed and very knowledgeable. Schonbrunn was spectacular and we found out so much about poor Elisabeth 'Sisi'. Would highly recommend to anybody taking a city break in Vienna.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Karla A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was fabulous- fluent in several languages. Although the palace was crowded with lots of tourists, we thought the tour most informative and efficient. Pick up and delivery right on schedule. Thumbs up.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Jackie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was one of the highlights of our trip. It was amazing to see the Valley and Melk Abby outside of Vienna. Our tour guide, Stelios was so nice and knowledgable. He did a fantastic job and was made it a lovely experience. Stelio took us to amazing vineyard for lunch where the proprietors made all the cheeses and meats there on the farm/vineyard. I would highly recommend this tour if you are visiting Vienna.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Bridget is a great historian and guide. Very knowledgable and capable.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Jewish Vienna Including Holocaust Memorial

Janet.tomlinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful experience, enjoyed tour of the palace, wonderful dinner not sure about the semolina dumplings though followed by fantastic concert which was held on this night within the Palace.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Bryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Exceptional tour full of GOOD information via earphones with the composers music continuously in the background. I fully recommend this Big Red Bus tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Vienna Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Ernest W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best way to learn your way around Vienna

Doing what: Vienna City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

nana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

one word - perfect!

Doing what: Vienna Mozart Concert at the Musikverein

Karen J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I thought it might be somewhat mediocre but the musicians were very good. I could have done without the ballet dancers but the Russian soprano was very good. Lots of large tour groups present . If possible, don't take a wrap as the coat storage fee is one euro per item and is mandatory for most people in the audience.

Doing what: Kursalon Vienna: Johann Strauss and Mozart Concert

Lloyd S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very pleasant dinner and wonderful performance.

Doing what: Kursalon Vienna: Johann Strauss and Mozart Concert Including 4-Course Dinner

Rita A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good tour, great input from guide.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Danny T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great experience

Doing what: Vienna City Walking Tour

Deanna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Take this trip! Gives you a fabulous idea of the Vienna woods and how they merge into greater Vienna as well as an idea of the wine culture in Vienna. The guides know their stuff and the e-bikes give the extra push if needed to climb the hills. Very enjoyable!

Doing what: Vienna Woods Mountain Bike Tour

Laura K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely fantastic!

We enjoyed every minute of this trip. In fact we wished that we arrived earlier to Schoenbrunn Palace as there is so much to see. The gardens are absolutely beautiful.

The food was very nice, we were all a little worried as to what the set meal would be but it ended up being lovely Beef Consomme for Starter, Braised Beef and Potato Pie in a shallot gravy for Main and a Chocolate and Orange mousse for Desert. and was served in the Palace restaurant.

The opera was held in the Orangerie and again was lovely, we wished it would of lasted a little longer we were enjoying it that much.

I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was AMAZING! Our tour guide, Eszter, was great, very friendly, funny and informative. Our group was small, 7 people including the guide, which was nice and a highlight of the tour, getting to know everyone. The Wachau Valley region is beautiful and on the tour you bike through the heart of the valley, the towns within the valley and the vineyards. It was an incredible experience an worth a day. I would do it again the next time I return to Vienna.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Rachel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent day trip! The Mercedes mini-van was comfortable and the scenery was lovely. Mario was a superb driver.

Mario was extremely well informed and kept our small group interested. He also kept us warm on a cold and windy day! Mario ensured our group got on very well and had many laughs.

The Abbey in Melk was glorious! Wine tastings were generous and very well explained. We also tasted apricot brandies and apricot chocolates - very nice.

We really couldn't improve on this tour. It was outstanding!!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Liv United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Both the Giant Wheel and Schonbrunn Zoo were definitely worth visiting. Going on the ferris wheel gave us a great view of vienna and time to take some lovely pictures. I would say the zoo is great for families as there are a lot of areas for children to play. The place itself was well kept and easy to navigate round.

Doing what: Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel

Peonie m l W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

the guide was very straight on rules and not friendly nor helpful. Anyhow, the tour itself is worth attending if you had limited time and don't want to walk around.

Doing what: Vienna Historical City Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message