Eco-conscious Vienna has more than 750 miles (1,200 km) of bike networks with several sightseeing routes signposted through the heart of the city. There are plenty of free bike stands for secure parking and dedicated cycle lanes provide passage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 137 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took the bike tour on 22 April 2016 and it exceeded expectations. Metro and train ride to bike shop. Got fitted with bikes and helmets and we were off riding through town, along the river, and through vineyard after vineyard. Mostly a flat ride, with some hills. The ride back was with the river, and was mostly a gently down slope. We visited three wineries and tasted 3-4 wines at each one, climbed to the top of a castle optional hike up a steep hill, put our feet in the river, and had a tasty lunch an extra 10 euros. I will do this trip EVERY time I return to Vienna. Amazing. The guides were fantastic, and made sure to keep us all in line, on time, and on schedule, and even gave some history along the way...

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Deanna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Take this trip! Gives you a fabulous idea of the Vienna woods and how they merge into greater Vienna as well as an idea of the wine culture in Vienna. The guides know their stuff and the e-bikes give the extra push if needed to climb the hills. Very enjoyable!

Doing what: Vienna Woods Mountain Bike Tour

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was AMAZING! Our tour guide, Eszter, was great, very friendly, funny and informative. Our group was small, 7 people including the guide, which was nice and a highlight of the tour, getting to know everyone. The Wachau Valley region is beautiful and on the tour you bike through the heart of the valley, the towns within the valley and the vineyards. It was an incredible experience an worth a day. I would do it again the next time I return to Vienna.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Shondaray United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was amazing because of my tour guide, Hannes, the group I was riding with, the sites along the way, the wine tasting, and the slightly intense workout from the bike. The weather could have been better, but, even on my gray and occasionally misty day, it was a perfect tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Anthony R C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Interesting tour reaching places we wouldn't have had time for on a short break. City very bike friendly and a thoroughly enjoyable city tour

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Ronald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a fun trip, even in the rain! We were fortunate to have the owner of the tour company as our guide. He is a delightful young man who was a fantastic guide. He's very informed about the wines of the area as well as the geology and climate that contribute to the complexity of the wines. This is a bike trip much like the locals might undertake on weekend to the Wachau Valley. It's not a marathon bike ride by any means, nor is it intended to be. The bike trail from Krems runs alongside the main road and there are many local wineries that can be accessed from this trail. We happened to run into quite a bit of rain and rain ponchos were provided. The other two members in our tour were game as were we and none of us minded getting a bit wet! It was all part of the experience. The lunch on the tour was amazing. All of us commented on how delicious the steaks and sausages were! Our tour guide also introduced us to a drink peculiar to Austria and the Wachau Valley called Sturm! If you have a chance to try it, you should. It's only available during the crush and as billed, Austrians love this stuff. After our tour, we'd mention to waiters in restaurants that we'd been to the Wachau Valley and tried Sturm! Their eyes would light up and the normal Austrian reserve would melt away. We would do this tour again in a heart beat! Thank you for a great time!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Best day ever! Marcus was a wonderful guide. Bikes were fabulous. Anyone can do this bike tour. Beautiful views from the top that could not be experience in a car.

Doing what: Vienna Woods Mountain Bike Tour

Joan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour, great guide, great wine and enthusiastic company. Bikes a bit 'clunky' and heavy but the terrain is mostly quite flat, so not a real problem.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

patches5687

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The bike tour was absolutely amazing with breathtaking views of the Wachau Valley, wonderful company, and amazing wine. Vera was extremely knowledgable regarding the wine and area, and even gave great recommendations for food, drinks, and sites in the area. Overall, I would recommend to anyone traveling to Vienna and looking for an activity during the day.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Daniel J L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We are in our 70's and loved this tour. Lots of young people in their 20's but we kept up with an electric bike. My suggestion to anyone over 50. Loved it. The bike baths were amazing and we toured the most beautiful small towns and had time to visit. The vineyards were beautiful, everything so very nice. It was the high light of my visit. A very must do if you travel. This is very unique and wonderful. Tour guides were so accommodating, always looking after every person. This is a five star event. Do it.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Katie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Beautiful scenery, great white wines, and a knowledgable guide. You take an hour long train ride to get to Krems then start biking. Bike ride is not too strenuous as it is broken up by stops to take pictures, try wine and eat lunch.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Jeff J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had great fun on this bike tour with Marcus and Daniel. Riding through the vineyards and stopping for wine and conversation was certainly one of the highlights of our trip to Vienna. I would highly recommend this bike tour to anyone visiting Vienna. I didn't think I would enjoy riding the e-bikes but, after going on this ride, I am considering buying one for myself at home! Thanks Marcus!

Doing what: Vienna Woods Mountain Bike Tour

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Absolutely fantastic! One of the highlights of our 3 weeks in Europe. James our guide was excellent. The tour itself was perfectly timed. We learned a lot, really enjoyed the wine, the scenery and the bikes were very good. An absolute must if you are in Vienna

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

fransas961

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was absolutely amazing and so was our guide Elizabeth. She knew everything you wanted to know about Vienna and more. All the extra bits you don't get to read in the booklets. The bikes were comfortable and it was such a good way to see all the major attractions in Vienna. Well worth the money and such a good way to see the city. Would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Megan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this tour! Our tour guide was awesome, gave just enough information but did not overwhelm us. The bike tour was a comfortable pace, there was no rush and I felt I saw a lot of Vienna and great explanations of what things were. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Nicholas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband and I took this wine tasting bike tour through the Wachau Valley in the beginning of August and loved every minute of it. The main guide was Vera and Jose was her assistant for the day. We initially were thinking of just renting bikes ourselves and finding our way around but I am glad that we took the organized tour. Vera and Jose were both very organized, knowledgeable and fun to be with. We met the other riders at their office in Vienna and then took a train ride out to the Wachau Valley. They had a large group of about 20 and were able to get everyone fitted on their bikes in no time. Then we had a safety demonstration and we were off to visit the wineries. We had a great day riding through the valley. It is an easy ride. We stopped at a Durnstein Castle and Jose gave us a brief history of this very famous place. The views were amazing! I think this was one of the best day trips that we have taken in Europe. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone that wants to get a little exercise while seeing one of the most beautiful places in Europe.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

bnizzle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent highlight bike tour with Horst, very funny and knowledgeable! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

Erin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

EXCELLENT tour!!! One of the highlights of our stay in Austria. The guide was easy-going and knowledgeable, the bikes were well-maintained and easy to ride, the wine/vineyards were beautiful, and the scenery was drop-dead gorgeous. It was like riding through a fairy tale, complete with a ruined castle at the top of a mountain. Vienna was great, but the day we spent on this tour was by far our favorite. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Matt W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great tour to see a beautiful part of the world. Great wine sampled while viewing some lovely villages on a pleasant bike ride. The tour went off without a hitch and was well organized. Would highly recommend it for anyone that enjoys a nice ride through the wine country of the Wachau Valley.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Vienna, even if you don't ride a bike very often. The meeting point for the tour was super easy to get to Vienna's train system is great. Once we arrived there, we were given a chance to use the bikes and meet our guides. The assistance the bikes provided was useful on the hills neither my girlfriend nor I are very avid bikers, so this was a welcome addition and our guides Markus and Hugo were very conscientious with their choice of paths and pacing. The guides allowed time for stops, photos, and explained some of the history of the area. Markus even emailed us additional historical info about this area after we expressed an interest in learning more. In addition, he sent us GPS location info from our trek as well as pacing, distance, and other stats from the ride.

The tour provided a great view of the entire city and its surroundings. The guides pointed out landmarks and natural attractions and we learned a lot about what the city has to offer. After our tour, we stopped by one of the wineries in the area to enjoy some of the product grown in the hills we just biked through. The location was great and the wine was refreshing. Again, we would highly recommend the tour. Our only regret was that we didn't have more time in the city to enjoy some of the attractions we learned about during the tour. If you are going to be spending some time in Vienna, do this tour first!

Doing what: Vienna Woods Mountain Bike Tour

Kristi T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great bike tour of Vienna and beautiful countryside. Hugo, our guide, was excellent and extremely helpful. It is a fantastic way to see something other than the busy city of Vienna. The ebikes were a perfect way to tour and see lots of scenic views with less physical exertion.

Doing what: Vienna Woods Mountain Bike Tour

Kathleen Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My daughter and I really enjoyed our bike tour. Scenery was beautiful, tour guide was knowledgeable and we had fun with our group!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Eve A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was James, a very engaging chap from America. Although we arrived to the tour late, we managed to get there in time and the guided were very helpful in assisting us. The bike ride was amazing - we cycled through beautiful medieval towns and vineyards. The veggie food was very nice.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

amanda.pendolino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is great - do it! It was one of the highlights of my 2 weeks in Europe. I spent a lot of time in European cities and this was a great way to get out of the city and explore some beautiful countryside. A 9-hour tour sounds very long, but you won't be biking for 9 hours. It's not too intense in terms of the biking you bike in fairly short increments, and it's mostly flat and it's not very intense or snobby in terms of the wine tasting. FYI, the Wachau Valley is mostly dry white wines, but some people on our tour weren't really into wine and they still enjoyed biking and wandering the small towns we visited including Durnstein, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Our guide Ian was from New Zealand it's nice to have a native English speaker you can ask questions but has lived in Austria a few months and taught us a lot about authentic Austrian wine culture and heurigens. We also had a fun, social group of people. Bikes are in good condition and helmets are provided/required. You're mostly on bike paths so it's not dangerous city riding you ride a train outside of Vienna before getting on a bike.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Ejvera05

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Horst was fantastic,. Very informative and very funny! We would do this bike tour and anything else the tour operator would lead in a heartbeat! Loved Vienna and all his restaurant recommendations

Doing what: Vienna Highlights Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message