Eco-conscious Vienna has more than 750 miles (1,200 km) of bike networks with several sightseeing routes signposted through the heart of the city. There are plenty of free bike stands for secure parking and dedicated cycle lanes provide passage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My only grumble was we wanted one electric bike. This wasn't made clear on the website that it was need to be booked in advance.So one of our party found it difficult and had to miss out one winery stop. Apart from this it was a great tour.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic day and very well organised. Bikes were really comfortable and views along the river were beautiful. Would definitely recommend this tour if travelling to Vienna.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Over the Top Fantabulous! We spent 4 days in Vienna and 4 days in Prague and the bike tour in Wachau Valley along the Danube River was hands down the hilite. Riding amongst the vineyards and through quaint towns, enjoying local wines and people, encountering photo ops around every bend and atop every incline, all with a great group and our extraordinaire leader Adam. Book it Danno

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My friend and I went on Viator's wine tasting bike tour with Megan, hailing from Australia, as our guide. We had a great, cohesive group, which made for a wonderful day in the Wachau Valley, where we stopped at three vineyards and climbed to where King Richard was imprisoned in Dürnstein. Megan was upbeat, fun and knowledgable; I recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Vienna!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a wonderful tour! I bought it for my boyfriend for his birthday and it was an amazing way to spend the day together. Firstly, the bikes are in really good condition, with large wheels which makes riding them very easy. The route is also basically all flat. The ponchos they provide in case it rains are also very good quality. Our tour guide Alain was great fun, very informative and looked after the group very well. Despite a few patches of thundery showers, the scenery was beautiful and Alain took us to a lovely place for lunch (I would definitely recommend buying lunch there, as the whole group sits together to eat and the food is delicious!). We visited 3 wineries or Heuriger and tried many different types of white wine, all delicious and grown in the local area. Perfect tour length for a day to get out of the city and a nice way to meet other travellers!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip started on a train journey of one hour to Wachau valley. Alain entertained us on the train before we picked up our bikes at the depot. Alain was a hit with his humour and vast knowledge of the area. We stopped three times, tasting the wine and lovely food. One of the stops we had free time to walk up to a fantastic viewpoint of the Danube. This tour was the highlight of our holiday, having great company and getting guided through beautiful Austrian villages. A lovely retreat from the city. We would definitely recommend this for all abilities and ages!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great as allways bike-tours are - very nice and pedagogic guide

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Just finished the bike tour with Alain. We were just a small group of 6 people which was really great. The tour is paced ideally and the Biking isn't very challenging. The Wachau valley is really beautiful and the wines were lovely. The whole day was completely satisfying and it was worth every penny spent. I can't recommend any better way to spend one day away from the city when one arrives in Vienna. Thanks Alain for making the day extremely enjoyable and memorable...:-)

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a must do tour. Adam is a great host/guide. Very amusing and informative. The bike riding part is very gentle and you get to taste I guess 8 wines or so, mainly white, with some schnapps thrown in for good measure. The optional BBQ is good value and very tasty. I cannot rate the tour highly enough. As Nike would say "Just do it"

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful time on the full day bike trip to the Wachau Valley with approximately 10 other adults and our trip guide, Alain. The meeting place is easy to find in bright green letters on Franz Josefs Kai (see their logo above). It is a short train ride to Krem where we picked up our bikes-all with humorous names. The bike ride itself is easy going with a few hills (just stand up and pedal through them). You will enjoy this trip much more if you listen to Alain who is very familiar with the area and take in the beautiful surroundings. Do not try to take videos or pictures when you are on your bike, he will stop at the most interesting areas for photo ops and give you a quick history lesson. Our group was made up of people from all over the world. We had a great time tasting wines, exploring the castle ruins (highly recommend the climb to the top) in Durnstein as well as taking a dip in the Danube. If you like wine, people, beautiful scenery, biking and hiking this is definitely for you!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing. So much fun. Great to get out of the city to see a different part of Austria. Loved the bikes the tour learnt a bit about the wines and the area. So nice n relaxing

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was so much fun! My wife and I really enjoyed the bike tour, we ended up with a young group and our guide hannes worked well with us. The lunch was spectacular and the wine was worth the bike ride!!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We actually had booked the bike tour then when we got there-my husband wanted to do their Segway tour instead! It was amazing, fun and informative with Horst as our guide. I highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was spectacular! First it was fun to see the countryside and ride through cute towns. Also, it was active but not too rigorous. The paths you go on are mostly bike/pedestrian only with some travel on roads in small towns. The wine tastings were nice as well. Our guide was helpful, informative and funny! They take care of all the arrangements with the winery and the train tickets which is great. Highly recommended!!!!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Wachau Valley Wine Tasting Wine Tour was a wonderful experience. Our guide Nicolette (Nico) was personable, knowledgeable and very capable. We had perfect weather, the wineries were accommodating and efficient, lunch was good value. The bikes wer easy to ride and well maintained. Magic scenery (village of Krems is sensational), the riding relativley easy. The climb up to and view from the "Richard the 3rd" castle was a great experience. Definitely one of the highlights of our six weeks travel.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Adam, our guide, was excellent. In addition to the bike ride he shared some history of the valley and the wines produced there. The trip started with a short train ride to pick up the bikes and out of the city riding on back roads and through vineyards. The lunch was delicious at our first wine tasting stop. We stopped in Krems and made some apricot purchases in addition to being able to hike up to an old castle and take some great pictures of the Danube. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I went on the evening bike tour, 6.30pm with my 3 children aged 18, 15 and 8. All the staff in the bike shop were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English. The bikes were ready for us and very comfortable to ride. The bike tour was very enjoyable for us and we saw parts of the city that we would never have seen. All my children thoroughly enjoyed the bike your and our guide - who was very informative, funny and a nice guy to speak with. The only sad part was when it was 9.30 and the your had completed.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent bike tour! Very knowledgable guide who was very interested in sharing lots of good information.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I did this tour with two friends and we all really enjoyed it. Our guide, Adam, was engaging and very knowledgeable about the area. The bikes were very comfortable and the ride itself was not strenuous. I did hike up to the old Durnstein Fortress and that was exhausting! The food at the first winery was fabulous and well worth the cost. We were also able to swim in the Danube which was wonderfully refreshing after the biking.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was a good introduction to Vienna and really a lot of fun. It's a bit challenging for non-bike riders but easy enough to keep up with. We had a fairly large group and got spread out a couple of times, but overall, Horst, the guide, keep us in a group. We stopped often enough for explanations to allow everyone to get their breath and regroup. I would recommend the trip to anyone looking for a new experience.

Doing what: Vienna City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip....both Raj and Sabastian were terrific guides and the wineries we visited were delightful. The wide tired bikes worked very well and rode easily. In all, it was one of the highlights of our travels.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was awesome and much wider and more informative that I could even imagine. The tourguide, Adam, was very smart and funny guy and he knew very much about wines and local culture. Tour includes cycling, various wines, tasty meal (+7,5e), opportunity for swimming and very much interesting knowledge about wines.

Tour was planned well, theres no need to rush anywhere but still it goes without any boring moments.
Cycling speed was easy, so you dont need to be a professial biker. The longest distance on a bike between stops was maybe 30min.
Price is very reasonable. Traintickets, bikes, helmets, ferryride etc were all included. Only "extracost" is the lunch, but food was worth of every penny.

I recommend that tour for everybody who likes wines and knows how to ride a bike. Very professional guide, beautiful landscape and good wines. Must things to do in Vienna!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing Tour!! This was by far one of the best tours I have done for a long time. We were a small group of about 14 people (from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, America), and our Australian tour guide Adam. Adam was a great entertainer, knowledgeable and took the time to talk with everyone on the tour. After a short train journey we arrived in Krems, hopped on our bikes and cycled to the town of Dürnstein, where we had lots of free time to explore. The pace of the tour was very relaxed and we stopped many times for pics and information. We visited 3 wineries, had a BBQ lunch at a family winery (cooked by Adam), and then took a ferry across to the other side of the river. The bike ride on the other side was by far the highlight of the biking. We cycled along a bike path that took us through grapevines and apricot orchards, until we reached the town of Rossatz for free time by the Danube. Some of us swam in the Danube, while others just relaxed. A well organised tour, well worth the money.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Visiting Vienna is wonderful but spend half a day and get out for an afternoon guided bicycle ride! The Vienna wood, inspiration for countless artists, is just north of the city. We took a very short Ubann ride to the last stop and got on our bikes and road up to the top, spectacular. The guide was extremely courteous and informative, great fun to talk with while riding along well groomed trails and some streets. Nothing we took was technical - at our request.

The mountain bicycles are Top Notch, really a joy. Front adjustable suspension with a motor assist, which is fully adjustable from no help to "wow that steep part is easy now". My wife and I haven't been on a bicycle in a year but these bikes and trails were great.

After a ride to a stunning scenic overlook of Vienna we descended into the vineyards and stopped at an amazing hillside tavern for some excellent local wine and very interesting local food. Wonderful relaxing vistas and absolutely unique food.

Coasted on down, taking the bicycle path back along the Danube and then back to the old city on the Ubann in time for a dinner concert, quite a day. The only down side was initial hookup - I was standing at the main exit, rides started from the back entrance, no big deal.

My wife and I highly recommend this trip to anybody who feels comfortable pedaling a bicycle.

Doing what: Vienna Woods Mountain Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this fun, engaging tour with spectacular scenery (hard to stay focused on the bike trail), wonderful wine (we had time for 3 wineries and a late afternoon snack) and lunch stop which included a hike up to the castle ruins. Our guide, Asterios knew his stuff and brought our little group together. Really flexible. We did this totally spur of the moment (reserved online at 4:45 the afternoon before - probably not a good plan in summer!) Wonderful way to enjoy this gorgeous valley just outisde Vienna - particularly before river boat season.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message