The Symbolist phenom Gustav Klimt lived, worked, and died in the Austrian capital, and Vienna remains the best place to celebrate and explore his work. Ironically, being born was about the only thing the great man didn’t do in Vienna. While his ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Very disappointing. We thought the museum tour would include a guide. The price from victor for the museum, vienna card and coffee and cake was more than if bought separately. This was ridiculous

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a great time. Loved the hop-on hop-off, the 72 hour pass, and the Viennese dinner. My favorite part was the Central City Café. It was a special treat.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I am glad I decided to book this package before leaving for Vienna. The cafe was warm and inviting and the dinner was truly excellent (note have your hotel make reservations for you. We didn't know to do that but they squeezed us in anyway). I had only a few days there so to have set places to eat in a place I haven't visited before was very convenient.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This deal was great value. The dinner was at a nice restaurant and was very good!

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a great value and we really enjoyed this. We stayed in Vienna for 3 days so this was a great way to get around. The tea and dessert at the Central Café was excellent. The dinner at the local restaurant was also very good but we were not aware that there was a surcharge for this package of 2.50 Euros for each person. We listened to other people around us that ordered that were not on this package, and they did not get charged the service fee. It just would have been nice to know about this ahead of time. We loved the hop on hop off and went on 3 of the 4 lines that were included. That bus system is very well run and the staff on board are very helpful. The only thing negative would be that we received our package at our hotel and is was missing 1 Vienna Card. We called the emergency number (as it was after hours) and they told us to purchase another one and send in the receipt. Since our hotel did not sell the Vienna Card, we tried 2 other suggested shops with no avail. We prepaid for 2 Vienna Cards and only received one.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very useful. Everything was very useful except the discounts provided which for most popular destinations were very small (almost negligible). It is still recommended if staying in Vienna for at least 4 days.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

the lack of free entry to museums makes this card not much use for the money.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The Belvedere Palace is well worth a visit for the Klimt alone but there is lots of other super art to see. The Vienna Card is a great way to use the transport system in Vienna and it was delivered to our hotel with vouchers for the destinations in this package.The Albertina only had one Klimt piece and that was really disappointing, maybe it was because one floor was closed for works but with hindsight I would not have upgraded to include the Albertina. The cake was lovely at the Cafe Central but the service was absolutely appalling. In contrast I would recommend the Cafe Mozart lovely cakes and much much better service.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I like it. but i think its necessary to explain betther where we could take de bus. i was lost, i dont speak german and it took to long to find the bus. but after it is ok.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

My first day in Vienna! The tickets were not waiting for me at the hotel when I arrived. A phone call early in the morning and I was told that they would be delivered within 90 minutes. Two and a half hour later and several phone calls (each time I was given a new ETA) and the tickets still had not arrived. When they finally arrived, by bicycle courier, I was quite distressed. You can organise all of this very easily from Vienna when you arrive, buying your Vienna card from your hotel and just pay at the Belvedere Palace. I would not put myself through it if I had my time over again.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I was in Vienna for the first time and this was a very easy and efficient way to see the city. The lunch and Cafe Central break were both great and very tasty. You get discounts in a lot of different museums and it helps having all transport included.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The Vienna Card was wonderful for using the transportation around Vienna which was in itself very organized and easy to use! The only issue we had with this pass is that the Belvedere Palace entry was not easily accessible and the best part of Belvedere, the gardens, was free to the public. Unless you are a huge Klimt fan and that's a "have to" for you, the Vienna Card in itself was the only thing that we used the pass for and inside Belvedere wasn't necessary for the full splendor found in its gardens.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Seeing the original painting "the Kiss" made the tour. Plenty of time to walk the Upper Belvedere and the gardens. Lower Belvedere not included.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

Rosane
Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This package is perfect for 1 reason, it has everything that you need. Firstly it was very convenient to get it from our hotel once we arrived. It was very easy to use and had clear instructions, all the basics you need for a stay in Vienna! The hot chocolate (swapped for the coffee) and cake experience at Cafe Central was unforgettable. The restaurant where we had our lunch was really good and centrally located, they had the best apple strudel I had tried whilst in Vienna! So convenient to use the transport as much as you want too, and the Vienna Card to entry the attractions and get some helpful discounts too which is always great. Plus the hop on hop off tour insured we got to see everything and very comfortably, highly recommended!

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very satisfied overall and feel we got value for money, especially for the travel on all transport. Unfortunately it did not start well when no taxi appeared at the airport to take us to the hotel. We spoke to the man waiting for another passenger who checked with the office. They said they had no booking for us. We did take a taxi at a cost of 55 euros, for which I have a receipt.
The only other problem we encountered was finding the cafe for the coffee and cake. The voucher received on arrival gave an address which was the office where it had been sent from, and the cafe was not named. We spent a long time walking down the street searching for it. The hotel checked out the location for us, and when we went to the office they directed us to Cafe Central. They did say they would inform the staff to put the cafe address on in future.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

Rosco
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

A wonderful experience, just wow . Additionally the grounds of Belvedere Palace are superb and quite relaxing. Well worth the experience.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Hop-on-Hop off tour is quite a nice way to get around in the city, and to explore the tourist attraction spots; the tea and cake at the Cafe Central was enjoyable. Although the coffee is OK and the cake tasted good, it's the inside and the decor of the coffee house which is impressive and sublime. Go in the morning, so you don't have to waste your time lining up to get in. I didn't use the Vienna Card that much, because I walked to everywhere! Not many places where I showed the card took it anyway; at one coffee shop (I forgot which one), the waiter told me they do not take the Vienna Card I have but a different one. I also didn't get to use my dinner voucher, and I don't know how much the voucher values. That was very upsetting. I only had time to use my voucher on my last day in Vienna, which was a Sunday, and guess what? that restaurant was closed on Sunday!!

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The Belvedere's collection is the best with the iconic Kiss and many other famous paintings by Klimt and Schiele, some of the art was in a specialist Symbolism exhibition which was worth the extra 5 euros, we got a massive discount on the exhibition (normally 19 euros) because of the tickets we had. The Albertina is worth going to because once you are in all the exhibitions and the rooms are free, so we got to see the Monet/Picasso exhibition for free.

It is a really wonderful tour and really well supported, they even sorted out my hotel for me. It is excellent value and when we did it no queuing. The complimentary cake and coffee/tea were wonderful in Cafe Sacher and it is really great value compared to the cost of purchasing everything separately. It is also wonderful that you get time to take up all the offers on the ticket, so we did the Cafe on a different day to the exhibitions but it was nice to have something to look forward to.

Brilliant value and really wonderful service

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Though slightly more expensive than if you were to buy each activity separately, this combo was totally worth it! The vouchers were waiting for us at check - in - the Vienna card allows free transport for 72 hours and the metro and tram are both easy to use. The voucher allows you flexibility in scheduling so you can plan your time. Variations of Klimt's "The Kiss" are literally all over Vienna on every touristy souvenir, but when you finally view his works in the Belvedere, they blow you away! Keep in mind that the Belvedere is outside the ring (tram is a good option to get there) so plan on about half a day. The combo doesn't include entry into the Lower Belvedere and you will have to pay extra to view the special exhibitions there. The Albertina was wonderful with works by Hieronymus Bosch and Peter Bruegel. Literally the icing on the cake was the Cafe Central voucher. We ducked in there on a rainy afternoon and were enchanted by the architecture, ambiance, and array of desserts, and ended up eating a meal (which of course they adjusted against the voucher). Go early to avoid a long wait.....

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This is very good option, I highly recommend this to every one

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Our Viator visitor package proved good value and helped me and my partner make the most of our 1 week visit. The Vienna Card was most useful and gave meaningful discounts off all of the sites, museums, galleries etc we visited. The morning tea and evening dinner were excellently chosen locations with warm welcomes from everybody and a high standard of cuisine.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Am disappointed, as it didnt quite work out the way I had hoped. First of all missed my flight into Vienna from Paris because of delayed connections. When I called on arrival to Paris, to inform the tour people they said the driver had been to the airport and returned and they couldnt pay for another shuttle to pick me at a later time. Even though the delay was not my fault. The package was at the hotel for me, and had the maps and stuff, the coupon for the Cafe Central was good, I loved the dessert and coffee there, but never got to use the dinner/meal voucher as there was already so much to see, do and eat at Vienna . Also I realized that the trains and public transport (U-Bahn network) is so good that you dont really need a shuttle to pick you from the airport, there was a metro station just a few blocks from my hotel once I had a map I was able to use it to get anywhere. Also the hop-on-hop-off isnt that great, I still had to pay for it at a small discount it wasnt free as I had misunderstood. The Vienna card is good all public transport is free but as I didnt have the package until I actually reached my hotel the first night (no shuttle) I had to pay for the initial transfers to the city center using the airport train and then the U Bahn to the station near my hotel. Would not recommend this.

Doing what: Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The Vienna card was the greatest benefit as we used them extensively on the excellent U-bahn and tram system throughout Vienna. The Belvedere Palace is a little way outside of the Ring surrounding the old city and silly us, we decided to walk there on a warm sunny day -- we got the tram back!

The Gustav Klimt display is very interesting, detailing his life as well as his works. They were interspersed with works of his contemporaries as well.

A bonus was a voucher for coffee at the Cafe Central, not to be missed even if you do have queue for a table at times. Sit inside not outside, so you can absorb the atmosphere and elegance of a by-gone era, and those cakes, mmmm-mmm!

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Exhibition was wonderful and package was good value for money compared with standard cost of exhibition.
BUT... The voucher did not specify where and how all documentation was to be collected.
We tried, twice using email, then by phoning the provided London number (accessible only on California time!) to be told that the documentation would definitely not be sent to our home address or the hotel.
We identified the location from the Internet and travelled there (in searing heat) from the airport with all our luggage to the head office (after being redirected) to then be informed that it had, after all, been sent directly to our hotel.
Bearing in mind that we were only in Vienna for three days, immediate access to the 72 hour Vienna pass was rather important.
The passes were indeed waiting for us at the hotel but did not include the advertised books of vouchers.
The voucher for the Belvedere was in the form of an invoice but did not specify entrance to the Klimt exhibition, resulting in confusion at the entrance desk - subsequently resolved by direct involvement of the manager.
In the end we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, but it could have been made considerably smoother by some common sense instructions and basic info on the downloaded voucher.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

Rosco
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Excellent gallery rating is for gallery only. Negative was that when i converted voucher for ticket at the ticket office at Belvedere, VIATOR was not recognised by the issuing office. They honoured the admission but I did not receive the rest of the package.

Doing what: Gustav Klimt Vienna Combo: Belvedere Palace, Vienna Card and Optional Albertina Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message