There is so much to see in romantic Vienna, from Baroque palaces to world-class museums and classical concerts. And if that is not enough, any of the suggestions below make a diverting day trip from the city of Strauss and white horses. Wachau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My friend and I went on Viator's wine tasting bike tour with Megan, hailing from Australia, as our guide. We had a great, cohesive group, which made for a wonderful day in the Wachau Valley, where we stopped at three vineyards and climbed to where King Richard was imprisoned in Dürnstein. Megan was upbeat, fun and knowledgable; I recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Vienna!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was great. From Vienna, a day trip to Salzburg through the stunning Austrian alps and lakes is spectacular! The side trip to Gilgen island, a picturesque village aka "Mozart Village" was an added delight.

Doing what: Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I absolutely recommend this tour. We were in Vienna for only 3 days and did this tour on one of them and were so happy we made that decision. This city is absolutely overlooked. It's a perfect city for a day trip, beautiful and a lot of history that I didn't know much about at all. Great guide too!

Doing what: Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a highlight of my two-week trip this summer. Stelios, our guide, was probably one of the most amazing, intelligent guides I have ever had on any tour with the accommodating personality to match. The scenic drive to the Wachau was lovely in a small Mercedes van with our group. The wines coming from the Wachau are really crisp and fresh, and the tastings were informative as each winery took its time in explaining its individual process to us. Lunch at a traditional tavern in the countryside was lovely. This is the perfect day trip from Vienna-- a must for all wine lovers!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was amazing! If you are in Vienna you should definitely take this day trip! Salzburg was wonderful and the views and stops along the countryside on the way to Salzburg was wonderful also! Loved!

Doing what: Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! The guideways interesting and knowledgeable, and Bratislava is intriguing. An easy day trip from Vienna.

Doing what: Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The day was fantastic, great service from Vienna Sightseeing. Melk Abbey was unbelievable, had a great lunch there. The day trip was a major highlight of our 10 days in Vienna

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I took the day trip to Budapest from Vienna on the 28th of November 2013. I have never been to Budapest and wanted to take a quick day trip there and this tour really impressed me. The tour will arrange for a pickup at your hotel, but just make sure you are ready on time. The bus was VERY clean and comfortable and the ride to Budapest was only a couple of hours. Elizabeth was our tour guide and she did a fantastic job in taking care of the details of the trip and was always advising us on places to go and where to meet up. The trip started on the Pest side of town at "Hero's Square", where we were able to get out and spend some time taking pictures. We then went to eat at the Buda side of the city and got to see some beautiful views of the city and visited Fisherman's Bastion where the views of the Hungarian Parliament were just incredible. We then went downtown and had a couple of hours to explore Budapest. I walked the Chain Bridge and went to the Christmas Market. I consider myself a pretty experienced traveler and I was going to take the train from Vienna to Budapest for a day, but I estimated that it would have taken longer to see the sites I wanted to see in Budapest if I would have taken the train. I also have heard the Budapest metro system authorities can easily ruin a trip to the city and I wanted to avoid them. This tour is well worth the money if you are in Vienna and want to tack on a day in Budapest. I got to see all the sites I wanted to see and I got a good feel of Budapest. Next time I will travel there by myself. I am so glad I took this trip. "Köszönöm" Viator

Doing what: Budapest Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A beautiful day trip from Vienna! We enjoyed the scenic cruise from Spitz to Melk. The abbey tour was interesting, and we appreciated the unguided time to spend in the marvelous church. A nice, no-hassle way to enjoy this area.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent Tour. Had plenty of time in Budapest. Very scenic from both Buda and Pest side. The journey from Vienna only took 2 1/2 hours so well worth the day trip.

Doing what: Budapest Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

been to budapest day trip from vienna. a must recommended excursion for people visiting vienna. very warm welcoming guide with proper guide to all places enroute and full detail of budapest with trip to castle, heroes square. sufficient time given to roam in city centre of budapest. overall was very comfortable for whole trip and would definitely book through viator in future.!

Doing what: Budapest Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Salzburg was so beautiful and enchanting. We stayed in Vienna for 3 days and this day trip was a highlight of our trip. It was very different from Vienna. The 8 hour bus ride was very comfortable and the scenery was beautiful on the way (1-2 rest stop). You must try the train (4 minutes) and go up to the fortress to see the beautiful city. The cafe up in fortress with a special city view was the best: great food at very reasonable price, while enjoying the view.

Of note, we only had total 4 hours (including 1 hour and 20 mins of guided tour) there which was a little short but had enough time to hit the highlights.

Doing what: Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fantastic trip, well worth a longs days trip from Vienna. The tour guide was very well know ledged, a lot of walking on this tour to see the fabulous sights but well worth it. The scenery was lovely and I got some amazing photographs. Would like to stay in Prague after doing this day trip to see some more of Prague.

Doing what: Prague Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was an excellent day trip. It started early, so there was suficient time to see most of the sights on both the buda and the pest sides of the Danube river. Budapest has almost as much charm as VIenna, and we were able to sense that with thte help of an excellent guide. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Breathtaking views, absolutely the most beautiful day trip, Maerks Abbey is a must visit place close to Vienna, well organized tour!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message