• USD ($)
  • English
Located on the Danube River in Lower Austria, the spectacular Wachau Valley wine-growing region is accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. Several wine-tasting options are available for visitors staying in Vienna. The Wachau Valley can be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this evening out. The 4 course meal was excellent with several choices and the concert was fantastic. With beautiful food (wine extra), lovely music, ballet and opera singing - what more could you want. We had booked category A and found ourselves in the front row with reserved seats - an unexpected surprise as they are normally reserved for VIPs! Thoroughly recommend this outing.

Doing what: Kursalon Vienna: Johann Strauss and Mozart Concert Including 4-Course Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a highlight of my two-week trip this summer. Stelios, our guide, was probably one of the most amazing, intelligent guides I have ever had on any tour with the accommodating personality to match. The scenic drive to the Wachau was lovely in a small Mercedes van with our group. The wines coming from the Wachau are really crisp and fresh, and the tastings were informative as each winery took its time in explaining its individual process to us. Lunch at a traditional tavern in the countryside was lovely. This is the perfect day trip from Vienna-- a must for all wine lovers!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

WOW - this was the BEST thing about our trip to Vienna. What a great day out in the wine country, a great guide (I forgot his name, with an S), great group of people. Lunch was wonderful and the river cruise was the best ever! You MUST do this if you are in Vienna!! A nice day out of the city.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great and fun tour. Your are transported in a confortable 10 passenger van. The winery's chosen were wonderful. One of the best parts was having lunch under this huge umbrella tree and sitting with our tour guide and our group. It is a must. Our tour guide was fantastic.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our best day of our honeymoon. The whole day was superb! We tasted some great wines, met some great people and saw some breath taking scenery! Alain, our guide was extremely friendly, looked after the whole group, going out of his way to make sure everyone had a great time. It was excellent!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It's all about the guide...Stelios was extremely nice, made the little group of 7 feel good, and we had a wonderful day...Durnstein is gorgeous, wine tastings were enjoyable, boat ride to Melk abbey was a delight.

Really a must if you have time...and some money cause it's a rather expensive one.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I did this tour with two friends and we all really enjoyed it. Our guide, Adam, was engaging and very knowledgeable about the area. The bikes were very comfortable and the ride itself was not strenuous. I did hike up to the old Durnstein Fortress and that was exhausting! The food at the first winery was fabulous and well worth the cost. We were also able to swim in the Danube which was wonderfully refreshing after the biking.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We decided to board the coach at its starting point at the bus station instead of being picked up at our hotel as there were 3 of us and we wanted to make sure we were seated together. Just as well we did because a minibus picked up the hotel passengers for three separate tours and delivered them to the almost full coaches where they had to make do with whatever remaining seats were available.
The trip was very enjoyable, starting with a drive through the very pretty little wine villages where everyone seemed to have vines in their back gardens. The Danube boat trip was lovely and very picturesque. We arrived at Melk Abbey at lunchtime and, as we only wanted a light snack, were very pleased with the €5 cheese plate which consisted of four or five different cheeses, apple, grapes, the most delicious fig preserve and two different kinds of bread.
After lunch there was a tour of the Abbey and museum which we didn't take because my elderly father is not able to walk very far. Our guide had said we would be able to go slowly at our own pace but clearly we were expected to stay together with the rest of the group so we stayed outside and enjoyed the pleasant gardens instead.
One thing that should be mentioned is that there are some very steep steps from the coach park down to and, more importantly back up from, the abbey. My father found these difficult to manage, and several much younger folk arrived back at the coach puffing and panting!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour and event was fun, entertaining, and enjoyable - not to mention an active and healthy option while vacationing AND drinking wine! We still think this was the highlight of our 18-day Balkan (yes, Balkan!) road tour. We'll do this again and we'll bring friends, as well as direct them to this tour if we're not traveling with them. Thanks again for a fun and educational day, to include a lovely variety of yummy vino tasting!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fantastic. We had a group of 7, so we had a private tour led by Stelios. I could not have asked for a better experience. Stelios was very knowledgable and a ton of fun. Wine was delicious and the scenery was amazing.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We loved every minute of this tour. We were part of a group of six. We enjoyed traveling by van to the Wachau Valley. Lunch was excellent, and the two wineries we visited were first rate. The visit to Durnstein and the cruise on the Danube were highlights of the trip.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip....both Raj and Sabastian were terrific guides and the wineries we visited were delightful. The wide tired bikes worked very well and rode easily. In all, it was one of the highlights of our travels.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Beautiful day and a very relaxing day away from bsuy Vienna. The wine tasting was very nice and the scenery awesome. Sailing on Danube River was a lovely way to break the day from driving. Only thing that could be improved would be to have time to see Stift Melk.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was awesome and much wider and more informative that I could even imagine. The tourguide, Adam, was very smart and funny guy and he knew very much about wines and local culture. Tour includes cycling, various wines, tasty meal (+7,5e), opportunity for swimming and very much interesting knowledge about wines.

Tour was planned well, theres no need to rush anywhere but still it goes without any boring moments.
Cycling speed was easy, so you dont need to be a professial biker. The longest distance on a bike between stops was maybe 30min.
Price is very reasonable. Traintickets, bikes, helmets, ferryride etc were all included. Only "extracost" is the lunch, but food was worth of every penny.

I recommend that tour for everybody who likes wines and knows how to ride a bike. Very professional guide, beautiful landscape and good wines. Must things to do in Vienna!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful trip. We spent a really lovely day first driving to meet the boat at a charming little town of Krems in the Wachau valley on the Danube. The boat ride was so pretty, and with the weather being perfect, you couldn't have asked for any better. The service was great on the boat and we enjoyed wine, beer and snacks during the 1 1/2 hour ride. Once we arrived at Melk we had about an hour before our tour, so we had lunch at the café the tour guide suggested. Then we took the tour of the Benedictine abbey, which was so impressive. So all in all it was great. The one thing that really impressed me was the tour guide who spoke 5 different languages!!

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message