Located on the Danube River in Lower Austria, the spectacular Wachau Valley wine-growing region is accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. Several wine-tasting options are available for visitors staying in Vienna. The Wachau Valley can be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 222 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a great time we had! Would do this again in a heartbeat. Other than the rain, we couldn't have expected anything better. We saw some beautiful country, met wonderful people and tasted some great wines. What makes this tour special was the ability to go into the wine makers homes. This truly makes it up close and personal.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour guide - very knowledgeable, good food and an excellent wine tasting.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was just wonderful. We had a small group of 5. The countryside was great, the others on the tour were friendly and our guide was wonderful. Although I am not a lover of white wine, I truly enjoyed the ride in the country and the riverboat on the Danube.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time! The guide was superb and we saw some lovely scenery and tasted some really nice wine. Not a very difficult pedal so it worked out well for us 60 yo something's!!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My friend and I went on Viator's wine tasting bike tour with Megan, hailing from Australia, as our guide. We had a great, cohesive group, which made for a wonderful day in the Wachau Valley, where we stopped at three vineyards and climbed to where King Richard was imprisoned in Dürnstein. Megan was upbeat, fun and knowledgable; I recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Vienna!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A revitalizing experience! I would recommend it definitely to all lonely travellers in Vienna. A great way to spend a day with much wine, astonishing landscape and a bit of gymnastics. Our guide was very friendly, informative and easy-going. All in all, I had a great time.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic day . Great tour guide and wineries excellent.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant day out in beautiful countryside - and wine to go!!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was one of the most fun tours that we have done. The meeting place was easy to find (a short underground trip) and our guide was waiting for us. Our guide Adam was absolutely fantastic. Very personable and knew all about the areas we rode through and the different kinds of wines that were sampled along the way. The ride was easy, anyone can do this. It was not rushed at all and had plenty of stops along the way. Beautiful vineyards and historic villages and ruins to see. Adam was the chef for our lunch, which was at a cute little farmhouse. Adam even went out of his way to find a special wine called Strum, (i think) only made for a few short weeks every year. Was delicious! I would not hesitate to highly recommend this tour. It was definitly worth it.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

WOW! What a superb tour! Our guide provided expert information/history on the way. Beautiful scenery, great wine, great food and a relaxing and breathtaking trip on the Danube. Highly recommend this small group tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Guide in Bratislava was very friendly and informative. "Box lunch" turned out to be an unexpected sit-down meal of chicken in a light wine sauce, rice, and traditional Slovakian cake. Nice surprise.

Doing what: Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a wonderful tour! I bought it for my boyfriend for his birthday and it was an amazing way to spend the day together. Firstly, the bikes are in really good condition, with large wheels which makes riding them very easy. The route is also basically all flat. The ponchos they provide in case it rains are also very good quality. Our tour guide Alain was great fun, very informative and looked after the group very well. Despite a few patches of thundery showers, the scenery was beautiful and Alain took us to a lovely place for lunch (I would definitely recommend buying lunch there, as the whole group sits together to eat and the food is delicious!). We visited 3 wineries or Heuriger and tried many different types of white wine, all delicious and grown in the local area. Perfect tour length for a day to get out of the city and a nice way to meet other travellers!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip started on a train journey of one hour to Wachau valley. Alain entertained us on the train before we picked up our bikes at the depot. Alain was a hit with his humour and vast knowledge of the area. We stopped three times, tasting the wine and lovely food. One of the stops we had free time to walk up to a fantastic viewpoint of the Danube. This tour was the highlight of our holiday, having great company and getting guided through beautiful Austrian villages. A lovely retreat from the city. We would definitely recommend this for all abilities and ages!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent, relaxing scenic tour traveling through the wine country and small villages on our way to the boat. We met several couples sharing our European adventures over lunch before touring Abbey.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Just finished the bike tour with Alain. We were just a small group of 6 people which was really great. The tour is paced ideally and the Biking isn't very challenging. The Wachau valley is really beautiful and the wines were lovely. The whole day was completely satisfying and it was worth every penny spent. I can't recommend any better way to spend one day away from the city when one arrives in Vienna. Thanks Alain for making the day extremely enjoyable and memorable...:-)

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message