Located on the Danube River in Lower Austria, the spectacular Wachau Valley wine-growing region is accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. Several wine-tasting options are available for visitors staying in Vienna. The Wachau Valley can be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 342 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bing Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Truly enjoyed every moment on the tour. The driver/guide is from Italy, super friendly, helpful and knowledgable. We had so much laughter along the way.the lunch place is in a local farm, and it was quaintessencial with good resonantly priced food. The wine tasting experiences worth everything.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

darlenemecredy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really great tour, a fantastic place to visit, the wines were great. Jose took good care of us. Met lots of interesting and fun people. You can't beat the scenery of the Wascau Vally.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Tara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a beautiful tour. You see a lot of great scenery and you get to try some REALLY good wine : we really enjoyed ourselves. Everything went really smoothly, thanks Jose!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had done a similar tour in Florence, Italy years ago and loved it so I thought I might enjoy one in Vienna. As expected this tour was fabulous. Our guide, Jose was very knowledgable not only about Vienna but about wine-making as well. The scenery was amazing, the wine delicious and the cycling fun! The whole trip was fantastic! I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Emily M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Superb tour. Knowledgable guide, beautiful scenery, and generous with the food and wine! Fantastic way to spend a day.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

MelitaCurrie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a great escape from the city...
Our guide was fantastic - lots of great information.
He was knowledgeable about the wines and the area
Don't worry about different riding levels - you can not get lost and its so safe

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took the bike tour on 22 April 2016 and it exceeded expectations. Metro and train ride to bike shop. Got fitted with bikes and helmets and we were off riding through town, along the river, and through vineyard after vineyard. Mostly a flat ride, with some hills. The ride back was with the river, and was mostly a gently down slope. We visited three wineries and tasted 3-4 wines at each one, climbed to the top of a castle optional hike up a steep hill, put our feet in the river, and had a tasty lunch an extra 10 euros. I will do this trip EVERY time I return to Vienna. Amazing. The guides were fantastic, and made sure to keep us all in line, on time, and on schedule, and even gave some history along the way...

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Deanna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Take this trip! Gives you a fabulous idea of the Vienna woods and how they merge into greater Vienna as well as an idea of the wine culture in Vienna. The guides know their stuff and the e-bikes give the extra push if needed to climb the hills. Very enjoyable!

Doing what: Vienna Woods Mountain Bike Tour

Rachel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent day trip! The Mercedes mini-van was comfortable and the scenery was lovely. Mario was a superb driver.

Mario was extremely well informed and kept our small group interested. He also kept us warm on a cold and windy day! Mario ensured our group got on very well and had many laughs.

The Abbey in Melk was glorious! Wine tastings were generous and very well explained. We also tasted apricot brandies and apricot chocolates - very nice.

We really couldn't improve on this tour. It was outstanding!!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Shondaray United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was amazing because of my tour guide, Hannes, the group I was riding with, the sites along the way, the wine tasting, and the slightly intense workout from the bike. The weather could have been better, but, even on my gray and occasionally misty day, it was a perfect tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was exactly what I was looking for. It was a nice balance of country scenery, exercise, good wine and a little unpredictability. Mario did an excellent job of touring us along smoothly, meeting our marks and making the time interesting and fun. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Steve H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Despite the heavy snow we made it to the palace and had a fabulous time. Excellent meal, good wines and the concert was superb!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great way to see this great city. The glass of hot wine before the off was a really nice gesture that warmed us up for the trip.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

David N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Magical evening... we did the whole VIP package with dinner included. For a place that caters to groups the meal was actually pretty good. And, we had a nice selection of Austrian wine. The concert was variety of usual Mozart, Strauss and Puccini, pretty predictable. But, the experience was well worth the evening.

Doing what: Kursalon Vienna: Johann Strauss and Mozart Concert Including 4-Course Dinner

Peter W Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour, Guide was excellent. More time in Durnstein would have been nice however overall all the wine tasting and area was excellent.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Kyra J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There are no words to say how much this tour should be recommended. To start with communicating with Viator in regards to my booking was great. I was traveling alone, but they not only contacted me through email - but checked in with my hotel. Honestly, if I had not done this tour my time in Vienna would have not been as exceptional and magical as it was. To begin with, our guide Mario was not only extremely knowledgeable of the Wachau wine region but was so gracious and so much fun. The day is so full. Our small group of four felt like a family at the end of the day! One word of advise, if you like wine, people, and a beautiful experience of the Wachau Valley you must partake in this beautiful tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Gina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a terrific guide, Stylianos, for this tour. He was extremely knowledgeable, informative, and friendly yet not at all intrusive. Wine tasting was well planned---all arranged, no waiting---and included some great selections. Plenty of time to relax while tasting in a beautiful setting. Lunch was excellent as well, and the Melk Abbey visit was incomparable. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Andrew V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour led by an interesting and knowledgeable guide, who was also good fun. The group was just the right size, with people taking part from UK, USA, Canada and Australia, a good mix. The trip is easy with no hills and at a good pace for all. The wine tasting was great and the food stops excellent. It was very good value as we were out for almost 10 hours, with the train journeys. All in all 10 out of 10. Thanks.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Gary F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip! The experience was everything as advertised and more. Motor coach picked us up at our hotel. Fantastic views especially through the wine country. The abbey at Melk is one of a kind very memorable. The riverboat ride up the Danube is special. We definitely recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Ronald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a fun trip, even in the rain! We were fortunate to have the owner of the tour company as our guide. He is a delightful young man who was a fantastic guide. He's very informed about the wines of the area as well as the geology and climate that contribute to the complexity of the wines. This is a bike trip much like the locals might undertake on weekend to the Wachau Valley. It's not a marathon bike ride by any means, nor is it intended to be. The bike trail from Krems runs alongside the main road and there are many local wineries that can be accessed from this trail. We happened to run into quite a bit of rain and rain ponchos were provided. The other two members in our tour were game as were we and none of us minded getting a bit wet! It was all part of the experience. The lunch on the tour was amazing. All of us commented on how delicious the steaks and sausages were! Our tour guide also introduced us to a drink peculiar to Austria and the Wachau Valley called Sturm! If you have a chance to try it, you should. It's only available during the crush and as billed, Austrians love this stuff. After our tour, we'd mention to waiters in restaurants that we'd been to the Wachau Valley and tried Sturm! Their eyes would light up and the normal Austrian reserve would melt away. We would do this tour again in a heart beat! Thank you for a great time!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

amy.moise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was a highlight of our Europe trip and well worth the cost. The scenery was absolutely beautiful! The first winery was the best we should have bought more bottles at the first winery, the wine at the second winery was only okay. Lunch was fantastic for the price. Our tour guide Vera was awesome, she was energetic and made the tour tons of fun, and suggested some other food and night scene places to go to in Vienna and Germany that we would have never found on our own. Highly recommend this trip and another huge thank you to Vera!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

manish_nijhawan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you have time it is a MUST DO. It was so refreshing cycling through the countryside through the orchards.The homemade lunch with the local wine topped it and ofcourse the guide was full of details about the place and knew how and what to show. He made the trip all the more interesting.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

carrie c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This experience was outstanding and top of the line in every way! My husband and I both, both age 49 and very active, scheduled the tour last minute while in Vienna when we felt like a day away from the city was best. This region of Vienna is stunning and nothing like urban Vienna. The winery visits were incredible. Don't feel like you must be a wine lover to schedule this tour. I drank very little of the wine but savored every moment of the tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Joan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour, great guide, great wine and enthusiastic company. Bikes a bit 'clunky' and heavy but the terrain is mostly quite flat, so not a real problem.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Betty S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great scenery, excellent guide who put you at ease and kept you informed of what was around you. Also very knowledgable about the wines and wineries that we visited. Fantastic lunch! One of the best tours I did on my holidays, would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message