Located on the Danube River in Lower Austria, the spectacular Wachau Valley wine-growing region is accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. Several wine-tasting options are available for visitors staying in Vienna. The Wachau Valley can be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 328 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Steve H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Despite the heavy snow we made it to the palace and had a fabulous time. Excellent meal, good wines and the concert was superb!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great way to see this great city. The glass of hot wine before the off was a really nice gesture that warmed us up for the trip.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert

David N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Magical evening... we did the whole VIP package with dinner included. For a place that caters to groups the meal was actually pretty good. And, we had a nice selection of Austrian wine. The concert was variety of usual Mozart, Strauss and Puccini, pretty predictable. But, the experience was well worth the evening.

Doing what: Kursalon Vienna: Johann Strauss and Mozart Concert Including 4-Course Dinner

Peter W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour, Guide was excellent. More time in Durnstein would have been nice however overall all the wine tasting and area was excellent.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Kyra J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There are no words to say how much this tour should be recommended. To start with communicating with Viator in regards to my booking was great. I was traveling alone, but they not only contacted me through email - but checked in with my hotel. Honestly, if I had not done this tour my time in Vienna would have not been as exceptional and magical as it was. To begin with, our guide Mario was not only extremely knowledgeable of the Wachau wine region but was so gracious and so much fun. The day is so full. Our small group of four felt like a family at the end of the day! One word of advise, if you like wine, people, and a beautiful experience of the Wachau Valley you must partake in this beautiful tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Gina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a terrific guide, Stylianos, for this tour. He was extremely knowledgeable, informative, and friendly yet not at all intrusive. Wine tasting was well planned---all arranged, no waiting---and included some great selections. Plenty of time to relax while tasting in a beautiful setting. Lunch was excellent as well, and the Melk Abbey visit was incomparable. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Andrew V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour led by an interesting and knowledgeable guide, who was also good fun. The group was just the right size, with people taking part from UK, USA, Canada and Australia, a good mix. The trip is easy with no hills and at a good pace for all. The wine tasting was great and the food stops excellent. It was very good value as we were out for almost 10 hours, with the train journeys. All in all 10 out of 10. Thanks.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Gary F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip! The experience was everything as advertised and more. Motor coach picked us up at our hotel. Fantastic views especially through the wine country. The abbey at Melk is one of a kind very memorable. The riverboat ride up the Danube is special. We definitely recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Ronald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a fun trip, even in the rain! We were fortunate to have the owner of the tour company as our guide. He is a delightful young man who was a fantastic guide. He's very informed about the wines of the area as well as the geology and climate that contribute to the complexity of the wines. This is a bike trip much like the locals might undertake on weekend to the Wachau Valley. It's not a marathon bike ride by any means, nor is it intended to be. The bike trail from Krems runs alongside the main road and there are many local wineries that can be accessed from this trail. We happened to run into quite a bit of rain and rain ponchos were provided. The other two members in our tour were game as were we and none of us minded getting a bit wet! It was all part of the experience. The lunch on the tour was amazing. All of us commented on how delicious the steaks and sausages were! Our tour guide also introduced us to a drink peculiar to Austria and the Wachau Valley called Sturm! If you have a chance to try it, you should. It's only available during the crush and as billed, Austrians love this stuff. After our tour, we'd mention to waiters in restaurants that we'd been to the Wachau Valley and tried Sturm! Their eyes would light up and the normal Austrian reserve would melt away. We would do this tour again in a heart beat! Thank you for a great time!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

amy.moise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was a highlight of our Europe trip and well worth the cost. The scenery was absolutely beautiful! The first winery was the best we should have bought more bottles at the first winery, the wine at the second winery was only okay. Lunch was fantastic for the price. Our tour guide Vera was awesome, she was energetic and made the tour tons of fun, and suggested some other food and night scene places to go to in Vienna and Germany that we would have never found on our own. Highly recommend this trip and another huge thank you to Vera!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

manish_nijhawan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you have time it is a MUST DO. It was so refreshing cycling through the countryside through the orchards.The homemade lunch with the local wine topped it and ofcourse the guide was full of details about the place and knew how and what to show. He made the trip all the more interesting.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

carrie c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This experience was outstanding and top of the line in every way! My husband and I both, both age 49 and very active, scheduled the tour last minute while in Vienna when we felt like a day away from the city was best. This region of Vienna is stunning and nothing like urban Vienna. The winery visits were incredible. Don't feel like you must be a wine lover to schedule this tour. I drank very little of the wine but savored every moment of the tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Joan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour, great guide, great wine and enthusiastic company. Bikes a bit 'clunky' and heavy but the terrain is mostly quite flat, so not a real problem.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Betty S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great scenery, excellent guide who put you at ease and kept you informed of what was around you. Also very knowledgable about the wines and wineries that we visited. Fantastic lunch! One of the best tours I did on my holidays, would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

john t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was amazing! Our guide Stelios made it a most enjoyable way to experience wine, food and the Vienna countryside even on a 100 degree day. There were eight in our group, four were underage, young adults. To compensate for them, Stelios discussed history, landscape and the economic impact on making wine in the region. Taking the river cruise at the conclusion was a great way to cap off our wonderful day!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

shannonjb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was well worth the price and a great first day in Austria! Our guide, Vera, was amazing and provided us several suggestions on things to do during our time in Vienna and also suggestions to make the most of Oktoberfest later in our journey. We got to taste several amazing wines, schnapps, and have a hardy lunch for about 10 Euro extra. The biking pace was relaxed and not too hilly, we had ample opportunity for photos, and the distance between drinks was not far.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

patches5687

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The bike tour was absolutely amazing with breathtaking views of the Wachau Valley, wonderful company, and amazing wine. Vera was extremely knowledgable regarding the wine and area, and even gave great recommendations for food, drinks, and sites in the area. Overall, I would recommend to anyone traveling to Vienna and looking for an activity during the day.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

ralph juhascik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The guide was great and the tour itself very interesting. The wineries we visited had great wine and the lunch was very good. Thanks for a great trip.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wines were fantastic, the river cruise was great, and our guide Mario was awesome. All-around great tour - definitely recommend!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Stephen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Do it. Before booking the trip I had a hard time wrapping my head around why we needed 9 hours for this tour. My recommendation is to just trust the schedule. Time will melt away as you enjoy the biking and wine. Also James, our tour guide was great.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Michael P S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our Wachau Valley tour was outstanding. Our guide Stelios was personable and extremely knowledgable. The wine valley, midevil towns visted, the lunch spot and the river trip were all first class. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Katie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Beautiful scenery, great white wines, and a knowledgable guide. You take an hour long train ride to get to Krems then start biking. Bike ride is not too strenuous as it is broken up by stops to take pictures, try wine and eat lunch.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Jeff J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had great fun on this bike tour with Marcus and Daniel. Riding through the vineyards and stopping for wine and conversation was certainly one of the highlights of our trip to Vienna. I would highly recommend this bike tour to anyone visiting Vienna. I didn't think I would enjoy riding the e-bikes but, after going on this ride, I am considering buying one for myself at home! Thanks Marcus!

Doing what: Vienna Woods Mountain Bike Tour

Arnold R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Emir was a great guide! Our introduction to Wachau Valley wines was informative and fun. Great contrast to the historic center of Vienna. Views from Durstein and the Danube were awesome!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Annette D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was wonderful. Fun to ride through the towns and the by the river. Lunch was great and all the wine tastings too. I would have liked to have more time in Durnstein. We had about an hour, 2 hours would have been much better. We could have gone back after our last wine tasting as we have a lot of time in the park before heading to the train station. Our guide was very accommodating too.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message