Located on the Danube River in Lower Austria, the spectacular Wachau Valley wine-growing region is accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. Several wine-tasting options are available for visitors staying in Vienna. The Wachau Valley can be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 273 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fabulous experience!. The wineries were very generous in their sample selections. When told most of the group favored red wines, opened another four bottles for us to sample after we had already had the white ones. Guides friendly, knowledgeable. Unfortunately, it rained on our Danube boat ride. The scenery was spectacular.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great tour to see a beautiful part of the world. Great wine sampled while viewing some lovely villages on a pleasant bike ride. The tour went off without a hitch and was well organized. Would highly recommend it for anyone that enjoys a nice ride through the wine country of the Wachau Valley.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Vienna, even if you don't ride a bike very often. The meeting point for the tour was super easy to get to Vienna's train system is great. Once we arrived there, we were given a chance to use the bikes and meet our guides. The assistance the bikes provided was useful on the hills neither my girlfriend nor I are very avid bikers, so this was a welcome addition and our guides Markus and Hugo were very conscientious with their choice of paths and pacing. The guides allowed time for stops, photos, and explained some of the history of the area. Markus even emailed us additional historical info about this area after we expressed an interest in learning more. In addition, he sent us GPS location info from our trek as well as pacing, distance, and other stats from the ride.

The tour provided a great view of the entire city and its surroundings. The guides pointed out landmarks and natural attractions and we learned a lot about what the city has to offer. After our tour, we stopped by one of the wineries in the area to enjoy some of the product grown in the hills we just biked through. The location was great and the wine was refreshing. Again, we would highly recommend the tour. Our only regret was that we didn't have more time in the city to enjoy some of the attractions we learned about during the tour. If you are going to be spending some time in Vienna, do this tour first!

Doing what: Vienna Woods Mountain Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The reviews are what convinced me to book this tour, and they were so right! The biking was fairly easy only a few short, minor hills the food was delicious the wine was tasty and the scenery was awesome! I hadn't been biking in years, so it was nice to do it again, and it was even better that it was along the Danube. Dürnstein was also a very cute town with lots of apricot treats Chocolate-covered apricots! Yum!. We hiked up to the prison where they kept King Richard the Lionheart. It was a hard hike straight up, but well worth the view when you got to the top!! I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get out of the city for a day, experience beautiful parts of the countryside, and meet great people! Our tour guide was James, and he was fabulous. He's very knowledgeable and a lot of fun!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Mario, was great. I was surprised to have an Italian tour guide in Wachau, but he knew his wines and was very personable. The small tour max size is 8 we had 7 and it is a nice pace with plenty of opportunity to taste local wines. The hour long cruise down the Danube was relaxing. I highly recommend Mario!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful tour. Great combo of rest and riding. More than just wine tasting. Lunch was most excellent and prepared by our tour guide and one of the wineries. The tour begins and ends with an hour train ride outside the city, but beautiful countryside views. Our tour guide was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Took a bus ride, and part way, boarded a boat for the river cruise. Lovely scenery, Melk Abbey is beautiful. The trip through the wine region was very scenic and beautiful, even on an overcast day.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

With only two days in Vienna this concert Johann Straus and Mozart Concert proved to be one of our highlights. The theatre was packed with approx 300 people who were enthralled by the conductor and his orchestra. The supporting singers and dancers were exceptional and performed at a standard well above expectation.
The Kursalon is only a short stroll from the Intercontinental Hotel which proved to be very convenient for us as we had our 4 yr old Grand Daughter traveling with us.
If you are wanting to dine before the performance I'd suggest you book your dinner separately at the Kursalon Restaurant or the very quaint Biergart'l i'm Stadtpark at the canal end of the Kursalon complex.
If you are fortunate enough to be in Vienna on a Tuesday evening the Biergart'l employs one of the most entertaining 4 piece orchestra's that I've had the opportunity to experience food, beer and wine is good and charges reasonable. Tables here are located outside, so you get to enjoy the ambiance of the botanic gardens during good weather.

Doing what: Kursalon Vienna: Johann Strauss and Mozart Concert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable trip. Mario was delightful, ecenary was great and the wines were delicious and fresh

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The scenery was amazing, the food and wine were delicious, and the guide and customers were inviting and fun! This was my favorite day of my vacation and I would do this tour again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a highlight of our Vienna trip! Our guide, Mario, was very personable and companionable. An asset to Viator, for sure. He shared much good information, but also left space for questions and quiet time. Winery tour was great, informative and just the right length. Lunch, I believe was in Spitz, was shaded and delish. The river boat was full of people, but the views were just what we hoped. To finish at Melk took our breath away, it was so beautiful and amazing! We would all highly recommend both Mario and this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Wachau Valley Tour and Wine Tastings from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is great - do it! It was one of the highlights of my 2 weeks in Europe. I spent a lot of time in European cities and this was a great way to get out of the city and explore some beautiful countryside. A 9-hour tour sounds very long, but you won't be biking for 9 hours. It's not too intense in terms of the biking you bike in fairly short increments, and it's mostly flat and it's not very intense or snobby in terms of the wine tasting. FYI, the Wachau Valley is mostly dry white wines, but some people on our tour weren't really into wine and they still enjoyed biking and wandering the small towns we visited including Durnstein, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Our guide Ian was from New Zealand it's nice to have a native English speaker you can ask questions but has lived in Austria a few months and taught us a lot about authentic Austrian wine culture and heurigens. We also had a fun, social group of people. Bikes are in good condition and helmets are provided/required. You're mostly on bike paths so it's not dangerous city riding you ride a train outside of Vienna before getting on a bike.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fantastic. Mario was an excellent guide, very personable and knowledgeable. The driver was skillful and friendly. We would highly this tour for anyone looking to experience an Austrian wine area.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was the highlight of our trip after so much sightseeing and museums, this was the perfect end to our trip. Being out in this beautiful area you almost had to pinch yourself, the weather also was perfect. We had a wonderful time riding through all the small towns along the way and stopping to have a deliciously prepared lunch. The wine tasting was very good, hard to choose from your favorites! Definitely would recommend this experience, we loved it!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing trip! Our guide Karin was excellent, we had a perfect size group of 6 wonderful people.
The Wineries are amazing and the wines we tasted were delicious.
Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you're looking for a fun day while in Austria, this is it! Awesome experience! The guide was super and we learned all about the great wines in this area!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There were only two couples on this tour including us which made the tour a little more intimate. Obviously, the tour guide spend a lot of time with us and answered all our questions. The wine at the end of the tour and the restaurant with the violinist and accordion player were surely a highlight of this tour. They played any song we wanted, in english or otherwise. Great tour!

Doing what: Vienna by Night: Evening City Tour Including Wiener Riesenrad Ferris Wheel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I did this tour in May 2015. The Walking Tour was about 4 hours long. We walked around many parts of the city, our guide explaining us the history of the place, along with tons of snippets. We covered much more than the main city attractions, including some spots which otherwise as a tourist we'd never know/visit. For ex. the wine cellar, which was underground and was huge inside. The tour ended up at Stephansplace which is a big touristy square bustling with shops, restaurants, etc. We had an hour before the bike tour, so this was a perfect place to grab lunch.

The bike was in the second half of the day. Our guide Walter was an energetic, loud and quite entertaining. Having walked for 4 hours earlier, it felt good riding around town. The bikes were comfortable with bins at the rear of the bike to put your backpacks while riding. We rode through an amusement park, which had the oldest Ferris Wheel, then through a large city park, along the Danube canal, to the Hofburg Palace, to the public quarters apartments, then to Mozart, Beethoven's house, the Parliament, etc. The list was endless and we ended up riding for over 4 hours. It felt we'd seen every street of Vienna.

The best part was that there was very little overlap of places between the walking tour and biking tour. Else it would've been redundant and boring. The walking tour was ok but the biking was a lot of fun. We must have covered thrice the distance compared to the walk. The weather was beautiful and Vienna by bike is simply amazing. By the end of the day we were quite tired but it was total value for the entire day's time. Highly recommend the biking tour !! In one day what we covered by walk and bike, individually would've taken us 3-4 days for sure. Value for time and money, must do !!!

Doing what: Vienna Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus Highlights Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great. Our guide, Stelios, was the best! He knew the history, the countryside and the wines of the Wachau Valley. His interaction with all the folks in our group was appreciated, he made us feel welcome and included. Thank you Stelios !!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was just fabulous! After the busyness of the city, it was so lovely to bicycle around the country side where there is so much history and beauty! Our guide was friendly and courteous. He was very knowledgeable about the history of the region and the wines and you could feel that he truly love Austria. He made everyone feel at ease and we all had a wonderful time....no matter where you were from. I love Austrian wines too...very fresh and crisp! Go for it!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful!! The ride went through some of the most beautiful places I have ever seen! Not too difficult of a ride! Enjoyed the wine and food very much! James, our tour guide was very knowledgable and fun!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour, would highly reccomend it to anyone who wants to see some more of Austria, and learn a bunch about wine. The pace is nice and easy, the vineyards are beautiful and the wine is delicious. Our guide, Ian, was great - it was an really enjoyable day.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing trip. Adam the guide was charismatic and knowledgable, sharing his local knowledge with us. 16 of us in group, just right. Bikes were brand new. Wine tasting lovely! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time on the Wachau Valley winery bike tour! This was by far our favorite excursion during our stay in Vienna. We had a great group of people and an amazing guide, Gianni! He was very knowledgeable about the wine and a lot of fun! Great views and heurigens!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had such a fantastic day with Stelios in the Wachau Valley! In spite of a few rain drops here and there, our day was sunny tasting wine with new friends from all over the world. So relaxing traveling with a small group of people and having Stelios share his knowledge of this wine region.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message