Located on the Danube River in Lower Austria, the spectacular Wachau Valley wine-growing region is accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. Several wine-tasting options are available for visitors staying in Vienna. The Wachau Valley can be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 370 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

elizabeth m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Dominic was a great host! Hottest day of the year and he made it fun and interesting. Climb to the top of the hill for the view was spectacular. Wine was wonderful! One of the best days of our trip!
Elizabeth

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Nancy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The most amazing experience ever. The guide knew so much about wine and grapes and the locations we stopped at were exceptional. I and #39;ll never forget this part of my trip to Vienna.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Patrick F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the highlight of our trip to Austria. Josef was a wonderful guide. Biking along the Danube with vineyards and beautiful scenery....what's not to love? The wineries were wonderful, lunch was great, the other bikers fun and friendly. The biking was not too strenuous, but you will definitely work up a sweat. We had three in our party and everyone loved it!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

mmacrow1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Need to be fit and wine was not the premium stuff.
But a good day away from cities and crowds.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Raymond J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Expensive but worth it for a special occasion. Surroundings, meal and concert was fantastic. Not worth paying extra for the glass of wine in the interval-you can purchase a glass in the foyer, if you really want it but its not the best of wines!

Doing what: Schönbrunn Palace Evening: Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert

Phillip K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The highlight of my Vienna trip! Easy ride, stunning scenery, beautiful wine, fun mix of people and Doninic the tour guide was GREAT. Do it.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

C v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour and Giovanni, our tour guide was amazing! He knew the locals, walked or pedaled the extra mile and had a great sense of humour. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It was also wonderful to visit smaller, family-run wineries, which really sets this tour apart. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Bruno D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great tour. Ivan our host and guide was fantastic. He is very knowledgable about wines in every detail, from growing grapes to making wine and differences of tastes. He is also great at giving us history of the region. Could not have been better.

Bruno Dietl, California

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mario was an excellent guide. He is knowledgeable, friendly and well prepared to explore the Wachau Valley. We learned much about the wines grown in this region as well as the history and culture of the area.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Ashley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the perfect day trip! After a few days of city touring museums, state buildings, etc., we needed a break from all of the craziness, and wine bikes sounded perfect. The tour guides are knowledgeable and fun, and getting to know the group is also a good time. It is a bit of trek to get on the bike, but totally worth it in the end. Must do!!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Jami B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing day of biking through the most beautiful countryside and tasting delicious wine. Our guide was very informative and attentive.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Sangeetha V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip!
Although I am not an expert or an avid biker, I was able to do this trip almost 25 Kms of riding . Its well paced and we went through gorgeous wine yards and village of Dürnstein in the Wachau. The scenic route and good Austrian wines made it worth every penny.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Gregory M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful excursion out of Vienna for a day. The wine was wonderful and our guide was knowledgeable. I would strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Richard T M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very relaxing, beautiful ride and scenery. Many wonderful wines. Stylianos Stavridis was a splendid guide: knowledgeable of the wines, the region and the history of Austria and very friendly and personable as well.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Jordan M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Stelios was great! He was very knowledgeable about both the region and the wine. I would highly recommend him to anyone! The tour was beautiful - we got lucky and had great weather. It was a little difficult dealing with Viator to coordinate getting 8 people on the same tour, but once we got past that, it was a great experience.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Robin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour with a guide who was passionate about wine and the region. The tour varies the wineries and lunch locations depending on opening days/times. The wines at all locations were excellent, lunch options were superb, and beautiful vistas plentiful. Note- if you are interested in staying to see Melk Abbey it is possible to do so and catch a train back to Vienna, but you will be a little pressed for enough time to see the whole abbey due to closing times.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

Heather W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent, the guide was great and the scenery and wine were both superb. definitely recommend

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Malc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A really good day out, our guide Dimostenis was fantastic and informative. The day was well organised with time for wine tasting, exploring by oneself and we really enjoyed the boat trip on the Danube.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

lj.nemo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

great wine tasting experience together with the tour in beautiful wachay vally in a small group of another two nice couples, our guide Mario is professional and very humorous, he is generous in pouring wines too:

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

DANA I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really well organised expedition and wine tastings. Everything went smoothly on the day with our friendly guide Jose, despite the very generous servings of wine at all the tastings. Make the trip up to the castle, the views are worth the climb.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Danielle Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is totally worth it! I was not expecting the hour long train ride to/from the winery but the guide, Jose, gave us train tickets and coordinated our trip there and back flawlessly. In addition to the bike tour itself, which was AMAZING, I appreciated that we were not rushed from winery to winery. We even had time to climb up to some ruins in one of the towns before lunch. I was also surprised that in each of the 3 wineries we went to, we were given FULL glasses of wine rather than small tastings. Everything about this tour was fantastic and I would highly recommend it.

Side Note - prepare for some hills during the bike ride, not exactly beginner, but definitely worth the trek for the views.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

bing Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Truly enjoyed every moment on the tour. The driver/guide is from Italy, super friendly, helpful and knowledgable. We had so much laughter along the way.the lunch place is in a local farm, and it was quaintessencial with good resonantly priced food. The wine tasting experiences worth everything.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Small-Group Tour and Wine Tasting from Vienna

darlenemecredy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really great tour, a fantastic place to visit, the wines were great. Jose took good care of us. Met lots of interesting and fun people. You can't beat the scenery of the Wascau Vally.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Tara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a beautiful tour. You see a lot of great scenery and you get to try some REALLY good wine : we really enjoyed ourselves. Everything went really smoothly, thanks Jose!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had done a similar tour in Florence, Italy years ago and loved it so I thought I might enjoy one in Vienna. As expected this tour was fabulous. Our guide, Jose was very knowledgable not only about Vienna but about wine-making as well. The scenery was amazing, the wine delicious and the cycling fun! The whole trip was fantastic! I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message