Located on the Danube River in Lower Austria, the spectacular Wachau Valley wine-growing region is accessible from both Vienna and Salzburg. Several wine-tasting options are available for visitors staying in Vienna. The Wachau Valley can be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 209 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip started on a train journey of one hour to Wachau valley. Alain entertained us on the train before we picked up our bikes at the depot. Alain was a hit with his humour and vast knowledge of the area. We stopped three times, tasting the wine and lovely food. One of the stops we had free time to walk up to a fantastic viewpoint of the Danube. This tour was the highlight of our holiday, having great company and getting guided through beautiful Austrian villages. A lovely retreat from the city. We would definitely recommend this for all abilities and ages!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent, relaxing scenic tour traveling through the wine country and small villages on our way to the boat. We met several couples sharing our European adventures over lunch before touring Abbey.

Doing what: Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Just finished the bike tour with Alain. We were just a small group of 6 people which was really great. The tour is paced ideally and the Biking isn't very challenging. The Wachau valley is really beautiful and the wines were lovely. The whole day was completely satisfying and it was worth every penny spent. I can't recommend any better way to spend one day away from the city when one arrives in Vienna. Thanks Alain for making the day extremely enjoyable and memorable...:-)

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a must do tour. Adam is a great host/guide. Very amusing and informative. The bike riding part is very gentle and you get to taste I guess 8 wines or so, mainly white, with some schnapps thrown in for good measure. The optional BBQ is good value and very tasty. I cannot rate the tour highly enough. As Nike would say "Just do it"

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful time on the full day bike trip to the Wachau Valley with approximately 10 other adults and our trip guide, Alain. The meeting place is easy to find in bright green letters on Franz Josefs Kai (see their logo above). It is a short train ride to Krem where we picked up our bikes-all with humorous names. The bike ride itself is easy going with a few hills (just stand up and pedal through them). You will enjoy this trip much more if you listen to Alain who is very familiar with the area and take in the beautiful surroundings. Do not try to take videos or pictures when you are on your bike, he will stop at the most interesting areas for photo ops and give you a quick history lesson. Our group was made up of people from all over the world. We had a great time tasting wines, exploring the castle ruins (highly recommend the climb to the top) in Durnstein as well as taking a dip in the Danube. If you like wine, people, beautiful scenery, biking and hiking this is definitely for you!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Lovely scenery, excellent guides, enjoyed the wine tasting, great day.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing. So much fun. Great to get out of the city to see a different part of Austria. Loved the bikes the tour learnt a bit about the wines and the area. So nice n relaxing

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was so much fun! My wife and I really enjoyed the bike tour, we ended up with a young group and our guide hannes worked well with us. The lunch was spectacular and the wine was worth the bike ride!!

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My partner and I loved this tour; nice wine, beautiful scenery and a great guide. Have already recommended this trip to several other travellers.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great time! Beautiful scenery, good wine and Raj was awesome! He was welcoming and helpful throughout trip. On train back to Vienna, he made a point of chatting with everyone to learn about their experience, as well as to offer recommendations for dinner, how to spend remaining time in Vienna, and which metro train to take to get back to hotel.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was spectacular! First it was fun to see the countryside and ride through cute towns. Also, it was active but not too rigorous. The paths you go on are mostly bike/pedestrian only with some travel on roads in small towns. The wine tastings were nice as well. Our guide was helpful, informative and funny! They take care of all the arrangements with the winery and the train tickets which is great. Highly recommended!!!!

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Wachau Valley Wine Tasting Wine Tour was a wonderful experience. Our guide Nicolette (Nico) was personable, knowledgeable and very capable. We had perfect weather, the wineries were accommodating and efficient, lunch was good value. The bikes wer easy to ride and well maintained. Magic scenery (village of Krems is sensational), the riding relativley easy. The climb up to and view from the "Richard the 3rd" castle was a great experience. Definitely one of the highlights of our six weeks travel.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing.. What a great day! Sebastian was great 10/10.. It's was the best day in Austria, I loved it and I now drink white wine.

Doing what: Wine Tasting Bike Tour departing Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well organised the dinner was very good although wine a bit pricey. The concernt was excellent and included opera and ballet as well as the orchestra. A really enjoyable evening in wonderful surroundings.

Doing what: Schonbrunn Palace Evening: Dinner and Concert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Adam, our guide, was excellent. In addition to the bike ride he shared some history of the valley and the wines produced there. The trip started with a short train ride to pick up the bikes and out of the city riding on back roads and through vineyards. The lunch was delicious at our first wine tasting stop. We stopped in Krems and made some apricot purchases in addition to being able to hike up to an old castle and take some great pictures of the Danube. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message