Vilnius ATTRACTIONS See all

Vilnius Cathedral (Arkikatedra Bazilika)

Vilnius Cathedral - or Arkikatedra Bazilika - can trace its history back to the 13th century when the Lithuanian King Mindaugas built the original cathedral in 1251. Having been burnt down and rebuilt several times over the years, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 67 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Keith P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Tommy was a good guide, talkative, and informative.

But castle was disappointing... it was a TOTAL reconstruction. Nothing it it was original including all the attempts at 'museum' presentations in some of the rooms. Everything was from other countries or reproductions. If this is the only remaining castle in Lithuania, it doesn't count. It was built in the 1960s.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great destination, enjoyable tour and very helpful guide.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Tetiana Z

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Trakai Castle is very beautiful place and is located very close to Vilnius, so it would be a pity to miss it. Our guide was very professional, but sometimes too historical. But now we know much of Lithuanian history and present time. The bus was very comfortable, the trip to castle was about 30-40 minutes. All the time our guide told about things we passed by or different facts from history. At the lake shore he helped to find the best place to take photos. Then he bought tickets and guided the group through the castle. In the end we had free time about an hour to take photos, buy souvenirs and drink some coffee. We came back to Vilnius in time.
About the castle: the place is really beautiful in all seasons, I guess. We were in winter. It's a lake with several islands. The castle is rebuilt and many exhibits are not authentic, but the atmosphere of medieval castle is so great. Also this is cool adventure for children. There were many of them in the castle.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Flor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I had a great time!

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Due to the small group two Russian Tourists and myself I thought the tour may be cancelled, however it went ahead so amassive thank you to the driver, the tour guide Tomas and the Russian couple.

I had my own private tour guide Tomas who was very knowledgeable, professional and friendly.

the tour itself is definetly worth taking, mabe better in the summer though.

another Viator winner

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Blake W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was very friendly and very knowledgeable, especially for being his first tour

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Tomas was very informative and knowledgeable of Vilnius. A very good mix of old town and outside the city center. Definitely a thumbs up for us!

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Saundra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I took the Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour with my parents. Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The tour gives you a good overview of the city with a few stops to explore up close and personal. I highly recommend taking the tour.

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Jemma L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great trip, we loved it

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

MJ L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Theexperience was only positive. From the time that the bus picked us up on time at the hotel right through the whole experience. We had a travel guide called Helena and she was magnificant. Full of energy and very knowledgable even on broader topics besides only Vilnius. Truly a solid introduction of Vilnius at a very reasonable price.

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very informative and a wonderful place to visit. Although it was rebuild and not authentic as originally was but its very nice. It was a hot sunny day around 34 decrees celsius. As everyone can expect food take away outside are too expensive but on all it was an excellent and informative tour

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Manfred M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Julija our guide was very enthusiastic and informative about Vilnius and all places we visited. She was pleased to answer any questions and made it a fun day.
We highly recommend her as a guide

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Stephen D B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Worth the money.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Hugh S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous tour. Our guide Julia was very knowledgable and funny. Plenty of time to see the castle and have lunch. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Theresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The bus ride out of the city was interesting as we joined various groups. In the end the drive to the Castle went smooth. Our guide walked us through the main fortress and gave us information on the various rooms and overall history. Afterwards you have free time to walk through the museum, shop or grab a bite to eat.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

OZLEM T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great. Worth seeing place. Great guide, very punctual organization.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Eden P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour. As i went in Winter, was lucky enough to have a private tour. The guide did a great job and was very knowledgeable. We squeezed in all the key sites around Vilnius, with others left for you to visit at your leisure after the tour. I actually found the length of the tour very good - Vilnius isnt a big city, so its nice to get a taster of things and then be left to your own devices and explore. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

DUNCAN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful area and very pleasant and informative guides!

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Maxim Vorobyev

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent guide! Beautiful city!

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Donald Charles J

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Tour start was a little late as we were the only 2 on it on ten minutes earlier was doable. We saw the sights as advertised and Anna was an engaging tour guide. It took less time than advertised but there was no traffic on a Saturday and since we were only ones on the tour the loading and unloading was quicker. I would have liked to hear more about the history of the city in the last 100 years especially the soviet years.

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Janet W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I was fortunate enough to be the only person on this tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating and the tour gave me an excellent insight into the history of Vilnius and Lithuania.

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Dr Yi Ren Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

I did this tour during our trans-Mongolia/Siberia train trip holiday. It was a good tour. The tour guide was really friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. But the castle itself does not have much to see, If you have been to other castles in Europe, you probably feel this one is pretty average. The castle is beautiful for photos, considering how much I paid and I don't feel it is a good value for money.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Best tour of all in Lithuainia. Magnificent view of the castle!

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

ringoffire

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A half day tour. Informative. Our guide was very helpful. Recommended.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We loved Vilnius, a beautiful city. Our guide, Anna, answered all our questions and more. We will return to Lithuania.

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message