Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery contains the graves of soldiers of every war the United States has fought since the American Revolution. It is also a resting place for such American leaders as John F. Kennedy, Oliver Wendell Holmes, and Medgar Evers. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1978 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was great to be able to hop on the bus when our legs were too tired to carry us further. Most drivers were fantastic although we did have one that talked waaaay to much.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Kenneth T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour operators were very knowledgeable and made the trip enjoyable. We were able to see all we wanted in the timeframe we had. We did not like that we had to get off the bus at Union Station to exchange our voucher for tickets. We assumed that we could just use the voucher all day. That was a waste of 30 minutes. You should think about changing how this is done, or at least let your customers know that they would need to do this. We would have taken the Metro there and saved time.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very convenient source of transportation and the drivers where very entertaining. We learned so much about the DC area just by riding the bus! What could be better.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

teresa m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We never had to wait on the next trolley. The drivers were very knowledgeable and added some humor.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Mariesol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was wonderful. Learned a lot. The changing of the guards is not be missed very moving ceremony.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Beth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I enjoyed each of my guides! They each taught me about the city through stories and anecdotes. I highly recommend this tour to give you an overview of the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Steven W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

wonderful way to see all the sites! I would recommend!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Angela D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was great and the guides knowledgeable. My only issue is the stop signs were too small and we had problems finding the stops. but overall, great experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Louie G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good way of getting around and getting some basic facts/history about different sites. Out of the 4 or 5 buses we took, only one had a live guided option which is by far the best way to get the most out of your trip. While having the pre-recorded is still nice to have, it just can't beat the live version which always includes personal reflections, interactions, and additional facts you can't find in the pre-recorded version. The only other problem... traffic. When taking the Red Line, be aware that you will spend a lot of time in traffic with very little sightseeing options.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Joseph C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

When we got there we were told unless someone else showed up they would have to cancel our tour.No big deal for them but was very stressful to us.Luckily 2 more people showed up and the tour was done.Guide was fabulous and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

sisterstravel

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Due to the limited time of our trip and rainy weather, my sister and I were unable to enjoy the trip to the fullest. We enjoy the aspect of being able to get an overview of the city by bus. However we found it very difficult to make the first connection with the bus line even though we had pre-booked our tickets. The bus routes seem to be on off the beaten path and therefore difficult to find. It cost us 3 to 4 hours of valuable time before our first bus ride. Also even though many of your ads state desired sites the routes do not come within sight of the sites. That is very disappointing.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Joseph A

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Too much political bulls__t by the drivers during the trip! We came to sightsee not hear how wonderful Hillary is.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Carla C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Good tour just be mindful that this tour ends at Arlington and you must find your own transportation back to your original destination.

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

Corin K

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Well, the info was good. The driver, Bobby, packed in a lot of stuff in a short time which is the way to do it if you're only in town a few days. Only 5 on our tour which was nice. But....We didn't go to any mall for lunch and the tour left us up at Arlington and we had to catch a taxi back to town - not cheap! lunch was a little take out window at a park and we ate in the van. Plus, the van was called Lobo ? tours - no viator mentioned anywhere. Had a heck of a time finding it. I'll definitely think twice about using Viator again

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

Krystal P

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour was a lot more walking than anticipated for a 'hop on, hop off'. Found myself still having a 10 min walk to get to some things after the bus would drop me off. I never found out how you could GPS track where the bus was and after 3pm, i waited over an hour and half for a bus because they were all full. It made me not want to get off at another stop incase i couldn't get on another bus! Drivers were all friendly and full of information but, i probably would not do this tour again.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Brandon A

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Very informative, takes you to exactly where you want to be. Unfortunately it pails in comparison to the New York version as it doesn't have live guides on all except the main route. The busses themselves are also aging and decrepit, of all the busses we travelled on only one was new. The others had rattling panels, or panels missing. The one live commentary tour we went on had no working mic and the door jammed and wouldn't close but the tour guide took it in his comedic stride. The first bus we got on sat still for 25 mins because the purchase machine the driver had was broken. We don't regret the choice to go with big bus but they need to up their game.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Nicspics

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Sadly, and no fault to Big Bus, the day we used it coincided with two parades in Washington DC forcing the closure of many roads. Our plan to sightsee everything didn't happen and instead we spent lots of time just sitting in traffic or changing buses. We finally gave up. I've used Big Bus before in another city and it worked well, so imagine Washington would be the same on a good day.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Corin K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

OK. Tour guys talked very quickly and sounded bored - all of them - we had about 4. The place is beautiful though.

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

Gayle S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The tour was very interesting. We had a very good tour guide. My only complaint is that we spent nearly one hour trying to find the stops to get onto the bus. Your list of bus stops was not specific enough. There are several tour buses in the city and it was very difficult to find the Trolley stops. We then had to get off the bus and scan our printout to get the actual tickets. If we had known that and the location, we would have taken care of it first.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Holly T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

THEY LEFT US AT ARLINGTON NATIONAL CEMETERY.

After waiting for over 40 minutes for a shuttle to the cemetery, I had to flag down the driver to keep her from leaving us because she stopped so far away from the original drop off. Several other customers had to do this, as well. Then the driver and another employee sold us upgrade tickets to the guided tour at Arlington and failed to tell us that it was 45 minutes long. By the time we arrived at Arlington, it was past 4:00pm. We overheard an Arlington employee say how long the tour was and we questioned the driver about it. We were told that the last shuttle left at 5:00pm and we would not be left as long as we were back by then. This, of course, meant we couldn't get off the shuttle at any stops. Our tour came back just before 5:00pm and the Old Town shuttle was gone. Several other customers were left behind, as well. Employees at Arlington contacted Old Town and were told that a final shuttle would be coming in 15 minutes. After waiting for 30 minutes, they contacted Old Town again and were told no more shuttles were coming. We were also told by Arlington employees that the last shuttle had left at 4:50pm. This is completely unacceptable. The driver and employee should not have been selling tickets to the guided tour that late knowing that it was 45 minutes without stops. And the last shuttle should not have left early. We also had issues with our vouchers, and the representative at the Visitor's Center not only did not seem knowledgeable about the routes, she was completely unhelpful and acted like we were bothering her when we asked her for information. We had 2 great tour guides earlier in the day- Gary and Art of Facts- who almost saved the experience, but being left at Arlington Cemetery just totally ruined it for us. I do not recommend this tour. And I've shared this with my close friend who works at Travel Channel.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Marlene O

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

We booked online. We received a voucher, however no direction on getting actual tickets. We wasted half the day trying to redeem the voucher. NOTE-when we finally went to get our tickets, they were extremely nice and very helpful.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Julie J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Actually very disappointed with tour. We wished we would have driven in our rental car to Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour instead of going on this tour. The bus left Union Station promptly and we did stop by Christ Church in Alexandria though could not enter the church and were told few facts about the church. However, at Mount Vernon, we walked the entire grounds and sat for 90 minutes waiting for the bus. Then we went to Arlington Cemetery - walked the entire cemetery and saw the Changing of the Guard - and still had an hour to sit and wait for the bus. The tour took 9 hours and really only needed 6. We loved Mount Vernon and Arlington - but the bus aspect of the tour killed it. No advantage to bus tour - just drive yourself!!!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Harold W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

On our visit May 5th, we took your tour and were thoroughly disappointed. We didn't see all we paid to see, like the Pentagon City, where we were to stop and have lunch, and we saw the Air Force memorial only from a distance and a moving bus, as well as missing out on the WWII memorial, and the Pentagon memorial. We were told to get off and grab a sandwich from the snack bar near the Korean memorial and the Vietnam War Memorial. Then we were driven to the Arlington National Cemetery and dropped off to fend for ourselves. We took a tram to the sites we wanted to see, then had to make our way to the Metro stop. We paid nearly 138.00 and really felt short-changed.

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

Vicki A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I would never recommend taking this tour. I learned very little about DC. The narrative was taped and didn't work half the time. The wait times were very long. Traffic was terrible so the buses had trouble getting to the stops on time. Two years ago I took an On Board tour of DC and was very pleased. I got so much information, learned my way around and didn't waste time waiting for transportation since it stayed right with us.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Laurie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful guides with a great deal of knowledge and very funny. Best Tour ever!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message