Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery contains the graves of soldiers of every war the United States has fought since the American Revolution. It is also a resting place for such American leaders as John F. Kennedy, Oliver Wendell Holmes, and Medgar Evers. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1494 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour. Guides know their stuff. Was offered a shuttle back to our hotel but driver took us to wrong hotel.
Since we're new in town, didn't realize error until trolley was long gone. 20 cab ride to our hotel.
Got a second day upgrade, excellent.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were lucky we had our own private tour guide did not have any other clients, his name was Leroy and he was great. He took us to all the places we needed to go told us all the history and stories of the city. Very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is the best way to see the sights of this beautiful city. Easy to use and informative.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour was very good. We got the pass for the 3 lines and accomplished alot in a day. The tidbits of knowledge and facts imparted by the tour guides enhanced the experience

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful opportunity to see all the main monuments and museums in DC. We were overwhelmed by the rich history surrounding us and the helpfulness of the bus drivers and staff. We enjoyed the convenience of locations so much that we bought another 48 hours to use as our primary mode of transportation during our week visit. We would suggest that anyone visiting DC use this great way to see this city!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was well worth the money, we went around the whole tour and then went back to the areas we wanted to visit. Union station was our first stop and where we parked. Most drivers were very knowledgeable about the area.

Bill/Kathy from Pa

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very informative commentary along the way. All of the drivers were polite and entertaing. A bit of a longer wait at a couple of stops, where other hoho buses seemed to come by more frequently but, overall, a great experience!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We loved taking the trolley on the whole tour first. Then on the second time around we hopped off at few places. Nice way to see and learn a few things.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This is a good way to see DC and learn a lot. Hop on and off or just ride the circuit. I would recommend this OVER the all day tour. We did both and you actually get out a lot on that tour as well - just on a schedule.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Bus comes too slowly, but drives are excellent tour guide!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

There should be more frequency at the stops of the buses. We waited at Arlington Cemetery for 1/2 hour and when the bus came it was packed. We were all cramed.

The ticket agent at Lincoln memorial was very helpful

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

I saw more buses of another company three go by while I was waiting for the Big Bus to come. Although they advertise a red and a blue tour line, they combined it. So I spent time going to Arlington cemetery where I didn't want to go. However the last driver was very nice in helping an old confused couple get back to their hotel by stopping and getting a cab for them.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Our first mistake was to take this tour during the cherry blossom festival. It would have been great except at the pace we were moving, walking was actually quicker. I felt badly for the driver as he had to kept repeating history stories over and over, as there were no sights to be seen. The traffic was just awful. I would most definitely try this again MID WEEK no where near a holiday.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Is not worth it for a short visit. We have to be tranfering from bus to bus, and sometimes the bus you are on arrives just when the other one left so you have to wait half hour. It took me 21/2 hours to get from the national zoo to the washington monument. there was never a narrator on my bus either

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The tour guides were great, but the wait times for shuttles were awful. I also purchased tickets on line and the evoucher stated that

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The routes, bus and narrators were very good. However, the wait time between buses was excessive. We read that the buses would arrive every 20 minutes on some routes and every 30 minutes on other routes. However, the wait time at the stops was double that time. We felt that we wasted a lot of time on just waiting on the buses. We would see other buses from other companies arrive at the same stops with much more frequency.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

We had a very hard time getting back onto the Trolley once we got off because we had my husband's scooter. Every time we got off it would take us more than an hour of standing before we got a trolley that would take us.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

I was not able to use the coupon to the full amt.. I went to madam tussaud museum and that was it. Also the drivers were rude and abrasive and the accent of the tour guide was too, too thick and the ear buds did not work as well and on the bus seat hopping occurred to use the radios for the tour guide. Not as nice as I expected.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Bummer! Only saw 1 bus in 2 days. I threw away 2 adult fares in money. The Metro was excellent and the hop on hop off was a terrible experience. I would never recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

On one of the busiest weekends in DC--a line so long that we stood there for 45 minutes and had at least that much longer to wait our turn to do tour--only had 2 hours before bus was to leave--never got on the tour-walked to where we could and missed most of everything. Never again will I purchase tickets ahead of time! I would not recommend doing so to anyone else--should either have decreased time between pick ups until line went down--something--just wasted my money!

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Did take this tour either--took bus too long to get to the mall area because of issues in DC that weekend--will never buy ahead of time again--wasted nearly 100 for the two tours.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Unfortunately due to all the heavy traffic in Wash DC that day I was not able to get on the Trolley.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

We got on at Union Station to start as we figured that was the starting point and we'd get all the basics. No live tour guide. Bus driver didn't tell us there was a detour and he wasn't going in our direction due to the detour. He also didn't explain about the head phones to us. He also didn't point out the bus stop signs. Later in the day we waited in the shade in view of where we were dropped off, as the recording had said that they stop at each stop whether anyone was getting off or not. After 10 minutes of waiting, a bus went by us without stopping - had to wait 20 more minutes, causing us to have to pass on our river cruise due to a time crunch. We bought this because it was advertised as 48 hours. It was not spelled out that the night tour so prominently featured is not included during your 48 hours: you really only have 2 10-hour day passes. Big Bus would only help on some things because we bought from a third party. The whole trip we only had a live tour guide for a 3-stop stretch.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message