Designed in 1818 for the War of 1812 naval hero Stephen Decatur, Decatur House holds the honor of being the first and last house on Lafayette Square to be occupied as a private residence. Decatur is best remembered for his skills fighting Barbary ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A fantastic way to get around and see the sights of this impressive city. Trolleys run regularly all day up until around 5 and drop off and pick up at key locations. Guides are knowledgeable and entertaining. The Moonlight Tour paces itself with a couple of stops that you can get off at and walk about at before continuing and gives you a different view of the city than the day tour. Trolleys are open-sided but have plastic roll-down covers for when it rains, although this does limit the view!

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great time in Washington. We decided to do this tour both day and night. Our only mistake was spending too much time seeing all the sights during the day. It was too long of a day because the night tour just repeated all the stops we had seen during the day. Cudos to the staff that helped us get back to Union Station. We missed the last shuttle and they ran a special loop out to get us saving us a lot of steps to get back to the pickup point. Thanks again to them.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

my cousin and I really enjoyed the tours. We booked a hop on, hop off day trip followed by a night tour in DC. The drivers were very knowledgeable about the city. The night tour driver was especially good giving many tidbits about each monument to make sure to see. We would highly recommend these tours, especially if you have a limited amount of time to spend in DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our last tour guide was excellent.I don't know his name but he was African-American. Very infornative......the others tried harder at trying to be funny!!
Otherwise the tour was good.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time! The Trolley service made it so much easier to see the sights! The friendly drivers were great and knowledgeable too! Would strongly recommend both tours!!! Thanks for making our trip memorable!

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see DC at your own pace. We really enjoyed the different drivers comments as well.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved the fact that we could get on and off where and when we wanted. the drivers were very informative.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both the day and night tour were great and we were very impressed with the tour guide as we were waiting at the wrong spot for the bus and when we hailed him he just stopped and picked us up. loved Washington with all the memorials and beautiful buildings and thoroughly enjoyed the illuminations of the memorials at night. Weather was perfect and hot.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour. Totally enjoyed the hop on hop off trolley. Very informative and delightful trolley drivers. The night tour was very scenic and enjoyed every moment

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The monuments by moonlight tour was the best 2 1/2 hours of the whole trip. Congo Ken was our guide and he knew everything about DC. I have told everyone to take this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour was perfect! Our tour guide, VINCE, was incredible! We had toured the same areas during the day with a tour guide, but Vince artistically wove details ( so many we had not heard during the day) into the history surrounding each monument in such a way that every site will be unforgettable!

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!!!' Mr. History was very informative and knowledgeable!!!! We bought another one for Arlington we'll see if it would be as good.... We all loved this one

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Dancing Mike, Smiley, and Anthony were all superb tour guides--appreciated their great narratives!!

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A good value to see the sites, the drivers were helpful, entertaining and some were downright funny. But we underestimated the time it would take to see everything we wanted to see, so the occasional 30 minute waits for trolleys felt like wasted time.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The hostess at union station to get vouchers was very curt, impolite and unfriendly. A bad impression to start. Tours were great generally but the 2 tours should be on different days. Mike the moonlight tour guide was super. Full of knowledge. Perhaps the very best guide on any tour anywhere

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The day trip was good but thought night one was too drawn out. Over all worth the price.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I absolutely enjoyed the tour. I will definitely recommend this tour to friends and family. I plan on using Viator again when traveling.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The tour was good except for a long wait for the trolley at the Capitol Hill stop--the wait was close to 1 hour. The other tour bus companies day tours stopped more frequently at that spot.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Not for seniors or handicapped/special needs long waits for trolleys no seating at pick-up points a total waste of time and money.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The night tour was especially impressive. Our tour guide, Jamie, was excellent and gave a lot of interesting facts about the sights. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We started out with one driver and he left us at the first stop. Luckily Just Joe' picked us up and took us the remainder of the way. Great sites and a lot of fun.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a great tour that was made even BETTER by our evening tour guide "Mr. E"...
He made our night truly enjoyable and fun!
This was a great value...I wouldn't hesitate to book it again.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message