• USD ($)
  • English
Fronting the Potomac River, Georgetown is an evocative neighborhood, combining the most elegant, wedding-cake exterior décor of Washington D.C. with a genuine sense of lived-in bustle. The neighborhood is rich with American Federal and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great way to see DC. Our only regrets were not doing this first and not getting a 2 day pass. Our guides were friendly and knowledgable. Most stops when we got off, we did not have to wait more than 10 minutes for the next trolley. For the last stop, we got off at Georgetown, walking around the shopping area and the university for a bit. We had to wait about 40 minutest or that trolley, but it was the last trolley of the day. Special props go to Adam, the guide in the last trolley. One of our students realized she left her glasses at the stop and he circled around a couple of blocks so she could retrieve them! I highly recommend this as a great way to see the city first, or if you are short on time and want to hit all the important sites.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great fun, especially the drivers narration on the Georgetown tour. His "speed" rap of all the embassies was hilarious.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great for seeing all the sights. Informative too! 4 lines taking you throughout DC and Georgetown, plus a free cruise on the Potomac. The only drawbacks were that sometimes the stops were not clearly marked, which means a lot when you're talking about something as large as the national cathedral.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We really liked our tour guide name Congo? He knew a lot about dc and on the green loop route which was embassy row, Georgetown we got lots of info
I recommend this route

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We took the orange line first. Our driver was very young, 22 I think, and his name was Jo. He was GREAT, had a lot of informations, was very knowledgeable on everything and entertaining at the same time. It seemed to me that there was too many people trying to get on the trolleys, perhaps it was over-booked for that day and many people could not get on at the scheduled stops. However, since it was very cold and we were pressed for time, we decided to stay on the trolley for the whole tour and it did not affect us personally. After completing the orange line we took the Georgetown/Cathedral line with another driver and he was very good as well. Do not remember his name or the name of the driver that switched later with him. We stayed on that line to get back to our hotel and that driver was kind enough to let us out at "The Tomate" restaurant, which was an unscheduled stop, but since we are senior citizens it as very much appreciated. We did not have time to take the red line to go to Arlington unfortunately. We very very impressed with your drivers/guides. We give them an A+ or 5 Stars.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The Hotel (Quincy) was just right for a short trip (3 days) and we could walk to the White House easily (10 mins?) As we are an older couple, we recommend the Hop On, Hop Off Trolley Bus Tours. The drivers were fun and shared lots of helpful information - which really enhanced our trip. As this was our first visit to Washington, the HOPO was a great way to see all the main sights and decide which we wanted to see most. Arlington was very moving and we enjoyed climbing the Lincoln Memorial. We spent most of our second day walking to and touring the Museum of Art although we also took in the Native American Museum and had an excellent brunch there (pulled bison). The HOPO also helped us decide where to go for our evening meals...Tomates in the diplomatic area and Paulos in Georgetown - both excellent.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This is a great way to cover a big area. Loved going to Georgetown and Arlington.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

All the routes covered everything in Washington you may wish to see. Went to the zoo and saw the pandas, Arlington and all that entails, Pentagon, Georgetown, all the museums and the Washington Mall. The narrators were knowledgable and the drivers very safe. Worth every penny and was great value, as well as the best way to get around over 3 days. Stops were easy to recognise and buses ran on time which was essential for early morning and changeover routes. Had people on the ground also helping with information at a lot of stops. Just one minor complaint, the marching band music was far too loud on one bus early in the morning with recorded comments, even without earphones.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

I really appreciate the Viator trolley. I was able to hop on and hop off and being able to visit the museums and various sites. The georgetown tour was great. Wish i had more time to really explore.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Completed 3 tours. Georgetown tour was lovely lots to see and very informative. The main tour of the Museums/ Whitehouse / Capitol Hill etc was excellent due at least in part to Tour Guide Matthew who was most entertaining and informative. We also completed the Blue tour which was also good, if a bit rushed. Overall the tours were well worth the money, but you best with a flesh and blood guide.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The tour is very informative and goes to many spots. It wasn't an option if you needed to be at a certain location on a time frame as the buses run on loops. We were delayed on the yellow loop due to a minor accident going to the Georgetown area. An inconsiderate car owner parked his car with half of it extending past the no parking sign. How the bus driver missed scraping down the side of that expensive car is any wonder but she did tap a light post to avoid it. We had to wait until another bus could come so they could evaluate the current bus. This was frustrating as this bus had stopped several times while new passengers got on and had to pay slowing the trip down extensively.

Overall, it was nice to get to see and hear the history of the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

It really is a great way to see a lot of DC. Start by hopping on the red route and see the monuments, then ride it again and stop where you want. Start early...the wait times for the buses are very long later in the day. I'd give it another star, except we (and 20 others) waited over 45 minutes for our last bus to take us back from Georgetown Harbor, and then I finally just got a cab to a metro to take us home. Not sure how long everyone else was there. Also, the automated voiceover is pretty good, but we had one driver who just tried to talk (was the voiceover broken?) and was terrible.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

I was planning on loving this tour but it turned out to be an epic fail! I spent well over 200 dollars on this tour and used it for FOUR stops! USE A TAXI!! They are everywhere and this tour bus is NOT. You have to wait a minimum of 30 minutes for a bus to arrive. And besides, you can WALK most places... I only needed this bus for Georgetown and the cathedral, otherwise we walked everywhere!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The 48 hour hop on hop off was great for our family. After 3 days of walking the Mall sites, we were able to see some of the sites not on the mall like Arlington, Georgetown, and the National Cathedral. We were also able to combine walking and hopping to maximize our time and our kids (12 and 10) cooperation with all of the sightseeing. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our tour was absolutely fantastic. The operators were very interesting and lively with their descriptions of Washington and who contributed to the history of our country.
We were unable to take the trolley to Georgetown or Arlington cemetery because we just did not have the time to do so. But the whole circuit seemed comprehensive of the whole D.C. scene. We appreciated the fact that the trolleys were punctual; we never had to wait long for one. The stops were also near the sites. All in all we would recommend this tour to anyone who wants something original.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message