Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

International Spy Museum

If you've ever wanted to step into James Bond's shoes and live a glamorous spy life, the International Spy Museum is the place to learn the secrets. One of Washington DC's hottest attractions, the museum is flashy—an engaging experience that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Magic United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

over crowded, rushed, not really worth the price of admission, and not guided, they sell this spy adventure, its not there.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

RAGHAVAN VIJAY V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The museum didnt meet expectations. We had hoped that there will be something more livelier / exciting stuffs to the concept! Maybe on someof the real life spy stories on the exhibit in photographs and text to be converted to say a short produced film will make them more attention holder and enjoyable!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Sean M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I was looking forward to this museum very much. There were a lot of Interesting facts and real spy gadgets. Surprisingly, the museum was a lot larger than we anticipated. It isn't a must see in my book, but if you're into the history of spy's and are a fan of James Bond, you'll love it.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

dml4955 United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

An interesting tour for a couple of hours - filled with great spy facts!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Agnes G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed our visit and learned lots of new things. It sure makes you stop and wonder when you are walking down the streets of DC who may be a spy. Fantastic museum.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Lloyd W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This museum is awesome! Anyone who loves the spy genre will enjoy this place. Anyone who is a history buff will love this place! Anyone who is a James Bond fan will love this place! Shortly after arriving, you are asked to choose a spy persona, which you will need throughout the museum for the interactive areas. Kids will love crawling through the duct work. Just wished I had had more time to spend there!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Walter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great museum, lots of artifacts. Nice insight in the hidden spy world. Great explanations. Could spent easily hald a day but had to limit my time because there is so much to see in Washington

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Elaine T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Spy Museum was good. A little dated inside, but lots of good information and exhibits.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Valinda H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

My kids did not find the spy museum as fascinating as I thought they would. They are ages 10 and 12, and did not think it was very interactive...

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Sheila M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Spy Museum was wonderful!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

camoor2003

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The Spy Museum is worth visiting if you are interested in that sort of thing.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Aviator

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Enjoy experience at the Spy museum. Buying it through Viator was cheaper than at the museum

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Ryan H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Fascinating facts and trivia about spy stuff. Definitely worth going.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Karen F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The Spy museum was ok. It's not appropriate for children 10 or younger due to the violence portrayed in some of the exibits. Interesting gadgets in the gift store.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Jason D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Not worth the price of admission. Old spy stuff just isn't that impressive in the digital age, and the extensive James Bond Villains section was way too much unless you are a Bond super-fan.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Michael C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The content in the museum is very good and different to anything I've seen elsewhere although we found the 'pretend you're a spy' feature as waste of time especially as no member of staff approached our large group to 'question' us.
If you're into spy movies and espionage then it's worth a visit but the question is with so many free museums in Washington do you really want to pay to visit this museum?

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Michael H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

It was a disappointment. It had more James Bond props than actual spyware. It was not worth going to

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Karen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

FANTASTIC! highly professional, informative and very well presented. We did the "spy mission", which was more like a theme park attraction than a museum. A great morning for my 16 year old son and me!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Wendy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Information about the craft of spying over the centuries.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Winsome S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Spy Museum was great my son had a great time. Would visit DC again

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Shyama P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was very hands on and interesting. Never knew that Julia Childs was a spy ! No issues keeping my cover identity points in mind - passed with 100% accuracy ! Would be interesting to do it as a family or with a group of friends.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Robb P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

My husband and sons absolutely love this museum, and I like it very much. They can spend a lot more time here than I am interested in, but that's just because they are completely obsessed with espionage and spy history. That said, we would definitely return.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Jennifer M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Three teenagers went they loved how interactive it was. Stuff was so closer together that made it a bit overwhelming. I liked how they had all of the historical spy info on one level and the made up spy stuff on another level so i could compare the two.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

AlexanderChris L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This was interesting and fun. There were two lines: one to buy the tickets; one to wait with tickets to enter the exhibit. Total wait time at 2:30 was about 45 minutes. I think you can buy tickets ahead of time, not just vouchers. Our vouchers required us to stand in both lines. There is a lot of info available, so our challenge was slowing down the younger brother, and speeding up the older brother. If you have a die-hard spy fan, you may want to give them more time.
I didn't realize it was going to be such a tribute to the James Bond Movies, but it was tasteful.

The exhibit showing the rectal cavity hiding capsule was a bit much...I'm glad my 11 year old didn't see that.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Sarah G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great to pre-purchase tickets...they were simple to redeem at the museum. Nice museum, definitely for older children and teens. The James Bond display was fun for the parents, but again I would rate that subject matter for teens (video clips included gory scenes, and the "Bond Women" are always less than modestly dressed). Lots of interesting "spy-craft artifacts" and stories, all geared to be enjoyed by someone who is a proficient reader. Nice museum lay-out, with easy access to nearby Metro. Fun gift shop!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message