• USD ($)
  • English
Set on the south bank of the Tidal Basin amid the cherry trees, the memorial honors the third president of the United States, political philosopher, drafter of the Declaration of Independence and founder of the University of Virginia -- Thomas ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We had 1 day of our vacation allotted for monuments/memorials and this tour was exactly what we needed because I really underestimated the walking distance between the monuments. We took the Metro to Union Station and picked up the trolley from there. The tour is listed on the mall directory/map just like a regular store so we were able to find the ticket counter easily. We went through a circuit of the Orange Line to decide where we wanted to hop off. We hopped on/off several times. Each time the next trolley arrived we had no trouble finding seats. The drivers - Darin, Anthony, and Sooner Steve - worked hard to make the tour lively and informative. They repeated numerous times that the trolley runs from 9am to 5pm only and the last bus from Arlington Cemetery leaves at 4:30pm. I can't stress enough that YOU NEED TO PLAN ACCORDINGLY!! We hopped off at the White House, Jefferson Memorial, and Lincoln Memorial. We walked down to the WWII Memorial then back to the Lincoln to pick up the Red Line bus to Arlington Cemetery. We spent about 45 minutes at each site plus 20 - 30 minutes for trolley pick-up and travel time to the next monument. We chose to stay past the pick-up time at Arlington Cemetery and take the Metro back to the hotel. There is a station just outside the cemetery. In retrospect, I wish we had taken 2 days to view the monuments and bought the 2 day tour pass so we could have seen more of the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our tour guide, Jason was excellent. He was very friendly, approachable and had a sense of humor which kept us all entertained from the very beginning right until he kindly dropped us off at our hotel after the tour. The stories he shared and the way he blended jokes with interesting facts and stories about different attractions was brilliant. At no part of the trip did I ever think we had wasted our money. We were even lucky enough to have an almost full moon rise over the Capitol building whilst we were at the Iwa Jima memorial.
As for any regrets, there are barely any. If I had a disappointment it was that we did not stop at the Jefferson Memorial. However, it is understandable that we cannot fit in all the attractions on the trip. One other thing would be that the plastic material used as windows doesn't allow for great photos to be taken due to the reflection. Some advice for future guests would be to find a seat near a joint in the plastic material so that you can fit your camera through to get the perfect shot.

Apart from that, I would like to thank Jason for a truly unforgettable experience. We were only in DC for 2 nights and debated at length whether the tour would be worth it - well, it was more than worth it! We would recommend your tour to anyone who asks!

Thanks again
Kyle Forder
All the way from South Africa!!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely FABULOUS and the tour guides George and John were so knowledgeable and gave us little-known information you could not get on one of those fast-moving big buses that did not appear to stop anywhere. We had a great time, they were so personable we thought we had known them for a long time, outside of being on the tour. John even laughed when I would point to other people getting a group tour and yell at them - "Look, tourists!" As if I wasn't a tourist also. Good times. If I had known there was a basket on the rear with nothing on it, I would have brought my walker to get closer to some monuments.
Also, why is Thomas Jefferson in black stone and MLKing in white stone? HaHa.
If I get to DC again I will most certainly take this tour again. The electric carts offered great viewing access and a personalized trip. I recommend it to anyone wanting to see most of DC in a timely manner.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really lucked out with great weather and since the other family didn't show it ended up being a private tour of just our family and the guide. It was totally cool to see the monuments at night and since my family loves biking it was great to cover a greater distance with ease after a day of walking to all the Smithsonians. Our guide was very informative and I saw monuments I have never seen in previous trips to DC because they were too far to walk to. The most memorable was the Thomas Jefferson memorial riding along the tidal basin with a gorgeous sunset. This tour was a highlight of our Washington, DC trip. Would highly recommend this bike tour..

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Well worth the price of admission due to the absolute beauty of the cities famous monuments at night, especially the capitol building. But the tour was not as long as the 3 hour advertisement states, and we were disappointed at the exclusion of the Jefferson Memorial. As a former high school teacher, I would grade this tour as a C plus.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Best tour. Well run. Not too rushed. Friendly and very knowledgeable operators who gave great tips on best viewpoints to take pictures. This is a great opportunity to see everything and then decide where you wish to revisit during the day. Should add a stop at the Jefferson memorial.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

The best thing about the trolley was that it served as a useful means of transport to less connected sites such as Jefferson, Martin Luther King and Lincoln memorials. The drivers who doubled up as commentators on these trips seemed a jaded lot and their humor forced.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I actually went on this twice, once with coworkers and once with my daughters. The tours were great, if hot and unairconditioned, except I think you should shorten time "on the ground" spent visiting a particular monument, to add in more monuments. For instance, the Jefferson Memorial was not included. Other than this and the wait in line, it was a really great tour. Well worth the fee.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Our guide was fantastic, helpful and knowledgable. He pointed out things
a typical guide leaves out. And was willing to accommodate personal requests. Only wish a few more monuments were on the tour; WWII and time at the Jefferson.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Adam was a fantastic tour guide - armed with interesting and often funny facts about the sights we were seeing. Wish we could have a longer stop at Lincoln/Vietnam/Korea especially given the crowds. I was disappointed that we didn't stop at the Jefferson Memorial given that it is one of the prettiest memorials in the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2013

I was really looking forward to this tour and was very disappointed. The trolley is not comfortable and the sound system was weak. We were given 30 minutes to view Lincoln's Memorial, The Korean War Memorial and the Viet Nam wall. That simply is not enough time. I was also disappointed that the WWII memorial was not on the tour. You do not stop at the Jefferson Memorial but have 15 minutes at the Iwo Jima statute. It did not make sense to me. All in all it was not a good experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

To begin with I would say that this is the most disorganized tour entity I've ever experienced. Don't waste your money on it. You can walk faster to most points. The first day we turned our voucher at #1 stop, waited 15 minutes trolley never showed up. Walked to #2 stop( White House) after that never saw another trolley all day. Second day Got tow rides from #6 stop to Jefferson /Licoln memorial. Hardley woth the $118 I paid

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Not much opportunity to photograph either the Jefferson Memorial or the White House.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

We were disappointed that no stop was made to photograph the Jefferson Memorial, though there was a great view of it along the way. THe same with the White House. The driver was excellent with her commentariess.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The trolley ride was enjoyable and I enjoyed the stops. The driver was very knowlegeable. It was dissapointed that we did not stop at the Jefferson Memorial

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message