Set on the south bank of the Tidal Basin amid the cherry trees, the memorial honors the third president of the United States, political philosopher, drafter of the Declaration of Independence and founder of the University of Virginia -- Thomas ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour! The only things that stopped it from being 5 stars are: It started late and ended late and we never saw the Jefferson memorial up close. We were delayed at one point because of confusion on how many were in the tour. It us a great way to see the city, clean and we learned a lot.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Everyone should visit Washington D.C. sometime in their life. I found Washington to be an amazing place. Found that I would need much more time to see everything there. The tour guides were very knowledgeable. Tour was exhausting. Walking to each of the major events, ie capital building, Washington, Jefferson and Lincoln monuments, and the numerous Smithsonian buildings from drop off points required stamina. Would possibly try the trip again but would settle for a single venue. There was no way to see even a small portion of everything that was available. Was disappointed in that. Overall the hop on/hop off tour bus was a success.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overview of area with good stops at Lincoln and Jefferson and King Memorials. Usual tourist general information. Grandson enjoyed it. Would have liked a White House tour instead of just looking at outside. It also would have been nice to see congressional chambers since they were not in session. Rotunda was crowded as was statuary halls. Rote tour presentation there which made it unimpressive!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and told us memorable stories, especially at the Iowa Jima / USMC Memorial. I was glad that we got to spend some time at each of the places we visited. One thing that I was unaware of is that the tour didn't go to the Jefferson Monument, which I would have like to visit too.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We had 1 day of our vacation allotted for monuments/memorials and this tour was exactly what we needed because I really underestimated the walking distance between the monuments. We took the Metro to Union Station and picked up the trolley from there. The tour is listed on the mall directory/map just like a regular store so we were able to find the ticket counter easily. We went through a circuit of the Orange Line to decide where we wanted to hop off. We hopped on/off several times. Each time the next trolley arrived we had no trouble finding seats. The drivers - Darin, Anthony, and Sooner Steve - worked hard to make the tour lively and informative. They repeated numerous times that the trolley runs from 9am to 5pm only and the last bus from Arlington Cemetery leaves at 4:30pm. I can't stress enough that YOU NEED TO PLAN ACCORDINGLY!! We hopped off at the White House, Jefferson Memorial, and Lincoln Memorial. We walked down to the WWII Memorial then back to the Lincoln to pick up the Red Line bus to Arlington Cemetery. We spent about 45 minutes at each site plus 20 - 30 minutes for trolley pick-up and travel time to the next monument. We chose to stay past the pick-up time at Arlington Cemetery and take the Metro back to the hotel. There is a station just outside the cemetery. In retrospect, I wish we had taken 2 days to view the monuments and bought the 2 day tour pass so we could have seen more of the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Outstanding tour guide and driver. My one and only complaint was that the main reason I chose this tour was that it listed the Jefferson Memorial as one of the stops and we did not go there. Otherwise, I highly recommend them.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

This was a good tour and the driver/guide had a very good personality. That being said, this was the third time I have used Viator for this tour and this was the worst. By changing carriers/providers you cost your patrons the opportunity to hop off the bus at the Jefferson and WWII Memorials, and those are very important and without question worth seeing. We had to change our plans for another day of the trip so that we could see those before our trip ended. I was also disappointed to see as a teacher of history and government, that the driver at times gave pieces of information that were not true, such as telling us that Ira Hayes is not burried at Arlington when he is. Overall it was worth doing, but the previous years were much better and more inclusive.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

We got on the trolley at Union Station at 09:30 a.m.. Almost immediately the driver announced in a loud voice that his head set was "broken" and he'd have to shout. Nothing like having a man shout at you for 20 minutes. We got off at the Air and Space Museum. Great place to visit. Getting back on we had planned on getting off at the Jefferson memorial. Nothing extraordinary happened on the way. However returning we were passed up by a trolley, the driver waving at us to go further down the road. In short the "trolley" did not have a "permit" to stop in front of the memorial. There was no consistent "stop". Having elderly folks with us it was a strain for them to walk the long distance. Because of time constraints and the fact the trolley stops pick ups at 4 p.m. we had to judge our stops. We decided forgo the Lincoln memorial and get off as close as possible to the White House. The stop was not as close as it appeared on the map. After looking at the White House from a disappointing distance we walked to STOP 2 on the trolley map. We waited and waited no trolley. After over an hour a "kind" police officer said the trolley would not be arriving because of a road closer. It would have been nice if the "trolley folks" could have advised us in advance or sent someone out to place a sign over the SYOP 2 sign. Time was wasted and we had to return to Union Station to catch a train. We had planned to return to the station on the trolley but had to take a taxi. Disappointing trip to say the least. If you just want a tour and ride the circuit it is the way to go. But if you have time constraints it would be a mistake to hop on and off. The drivers we encountered were all what I call "glossy polite", they obviously were not as sincere as they tried to be. In addition they all had the gall to place prominent "tip boxes" along the dash. In addition though all "Americans" the two drivers had difficulty pronouncing many American English and French in origin words.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our tour guide, Jason was excellent. He was very friendly, approachable and had a sense of humor which kept us all entertained from the very beginning right until he kindly dropped us off at our hotel after the tour. The stories he shared and the way he blended jokes with interesting facts and stories about different attractions was brilliant. At no part of the trip did I ever think we had wasted our money. We were even lucky enough to have an almost full moon rise over the Capitol building whilst we were at the Iwa Jima memorial.
As for any regrets, there are barely any. If I had a disappointment it was that we did not stop at the Jefferson Memorial. However, it is understandable that we cannot fit in all the attractions on the trip. One other thing would be that the plastic material used as windows doesn't allow for great photos to be taken due to the reflection. Some advice for future guests would be to find a seat near a joint in the plastic material so that you can fit your camera through to get the perfect shot.

Apart from that, I would like to thank Jason for a truly unforgettable experience. We were only in DC for 2 nights and debated at length whether the tour would be worth it - well, it was more than worth it! We would recommend your tour to anyone who asks!

Thanks again
Kyle Forder
All the way from South Africa!!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely FABULOUS and the tour guides George and John were so knowledgeable and gave us little-known information you could not get on one of those fast-moving big buses that did not appear to stop anywhere. We had a great time, they were so personable we thought we had known them for a long time, outside of being on the tour. John even laughed when I would point to other people getting a group tour and yell at them - "Look, tourists!" As if I wasn't a tourist also. Good times. If I had known there was a basket on the rear with nothing on it, I would have brought my walker to get closer to some monuments.
Also, why is Thomas Jefferson in black stone and MLKing in white stone? HaHa.
If I get to DC again I will most certainly take this tour again. The electric carts offered great viewing access and a personalized trip. I recommend it to anyone wanting to see most of DC in a timely manner.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really lucked out with great weather and since the other family didn't show it ended up being a private tour of just our family and the guide. It was totally cool to see the monuments at night and since my family loves biking it was great to cover a greater distance with ease after a day of walking to all the Smithsonians. Our guide was very informative and I saw monuments I have never seen in previous trips to DC because they were too far to walk to. The most memorable was the Thomas Jefferson memorial riding along the tidal basin with a gorgeous sunset. This tour was a highlight of our Washington, DC trip. Would highly recommend this bike tour..

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Well worth the price of admission due to the absolute beauty of the cities famous monuments at night, especially the capitol building. But the tour was not as long as the 3 hour advertisement states, and we were disappointed at the exclusion of the Jefferson Memorial. As a former high school teacher, I would grade this tour as a C plus.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Best tour. Well run. Not too rushed. Friendly and very knowledgeable operators who gave great tips on best viewpoints to take pictures. This is a great opportunity to see everything and then decide where you wish to revisit during the day. Should add a stop at the Jefferson memorial.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

The best thing about the trolley was that it served as a useful means of transport to less connected sites such as Jefferson, Martin Luther King and Lincoln memorials. The drivers who doubled up as commentators on these trips seemed a jaded lot and their humor forced.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I actually went on this twice, once with coworkers and once with my daughters. The tours were great, if hot and unairconditioned, except I think you should shorten time "on the ground" spent visiting a particular monument, to add in more monuments. For instance, the Jefferson Memorial was not included. Other than this and the wait in line, it was a really great tour. Well worth the fee.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message