Set on the south bank of the Tidal Basin amid the cherry trees, the memorial honors the third president of the United States, political philosopher, drafter of the Declaration of Independence and founder of the University of Virginia -- Thomas ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Tour guide Lynette and driver were very good. They were prompt and the bus was warm and comfortable on a very cold and windy night. I would revise the itinerary to skip the Korean and Viet Nam Memorials because they are not highly illuminated and difficult to see. We went back the next day to see them in the morning. I would substitute the the monument to Jefferson. It is illuminated, grand and imposing. We did not have enough time at the World War II memorial. We lost time looking for relatives, not realizing it is necessary to register register the relative with the national data base. We enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed our Best of DC tour. Our guides were very informative with a dash of humor. All the memorials were awesome to visit. I do wish you'd add the Thomas Jefferson Memorial as he/it is just as important as the others.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I went to DC with a friend who had never been there before and I thought this would help her see
everything. The first day we did the capitol and Arlington Cementary. The second day we saw the
Jefferson and Lincoln monuments and went to Georgetown. We ended up adding on a third day
to do what we still wanted to do. A great way to see and experience the major attractions of DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The guide who took us into the capital was great. The tour in the capital was really interesting and well guided -but I was a bit disapointed that we didn't see either of the chambers where the senators function. We were then taken to our guide for the rest of the day and our bus.

The monuments and memorials included on the tour were excellent - eg Vietnam memorial, WW1 and 2 memorials etc. It was disapointing that the guide took so long dramatcally telling us his facts and anecdotes about each that our personal time was limited at for example Vietnam memorial, Jefferson Memorial (quick photo stop for the back) and no stop at all at Iwa Jima. We were late for our lunch boat cruise- which was excellent and the commentary specific and to the point.

Lunch was not so good- soggy subway sandwiches - I was given a choice of sandwich but not drink and ended up with a fizzy drink - but I don't drink them.

I enjoyed al the monuments and memorials as mentioned and more (eg Martin Luther King and FDR).

The National archive ticket entry was for 4.30 pm- which gave us only an hour. Which was okay - but by the time I'd queued to see the key documents it left only a little time for the rest which was potentially interesting. However, it was really interesting in there.

This was a full on day but was a well thought out tour, which I have enthused about to my friends. I would recommend ithe tour unreservedly.

The only problem was the guide, who didn't like being asked questions, treated us like a bunch of idiots and was totally patronising and "picked " on people when they did ask him questions or strayed a yard away from him. He was boring, and pompous - prentending to be overly sincere and moved and kept going on about being a journalist. But for him - this would have been a 5 star review.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Michael A
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

An enjoyable trip. Tricia was a very informative tour guide. Really wanted to see Washington by night and were not disappointed. Lincoln memorial in particular is excellent. Only downside was no visit to the Jefferson Memorial which would have been better. Managed to get some distance shots though. All in all very good. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The guide was very informative, but she hurried us through everything. At some monuments I didn't even have time to snap photos before she was hurrying us on. My friend is in her 70s and had a lot of trouble keeping up and was "scolded" in front of everyone ~ kind of embarrassing for her. The lunch/boat ride on the Potomac was very nice and the pilot very personable and informative. Sorry the National Cathedral and Jefferson monumont were not on the tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Great tour guide. Enjoyed the tour stops, but not enough time at the stops. Was I possible to see three different memorials in 15 minutes. They are not particularly close together. Disappointed Jefferson Memorial was not included.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour leader - good pacing and knowledgeable. Didn't visit Jefferson memorial which is a letdown, although we saw the newer Martin Luther memorial. Overall great tour.

The bus however is not conducive for a night tour - 1) darkened windows that are suitable for day tours, 2) the back row folks are screwed further because of the tour operator logo plastered across the windows; no, the perforated art work doesn't help enough.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour! The only things that stopped it from being 5 stars are: It started late and ended late and we never saw the Jefferson memorial up close. We were delayed at one point because of confusion on how many were in the tour. It us a great way to see the city, clean and we learned a lot.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Everyone should visit Washington D.C. sometime in their life. I found Washington to be an amazing place. Found that I would need much more time to see everything there. The tour guides were very knowledgeable. Tour was exhausting. Walking to each of the major events, ie capital building, Washington, Jefferson and Lincoln monuments, and the numerous Smithsonian buildings from drop off points required stamina. Would possibly try the trip again but would settle for a single venue. There was no way to see even a small portion of everything that was available. Was disappointed in that. Overall the hop on/hop off tour bus was a success.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overview of area with good stops at Lincoln and Jefferson and King Memorials. Usual tourist general information. Grandson enjoyed it. Would have liked a White House tour instead of just looking at outside. It also would have been nice to see congressional chambers since they were not in session. Rotunda was crowded as was statuary halls. Rote tour presentation there which made it unimpressive!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and told us memorable stories, especially at the Iowa Jima / USMC Memorial. I was glad that we got to spend some time at each of the places we visited. One thing that I was unaware of is that the tour didn't go to the Jefferson Monument, which I would have like to visit too.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We had 1 day of our vacation allotted for monuments/memorials and this tour was exactly what we needed because I really underestimated the walking distance between the monuments. We took the Metro to Union Station and picked up the trolley from there. The tour is listed on the mall directory/map just like a regular store so we were able to find the ticket counter easily. We went through a circuit of the Orange Line to decide where we wanted to hop off. We hopped on/off several times. Each time the next trolley arrived we had no trouble finding seats. The drivers - Darin, Anthony, and Sooner Steve - worked hard to make the tour lively and informative. They repeated numerous times that the trolley runs from 9am to 5pm only and the last bus from Arlington Cemetery leaves at 4:30pm. I can't stress enough that YOU NEED TO PLAN ACCORDINGLY!! We hopped off at the White House, Jefferson Memorial, and Lincoln Memorial. We walked down to the WWII Memorial then back to the Lincoln to pick up the Red Line bus to Arlington Cemetery. We spent about 45 minutes at each site plus 20 - 30 minutes for trolley pick-up and travel time to the next monument. We chose to stay past the pick-up time at Arlington Cemetery and take the Metro back to the hotel. There is a station just outside the cemetery. In retrospect, I wish we had taken 2 days to view the monuments and bought the 2 day tour pass so we could have seen more of the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Outstanding tour guide and driver. My one and only complaint was that the main reason I chose this tour was that it listed the Jefferson Memorial as one of the stops and we did not go there. Otherwise, I highly recommend them.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

This was a good tour and the driver/guide had a very good personality. That being said, this was the third time I have used Viator for this tour and this was the worst. By changing carriers/providers you cost your patrons the opportunity to hop off the bus at the Jefferson and WWII Memorials, and those are very important and without question worth seeing. We had to change our plans for another day of the trip so that we could see those before our trip ended. I was also disappointed to see as a teacher of history and government, that the driver at times gave pieces of information that were not true, such as telling us that Ira Hayes is not burried at Arlington when he is. Overall it was worth doing, but the previous years were much better and more inclusive.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message