Set on the south bank of the Tidal Basin amid the cherry trees, the memorial honors the third president of the United States, political philosopher, drafter of the Declaration of Independence and founder of the University of Virginia -- Thomas ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great way to see ALL the monuments. We got to see the Washington, Jefferson, Lincoln, FDR, WW2, Korea, Vietnam, MLK. We spent about 10 minutes at each one. Got the key points and facts. Got to walk around and take pictures. Just enough time to see what we needed to see -- no time to get bored! The ride itself was easy and mostly flat. Some tiny hills or inclines rather!. We passed loads of buses carrying people from one monument to another. Why sit in traffic when you can bike right by and see it all?

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour filled a good day.
It was a shame that they were doing remedial work on the Capitol Building, it had scaffolding around it, and the Mall was dug up with turf replacement going on.
We missed out on the Jefferson Memorial but all the others gave us a good insight to the pride and respect Americans give to their history and armed forces. It was a moving experience.
Our guide was knowledgeable and gave a good, humorous, commentary of each site.
Seeing Washington DC from the Potomac River was also good, but lunch on the boat was a bit of a shambles. There werent enough tables and chairs for the number of tourists on the boat.
I would recommend this tour to get a good look at Washington Mall and the associated Memorials when time is restricted by a short visit to Washington DC.

Doing what: The White House and National Mall Guided Tour in Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful tour by night! We went on the 8pm tour and the sun was just setting... Just Joe was our tour giude. He was very funny! Kids will love him! Too bad they don't make a stop at the Jefferson Memorial then one would get great photos of them all...

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

This tour was disrupted because of the Breast Cancer Walk in DC, however we were still very disappointed at the lack of knowledge our guide had. We were hoping for more historical tidbits and even some knowledge about WHAT some of the buildings were. She told us she was new to the area and that it was her 3rd tour. He co-guide, who decided to call all of the shots and escort a couple of 2, vs. taking our group of 4 who booked prior to them, gave his tour a much more comprehensive tour. Instead of giving us more time at the ONE landmark that we stopped at, they chose to take us to some unrecognized spot/ building that our group had NO interest in and was NOT on the tour description. At the end we asked to be dropped at least NEAR the Jefferson Memorial since we didn't' get to see it and our guides said they couldn't get through the streets. Upon walking there ourselves, the street WAS open. OVER PRICED for very little in return. I would NEVER use this group again!

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was good, although I was surprised we didn't stop at the Jefferson Memorial and there wasn't enough time to see multiple monuments at one stop. Also, I felt like there should have been a tour guide to get out with us to give us details about the monuments like other guides did.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed our Best of DC tour. Our guides were very informative with a dash of humor. All the memorials were awesome to visit. I do wish you'd add the Thomas Jefferson Memorial as he/it is just as important as the others.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The guide who took us into the capital was great. The tour in the capital was really interesting and well guided -but I was a bit disapointed that we didn't see either of the chambers where the senators function. We were then taken to our guide for the rest of the day and our bus.

The monuments and memorials included on the tour were excellent - eg Vietnam memorial, WW1 and 2 memorials etc. It was disapointing that the guide took so long dramatcally telling us his facts and anecdotes about each that our personal time was limited at for example Vietnam memorial, Jefferson Memorial (quick photo stop for the back) and no stop at all at Iwa Jima. We were late for our lunch boat cruise- which was excellent and the commentary specific and to the point.

Lunch was not so good- soggy subway sandwiches - I was given a choice of sandwich but not drink and ended up with a fizzy drink - but I don't drink them.

I enjoyed al the monuments and memorials as mentioned and more (eg Martin Luther King and FDR).

The National archive ticket entry was for 4.30 pm- which gave us only an hour. Which was okay - but by the time I'd queued to see the key documents it left only a little time for the rest which was potentially interesting. However, it was really interesting in there.

This was a full on day but was a well thought out tour, which I have enthused about to my friends. I would recommend ithe tour unreservedly.

The only problem was the guide, who didn't like being asked questions, treated us like a bunch of idiots and was totally patronising and "picked " on people when they did ask him questions or strayed a yard away from him. He was boring, and pompous - prentending to be overly sincere and moved and kept going on about being a journalist. But for him - this would have been a 5 star review.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The guide was very informative, but she hurried us through everything. At some monuments I didn't even have time to snap photos before she was hurrying us on. My friend is in her 70s and had a lot of trouble keeping up and was "scolded" in front of everyone ~ kind of embarrassing for her. The lunch/boat ride on the Potomac was very nice and the pilot very personable and informative. Sorry the National Cathedral and Jefferson monumont were not on the tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Great tour guide. Enjoyed the tour stops, but not enough time at the stops. Was I possible to see three different memorials in 15 minutes. They are not particularly close together. Disappointed Jefferson Memorial was not included.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overview of area with good stops at Lincoln and Jefferson and King Memorials. Usual tourist general information. Grandson enjoyed it. Would have liked a White House tour instead of just looking at outside. It also would have been nice to see congressional chambers since they were not in session. Rotunda was crowded as was statuary halls. Rote tour presentation there which made it unimpressive!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and told us memorable stories, especially at the Iowa Jima / USMC Memorial. I was glad that we got to spend some time at each of the places we visited. One thing that I was unaware of is that the tour didn't go to the Jefferson Monument, which I would have like to visit too.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

This was a good tour and the driver/guide had a very good personality. That being said, this was the third time I have used Viator for this tour and this was the worst. By changing carriers/providers you cost your patrons the opportunity to hop off the bus at the Jefferson and WWII Memorials, and those are very important and without question worth seeing. We had to change our plans for another day of the trip so that we could see those before our trip ended. I was also disappointed to see as a teacher of history and government, that the driver at times gave pieces of information that were not true, such as telling us that Ira Hayes is not burried at Arlington when he is. Overall it was worth doing, but the previous years were much better and more inclusive.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our tour guide, Jason was excellent. He was very friendly, approachable and had a sense of humor which kept us all entertained from the very beginning right until he kindly dropped us off at our hotel after the tour. The stories he shared and the way he blended jokes with interesting facts and stories about different attractions was brilliant. At no part of the trip did I ever think we had wasted our money. We were even lucky enough to have an almost full moon rise over the Capitol building whilst we were at the Iwa Jima memorial.
As for any regrets, there are barely any. If I had a disappointment it was that we did not stop at the Jefferson Memorial. However, it is understandable that we cannot fit in all the attractions on the trip. One other thing would be that the plastic material used as windows doesn't allow for great photos to be taken due to the reflection. Some advice for future guests would be to find a seat near a joint in the plastic material so that you can fit your camera through to get the perfect shot.

Apart from that, I would like to thank Jason for a truly unforgettable experience. We were only in DC for 2 nights and debated at length whether the tour would be worth it - well, it was more than worth it! We would recommend your tour to anyone who asks!

Thanks again
Kyle Forder
All the way from South Africa!!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely FABULOUS and the tour guides George and John were so knowledgeable and gave us little-known information you could not get on one of those fast-moving big buses that did not appear to stop anywhere. We had a great time, they were so personable we thought we had known them for a long time, outside of being on the tour. John even laughed when I would point to other people getting a group tour and yell at them - "Look, tourists!" As if I wasn't a tourist also. Good times. If I had known there was a basket on the rear with nothing on it, I would have brought my walker to get closer to some monuments.
Also, why is Thomas Jefferson in black stone and MLKing in white stone? HaHa.
If I get to DC again I will most certainly take this tour again. The electric carts offered great viewing access and a personalized trip. I recommend it to anyone wanting to see most of DC in a timely manner.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really lucked out with great weather and since the other family didn't show it ended up being a private tour of just our family and the guide. It was totally cool to see the monuments at night and since my family loves biking it was great to cover a greater distance with ease after a day of walking to all the Smithsonians. Our guide was very informative and I saw monuments I have never seen in previous trips to DC because they were too far to walk to. The most memorable was the Thomas Jefferson memorial riding along the tidal basin with a gorgeous sunset. This tour was a highlight of our Washington, DC trip. Would highly recommend this bike tour..

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Well worth the price of admission due to the absolute beauty of the cities famous monuments at night, especially the capitol building. But the tour was not as long as the 3 hour advertisement states, and we were disappointed at the exclusion of the Jefferson Memorial. As a former high school teacher, I would grade this tour as a C plus.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Best tour. Well run. Not too rushed. Friendly and very knowledgeable operators who gave great tips on best viewpoints to take pictures. This is a great opportunity to see everything and then decide where you wish to revisit during the day. Should add a stop at the Jefferson memorial.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I actually went on this twice, once with coworkers and once with my daughters. The tours were great, if hot and unairconditioned, except I think you should shorten time "on the ground" spent visiting a particular monument, to add in more monuments. For instance, the Jefferson Memorial was not included. Other than this and the wait in line, it was a really great tour. Well worth the fee.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Our guide was fantastic, helpful and knowledgable. He pointed out things
a typical guide leaves out. And was willing to accommodate personal requests. Only wish a few more monuments were on the tour; WWII and time at the Jefferson.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Adam was a fantastic tour guide - armed with interesting and often funny facts about the sights we were seeing. Wish we could have a longer stop at Lincoln/Vietnam/Korea especially given the crowds. I was disappointed that we didn't stop at the Jefferson Memorial given that it is one of the prettiest memorials in the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2013

I was really looking forward to this tour and was very disappointed. The trolley is not comfortable and the sound system was weak. We were given 30 minutes to view Lincoln's Memorial, The Korean War Memorial and the Viet Nam wall. That simply is not enough time. I was also disappointed that the WWII memorial was not on the tour. You do not stop at the Jefferson Memorial but have 15 minutes at the Iwo Jima statute. It did not make sense to me. All in all it was not a good experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

We were disappointed that no stop was made to photograph the Jefferson Memorial, though there was a great view of it along the way. THe same with the White House. The driver was excellent with her commentariess.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The trolley ride was enjoyable and I enjoyed the stops. The driver was very knowlegeable. It was dissapointed that we did not stop at the Jefferson Memorial

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

This was a nice way to visit many (though not all) of the major monuments and memorials, and the persepctive experienced at night was quite memorable. Would have preferred nixxing the FDR Memorial in favor of the Jefferson, and maybe getting out to view the White House rather than just drive by. But all in all, tour was worth it. Sitting on the left or right of the trolley didn't really seem to matter in re: which side had the better views, contrary to reviews we'd read before the trip. Our guide Darin was very good - his restaurant recommendations were spot on!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Outstanding tour! Tour guide, Bill Thomas was exceptional: friendly, well informed and articulate. The memorials we saw sparkled in the darkness and the three stops during wish we had time to get out of the bus and spend time were inspiring. We walked around 1. FDR and MLK, Jr. memorial, 2. Lincoln, World War II and Viet Nam memorials and 3. Iwo Jima statue. From the bus we saw and learned the history of Arlington Cemetery (the Lees,
Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and the eternal light flickering at JFK's gravesite), Jefferson Memorial and other historic areas.
It was an awesome and educational night and
I recommend it with enthusiasm.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message