This seven-acre public park, named in 1824 for a French marquis who fought in America’s Revolutionary War, is surrounded by some of D.C.’s most historically significant buildings. In addition to the White House, the Square is adjacent to the Old ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tim Kelly was an excellent tour guide. He was knowledgeable, energetic and personable. He literally went the "extra mile" to educate us on the historic facts of the area and Lincoln's life. Thank your for an enjoyable tour. Mike and Gloria from Minnesota.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had an incredible time on our first night in DC with Kara on the Mall tour! It was so informative and we were all so interested that even the kids paid attention! I am definitely recommending DC by Foot to our friends and family! Thank you.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tim Kelly was great. This tour was so informative. If you are a history buff you will love it. Lots of standing and walking... but we are young so no worries...

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My friends and I were planning a trip to Washington D.C and, wanting to do something a little different than just museums, we decided to book the Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour. I am very happy we did so. The fact that you are on your feet for a lot of the time definitely keeps things interesting and provides for a lot of change of scenery. Our tour guide, Tim Kelly, is both very knowledgable and informative. He manages to strike a very good balance, providing a lot of fascinating facts and details about the assassination, but without being over bearing and leaving you with a headache. He is glad to entertain questions and can talkyour feet for a lot of the time definitely keeps things interesting and provides for a lot of change of scenery. All around a very enjoyable and educational experience. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Had a terrific tour with Tim Kelly, on the 150th anniversary of Lincoln's shooting. Tim is very relaxed and a natural comedian, but is highly knowledgeable about his subject and packed in an enormous amount of information, including about the civil war. Just brilliant.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tim Kelly was FUN and an outstanding and very knowledgable guide!!! He was A plus!!! I am a native Washingtonian and he was GREAT!!!

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Exceeded our expectations! Tim Kelly, our tour guide, was marvelous. Full of great stories and information about both Lincoln and Washington D.C. And we had the opportunity to watch David Cameron as he entered the White House. Would recommend this to tourists and DC residents.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The guide was excellent! He had an extremely thorough knowledge of history and made it come alive with his stories.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

the tour was longer than expected, is a positive way :) Tim the tour guide was informative and passionate about the subject and it was a great way of seeing the sights of the city.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour, guide was very knowledgable on the assassination, events leading up to and afterwards, also got the go into fords theatre, see the presidential box the assassination took place in, and see the room Lincoln died in across the road! Would highly recommend this tour for a very informative tour, including a lot of interesting historical information. The guide was very friendly and kept in touch before the tour to ensure the smooth running of the morning

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was my favorite tour while in DC. The guide was fantastic, he took the extra time to explain any questions we had and was truly passionate about teaching us the history behind the assassination. It was a small group and I learned so much. I would absolutely recommend this tour to everyone taking a trip to DC without any reservations.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This walking tour was outstanding. The guide was very informative and engaged with the group.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was one of the best things we have ever done on a vacation. Our tour guide was engaging, enthusiastic, well-versed on the subject, and perhaps one of the best story tellers we have ever met. Worth every penny and more! I really cannot say enough about the quality of the individual. We will be looking to do other tours with your company in the future.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide, Robert Geffredi, was excellent! He made the tour entertaining and very informative. It was well worth the money. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Awesome tour! Even better guide, Robert!!

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Had a great time. Guide was so much fun. He loved his topic!

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very interesting. Great guide.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An excellent tour. The tour guide was extremely knowledgable and not just about Lincoln. He knew a lot about DC in general. He was able to set the scene about what was going on at the time and how it culminated in Lincoln's assassination. I had my kids, 11 and 12, with md and they enjoyed it too. My only disappointment was that we did not get to go in to Ford's Theater. That is not part of the tour. It ends in front of the theater.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip to DC and we learned so much! The retired attorney that took us on this tour was absolutely amazing! He shared his great love of history with us and we all felt his passion and excitement as he took us from place to place. Thumbs Up in a big way!

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was an incredible tour with a knowledgeable guide. It was a great precursor to our visit to the Ford's theater the next day. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Educational, informative and entertaining! Rob our guide was so knowledge but even more enthusiastic. I walked away feeling like I had personal knowlage of the sad events that evening. I would rate my history knowlage and interest as a one out of ten yet I found this tour outstanding. Our son who loves civil war history would also recommend it. Some how our guide engages all no matter their knowlage base. Like the Viator easy of booking and their assistance.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My wife and I arrived at the site of the Lincoln Tour early. We saw a man sitting nearby. We approached him and asked if he was on the tour also. It was Robert Goffredi, the Tour Guide. He was friendly, personable and enthusiastically shared with us that he, his father and grandfather all were raised in Washington DC. And that he was a retired lawyer. We had four adults and three children on our very educational tour of the people and events and especially the places surrounding Lincoln's last days of his life. Mr Goffredi, in his eloquent portrayal of his subject matter, was adept at helping each of our group of seven feel important and also to imagine and internalize what happened that April 1865. I have always been an admirer of Abraham Lincoln and have studied his life a great deal. Walking to the places where history happened, seeing the places I've only read about and having it explained enthusiastically by Mr Goffredi made this walking tour a highlight of my first visit to Washington DC.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was indeed a feverous night that Lincoln was shot. Not only did Booth fire a fatal bullet, but his cohorts were on the rampage too (something I did not know). Tim shared the many 'spooky' coincidences on that fateful day, along with very relevant context. Plus, he answered every question. My only wish is that it was a warmer night so I could have stayed longer to hear more.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful tour with knowledgage guide. Robert made the history come to life. The entire family enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The only downside was the outdoor temperatures and we would have enjoyed an earlier tour so we could enter Ford's theater.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message