• USD ($)
  • English
Here's a local secret: if you're ever stuck in a thunderstorm while wandering around the Mall, make a dash for the Lincoln Memorial. Thunder seems to rumble like clockwork nearly every 4th of July, and everyone in the know takes shelter under the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour covered the White House and several memorials (Lincoln, MLK Jr, World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War) among other things. The tour guide was friendly, funny, and informative. All in all it was a great tour; we enjoyed it thoroughly. Only one small complain: You should mention in the tour description that it involves quite a bit of walking. Already after a long day of walking, it was a bit hard to walk some more with a toddler in tag. I knew it would involve walking (all sightseeing in DC does), but didn't quite expect that much.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We had 1 day of our vacation allotted for monuments/memorials and this tour was exactly what we needed because I really underestimated the walking distance between the monuments. We took the Metro to Union Station and picked up the trolley from there. The tour is listed on the mall directory/map just like a regular store so we were able to find the ticket counter easily. We went through a circuit of the Orange Line to decide where we wanted to hop off. We hopped on/off several times. Each time the next trolley arrived we had no trouble finding seats. The drivers - Darin, Anthony, and Sooner Steve - worked hard to make the tour lively and informative. They repeated numerous times that the trolley runs from 9am to 5pm only and the last bus from Arlington Cemetery leaves at 4:30pm. I can't stress enough that YOU NEED TO PLAN ACCORDINGLY!! We hopped off at the White House, Jefferson Memorial, and Lincoln Memorial. We walked down to the WWII Memorial then back to the Lincoln to pick up the Red Line bus to Arlington Cemetery. We spent about 45 minutes at each site plus 20 - 30 minutes for trolley pick-up and travel time to the next monument. We chose to stay past the pick-up time at Arlington Cemetery and take the Metro back to the hotel. There is a station just outside the cemetery. In retrospect, I wish we had taken 2 days to view the monuments and bought the 2 day tour pass so we could have seen more of the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was great but cold. It happened to be a night that a wind and rain storm rolled into DC. We didn't get to see Iwo Jima Memorial since the trolley going over the bridge would have been to hazardous but we got extra time at the Lincoln Memorial. The driver was friendly and very fun to listen to. I would love to do again on a warmer night.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The Hotel (Quincy) was just right for a short trip (3 days) and we could walk to the White House easily (10 mins?) As we are an older couple, we recommend the Hop On, Hop Off Trolley Bus Tours. The drivers were fun and shared lots of helpful information - which really enhanced our trip. As this was our first visit to Washington, the HOPO was a great way to see all the main sights and decide which we wanted to see most. Arlington was very moving and we enjoyed climbing the Lincoln Memorial. We spent most of our second day walking to and touring the Museum of Art although we also took in the Native American Museum and had an excellent brunch there (pulled bison). The HOPO also helped us decide where to go for our evening meals...Tomates in the diplomatic area and Paulos in Georgetown - both excellent.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This was a really nice trip, but it is in a trolley and so we couldn't really see out the windows with the plastic down (because it was winter.) It would be better in vans or a small bus. However, the stops at the Lincoln, MLK were truly beautiful at night. I'm glad we went, but it should be in a regular bus.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great experience. They should include approximate times when to expect the next trolley. It wasn't clear that we had arrived at the Lincoln Memorial, it seemed that the driver was being nice by letting some people off near where they wanted to go. It wasn't till we turned around that was where I should have gotten off. No matter the National Cathedral was fair compensation though. The drivers were very courteous, entertaining and knowledgeable. Be sure to have gratuity handy, the on off is so quick I missed some.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a wonderful tour bus to be on...all the drivers were wonderful and very well informed...my suggestion is to park in Arlington Cemetery parking garage and catch the HOHO over to the Lincoln Memorial...from there you can catch the line to pick up your ticket, if you have bought one online...Will never visit Washington, DC again without going on the HOHO!!...Loved it!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Be warned get to Union Station with 10-15 minutes in hand: If you buy your tickets on Viator, then you need to go into Union Station to get them validated and separate tour bus tickets provided - most unhelpful of the tourist herding 'guide' who didn't say anything until we were at the front of the queue and then missed the bus when we were refused access! Then we found there were more tourists than vehicles available to carry us so, further delays were encountered when departing on this popular tour.

Once on our way, the tour was well narrated and with several slow drive-bys and three stop off's at the memorials of the US Marine Corps, FD Roosevelt / Martin Luther King, Jr and finally the Lincoln Memorial, photo opportunities were accorded. Overall, a pleasant, interesting and worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

It was a really good tour. The only reason for three stars is the incredibly long wait at the Lincoln Memorial on October 18. In fairness, they were just getting back in the groove and I'm sure they weren't expecting so many people on the first day of business as usual in Washington.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Excellent tour. Reasonably priced. We needed a thorough tour that would work for my grandparents. They cannot walk long distances at all and so this was a terrific and safe and enjoyable way for them to see the city comfortably. Our guide was excellent. Super informative and friendly! Would most definitely go again. Only frustrating part was there was an event going on at the monuments so we could not see Lincoln, Vietnam, WW II, or Korean...certainly not the tour's fault though! Would highly recommend for those that may have some limitations or accessibility issues!

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Very knowledgeable guides. Trolley's were clean and everyone was very friendly and courteous. Only compliant was the extremely long wait to get a trolley at the Lincoln Memorial.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The tour was excellent and the drivers were very knowledgeable. The waits were not bad considering we went on a Friday. Actually, the worst of the waits took place at the Lincoln Memorial as that was the day they discovered the vandalism that had taken place. All said, it was a very nice time. A little pricey, therefore the four stars, but a good time none the less.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

The best thing about the trolley was that it served as a useful means of transport to less connected sites such as Jefferson, Martin Luther King and Lincoln memorials. The drivers who doubled up as commentators on these trips seemed a jaded lot and their humor forced.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour guide Eric was great and he provided awesome information at all stops. The monuments at night are breath taking and the Lincoln Memorial was the best. Eric has a very good since of humor which made the tour that much better. So for $35 I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Overall the tour was very good. All of the drivers were friendly and knowledgeable. The only drawback was that it was difficult to get back on the trolley at the Lincoln Memorial. It is apparently one of the most popular attractions and it took over an hour to get two seats on a trolley. It would have been great to know it would be a longer wait time so that I could have scheduled my day a little better.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message