Here's a local secret: if you're ever stuck in a thunderstorm while wandering around the Mall, make a dash for the Lincoln Memorial. Thunder seems to rumble like clockwork nearly every 4th of July, and everyone in the know takes shelter under the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lynda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was perfect for our family of four. We covered all the memorials at the National Mall with a great narrative to go along with all the sights. We saw the Washington Monument, the WWII Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, the Korean Memorial, the FDR Memorial, the MLK Memorial and the Jefferson Memorial. So much more interesting when a knowledgeable guide tells a story along the way.

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

Debbie L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I am giving a bed review because of the following reasons:

1. The tour guide left 10 minutes before the meeting time.
My daughter and I arrived in front of library of congress and the Neptune water fountain at 9 sharp. There were no sign of a tour group. I did hear one gentlemen calling the company and question the group where about. It turned out they have left us 10 minutes prior to 9 am, which was not responsible. Since the instruction was to meet at 9 am.

2. Really late lunch service, if any.
After the Us Capitol the shuttle bus took us to many walking sites the front of White House, World War ll memorial, Vietnam Memorial. and Lincoln memorial. We ended at infront of The National Archives around 1 pm and were told to return on the bus at 1:50 pm. There were no lunch discussion at 1 pm yet. I really don't know when my group ate, since I decided to feed my daughter in the National Archieve cafferteria. I also told the tour guide we were returning at that point.

3. They changed the agenda around. According to their advisement we were to end at the National Archieve. But the switched and went to the Archieve in the middle of the trip, without prior worning. Which caused problem for me.
This DC trip was my first trip treviling with just my daughter and I. I planned metro ride back to our hotel at the stop of the National Archieve. Since the company changed the order of the tour. I felt I eased to continued with the trip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were visiting from Ireland and we took the 3 hour tour and it was fantastic. Sally our guide was so informative about all the various aspects of Washington. She was helpful and friendly as also was our driver Krishna. The tour took in all the famous sights and we got to get out of the bus at The Capitol Building, White House, War Memorials and the LIncoln Memorial among others. The weather was fabulous and added to a great day. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Christian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour. Our host was friendly and informative and took us to see lots of great monuments, including the Lincoln, FDR, Korean and MLK jr monuments.

The bus was pretty chilly, though it was in November, so that was understandable.

I thought overall it was well worth the price and was one of the highlights of my trip

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

JAMES C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

having taken day tours and moonlight tour I was not impressed with what you saw at night.
The Roosevelt memorial in particular was so dark you could not see anything.
The Lincoln Memorial was beautiful
Would not recommend this tour. Felt the check in process at the train station was not clear. Big place if you are not familiar with your location.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

karen e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really a must see. The monuments at night are a must. There are so many and the only way to see them is a tour. I wish you had more time at the monuments we stopped at. For example, there was plenty of time to see Lincoln only if we did not go to the Vietnam memorial at the same stop. Vince is great

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Mary Lou D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Not enough stops. If you know which sights you want to see and don't need the monologue you're better off taking a cab. 2 miles between the White House and Lincoln Memorial and there is a lot to see in between.... Would be much cheaper and more convenient to just take a cab.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Leonard J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommend this tour! Linda was our tour guide and was outstanding, she was very knowledgeable and friendly. She really cared about her job and wanted everyone to have a good time. We stopped at the Lincoln Memorial, Korean War, Vietnam, and World War II Memorials, Martin Luther King Memorial, White House and more. Our tour guide, Linda even took pictures for us. Well worth the price, you will not be disappointed. Thanks Linda for a great tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Suzanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We took our grandson who is 8 to see DC and we all enjoy the night tour very much. It was very informative and we loved the lights on the buildings at night. He really wanted to see the Lincoln Monument and I am so glad we saved it until after hours. Would recommend this company and tour to anyone visiting DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From the time we met our initial tour guide at 8:30 across the street from the Capitol, until the time our bus tour guide dropped us off at the National Archives, my wife and I had a great time. The tour of the Capitol building was rather rushed, but to be honest, without being able to see the rotunda due to the work being done, could have been skipped. Once aboard the tour bus, our guide and driver were nothing more than TOP NOTCH. Our guide kept us entertained and informed, while our drive maneuvered through the tough DC Monday traffic with precision and skill. There was plenty of time to tour the Lincoln, Korean and Vietnam memorials, but the very cool WWII memorial needed at least another 10-15 minutes to really enjoy the entire memorial. The boat ride, along with the Subway box lunch was very cool and very relaxing. I could go on and on, but suffice to say, my wife and I were both very happy with this choice. We give it an A for the quantity of memorials that we had time to see. Value for the dollar is excellent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Tammy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My mother and I went to Washington, D.C. for a 3-day weekend. We arrived early on a Friday, checked into our hotel, and headed to the U.S. Navy Memorial where we picked up this tour. After being unsure of which bus to board, we found the right one and departed shortly after. Our tour guide Mary was awesome. She was knowledgeable and funny. She knew so much about the history of the city and its monuments. Ali was our driver and he got us around the city with no problems. We visited the U.S. Capitol unfortunately, the dome was covered in scaffolding, but the building was still amazing, the White House, the World War II Memorial, the MLK, Jr. Memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, the Korean War Memorial, and the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. Mary also identified out other points of interest along the way, such as the Eisenhower Administrative Building, Blair House, and the Hoover FBI Building quite ugly. We then dropped some members of the tour off at the Washington Monument. They had purchased the 4-hour tour. Around 2 p.m. we got lunch, then took a 50-minute boat ride on the Potomac. The boat tour guide was great, too. We saw the Watergate Complex, the Kennedy Center of the Performing Arts, and the Pentagon. He gave us some history on the bridges spanning the river. You could also see the Washington Monument, Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials from the river. We got back on the bus and headed over to the Marine Corps Memorial Iwo Jima which was magnificent. The whole tour was fabulous. This is a great way to see the highlights in a day. The only monument you don't see up close is the Jefferson Memorial, but you can always go see it on your own. I found the Korean War Memorial to be hauntingly beautiful. Also, climbing the Washington Monument is not included in this particular tour. If I ever get back to D.C., or any city for that matter, I would definitely take another Viator tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Susan L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The guide, John, was entertaining and knowledgeable. He was skilled at guiding groups through to the best viewpoints where he could give explanations. We visited the WWII memorial, Korean War memorial, White House pictures from the fence, walk through the Capitol grounds, viewed the Washington Monument, Martin Luther King, Jr. memorial, Jefferson memorial, Lincoln memorial, and Iwo Jima memorial. We did not really go inside any of the buildings, but we were able to walk through several of the memorials. It was a great way to see a large number of the major sights in one evening.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Frances D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The tour was lovely, very interesting. The tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. The actual logistics left a little to be desired. We were rushed at the final large monuments. We only had a total of 15 minutes to walk all the way up to the Lincoln Monument, then there was not enough time to see Vietnam and the Korean war monuments. More time must be allocated to the tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Debby C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I love this tour. Christopher was our guide and he was a walking Wikipedia. Even with the cloudy night skies and threating rain we had a blast. He handed out water and ponchos for anyone that wanted them. He was very helpful and answers all our questions. He even helped out with taking pictures so everyone in the family could be in the photo.We did our self guided day tour but the monuments really come to life at night. The Lincoln Memorial was our favorite. I would highly recommend this tour to all DC visitors.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Angie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was the highlight our our trip to D.C.! Luckily we booked it in advance as it was sold out when we arrived at the Trolley. We took our 8 and 10 year old and they really enjoyed it. We loved that we could get off the Trolley at the Lincoln Memorial and walked around - we weren't rushed to get back on and we were able to take great pictures. Anthony, our tour guide was incredible! Highly recommend this tour for everyone!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Florida Traveler United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Walking access to the capital building was limited, we expected in A VIP tour was not excluded in tour description to see both the chambers of the house and senate. Because it was the 4th of July weekend, the chambers were both vacant for the holiday, we were very disappointed in not seeing these VERY IMPORTANT sections of the Capital complex.
Then, because of poor planning on someones part, access to the tour buses after the Capital walk thru resulted in a VERY LONG walk, again we were not advised about this, My wife has a knee issue and the long walk was very painful for her.
Every where we went on the monuments tour was rush, rush and rush, we had no time to stop and smell the roses. We were stopped from actually accenting the stairs to see Lincoln inside his Memorial why I do not know. Again very disappointing..
We rushed to board the very old and beat up boat for a short river ride and Box Lunch. The Subway lunch was the only good part of the boat ride. Many of the folks on the tour had to try and handle their lunch on their laps some with children because the VERY OLD boat did not have enough tables and was short chairs. FYI, you folks should check out that boat to see if it even clears Coast Guard inspections.Finally, we arrived at the National Archives, to see the very historic documents held inside. We finally entered the building Our VIP entry was a bust and had a total of 25 Minutes to see the entire archives before the venue closed @ 5PM and the guards ran us all out at 5:30PM.. It seems that we did not get our worth. I will say our tour guide on the bus was very knowledgeable and fun, the rushing and missing total VIP access to the sites was not entirely her fault, since she was following someone else's plan. We use Trip Advisers on most all of our adventuress and find the info etc GREAT, but the 1st tour we take with a subsidiary, Viator was very disappointing, we have major trips 3 times a year and we were hoping for a good tour co.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very knowledgeable tour guides and a great way to view the National Mall. This was great to get a general overview of the mall area without all the walking. We were able to take lots of pictures from the carts and had the opportunity to get out at both the MLK and Lincoln memorials to walk around and explore. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

Pamela V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoy night tours of Washington and wanted to share the experience with my six-year-old grandsons. The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. She made the boys feel especially welcome. The tour included a stop at the Lincoln Memorial, Roosevelt Memorial, Iwo Jima statue, Martin Luther King Memorial and the Vietnam Memorial. The narration was interesting and informative. The guide interacted with the audience.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Mary V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour and Sooner Steve did a wonderful job with the narration. The only suggestion would be to spend more time at the Lincoln Memorial. It was a little rushed to see the Lincoln Memorial, Vietnam Memorial, and Korean War Memorial and be able to give them the respect they deserve.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Matt R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great way to see ALL the monuments. We got to see the Washington, Jefferson, Lincoln, FDR, WW2, Korea, Vietnam, MLK. We spent about 10 minutes at each one. Got the key points and facts. Got to walk around and take pictures. Just enough time to see what we needed to see -- no time to get bored! The ride itself was easy and mostly flat. Some tiny hills or inclines rather!. We passed loads of buses carrying people from one monument to another. Why sit in traffic when you can bike right by and see it all?

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

Gaik Bee Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amy was fantastic - knowledgeable and personable. There were 5 of us so we had the cart to ourselves. It's a great way to see the sights in a 2 hour period. The tour lets you out for 15 minutes at the Martin Luther King memorial and again for another 15 minutes at the Lincoln Memorial. Both are worth the visit. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

CHRISTIAN C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our night tour was a good experienced. It was our first time in Washington DC . The Lincoln memorial , MLK , Franklin D. Roosevelt and washington monuments really stands out at night. Our guide tour, Marilyn was very knowledgeable and friendly. Overall, I suggest this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

JAMES D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall nice day except at the end when we had to wait a very long time at the Lincoln memorial for a trolley back to the welcome center.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Connie A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful time on this tour -- Mr. E was a fantastic tour guide -- the amount of time at each stop was perfect -- I think the only thing that could have made it better would have been a 10 minute stop at the WWII memorial, or at least a drive-by as we were right there after the Lincoln memorial -- I was disappointed that was not part of the tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Best way to tour the DC Monuments at Night. You see the White House, Washington, Lincoln, Jefferson, Iwo Jima Memorials, the Capital and many more. About a 3 hour tour with on and off photo ops and a Bathroom stop. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message