Here's a local secret: if you're ever stuck in a thunderstorm while wandering around the Mall, make a dash for the Lincoln Memorial. Thunder seems to rumble like clockwork nearly every 4th of July, and everyone in the know takes shelter under the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommend this tour! Linda was our tour guide and was outstanding, she was very knowledgeable and friendly. She really cared about her job and wanted everyone to have a good time. We stopped at the Lincoln Memorial, Korean War, Vietnam, and World War II Memorials, Martin Luther King Memorial, White House and more. Our tour guide, Linda even took pictures for us. Well worth the price, you will not be disappointed. Thanks Linda for a great tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We took our grandson who is 8 to see DC and we all enjoy the night tour very much. It was very informative and we loved the lights on the buildings at night. He really wanted to see the Lincoln Monument and I am so glad we saved it until after hours. Would recommend this company and tour to anyone visiting DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From the time we met our initial tour guide at 8:30 across the street from the Capitol, until the time our bus tour guide dropped us off at the National Archives, my wife and I had a great time. The tour of the Capitol building was rather rushed, but to be honest, without being able to see the rotunda due to the work being done, could have been skipped. Once aboard the tour bus, our guide and driver were nothing more than TOP NOTCH. Our guide kept us entertained and informed, while our drive maneuvered through the tough DC Monday traffic with precision and skill. There was plenty of time to tour the Lincoln, Korean and Vietnam memorials, but the very cool WWII memorial needed at least another 10-15 minutes to really enjoy the entire memorial. The boat ride, along with the Subway box lunch was very cool and very relaxing. I could go on and on, but suffice to say, my wife and I were both very happy with this choice. We give it an A for the quantity of memorials that we had time to see. Value for the dollar is excellent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My mother and I went to Washington, D.C. for a 3-day weekend. We arrived early on a Friday, checked into our hotel, and headed to the U.S. Navy Memorial where we picked up this tour. After being unsure of which bus to board, we found the right one and departed shortly after. Our tour guide Mary was awesome. She was knowledgeable and funny. She knew so much about the history of the city and its monuments. Ali was our driver and he got us around the city with no problems. We visited the U.S. Capitol unfortunately, the dome was covered in scaffolding, but the building was still amazing, the White House, the World War II Memorial, the MLK, Jr. Memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, the Korean War Memorial, and the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. Mary also identified out other points of interest along the way, such as the Eisenhower Administrative Building, Blair House, and the Hoover FBI Building quite ugly. We then dropped some members of the tour off at the Washington Monument. They had purchased the 4-hour tour. Around 2 p.m. we got lunch, then took a 50-minute boat ride on the Potomac. The boat tour guide was great, too. We saw the Watergate Complex, the Kennedy Center of the Performing Arts, and the Pentagon. He gave us some history on the bridges spanning the river. You could also see the Washington Monument, Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials from the river. We got back on the bus and headed over to the Marine Corps Memorial Iwo Jima which was magnificent. The whole tour was fabulous. This is a great way to see the highlights in a day. The only monument you don't see up close is the Jefferson Memorial, but you can always go see it on your own. I found the Korean War Memorial to be hauntingly beautiful. Also, climbing the Washington Monument is not included in this particular tour. If I ever get back to D.C., or any city for that matter, I would definitely take another Viator tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The guide, John, was entertaining and knowledgeable. He was skilled at guiding groups through to the best viewpoints where he could give explanations. We visited the WWII memorial, Korean War memorial, White House pictures from the fence, walk through the Capitol grounds, viewed the Washington Monument, Martin Luther King, Jr. memorial, Jefferson memorial, Lincoln memorial, and Iwo Jima memorial. We did not really go inside any of the buildings, but we were able to walk through several of the memorials. It was a great way to see a large number of the major sights in one evening.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The tour was lovely, very interesting. The tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. The actual logistics left a little to be desired. We were rushed at the final large monuments. We only had a total of 15 minutes to walk all the way up to the Lincoln Monument, then there was not enough time to see Vietnam and the Korean war monuments. More time must be allocated to the tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I love this tour. Christopher was our guide and he was a walking Wikipedia. Even with the cloudy night skies and threating rain we had a blast. He handed out water and ponchos for anyone that wanted them. He was very helpful and answers all our questions. He even helped out with taking pictures so everyone in the family could be in the photo.We did our self guided day tour but the monuments really come to life at night. The Lincoln Memorial was our favorite. I would highly recommend this tour to all DC visitors.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was the highlight our our trip to D.C.! Luckily we booked it in advance as it was sold out when we arrived at the Trolley. We took our 8 and 10 year old and they really enjoyed it. We loved that we could get off the Trolley at the Lincoln Memorial and walked around - we weren't rushed to get back on and we were able to take great pictures. Anthony, our tour guide was incredible! Highly recommend this tour for everyone!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Florida Traveler
United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Walking access to the capital building was limited, we expected in A VIP tour was not excluded in tour description to see both the chambers of the house and senate. Because it was the 4th of July weekend, the chambers were both vacant for the holiday, we were very disappointed in not seeing these VERY IMPORTANT sections of the Capital complex.
Then, because of poor planning on someones part, access to the tour buses after the Capital walk thru resulted in a VERY LONG walk, again we were not advised about this, My wife has a knee issue and the long walk was very painful for her.
Every where we went on the monuments tour was rush, rush and rush, we had no time to stop and smell the roses. We were stopped from actually accenting the stairs to see Lincoln inside his Memorial why I do not know. Again very disappointing..
We rushed to board the very old and beat up boat for a short river ride and Box Lunch. The Subway lunch was the only good part of the boat ride. Many of the folks on the tour had to try and handle their lunch on their laps some with children because the VERY OLD boat did not have enough tables and was short chairs. FYI, you folks should check out that boat to see if it even clears Coast Guard inspections.Finally, we arrived at the National Archives, to see the very historic documents held inside. We finally entered the building Our VIP entry was a bust and had a total of 25 Minutes to see the entire archives before the venue closed @ 5PM and the guards ran us all out at 5:30PM.. It seems that we did not get our worth. I will say our tour guide on the bus was very knowledgeable and fun, the rushing and missing total VIP access to the sites was not entirely her fault, since she was following someone else's plan. We use Trip Advisers on most all of our adventuress and find the info etc GREAT, but the 1st tour we take with a subsidiary, Viator was very disappointing, we have major trips 3 times a year and we were hoping for a good tour co.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very knowledgeable tour guides and a great way to view the National Mall. This was great to get a general overview of the mall area without all the walking. We were able to take lots of pictures from the carts and had the opportunity to get out at both the MLK and Lincoln memorials to walk around and explore. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoy night tours of Washington and wanted to share the experience with my six-year-old grandsons. The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. She made the boys feel especially welcome. The tour included a stop at the Lincoln Memorial, Roosevelt Memorial, Iwo Jima statue, Martin Luther King Memorial and the Vietnam Memorial. The narration was interesting and informative. The guide interacted with the audience.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour and Sooner Steve did a wonderful job with the narration. The only suggestion would be to spend more time at the Lincoln Memorial. It was a little rushed to see the Lincoln Memorial, Vietnam Memorial, and Korean War Memorial and be able to give them the respect they deserve.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great way to see ALL the monuments. We got to see the Washington, Jefferson, Lincoln, FDR, WW2, Korea, Vietnam, MLK. We spent about 10 minutes at each one. Got the key points and facts. Got to walk around and take pictures. Just enough time to see what we needed to see -- no time to get bored! The ride itself was easy and mostly flat. Some tiny hills or inclines rather!. We passed loads of buses carrying people from one monument to another. Why sit in traffic when you can bike right by and see it all?

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amy was fantastic - knowledgeable and personable. There were 5 of us so we had the cart to ourselves. It's a great way to see the sights in a 2 hour period. The tour lets you out for 15 minutes at the Martin Luther King memorial and again for another 15 minutes at the Lincoln Memorial. Both are worth the visit. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our night tour was a good experienced. It was our first time in Washington DC . The Lincoln memorial , MLK , Franklin D. Roosevelt and washington monuments really stands out at night. Our guide tour, Marilyn was very knowledgeable and friendly. Overall, I suggest this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall nice day except at the end when we had to wait a very long time at the Lincoln memorial for a trolley back to the welcome center.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful time on this tour -- Mr. E was a fantastic tour guide -- the amount of time at each stop was perfect -- I think the only thing that could have made it better would have been a 10 minute stop at the WWII memorial, or at least a drive-by as we were right there after the Lincoln memorial -- I was disappointed that was not part of the tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Best way to tour the DC Monuments at Night. You see the White House, Washington, Lincoln, Jefferson, Iwo Jima Memorials, the Capital and many more. About a 3 hour tour with on and off photo ops and a Bathroom stop. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great overall experience! Easy to find at Union Station, buses well marked, driver friendly and chatty, and well versed in the monuments as we drove around. Only flaw was at the Lincoln and Vietnam Memorials, where we had to get off, walk to three different areas, then figure out where the bus actually was rather than having it in one on-off location.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

I had never seen our nation's monuments illuminated after dark and this tour certainly provided this opportunity. The tour guide Mr. E was very knowledgeable and very personable. As a photographer, however, I was a bit disappointed that we only stopped at three places and the rest were viewed with running commentary as we drove past. We stopped at the Martin Luther King and FDR memorials 1 stop, the Iwo Jima Memorial 1 stop and the Lincoln, Vietnam War and Korean War memorials 1 stop. The time allotted for each stop was quite short and you had to hurry to see them and return to the bus on time - especially at the Lincoln Memorial - Vietnam War Memorial - Korean War Memorial stop. I ended up skipping a close encounter with the Lincoln Memorial just so I could practically run to the Vietnam Memorial and photograph the sculptures there I had already visited the Wall on a previous trip to DC anyway and hurry in the opposite direction to photograph the Korean War Memorial. I couldn't even make it to the FDR Memorial in time, so just photographed the Martin Luther King Memorial and returned to the bus. For other photographers, I would recommend taking the hop on hop off bus during the day for a more relaxed encounter with the monuments then take this tour just for the ambiance.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Honestly quite disappointed. Have done after dark monument tour several other times. This was very rushed - barely enough time to walk to Lincoln Monument and had to be back on trolley. Other tours we have had plenty of time to see Lincoln, Korean, Viet Nam. Will go back to other company tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Very uncoordinated. Tour director seemed like he was auditioning for a part in a Shakespeare play. He pontificated at ever stop. Way more information on his worldly knowledge than necessary. We were there to learn only about the monuments that we were visiting. Food on the boat was Subway, limp bread and tasteless. Couldn't take it anymore and walked away at the base of the Lincoln Memorial. We walked 25 minutes to the closest Metro. Standing in the sun and heat and listening to Andy talk about the Free masons was not for us. We would never recommend this tour, very amateuristic.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Rated my USA Guided Tour on TripAdvisor:
Capital, WH, Vietnam Memorial, WWII Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, Korean War Memorial, MLK,
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015
Above are the monuments we stopped to get photos. Would have liked to have stopped at the Jefferson Memorial but we drove by it. Since the guide said that we would drive by the Marine Corps Memorial not stop, I decided to get off at the Lincoln Memorial stop and walk back to my hotel which was 3 blocks from the memorial. Some other evening tours may stop at more memorials for photo ops. In general, the tour provided a good intro to the monuments.

Though the departure time was supposed to be 7:30 pm, it was closer to 30-45 minutes later. Apparently, a minivan was added to the motorcoach to handle people from an Embassy Suites Hotel and people were shuffled around to accommodate the Embassy Suites hotel guests. It might have been the reason for not stopping at the FDR Memorial or the Marine Corps Memorial.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

It was a bad day for your tour. The city was over crowded, cars were parked in the space where the tour bus stops at stop 7 . we had to walk into traffic to get on the bus. The stop at the Jefferson Memorial bus stop was full of military buses, the driver had to stop in the traffic lane to drop off and pickup passengers, the police where fighting with him, telling him he couldn't stop there, in his defense he had no other choice. The bus I believe was 355 and the driver was Uncle Dave. The PA system was broken, which he apologized for. We wasted our money on this tour. We got off at the Lincoln Memorial and walked the rest of the day. Never did see another one of your buses. Between the fair and the parade, the city was a nightmare. we wasted a day, trying to get to a bus stop and waiting for buses that never arrived, even the mobile app. on my phone said the bus tracking app. was not available. My next visit to DC., we'll just walk, and save allot of time and money and see more.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

No service to Jefferson, Lincoln, Vietnam memorials. No notice at all. No opportunity to book another tour.

Very disappointing!!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message