• USD ($)
  • English
Here's a local secret: if you're ever stuck in a thunderstorm while wandering around the Mall, make a dash for the Lincoln Memorial. Thunder seems to rumble like clockwork nearly every 4th of July, and everyone in the know takes shelter under the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A wonderful day touring the best of Washington DC ! Our driver and guide (Tony and Ralph) took great care of us, even selecting the best shaded spots on a very hot DC day. Loved the capitol tour, Lincoln monument, and ALL the war memorials ! We even found an uncle listed on the WWII registry. The boat ride down the Potomac was very relaxing and a nice way to take a break after a full morning of touring. The lunch sandwich was so-so...think just ordering a Subway sandwich would be better. Enjoyed our last stop at National Archives, being on our own and taking our time to view so many of the historic documents. Wonderful tour and bottled waters on our bus were greatly appreciated.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Everyone should visit Washington D.C. sometime in their life. I found Washington to be an amazing place. Found that I would need much more time to see everything there. The tour guides were very knowledgeable. Tour was exhausting. Walking to each of the major events, ie capital building, Washington, Jefferson and Lincoln monuments, and the numerous Smithsonian buildings from drop off points required stamina. Would possibly try the trip again but would settle for a single venue. There was no way to see even a small portion of everything that was available. Was disappointed in that. Overall the hop on/hop off tour bus was a success.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overview of area with good stops at Lincoln and Jefferson and King Memorials. Usual tourist general information. Grandson enjoyed it. Would have liked a White House tour instead of just looking at outside. It also would have been nice to see congressional chambers since they were not in session. Rotunda was crowded as was statuary halls. Rote tour presentation there which made it unimpressive!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

It was a good tour. The driver was accommodating. The tour guide was helpful and open to questions.

I wish a few other locations (FDR Memorial, Korean Memorial) were on the tour route. I'd also would have liked it if we started a half hour later so more of DC would have been seen lit up.

I was a little disappointed in the tour guide's knowledge of DC history. I've lived here for 7 years and know more than he did. He was perpetuating myths, like Lee's head is carved on the top of Lincoln's head at the Lincoln Memorial. Even a Google search would have helped clear up some of his "facts".

My friend from out of town took it in stride. We enjoyed each other's company and laughed at his faux pas.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We enjoyed our our day tour very much with a very experieced driver and tour guide. Lots of very interesting information was presented to us at each point of interest. One thing I would change about the tour is alloting more time to the Abraham Lincoln Memorial. I think it is was about ten minutes and with all those steps that is hard to do especially with the senior generation. I spoke to our tour guide about it and was told "well some made it back and forth in 5mins" Needs more time. Just another quick note that if people on the tour are late for the pick up at start of the tour I believe it is their resposibility to find and make their way to the tour bus. In our case we had to double back for them to our starting point and maybe that was the reason why some time had to be taken away from a certain stop.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Enjoyed the touring commentary from the drivers. Had trouble finding the right bus at the Lincoln memorial stop. There were several buses that came by, but we could not board any of them to get to where we wanted to go. It was frustrating and annoying when we were not able to board several buses.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Viator is a great way to get an overall view of DC so that you know where things are and what you want to see. It is easy to hop-on hop-off and we parked in the Arlington Cemetery Parking Lot which is convenient for the trolley. My only complaint was that you had to be back at the Lincoln Memorial to go back to the Cemetery by 4:15 even though the trolleys run later than that. All the drivers were very nice and courteous and knew about all the monuments and things you see. We had a two day tickets and used the second day five days after the first one which is nice to be able to spread it out. Thanks.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were on limited time in Washington DC and wanted to see as much as possible, so this was a fantastic tour. Our Guide Ralph was a great personality and had fantastic knowledge to share. The tour takes in all the main tourist attractions (National Mall, Capitol Hill, White House, Lincoln Memorial, Reflecting Pool, Vietnam and Korean War Memorials to name just a few) and you see 100's of more sights along the way. The trip includes a 1 hour river boat ride on the Potomac River which was an added treat and you see everything from a different aspect including Watergate and the Pentagon. You can add lunch for a very reasonable price ($10) and it is delivered to the bus just before you get on the boat and bottles of water are supplied FOC throughout the trip. Excellent value for money and highly recommended

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I had a short stay in my vacation trip to Washington DC and based on the feedback and reviews from others opted for the 1 day Hop on Hop off tour. After the first stop near White house, I explored the close by Lincoln memorial and Washington monument. Went back on the bus and the guide was very knowledgeable and funny (forgot his name - sorry). He had to drop us off midway at the welcom center after which we switched buses (I think it was to the green loop). The lady who was driving and guiding was very patient in answering questions posed by the people on the bus. All in all worth the money.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was fantastic and so happy we took in this tour. I would suggest that the Vietnam War Memorial stop happen while there is still some light as it was hard to appreciate the expanse of the wall with all the names on it in the dark. Also, if the bus driver would announce how to find a particular name, it would have saved us a lot of time. We ended up wasting about 10 minutes of the 1/2 hour we were allotted (and that included taking in the Lincoln Memorial at the same stop) trying to figure it out on our own before we asked another visitor and were told about the directory. We might have noticed it at the entrance if it had not been so dark. But, other than that, it was AWESOME and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour was excellent. Just one small complaint; the first stop on the orange tour, my sister and I felt that the driver did not explain clearly enough where to go to be able to see the Whitehouse. Our favourite stop was the Lincoln Memorial. We both had goose bumps from joy.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We started with Big Joe as the driver-tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and seemed to have a desire to see the tourists enjoy themselves even at his expense. We got off at the Lincoln Memorial to hydrate and get pics. When we attempted to get back on a bus passed by with only a handful of passengers and did not slow down or attempt to stop. The one we did get on was crowded, my lady and I could not sit together and the driver was sometimes incoherent and seemed to attack the job as a job and couldn't care less about the feelings of the passengers.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had THE MOST AWESOME tour guide, Eric. The tour itself was wonderful; seeing up close such sights as the Lincoln, FDR, MLK and Viet Nam wall memorials but Eric made it especially super because of his in depth knowledge of history. It was very nice to see the White House, Capitol and other noteworthy historical buildings lit up at night. Of the three tours we took while in DC, this would definitely be the one I would and did recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Would definitely recommend this as an easy way to get around to see everything without having to walk miles and miles. Most tourists don't realize how far it is from the Lincoln Memorial to the Capitol, for instance. Mr. History really knew his stuff...although how he could drive in Cherry Blossom traffic and recite the Preamble to Declaration of Independence, etc., was amazing!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour covered the White House and several memorials (Lincoln, MLK Jr, World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War) among other things. The tour guide was friendly, funny, and informative. All in all it was a great tour; we enjoyed it thoroughly. Only one small complain: You should mention in the tour description that it involves quite a bit of walking. Already after a long day of walking, it was a bit hard to walk some more with a toddler in tag. I knew it would involve walking (all sightseeing in DC does), but didn't quite expect that much.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message