Here's a local secret: if you're ever stuck in a thunderstorm while wandering around the Mall, make a dash for the Lincoln Memorial. Thunder seems to rumble like clockwork nearly every 4th of July, and everyone in the know takes shelter under the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 81 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very knowledgeable tour guides and a great way to view the National Mall. This was great to get a general overview of the mall area without all the walking. We were able to take lots of pictures from the carts and had the opportunity to get out at both the MLK and Lincoln memorials to walk around and explore. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoy night tours of Washington and wanted to share the experience with my six-year-old grandsons. The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. She made the boys feel especially welcome. The tour included a stop at the Lincoln Memorial, Roosevelt Memorial, Iwo Jima statue, Martin Luther King Memorial and the Vietnam Memorial. The narration was interesting and informative. The guide interacted with the audience.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour and Sooner Steve did a wonderful job with the narration. The only suggestion would be to spend more time at the Lincoln Memorial. It was a little rushed to see the Lincoln Memorial, Vietnam Memorial, and Korean War Memorial and be able to give them the respect they deserve.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great way to see ALL the monuments. We got to see the Washington, Jefferson, Lincoln, FDR, WW2, Korea, Vietnam, MLK. We spent about 10 minutes at each one. Got the key points and facts. Got to walk around and take pictures. Just enough time to see what we needed to see -- no time to get bored! The ride itself was easy and mostly flat. Some tiny hills or inclines rather!. We passed loads of buses carrying people from one monument to another. Why sit in traffic when you can bike right by and see it all?

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amy was fantastic - knowledgeable and personable. There were 5 of us so we had the cart to ourselves. It's a great way to see the sights in a 2 hour period. The tour lets you out for 15 minutes at the Martin Luther King memorial and again for another 15 minutes at the Lincoln Memorial. Both are worth the visit. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our night tour was a good experienced. It was our first time in Washington DC . The Lincoln memorial , MLK , Franklin D. Roosevelt and washington monuments really stands out at night. Our guide tour, Marilyn was very knowledgeable and friendly. Overall, I suggest this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall nice day except at the end when we had to wait a very long time at the Lincoln memorial for a trolley back to the welcome center.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful time on this tour -- Mr. E was a fantastic tour guide -- the amount of time at each stop was perfect -- I think the only thing that could have made it better would have been a 10 minute stop at the WWII memorial, or at least a drive-by as we were right there after the Lincoln memorial -- I was disappointed that was not part of the tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Best way to tour the DC Monuments at Night. You see the White House, Washington, Lincoln, Jefferson, Iwo Jima Memorials, the Capital and many more. About a 3 hour tour with on and off photo ops and a Bathroom stop. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great overall experience! Easy to find at Union Station, buses well marked, driver friendly and chatty, and well versed in the monuments as we drove around. Only flaw was at the Lincoln and Vietnam Memorials, where we had to get off, walk to three different areas, then figure out where the bus actually was rather than having it in one on-off location.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

I had never seen our nation's monuments illuminated after dark and this tour certainly provided this opportunity. The tour guide Mr. E was very knowledgeable and very personable. As a photographer, however, I was a bit disappointed that we only stopped at three places and the rest were viewed with running commentary as we drove past. We stopped at the Martin Luther King and FDR memorials 1 stop, the Iwo Jima Memorial 1 stop and the Lincoln, Vietnam War and Korean War memorials 1 stop. The time allotted for each stop was quite short and you had to hurry to see them and return to the bus on time - especially at the Lincoln Memorial - Vietnam War Memorial - Korean War Memorial stop. I ended up skipping a close encounter with the Lincoln Memorial just so I could practically run to the Vietnam Memorial and photograph the sculptures there I had already visited the Wall on a previous trip to DC anyway and hurry in the opposite direction to photograph the Korean War Memorial. I couldn't even make it to the FDR Memorial in time, so just photographed the Martin Luther King Memorial and returned to the bus. For other photographers, I would recommend taking the hop on hop off bus during the day for a more relaxed encounter with the monuments then take this tour just for the ambiance.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Honestly quite disappointed. Have done after dark monument tour several other times. This was very rushed - barely enough time to walk to Lincoln Monument and had to be back on trolley. Other tours we have had plenty of time to see Lincoln, Korean, Viet Nam. Will go back to other company tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Very uncoordinated. Tour director seemed like he was auditioning for a part in a Shakespeare play. He pontificated at ever stop. Way more information on his worldly knowledge than necessary. We were there to learn only about the monuments that we were visiting. Food on the boat was Subway, limp bread and tasteless. Couldn't take it anymore and walked away at the base of the Lincoln Memorial. We walked 25 minutes to the closest Metro. Standing in the sun and heat and listening to Andy talk about the Free masons was not for us. We would never recommend this tour, very amateuristic.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Rated my USA Guided Tour on TripAdvisor:
Capital, WH, Vietnam Memorial, WWII Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, Korean War Memorial, MLK,
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015
Above are the monuments we stopped to get photos. Would have liked to have stopped at the Jefferson Memorial but we drove by it. Since the guide said that we would drive by the Marine Corps Memorial not stop, I decided to get off at the Lincoln Memorial stop and walk back to my hotel which was 3 blocks from the memorial. Some other evening tours may stop at more memorials for photo ops. In general, the tour provided a good intro to the monuments.

Though the departure time was supposed to be 7:30 pm, it was closer to 30-45 minutes later. Apparently, a minivan was added to the motorcoach to handle people from an Embassy Suites Hotel and people were shuffled around to accommodate the Embassy Suites hotel guests. It might have been the reason for not stopping at the FDR Memorial or the Marine Corps Memorial.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

It was a bad day for your tour. The city was over crowded, cars were parked in the space where the tour bus stops at stop 7 . we had to walk into traffic to get on the bus. The stop at the Jefferson Memorial bus stop was full of military buses, the driver had to stop in the traffic lane to drop off and pickup passengers, the police where fighting with him, telling him he couldn't stop there, in his defense he had no other choice. The bus I believe was 355 and the driver was Uncle Dave. The PA system was broken, which he apologized for. We wasted our money on this tour. We got off at the Lincoln Memorial and walked the rest of the day. Never did see another one of your buses. Between the fair and the parade, the city was a nightmare. we wasted a day, trying to get to a bus stop and waiting for buses that never arrived, even the mobile app. on my phone said the bus tracking app. was not available. My next visit to DC., we'll just walk, and save allot of time and money and see more.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

No service to Jefferson, Lincoln, Vietnam memorials. No notice at all. No opportunity to book another tour.

Very disappointing!!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It would have been nice to have been informed that it was best to start at the Main Trolley Stop #1 to get our passes. The stop behind the Lincoln Monument is not marked and the first driver we encountered Trolley driver was rude when expecting us to run a block to catch up with him. While the road was wide open and sidewalk clear, he simply waved us on to the far end of the block. I sent a text asking for guidance and it was never answered. Also, when I called to listen to the Trolley stops the recording was broken and got stuck repeating the same line over and over. The only positive was the driver of another route... "Just Joe" was GREAT! He's smart, personal, fun, knows DC and was tremendously helpful.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I HIGHLY Recommend this tour! We had taken a train from NY to Washington to do this for the day. We saw many memorials such as WWI, Vietnam and the Korean War memorials. There were many vets around and we saw many shaking their hands thanking them for their service. We saw the White House, the Capital, Lincoln Memorial and the Archives. We also saw the Martin Luther King Memorial. Our guide Andy was the best. He was EXTREMELY knowledgeable about Washington DC and was VERY passionate throughout the tour. We saw several people stop that were doing their own sightseeing to listen to what he was sharing about what we were seeing at the time. It was the experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This night tour was really fun and informative. The guide was exceptionally good and the driver was courteous. My only complaint was at the Lincoln Momument, the time spent there was too short. We are older and use canes and had to use the ramp and elevator and the guide was yelling for us to hurry and one of us ended up falling down a few stairs because the ramp was further away and then having to walk all the way to the bus while the guide had no real concern as to if he could walk the distance or not. But other than that incident the tour was as advertised.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The Trolley Tour is, in comparison to the other offers for DC Citysightseeing, a slower and more relaxed tour. With its 2 dregrees Celcius on the day I took the tour, the Trolley tour is the only one that was actually promising some warmth on the trip as the trolleys are closed-top, with, luckily, very clean windows. I first took a round-trip to see all my options, and then, due to time constraints, went off the bus for the White House, the Space Museum and Lincoln Memorial only. There is 13 stops on the bus line that passes by all the most interesting sights, and another 7 on the other line that let's you check out Washington a bit more in depth. Both the Space Museum and Lincoln Memorial were breathtaking and do get my strong recommendation. The White House, sorry for saying this, Americans, is underwhelming. The National Treasure buildings or several other of the many massive, white buildings around the area are way more impressive. I took the obligatory picture, and went on. The trolley drivers were very helpful and interactive. It really was a shame that the last bus left Lincoln memorial at around 5, at a time, the sun was just starting to set - which makes almost all of Washington look rose-tinted and really beautiful. A great last surprise was the Hotel shuttle that brought me back to my hotel at no extra charge after the last trolley had arrived on stop number 1. Thank you :)

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour with good weather, great guide and driver. The tour was a little longer than expected and recommend taking a flashlight as a few of the trails between the Lincoln Mem., Korean War mem and Vietnam Mem are not well lighted.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved it. The tour started on time and our tour guide was extemely knowledgeable about the history of DC. We had a chance to stop and take pictures walk up the steps to the Lincoln Memorial and walk and take pictures of the MLK memorial. I loved the open air and the weather made it perfect. Yes, I would highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting DC. Because you are only with a few other people it was very intimate and our guide had no problem asnwering questions.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I went to DC with a friend who had never been there before and I thought this would help her see
everything. The first day we did the capitol and Arlington Cementary. The second day we saw the
Jefferson and Lincoln monuments and went to Georgetown. We ended up adding on a third day
to do what we still wanted to do. A great way to see and experience the major attractions of DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was from DC so he was very knowledgeable of the city. It was an emotional day going through the memorials and thinking of all the lives lost for our freedom. The Lincoln Memorial was the most impressive to me. To get to the top of the stairs and see Lincoln sitting there 40 ft tall was awesome. It made me say WOW. The whole trip was excellent. I took two Viator tours while on vacation and both were excellent. I would suggest them for any tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This is the second time we have taken this tour. The first time we took it about 4 years ago, it was raining and hard to see and take pictures but we still had a really good time. The tour driver was so knowledgeable and had a great personality that he kept all of us "tourists" well informed and entertained! This time when we took the tour...it had such a different vibe to it. Can't actually place my finger on what it was...but we just didn't enjoy it as much. The driver was knowledgeable but lacked any sense of personality..it felt like it was just a job to him and not something he enjoyed doing. We did get to see all of the highlights though. The monuments at night are so thrilling to see. The one complaint that everyone seemed to have though is when he dropped us off at the Lincoln Memorial...he didn't come back for quite some time and we all had to wait for him to return. It was the last stop and it was just way to long....but, overall I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message