Here's a local secret: if you're ever stuck in a thunderstorm while wandering around the Mall, make a dash for the Lincoln Memorial. Thunder seems to rumble like clockwork nearly every 4th of July, and everyone in the know takes shelter under the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I HIGHLY Recommend this tour! We had taken a train from NY to Washington to do this for the day. We saw many memorials such as WWI, Vietnam and the Korean War memorials. There were many vets around and we saw many shaking their hands thanking them for their service. We saw the White House, the Capital, Lincoln Memorial and the Archives. We also saw the Martin Luther King Memorial. Our guide Andy was the best. He was EXTREMELY knowledgeable about Washington DC and was VERY passionate throughout the tour. We saw several people stop that were doing their own sightseeing to listen to what he was sharing about what we were seeing at the time. It was the experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This night tour was really fun and informative. The guide was exceptionally good and the driver was courteous. My only complaint was at the Lincoln Momument, the time spent there was too short. We are older and use canes and had to use the ramp and elevator and the guide was yelling for us to hurry and one of us ended up falling down a few stairs because the ramp was further away and then having to walk all the way to the bus while the guide had no real concern as to if he could walk the distance or not. But other than that incident the tour was as advertised.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The Trolley Tour is, in comparison to the other offers for DC Citysightseeing, a slower and more relaxed tour. With its 2 dregrees Celcius on the day I took the tour, the Trolley tour is the only one that was actually promising some warmth on the trip as the trolleys are closed-top, with, luckily, very clean windows. I first took a round-trip to see all my options, and then, due to time constraints, went off the bus for the White House, the Space Museum and Lincoln Memorial only. There is 13 stops on the bus line that passes by all the most interesting sights, and another 7 on the other line that let's you check out Washington a bit more in depth. Both the Space Museum and Lincoln Memorial were breathtaking and do get my strong recommendation. The White House, sorry for saying this, Americans, is underwhelming. The National Treasure buildings or several other of the many massive, white buildings around the area are way more impressive. I took the obligatory picture, and went on. The trolley drivers were very helpful and interactive. It really was a shame that the last bus left Lincoln memorial at around 5, at a time, the sun was just starting to set - which makes almost all of Washington look rose-tinted and really beautiful. A great last surprise was the Hotel shuttle that brought me back to my hotel at no extra charge after the last trolley had arrived on stop number 1. Thank you :)

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour with good weather, great guide and driver. The tour was a little longer than expected and recommend taking a flashlight as a few of the trails between the Lincoln Mem., Korean War mem and Vietnam Mem are not well lighted.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved it. The tour started on time and our tour guide was extemely knowledgeable about the history of DC. We had a chance to stop and take pictures walk up the steps to the Lincoln Memorial and walk and take pictures of the MLK memorial. I loved the open air and the weather made it perfect. Yes, I would highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting DC. Because you are only with a few other people it was very intimate and our guide had no problem asnwering questions.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I went to DC with a friend who had never been there before and I thought this would help her see
everything. The first day we did the capitol and Arlington Cementary. The second day we saw the
Jefferson and Lincoln monuments and went to Georgetown. We ended up adding on a third day
to do what we still wanted to do. A great way to see and experience the major attractions of DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was from DC so he was very knowledgeable of the city. It was an emotional day going through the memorials and thinking of all the lives lost for our freedom. The Lincoln Memorial was the most impressive to me. To get to the top of the stairs and see Lincoln sitting there 40 ft tall was awesome. It made me say WOW. The whole trip was excellent. I took two Viator tours while on vacation and both were excellent. I would suggest them for any tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This is the second time we have taken this tour. The first time we took it about 4 years ago, it was raining and hard to see and take pictures but we still had a really good time. The tour driver was so knowledgeable and had a great personality that he kept all of us "tourists" well informed and entertained! This time when we took the tour...it had such a different vibe to it. Can't actually place my finger on what it was...but we just didn't enjoy it as much. The driver was knowledgeable but lacked any sense of personality..it felt like it was just a job to him and not something he enjoyed doing. We did get to see all of the highlights though. The monuments at night are so thrilling to see. The one complaint that everyone seemed to have though is when he dropped us off at the Lincoln Memorial...he didn't come back for quite some time and we all had to wait for him to return. It was the last stop and it was just way to long....but, overall I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I enjoyed how much ground was covered through this tour. It was great to have an organized path to follow throughout the day as we only had 24 hours in DC. However, the guide seemed rushed from the point we met her, and we were not allowed to spend any time really seeing monuments. We did not even get to walk up the steps to the Lincoln Memorial as she said we were too short on time. The highlight of our tour was the reserved access to the Capitol and National Archives. The tour guide that worked in the Capital was the most friendly and energetic guide, she was fantastic! We also enjoyed the river cruise lunch as it was a nice change of pace. I would only recommend this tour if you are short on time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I really enjoyed this trip.

The driver Mr B was friendly and informative.

My only problem was when getting off the bus at the Lincoln memorial - we were told the general direction of the Korean and Vietnam memorials and as it was rather dark I only found the Korean one. Same problem with the FDR and Martin Luther King jnr memorials- i found FDR - but like many others didn't locate the MLK one.

The views down the mall to the Washington memorial and the Capital were spectacular from the Lincoln memorial. The reflecting pool was doing its job and the mirror image of the Washington memorial was wonderful!

Despite some rather heavy rain I had a great evening on the trolley! It was a great tour and I would recommend it!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Michael A
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

An enjoyable trip. Tricia was a very informative tour guide. Really wanted to see Washington by night and were not disappointed. Lincoln memorial in particular is excellent. Only downside was no visit to the Jefferson Memorial which would have been better. Managed to get some distance shots though. All in all very good. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Tour covered more locations than necessary. The final stop in Virginia at the Iwo Jima monument took too long. Also felt that we should have been able to spend time at the Lincoln memorial, which is fully lit, rather than the time spent at the Viet Nam memorial, especially since it was totally in the dark. WWII Memorial was my favorite stop because we were actually given time to walk around and view everything.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Our tour guide was terrible. His name is Adam/ He never counted how many people were on the tour and he told us I don't know who is here so make sure you know who you are with. He kept walking way ahead of the group even though many of the people on the tour were older adults and there was even someone in a wheelchair. He spoke but mainly to those in the front so if you were in the back you couldn't hear him. When we got to the Lincoln Memorial he told us to gather at 10:30. When we got there he said ok we are going. We all told him someone wasn't there and he was very annoyed. He said I will give her one minute then she can catch the metro. We spotted her on the steps and a couple of people went up to call her. He looked directly at me and said "you are a better person than I am because I would have left her. How dare he!!! We paid good money for that tour and that was terrible. After that my daughter and I were constantly worried about being left behind - we didn't even go to the bathroom - this was the first time we were in DC and really didn't know our way around. When the girl came back to the group the others told her what happened and she said she was going to talk to him. She went up to the front and spoke to him for a couple of minutes and then she left the group visibly upset. It was very upsetting and he was very flippant about it. At the end of the tour he made comments about it when he asked for tips. Needless to say I did not tip him. I was recommended to Viator by a few friends and to be honest I have told them about what happened. It was very sad because many of the tours we saw seemed to have much better guides. I hope the next time I get to DC I will find a better tour company. ..

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great way to see the Georgetown and Alexandria waterfront and many sights along the Potomac.
We were there on Wednesday afternoon and found the best deal: 1# lobster dinner @ The Fish Market -$16.99!
Returned as the sun set and saw the Lincoln Memorial/Washington monuments lit for night. Wonderful!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments and Memorials Cruise on the Potomac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful time! Our kids really enjoyed it. The information about the sites we were seeing was very enjoyable and informative. One of the tour guides, Mr History, was especially enjoyable and knowledgeable! He was enthusiastic about the history of the area and shared wonderful stories about the sites we visited. He even quoted from historical speeches of Martin Luther King and Abraham Lincoln, adding personal flavor and life to the tour. A great way to see the city and learn more about the history!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message