A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 710 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

abward1117

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our first day trip took us to Mt Vernon. Our bus driver was excellent. He had a wonderful knowledge of American history. He made the trip very interesting.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

patrick.versepuy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

La visite de la maison de Georges Washington à Mount Vernon est l'occasion de faire une petite croisière sur le Potomac qui borde Washington DC. La maison du maître est très richement décorée contrastant avec les petites maison des employés et esclaves de Washington. C'est un lieu magnifique avec une vue splendide sur le Potomac. La croisière est également très instructive autant que belle.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Mariesol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was wonderful. Learned a lot. The changing of the guards is not be missed very moving ceremony.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Jane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved the boat trip done the Potomac though felt we should have been told we needed ID to collect the tickets. Mount Vernon is a wonderful place and the staff and guides are so engaging we thought this was good value as there is a lot to see.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Traci G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very crowded. Knowledgeable staff

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Joseph C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

When we got there we were told unless someone else showed up they would have to cancel our tour.No big deal for them but was very stressful to us.Luckily 2 more people showed up and the tour was done.Guide was fabulous and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Byron L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A beautiful, historic place. But more should be articulated there about the fact that it was built and operated on the backs of enslaved Africans. The US is still not coming to terms with its criminal past of slavery in the South.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Admission Ticket

Francis B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Excellent driver and good place to visit to understand Washington .

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Francis B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Excellent driver and good place to visit to understand Washington .

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Lora Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was good, but it wasn't exactly as we expected. The trip did not include everything listed on the Viator site. It was either the Capitol OR the Smithsonian, not both. If you go on a Saturday, some areas of the Capitol will be closed. Plus, you can also take this tour directly from the bus company and get tickets at Union Station. Be careful of your time at the Arlington Cemetery. One of our tour members was left behind when he couldn't get a tram back to the bus on time.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Amanda S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

For the amount charged 100 I thought there would be more of a tour. Our driver told us a few random tidbits but then stayed silent for the rest of the journey and didn't tour us around any of the monuments that were part of the trip. It was more of a ride to the places and a self-guided tour. Stopping at the Christ Church in Alexandria was nice, but we were on our own until a volunteer was available to tell us about the church. And the Mount Vernon tour wasn't actually a tour, just entry and you can walk around doing a self-guided tour.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Beverley P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Please find below details of my complaint regarding the tour to Mount Vernon we booked with your company. Please note photos of the interior of the van are attached.
We were transported in an old airport shuttle bus that had obviously seen better days and was unsafe to say the least. There was no seatbelt buckle as you will see from the picture below and a flimsy stool was used to enable passengers to embark and disembark. This slipped as I stepped onto it and could have been quite serious.
We used your airport shuttle service on this trip and the vehicle was a limousine compared to the absolute wreck you decided to transport us to the venue for this purchase.
The driver did not follow the itinerary and stopped at Christchurch on the way which was a total waste of time as it was closed. We then visited on the way back but the whistle stop drive through Alexandria was a disappointment and we missed several of the places that we were promised.
We arrived at Mt Vernon at midday and were told to return to the van at 3pm. The itinerary on your website states that we would have a guided tour of the mansion. We were not given a guided tour merely members of staff talking in each room, this is not a guided tour!!!
We had already left the Hyatt late as there was no identification on the buff coloured van and most of our fellow passengers thought this was a service vehicle not a tour bus for which we had paid 113.12.
We booked 3 separate tours on this occasion with Viator and have always used your company in the past in both Washington and New York.
You should be ashamed to call yourselves professional if you think the photos below show a respectful mode of transport and misguided itinerary adds to the problems we had yesterday.
Bearing in mind, an entry ticket would have cost us 17 which at an exchange rate of approx. 1.40 would have cost about 12 each which is 24. This equates to transport costs of 89. YOU DON'T EVEN ANSWER EMAILS OF COMPLAINT.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Julie J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Actually very disappointed with tour. We wished we would have driven in our rental car to Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour instead of going on this tour. The bus left Union Station promptly and we did stop by Christ Church in Alexandria though could not enter the church and were told few facts about the church. However, at Mount Vernon, we walked the entire grounds and sat for 90 minutes waiting for the bus. Then we went to Arlington Cemetery - walked the entire cemetery and saw the Changing of the Guard - and still had an hour to sit and wait for the bus. The tour took 9 hours and really only needed 6. We loved Mount Vernon and Arlington - but the bus aspect of the tour killed it. No advantage to bus tour - just drive yourself!!!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Virginia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had the best tour guide ever! I would say that it would have been nice to have a little more time at Arlington. We ran out of time and weren't able to see the things we wanted there.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour! Packed a lot of D.C. sights into 2 days. Had a different tour guide on each day one around D.C. one to Arlington/Mt. Vernon and both were funny and knowledgeable. If you you're looking to get a taste of the major D.C. attractions and spend a little more time at Arlington/Mount Vernon then I would highly recommend this package.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

martaleida United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding experience. Well worth your time and money.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Barbara D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The bus driver driver was knowledgeable and tried to show us as much as possible on route to mt Vernon and Arlington.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

judyjacobs234

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip with knowledgeable driver. The museum at Mt. Vernon was interactive and delightful for a 74-year-old grandmother, a 44 year-old daddy and a 10 year-old grandson. We all enjoyed the tour of Mt. Vernon as well as Arlington. We stayed totally engaged the entire time.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

D'Ann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour. The whole experience was great. Mount Vernon was nice to see the country side. Arlington National Cemetery was very moving tour. The changing of the guard was a very emotional experience. The whole tour was more than my husband and I expected.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Wanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great place but tour very short

Doing what: Mount Vernon Admission Ticket

john g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

FANTASTIC
the whole thing was so great I can not stop talking about it. Clear directions, Val, our bike renter was incredible and so helpful. The ride is beautiful and ending with a cruise up the Potomac was the best. The guides on the boat clearly love what they do and shared their knowledge of the wildlife and history of the river. Would do it again in a heartbeat and am telling everyone I know to give it a go.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

June C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our bus driver/tour guide, Wayne, was amazing! Informative, funny, courteous, helpful, and most of all professional. My sister and I had a wonderful time from start to finish. I would definitely sign up with Viator on my next adventure!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

margaret r

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Cruise and Mt Vernon tour were very good. The weather was not. There wasn't enough time to enjoy all of Mt Vernon. It was difficult to hear the boat tour info- speakers not well placed and not loud enough.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message