• USD ($)
  • English
A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 262 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Took my 12 year old grandson for 6 days in Washington DC over spring break. We saw almost everything we had planned and had a wonderful time. My favorite day was the trip to Mr. Vernon. Mt Vernon and our tour director was wonderful!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour - the driver was very informative. Would recommend in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

This full day tour is divided into 2 halves- Mount Vernon in the morning and Arlington in the afternoon. I would rate the Mount Vernon a 5+ and would definitely recommend this. The afternoon tour was ok. What we were able to see was great but it was really too rushed to really take in the sights at Arlington.

I would recommend the half day Mount Vernon tour and just go see Arlington independently without this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The return to the bus terminal to pick up afternoon group was a waste. This should not be sold as a full day tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Tour did not include what was described. Our tour guide did give us a little history of DC, but not the information on Alexandria as described, I don't think he mentioned any of the places described on tour description. He just dropped us off at Mount Vernon and picked us up later. The description of tour says the tour guide would guide us through Mount Vernon. Fortunately, Mount Vernon does have guides stationed throughout to give you information. The tour van had broken seat belts that didn't work, and the driver was aware of this. Tour guide/driver just said, " It will be okay, you'll be safe." I didn't really feel comfortable with that answer (especially since it was raining that day). Tour guide was very pleasant, however.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were only in DC for a long weekend and we wanted to see everything possible in a relatively short period of time, so this tour was great for getting the most out of a day. Our driver/guide was knowledgable and entertaining, and since we went in mid February, the crowds were minimal. You have the most time to spend in Mt. Vernon (approx 3 hrs), which worked for us as that was what we were most interested in seeing. It gave us enough time to see all the areas, do a little souvenir shopping and grab lunch. You then drive through Old Alexandria on your way to Arlington. You probably have the least amount of time in Arlington to stroll around, but if you hit all the tram's, you'll be able to see all the key areas (changing of the guard, Arlington house...etc.) and still be back in time. Then off to the National Mall where there is another 1.5 hrs or so to explore the various memorials, which we found to be enough time as well. Overall, the trip was perfect for what we were looking for and is probably the best way to get the most out of 1 day. As mentioned in other reviews, the only part that could have been better is the communication on how to get to the bus terminal to start the tour. We made it as we gave ourselves extra time, but I could see where it may be difficult to find if going there for the first time. Again, great trip overall.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This day was a highlight of our vacation. The drive to Mt. Vernon through Old Town Alexandria was beautiful. Mt. Vernon is a place that should not be missed. It really gives one a sense of the life of George and Mary Washington. The extensive grounds are just beautiful. Stunning views along the Potomac River, the Tomb and the Museum are all worth taking the time to see. Very well and accurately preserved. What a treasure. Of course, Arlington Cemetery is also a national treasure and a significant and moving experience. It makes one realize the extent of sacrifice and patriotism that characterizes our country. Our driver was Tony, he was very pleasant and entertaining.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Loved Mt. Vernon once we were dropped off. However, we couldn't visit a lot of the grounds because of the snow. On the hand, there was not a great crowd which was nice. I felt it was questionable whether the van could make the trip. It didn't seem in the best condition. I also thought more time would be spent in Alexandria.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour bus was a relaxing and comfortable way to travel. It was my first day in DC and lucky the weather was cool and clear day. The driver was informative but not exciting but then it was a 8 hr day. I would definitely recommend this tour. Mt Vernon and Arlington is a beautiful area.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great day, I'd totally recommend this tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable and was helpful. Only thing that was even remotely a problem was that our driver forgot to tell us to get lunch at Mount Vernon.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

Very nice tour. The morning portion was very much self-paced which was nice. In the afternoon, we spent barely any time at all in Arlington. We were told to stay on the same tram, and to hurry back to the visitor center. Rush, rush, rush. What's the point. So we rushed and then ended up sitting and waiting in the visitor center for 1 hour for the bus. There is so much to see at Arlington - we saw very little. Also, our tour guide needs to work on pronunciation. To keep calling "Smithsonian" the "Smithsonium" is ridiculous and embarrassing.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great history and a fun day on the water

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Having biked most of the 200 or so kilometers of the Hawkes Bay (NZ) bike trails, which are wonderful, I have to say, this is my new favourite ride. We arrived early in Old Alexandria town so we were able to wander the beautiful cobbled streets and soak up the ambience of this lovely town before arriving at the Bike and Roll depot near the waterfront at 10 am. We were soon dispatched with our bikes and clear instructions and followed the track through the city and out into the beautiful Virginian countryside along the Potomac river. There were a few lumps (small hills) but our bikes dealt with them admirably. We travelled there in the middle of October so the fall colours were just showing through. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour of Mt Vernon but felt a little rushed as the ferry was not available and we had to bike back to be in time for the 5 o'clock closing (apparently it usually closes a bit later). The trip back was a little easier and just as spectacular.We travelled with our 23 year old son who enjoyed it just as much as we did and I would unreservedly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to get a little exercise while sightseeing. I should mention there is a free trolley bus that travels up and down King Street from the train station, which we thankfully discovered on the way back.

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Really interesting. We booked because we prefer to go by ourselves and the tour is really well organized and allows everyone to go at its own step without losing anithing

Doing what: Independent Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I had an amazing time on this tour! First stop was Fords Theatre to see to see where President Lincoln was shot which included a narrated guide, and then we had a couple of hours in Mt Vernon which was more than enough to see the plantation and grounds. My excellent guide and driver Leroy walked me through the grounds and gave me a huge amount of information and history in general about life at that time - all fascinating. This is a great time of year to visit Mt Vernon as it is not too crowded. There are plenty of restaurants and I picked up unusual gifts in their store. And then we drove through Old Town Alexandria and again Leroy pointed out all the places of interest. He offered to stop but due to jet lag we decided to continue. It was a brilliant day with a lovely informative and interesting guide.....i totally recommend it as an alternative to Washington city and museums.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message