A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 349 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had five days in Washington and enjoyed it all but my grandson (13) and I both thought this was the best part of our trip.. Only down side; waiting for the bus to begin the tour, there were four tours waiting for buses with a very small area to line up in

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a great time. The river cruise was wonderful. We would have liked a little more time at Mt Vernon (maybe 4 hours instead of 3) but we did see everything. Highly recommend.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great bike trail along the Potomac - good bikes- we were able to go to the front of the tour line at Mt.Vernon with our passes. Liked everything about the tour. Alexandria is charming. Maybe could have had better directions for finding the bike sho originally- but smartphone got us there.

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Nice way to see Mt Vernon and Arlington. Wish we'd had a little more time at Arlington to see General Lee's home. Driver was funny too.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely fantastic! We enjoy the entire tour ; Mount Vernon in the morning and Arlington Cementary in the afternoon. Our tour guide Tony was so awesome, very friendly and nice. Thank you

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great way to travel the Potomac River and visit Mt. Vernon. Very informative tour.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver was informative and entertaining..We really enjoyed the tour! Very enjoyable!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. Entire family enjoyed it. The 3 tours we did with Viator Tours were correctly described and the transaction from beginning to end was flawless. Would highly recommend using Viator.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. Entire family enjoyed it. The 3 tours we did with Viator Tours were correctly described and the transaction from beginning to end was flawless. Would highly recommend using Viator.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The day cruise exceeded my expectations! The trip was a great experience. We especially enjoyed the cruise down the Potomac. The guide did a great job of pointing out and giving details of the sites along the way. We enjoyed snacks and drinks aboard the boat and they were very reasonably priced and good quality. It truly was a highlight of our Washington, DC trip.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The ride on the boat was interesting and relaxing. The time at Mt Vernon was just right with ample time to visit all the sites and enjoy the videos and informational displays. Very enjoyable day trip.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed the trip but could've done with at least another hour to take everything in. Never been to the area before and if I could do this again I would book the cruise one way and go by road the other so as to take in other views etc.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Jenn13
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We did the Mount Vernon and Arlington Cemetery full day tour. We were very impressed with our guide D.C. He was very entertaining. We were surprised that he was our guide and driver. We met at Union Station and left on time even though we had to be combined with the half day tour because there were not enough people to justify 2 buses.
Mount Vernon was exceptional and the Arlington Cemetery was very moving. You also get to see 4 famous monuments. You could not do this all in one day by yourself.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message