A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 671 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a very nice trip well worth the ticket price. Mount Vernon is a beautiful place to visit. We went on Columbus Day so we were not able see everything of interest during the 3 1/2 hr stay. Staff said non holiday visits are less crowded. The museum is unbelieveable, right down to Washington's dentures. The river is calm with scenic views. Highly recommended.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Sarah B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour with a very funny and knowledgeable driver /guide, Tony.
Mount Vernon was very surreal and beautiful place which had lovely grounds.
Arlington cemetery was also breathtaking and the changing of the guard brilliant. Well worth a visit to cemetery if visiting Washington.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Mandie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our Driver was excellent! Definitely a great trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Philip S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The day cruise down to Mount Vernon was very well done. Just enough info from the crew on what we were passing but still time to carry on a conversation with fellow passengers on the way down and way back to DC. The tour of Mt Vernon itself was good as well. You were given the right amount of time to tour the buildings as well as get a snack if you wanted as well. Got back to the dock in plenty of time for the relaxing sail back to DC. Weather was great for that time of year as well.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Ricky B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Driver was very knowledgeable and nice.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

A Robert C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

It was great. Especially Mt Vernon.. Could have used more time at Arlington

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Jeffrey F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The driver was funny and informative. We enjoyed the trip

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Rees M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a most informative tour. Enjoyed Mount Vernon and could have stayed longer to take in more of the museum.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Bruce H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the best private tour ever! John Marshall was our guide and he was intelligent and you could see that he loved his job. When we use Viator again for DC, we would love to have John.

Doing what: Private Tour: George Washington's Mount Vernon

hunterfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable day, and the cruise on the river is a great way of seeing something different.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Cathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was really well done. Our guide was knowledgable and informative, and she was willing to adjust our time to focus on our main interests, which were the gardens and the highlights of the house. We got to go all the way upstairs in the house, which is closed to regular visitors, and we got to lay a wreath right on George Washington's tomb! Mount Vernon is definitely a must see, although you will need to be prepared for lots of school children, especially inside the house. The private guide helps you to navigate this crowd and expands on the commentary by the regular guides inside the house. This was definitely a highlight of our wonderful weekend in DC.

Doing what: Private Tour: George Washington's Mount Vernon

Britt B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Not to be missed! From Union Station we left D.C. with a very informative and pleasant guide. The fall colors and the fog rising from the Potomac river made for a beautiful trip to Alexandria and a brief stop at the Christ Church for photo-ops. At Mount Vernon we were turned loose on our own and could create our individual agenda. The Mansion tour was guided, however a map of the estate was easy to follow. The impressive estate designed by a brilliant man and president ,with a vision of the future and the needs of people, is evident all over. A shuttle service is provided between a few places, since a lot of walking is required. Docents, full of information, are all around to answer questions. If you have time, the Mount Vernon Inn serves an excellent lunch.
A short trip to Arlington also provided us with the option to choose our own agenda. A guided shuttle service was provided in between the various memorials. The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, the Changing of the Guards in front of the Memorial Amphitheater are not to be missed as well as The Kennedy Memorial with the eternal flame. Arlington Cemetery is a beautiful Shrine to those who served our Nation with Honor. If you have to visit friends or family resting here, as I did, a private graveside shuttle is provided for you at the Administration Building.
Since I finished the tour at Arlington, I can't comment on any further stops. It was a great tour with a very pleasant and Informative guide.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

joebono

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Mt. Vernon is beautiful and more extensive than I expected. Learned a lot about George Washington that I didn't know.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Tour guide/driver was humorous and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Timothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely wonderful excursion. Starting with a friendly staff on the river boat cruise to the fantastic home, museum, pioneer farming and exhibitions going on that day. My only negative comment would be that I wish it lasted longer.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a great time on this tour. Our driver was excellent and we didn't feel rushed. Although our time at Arlington Cemetery didn't feel long enough so much to do. Our bus driver said we could stay longer, but would need to take the train back. Many of the passengers did just that, I would highly recommend that too. The best part was visiting Mount Vernon. Make sure to wait in line by the garden to get a tour of the inside of his home, we almost missed it. Also, as you head back to the food court, don't forget to stop by the small museum inside. Unfortunately, we missed it and didn't get to see some of Washington's belongings, including his dentures!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Anthony P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Largely excellent although some drivers articulation could be improved and they have fairly strong accent

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Paul L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Mount Vernon was a wonderful experience. We did not find any value in the Alexandria stop -- it only seemed to be an opportunity for the driver to use the rest room. We would have much preferred to have more time at Mount Vernon. While courteous, our driver really should have not used our time in the van to discuss his political views.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

G B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

A bit disappointing. I thought we would stop at Old Town Alexandria and have some tome there. We stopped very quickly for 5 mins at an old inn. Basically the rest of the trip was - off to Mount Vernon and we were given our tickets and then collected a few hours later to go straight back to Washington. It was not really a day trip as we left at 11:30am and traveled back to Washington about 3:30ish.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Thane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

There were only two couples on this tour so it was very personable with each other and the tour guide.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Aimee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

enjoyed the tour. very informative. pleasant experience overall..

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

James Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an excellent tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining and we were able to see many of the key Washington landmarks in just two days.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Robbin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The cruise was great. I couldn't always hear the narration because people were talking so loud but the parts I could hear was great info. The actual Mt. Vernon experience is one I won't forget. Didn't realize how much walking was involved up and down hills and paths. It was beautiful experience and one I would highly recommend if anyone asked.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Thomas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent trip included not only Mount Vernon but Alexandria and Arlington Cemetary, a very full day. Mount Vernon surprisingly interesting to non US citizen technically the enemy! we had 4 hours and could easily of used more time. Alexandria was all too brief as it is a fascinating glimpse of post colonial Virginia. Arlington and the especially JFK memorial very moving, a great day uh hu

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message