A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 759 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andres P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Just spectacular, awesome.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Judith W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was as advertised. If you are going to DC, easily the best way to see both of these attractions is on a tour. The timing was perfect and our driver Bob was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Eleanor W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was excellent. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to make the day as memorable, educational and interesting as possible. We thoroughly enjoyed both Mount Vernon and Arlington, and everything in between as our driver and guide described the high lights of Washington and the trip through old town Alexandria and up to Mount Vernon. We would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Traci G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

barbkay1105

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour with outstanding guide/driver, Baker. He had a wealth of information on all the sites. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

eugene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much history, Fascinating!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Virginia G. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Vernon Admission Ticket

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great tour. drivers were courteous and very knowledgeable. Had time to walk around Dc and also My. Vernon. Also went to Arlington cemetery. A very emotional place. The ceremony at the tomb of the unknown soldiers very moving.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

greg.rockvam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Wayne was fantastic! He was so helpful and full of fun information.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Marilyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Vernon Admission Ticket

Matthew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this trip and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Washington D.C.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Jill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Tour guide/driver was wonderful and shared a lot of interesting facts.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Thomas T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everyone on the trip enjoyed the driver's information and knowledge about the area we were visiting.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! We saw everything. There was plenty of time at each site to take pictures and hear about the site. It brought back memories from high school when I was lucky enough to be chosen to lay a wreath on the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Thanks for the wonderful tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Kari K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great way to get to Mount Vernon..by boat!! It was a beautiful day so we were spoiled. There was a small hike up to the house but a very well maintained dirt road. My 11 year old boy 7 girl both loved the house but were thrilled with the outside buildings and grounds. What a view Washington had from his back porch!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Rebecca S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Henry was an excellent guide and we learned a ton from him!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Didn't feel hurry. Wayne shared great info.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Pamela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour guide ever! So informative and funny!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Srikanth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Al was a phenomenal tour guide and driver. Professional, courteous, humorous and very customer oriented. We felt very comfortable and welcomed the whole time and Al had the perfect hacks to obtain the maximum experience. Would highly recommend this tour to my family and friends.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Kamal Weerakoon Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The boat ride was fun and scenic. Mount Vernon is amazing. The house and grounds are very well preserved and there are actors moving around talking about life in Washington's time. There is an xlnt interactive museum of Washington's life and times that.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

David V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

John did a great job. The whole family really enjoyed the experience. John also took great pictures and engaged the whole family. We stayed at the Embassy Suites in Old Alexandria and the trip down was easy and enjoyable as well. John was witty and made the tour memorable.

Doing what: Private Tour: George Washington's Mount Vernon

Mike United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Definitely a beautiful setting for a visit to our the estate of our first president. The tour itself is not as smooth as others I have been on, as there is just a streaming of people and you pick up what you can from the last words of the docent and start over. Not consistent.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message