A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 305 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The Mount Vernon and the Arlington National Cemetery Tour was a great way to spend a day in DC/Virginia.
Our driver was really engaging and gave us great tips on how to navigate Mount Vernon.

The only reason I don't give this 5 stars is because the instructions to Union Station were very vague and not very helpful. Unfortunately there were (not the driver) several staff members were very unprofessional and did not treat us well. It is not obvious that you need to have tickets for Mount Vernon or Arlington National Cemetery Tour (for the tram). This particular individual had a very nasty attitude when we asked questions. Specifically when he told my group that we needed to go inside the office, I only asked why did we need to do that, only to get a nasty look, followed by the rolling of the eyes and not a single reply to my question. Please be mindful that while you may know the area, we are just visitors and do not know how to navigate around. Answering our questions would be helpful. It really set a nasty tone right at the beginning, but soon the driver and the tour washed that nasty experience away.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

We enjoyed our trip to Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery. The bus driver was knowledgeable and friendly. We had ample time to see all the sites at Mount Vernon and enjoyed lunch on the site. Because Viator also offers just a morning or just an afternoon tour, those of us who paid for the whole day, had to be taken back to Union Station to let off the morning tour goers and then pick up the afternoon people. We ended up waiting in the Union Station for quite some time while the bus driver visited with other bus drivers. It was a waste of our time and then we got to the Arlington National Cemetery late and barely made it to see the changing of the guard. It seemed unfair to the full day paying tour goers to have to waste 1 or more hours of the trip as a convenience for Viator. I would recommend them looking at a way to remedy this situation. Thank you!!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very nice. The driver was very knowledgable and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

excellent day trip! smooth boat ride down the Potomac, Washington's estate is amazing! dont miss it!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Mount Vernon is beautiful. So glad we took the time to go. We were allowed enough time to wander the plantation? The disappointing thing is the amount of time you get to spend at Arlington Cemetary. We were rushed in and out. We were allowed timed minutes to see the changing of the guards, and JFK. I would have liked to browse the museum and home.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Guide was great. He even offered to drop off at own hotel vs where he picked me up which was quite a walk. He explained things clearly and well. The small group of us all were from differnt parts of the world. It was great to experience it from other perspectives.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great time visiting Mt Vernon! Bus was comfortable and driver very knowledgeable and friendly. Recommend this to anyone visiting DC!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

this was a very fun and RELAXING tour. After several days of walking around DC on our own, the day on the bus was alot of fun and our driver was most informative. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting a great experience and ALOT of insight you would not get on your own.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed this tour and our guide was great. Our only comment was that the Arlington visit was a little rushed, not helped by a few who were very inconsiderate by returning late to the bus. We would have liked a bit mote time at the Kennedy grave site as this was one of out big ticket items on our Washington visit. The Mt Vernon visit was very good. The bus was clean and the driver and guide were very professional.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Meeting location is not convenient....mid-way through the tour they take us back to original meeting place to pick up additional passengers. The tour does not stop at Christ Church on Sundays.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Meeting location is not convenient....mid-way through the tour they take us back to original meeting place to pick up additional passengers. The tour does not stop at Christ Church on Sundays.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Meeting location is not convenient....mid-way through the tour they take us back to original meeting place to pick up additional passengers. The tour does not stop at Christ Church on Sundays.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Meeting location is not convenient....mid-way through the tour they take us back to original meeting place to pick up additional passengers. The tour does not stop at Christ Church on Sundays.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message