A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 322 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

tour guide was difficult to understand. It sounded like he was reciting a prepared script that had been memorized. He did however let us off at a different spot upon our return to DC because the pickup spot was not convenient for me and the other riders in the van.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great value for a trip to Mount Vernon to tour the mansion and grounds as well as the tour at Arlington National Cemetary. Our bus driver Tom did a great job of telling us about some of the historical places on the way and was a real gentleman. It was convenient catching the bus at Union Station and would definitely recommend it to anyone going to DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The trip was wonderful. We truly enjoyed the bus driver who provided us with a great deal of information

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My daughter and I had a fantastic time at Mt. Vernon our driver was very helpful and kind.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great trip and worth going to see everything. I would have loved to have had more time at Arlington National Cemetery. The bus driver, Wayne, was fabulous.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide Joe was knowledgable and friendly. This tour was worth the time and money.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

If you what easy transport to mount vernon this is great but if you want a guided tour ad you drive this isn't the one. The driver wasn't very helpful or informative or friendly but he got us there safe and on time. Mount vernon itself was fantastic.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Mount Vernon by itself was very nice, and a well run attraction. I wish we have more time there - I could see spending the entire day and just barely experiencing everything. The ride itself was cramped and uncomfortable in a van that looked like it was about to break down. It was also unmarked and sketchy. I would try a different tour company if I was doing it again.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Joe was nice but, didn't know it would be in a small van and hard to hear sometimes, the Christ Church was being used for church so we couldn't go in for a tour and some of the stops could've been longer.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The tour description claimed to provide a guided tour through the mansion, gardens, farms and other buildings that show what colonial life was like on the grand estate - guided with a Licensed Tour Guide. And it claimed to include colonial-era actors at work in a blacksmith shop and on a colonial farm. But, we were dropped off, given tickets and sent on our way to stand in line with everyone else only to listen to brief facts given by employees standing in certain rooms as we passed through the mansion. And, we read signs when available. Tour description said we'd ride on a comfortable bus, but there were 11 of us crammed in a van. We basically paid for transportation and tickets to go through the estate. We stopped at Christ Church and were told we'd get a tour of the church, but they were having a service. We sat in the back pew for a short while, interrupting people at the service ... very awkward. Mt. Vernon is a wonderful estate and we were very disappointed not to learn more with a licensed guided tour. The tour description is not accurate and very deceiving. Yvonne, Dallas

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Tour guide gave no information on where we were or where we would be going. The time alloted for visiting miunt vernon was not enough

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

BUYER BEWARE! Tour is NOT as advertised. Tour is provided by a third party vendor and the tour has changed. This is an over priced taxi service to Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery. Pick up and drop off to both locations only-there is NO tour of any memorials. Not worth 90 per person.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

False advertising!
Only stopped off at Mt Vernon, Christ church and Arlington. I spent a great deal of research trying to find the best value tour, I could have seen more had I gone by foot. Did not have enough time to see any other sights as we spent far too long at Mt Vernon 4.5 hours. We didn't even pass the White House! Had to go by taxi to go and look at Lincoln memorial, Vietnam memorial and the Whitehouse..I submitted a complaint to Viator nearly 2 weeks ago and still have not been contacted. Very unsatisfied customer.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great time on this tour. It was a great way to see Mt. Vernon. The boat trip was very scenic and you were handed a timed ticket to tour the house as soon as you exited the boat. The time on the ticket allowed you to tour the house first and then have plenty of time to tour the grounds and the museum. I have been to Mt. Vernon several times in the past and this is the best way to see it. It is a great value also, since you get the boat ride and the tour. I'm so glad that we decided to include this in our Washington DC itinerary.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message