A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 361 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful day out - and an experience to remember

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip and Mr. Tony was really great about giving us the information about the area but not to much and even gave us some insider tips which I really appreciated.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Gary Pickett
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip was simply a must, a thirty or so minute coach journey, then into the estate, to see Washington's tomb, remembering the history of the man, just wonderful. The tour of the house he spent so many years living in, and being able to touch and use the very handrail and stairway he had used so many times in his life was an honor and a privilege. The gardens were filled with such colour, and staff were dressed in periodical dress, the blacksmith shop continues to operate, and produce goods to sell in the gift shop. It was a pleasure to step back in American history, to the days of such a great man. Don't let this trip pass you by!

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour. Despite the early start - it would have been helpful if we could have been picked up in our hotel rather than having to make our own way to Union station - it was good to get perspective beyond the city and to spend time at the beautiful and historical Mount Vernon. We would have liked more time there and at Arlington; personally, we would have been happy to miss out the stop at the war memorials which we had already spe3nt time at separately; the drive through Old Alexandria wass about right. Our guide, Tony was great - very knowledgeable, helpful and above all a great guy.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a very scenic, interesting, and pleasant way to get to Mt. Vernon. The pier was very easy to find and a very short walk from the Waterfront Metro Station. The narration was quite interesting and there was a lot more to see along the river than I expected. There were several breaks in the narration so you could enjoy the scenery. Mt. Vernon itself is well worth a visit. You are given a ticket when you disembark that tells you the time of your tour and the system worked very well. We were able to see everything, did not feel rushed, and learned a lot from the docents. A wide variety of food options is available for lunch. There are several outbuildings and gardens to visits depending on one's interest. If I have any criticism - and it is very slight - it is that I wish we had had about half an hour more at Mt. Vernon. Ran out of time to really experience the gardens. As usual, very good value for the money.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really good, but we would have liked to have a little more time.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Loved are guide and driver...the only thing was the house tour got started late and then we didn't have time to go through the museum part afterwards. But our Guide was awesome (can't remember he's name).

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had five days in Washington and enjoyed it all but my grandson (13) and I both thought this was the best part of our trip.. Only down side; waiting for the bus to begin the tour, there were four tours waiting for buses with a very small area to line up in

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a great time. The river cruise was wonderful. We would have liked a little more time at Mt Vernon (maybe 4 hours instead of 3) but we did see everything. Highly recommend.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great bike trail along the Potomac - good bikes- we were able to go to the front of the tour line at Mt.Vernon with our passes. Liked everything about the tour. Alexandria is charming. Maybe could have had better directions for finding the bike sho originally- but smartphone got us there.

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Nice way to see Mt Vernon and Arlington. Wish we'd had a little more time at Arlington to see General Lee's home. Driver was funny too.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message