A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 396 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was easy to book the tour. We really enjoyed the relaxing river trip combined with visit to Mount Vernon. The views of the river added a new dimension to seeing George Washington's home. Mount Vernon is a wonderful stop all by itself: the house, tour, lunch at the Mount Vernon Inn, the new museum, and a fabulous gift shop.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Driver was very knowledgeable and friendly...good time thank you!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

NewTravler
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and a must see for any vacation in the Washington DC area. The boat cruise on the Potomac River was enjoyable. Once we arrived we had set times for the house tour which allowed plenty of time afterwards to tour different parts of the grounds including a small on-site museum. I found out this large estate and surrounding land is only a fraction of the surrounding land that George Washington owned when he was alive. The tour of home was great and really is a step back in time to the founding days of United States. Highly recommended!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Not a single complaint.....well, except the coffee on the boat was really undrinkable. Strangest off taste I have ever encountered--and I am not normally picky about my coffee. Other than that, everything was great. Everything about the trip was well organized and professional.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great! The boat ride on the Spirit of Mount Vernon was fantastic and informative although a tad chilly and it was a great way to approach the estate. The grounds at Mount Vernon were spectacular, as was the tour within the house. My only complaint is that I wish we had more time to spend there, not being able to see the Distillery and feeling a bit rushed in the GORGEOUS museum that they have in the visitor's center / food court. Another regret is my choice in footwear all of the paths are gravel/dirt, so sneakers are a must!! I recommend this trip to all, but bring a jacket for the boat ride and do not wear sandals!!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very nice trip. Mt. Vernon is beautiful. It was a very hot day so we didn't explore as much as we thought we would.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful tour. The cruise down the Potomac was relaxing as well as informational. There was ample time to tour Mount Vernon before returning to DC. I would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Five stars....loved everything...boat, food, personnel. Thanks.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice I loved the boat ride and then the tour.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Due to weather issues we had to move the ride to July 5th and the guys from Bike and Roll were terrific about helping us with that and giving us directions to get to the starting point in Old Town Alexandria. Beautiful bike trails and the Mount Vernon tour was really interesting.

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a great way to visit Mt. Vernon. The cruise was lovely. Will definitely plan to do this again with out-of-town guests.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide/bus driver was so good and had the best personality. Nice air conditioned buses. I could have used one less hour of Mt. Vernon and 1 more hour of Arlington. I felt like we rushed through it a bit.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is awesome. I would recommend this tour to anyone. It was worth every dollar we spent. We had a great time.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Richard was our bus driver. Very informed and knowledgeable. I only have one small complaint and that is the tour said we were going to go to the Lincoln Memorial and Viet Nam memorial and have a chance to walk around. I feel we spent to much time at Mt. Vernon. But , overall it was a nice tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Mt. Vernon is a wonderful place to visit. You can feel the history here. If you are a fan of George Washington, it's a must to see.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a nice day but bike ride was more vigorous then we thought so by the time we got to Mount Vernon we were a little tired. We also thought it was a path along the river but you could only see the river in a few spots as it was mostly through wooded area. Mount Vernon was awesome and then the boat ride home was mostly like a water taxi.

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great tour - and easy check in at Mt. Vernon ticket center.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Admission Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a great tour, I would recommend it. Our tour guide wasn't feeling well and you could see it, but he still gave us a great tour and was very funny!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Mount Vernon is very interesting. It is a nice day trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A GREAT WALKING TOUR. THE TOUR GUIDES WERE VERY INFORMATIVE. Be prepared to do alot of walking. I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Mount Vernon Admission Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

excellent tour guide, Wayne...He made the tour very interesting and was so considerate of everyone's needs..

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The ride was beautiful but all bike rental places are not alike. I rode the first 4 miles struggling with the rear brake system. Took us longer than expected, missed the tour and barely had enough time to catch the boat back. Lesson learned...be sure to check your bike before you leave the shop!!

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message