• USD ($)
  • English
A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 326 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the perfect tour for the 2nd day of our three day tour of Washington, DC. Walked six hours the first day of our visit, so sitting down for the river cruise was a joy. The visit at Mt. Vernon was a highlight of our trip. The dock where the boat leaves DC from is very easy to get to using the subway and walking a few blocks.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was just right for people who want to just see the highlights of these places. Arrived at Mt. Vernon in a timely manner. Toured the house and had time to see a little of the grounds too. Enjoyed the tram ride around Arlington and got to see guard changing. Stopped by Kennedy plots and even saw Space Shuttle plots. Good overview trip. Liked this whole experience a lot!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We loved both of the tours that we took. The trip to Mt. Vernon was full of information and history before we arrived and on the way home. The visit to Washington's home was breathtaking (though very hot).
Our trip to Arlington was wonderful as well and included unexpected stops at the Lincoln Memorial and the Reflecting pool. The driver was wonderful, friendly and full of information.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Mount Vernon is a must see destination. Truly s special place. Tony was a fantastic guide.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! Not enough time!!! One of the most enjoyable parts was the actor who played the part of George Washington. He came out to the lawn, answered questions and stayed in character for all answers! The museum was VERY well done, informative and such. Just the running films of George Washington were not that great in the little theaters. Need to be refreshed. But only ONE boat runs out and back to New York each day so BE ON TIME. We almost missed it because we forgot a backpack at the cafeteria which was 1/4 of a mile up the hill!!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We enjoy the entire tour ; Mount Vernon in the morning and Arlington Cementary in the afternoon. Our tour guide Tony was great, very friendly and nice.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was fantastic, the guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. It is such a beautiful place, wish I had more time to explore Mount Vernon. Well worth the money !

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very nice trip down and back. The people explaining Mt. Vernon were very helpful and full of knowledge!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver made our trip to Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery extra special. Not only was he knowledge, but entertaining, too! His tips of what to do first, etc were very helpful

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fun and relaxing. Downside: Be prepared to heat your food n the microwave if you choose to purchase food on the boat.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fun and relaxing. Downside: Be prepared to heat your food n the microwave if you choose to purchase food on the boat.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide David Carlton was wonderful. Very informative and very friendly. Highly recommend this tour. It was easy and well organized, David made sure we all got on the right tram at Arlington. He also has a great sense of humor.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is a great tour to go on. You have time to go around the entire farm after the house tour. Be sure to go to the museum as well and see the 14 minute movie in the theater. Your seat will shake with the rumble of cannon fire and you get snowed on too! This tour is worth the money spent.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really enjoyed the trip up and down the Potomac as well as Mt. Vernon. The boat was leisurely and there was lots to see on the ride. Mt. Vernon is a huge place so be sure to wear good walking shoes! Don't stop to eat or rest as there is so much to see that before you know it its time to get back on the boat. No eating on the Mt. Vernon grounds, we packed a small lunch in a backpack and ate on the boat coming home. The boat also sells small meals (like hot dogs) and beverages (their breakfast sandwiches we're pretty good too). We'll go back again someday to see all we missed! We've used Viator across the globe, they've never disappointed us.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The cruise on the Potomac was smooth and very nice, loved the comments by the crew on what we were passing. the only thing I think it needs is a later departure from Mount Vernon. maybe a 5pm departure, there is so much to see and do there, it is hard to fit it all in. but we hustled and saw almost everything, lucky it was a slow day there.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message