A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 701 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

abward1117

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our first day trip took us to Mt Vernon. Our bus driver was excellent. He had a wonderful knowledge of American history. He made the trip very interesting.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Joseph C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

When we got there we were told unless someone else showed up they would have to cancel our tour.No big deal for them but was very stressful to us.Luckily 2 more people showed up and the tour was done.Guide was fabulous and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Byron L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A beautiful, historic place. But more should be articulated there about the fact that it was built and operated on the backs of enslaved Africans. The US is still not coming to terms with its criminal past of slavery in the South.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Admission Ticket

Lora Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was good, but it wasn't exactly as we expected. The trip did not include everything listed on the Viator site. It was either the Capitol OR the Smithsonian, not both. If you go on a Saturday, some areas of the Capitol will be closed. Plus, you can also take this tour directly from the bus company and get tickets at Union Station. Be careful of your time at the Arlington Cemetery. One of our tour members was left behind when he couldn't get a tram back to the bus on time.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Virginia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had the best tour guide ever! I would say that it would have been nice to have a little more time at Arlington. We ran out of time and weren't able to see the things we wanted there.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour! Packed a lot of D.C. sights into 2 days. Had a different tour guide on each day one around D.C. one to Arlington/Mt. Vernon and both were funny and knowledgeable. If you you're looking to get a taste of the major D.C. attractions and spend a little more time at Arlington/Mount Vernon then I would highly recommend this package.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

martaleida United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding experience. Well worth your time and money.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Barbara D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The bus driver driver was knowledgeable and tried to show us as much as possible on route to mt Vernon and Arlington.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

judyjacobs234

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip with knowledgeable driver. The museum at Mt. Vernon was interactive and delightful for a 74-year-old grandmother, a 44 year-old daddy and a 10 year-old grandson. We all enjoyed the tour of Mt. Vernon as well as Arlington. We stayed totally engaged the entire time.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

D'Ann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour. The whole experience was great. Mount Vernon was nice to see the country side. Arlington National Cemetery was very moving tour. The changing of the guard was a very emotional experience. The whole tour was more than my husband and I expected.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Wanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great place but tour very short

Doing what: Mount Vernon Admission Ticket

john g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

FANTASTIC
the whole thing was so great I can not stop talking about it. Clear directions, Val, our bike renter was incredible and so helpful. The ride is beautiful and ending with a cruise up the Potomac was the best. The guides on the boat clearly love what they do and shared their knowledge of the wildlife and history of the river. Would do it again in a heartbeat and am telling everyone I know to give it a go.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

June C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our bus driver/tour guide, Wayne, was amazing! Informative, funny, courteous, helpful, and most of all professional. My sister and I had a wonderful time from start to finish. I would definitely sign up with Viator on my next adventure!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

margaret r

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Cruise and Mt Vernon tour were very good. The weather was not. There wasn't enough time to enjoy all of Mt Vernon. It was difficult to hear the boat tour info- speakers not well placed and not loud enough.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Sarah R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, would have loved more time at Mt Vernon, felt a little rushed

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Traci G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was a really fun day but the boat was absolutely freezing
The scenary was incredible, Great trip.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

David United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The initial rain dampened our spirits a bit but it was nice to tour the mansion and grounds and museum. The site wasn't crowded so the time spent there was just about right. It wasn't raining on the boat ride back to the city, but there was no reminder of any landmarks on the return trip.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Jacquelyn L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time at Mt Vernon. The girls really enjoyed the history. He were there in the morning before the crowds. We ate at the inn and the chicken pot pie which was recommended by our tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Frances A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very nice trip. Would have appreciated a warning that eating lunch at the Inn takes you out of the park. Need a little more advance notice when passing something worthwhile on the river.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Arthur K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

WE ENJOYED IT AND HAVE NO COMPLAINTS.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Stephanie C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Mount Vernon was excellent, really enjoyed touring the farm and museum was very enlightening. Mount Vernon is a must see when in the DC area. Arlington Cemetery took us only to the changing of the guards and then back to the visitors center. It did not make stops at Kennedy grave or Arlington House. Very disappointed in this portion of the tour. Our tour guide/bus driver was very humorous but difficult to understand but he did go out of his way to allow us to see parts of Old Town Alexandria which we appreciated very much.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Lonnie L

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This tour is like the other but we spent much time trying to get on the right bus. Once on the right bus the trip would be rated as good. Next time we will book with companies that have their own busses.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Rochelle L

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

We only drove through Alexandria. I thought we would have some time to walk around there. Also, I would have liked a guide to be with us, a group at a time. But really glad I went.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Rebecca S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour part was fine. Finding the boat was problematic because of extensive construction. Finding parking was horrible, as there was no prior warning that the lot was torn up. Stressful.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Warren H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

We were a little surprised to be picked up in a cargo van, not a full size bus. My husband is 6'4 and was incredibly uncomfortable in the middle seat of the van. The driver was pleasant and informative. The trip through Alexandria was interesting. We were, however, expecting a guided tour through Mount Vernon and were disappointed to simply be herded through with everyone else. There were a few employees discussing the house and its details, history, etc. but not at all what we were expecting.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message