A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 410 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very nice. The driver was very knowledgable and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

excellent day trip! smooth boat ride down the Potomac, Washington's estate is amazing! dont miss it!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Mount Vernon is beautiful. So glad we took the time to go. We were allowed enough time to wander the plantation? The disappointing thing is the amount of time you get to spend at Arlington Cemetary. We were rushed in and out. We were allowed timed minutes to see the changing of the guards, and JFK. I would have liked to browse the museum and home.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Guide was great. He even offered to drop off at own hotel vs where he picked me up which was quite a walk. He explained things clearly and well. The small group of us all were from differnt parts of the world. It was great to experience it from other perspectives.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very interesting place to visit. Great trip. Bus driver was very informative throughout the tour of old town Alexandria, with many interesting facts about the area.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great time visiting Mt Vernon! Bus was comfortable and driver very knowledgeable and friendly. Recommend this to anyone visiting DC!

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed this tour and our guide was great. Our only comment was that the Arlington visit was a little rushed, not helped by a few who were very inconsiderate by returning late to the bus. We would have liked a bit mote time at the Kennedy grave site as this was one of out big ticket items on our Washington visit. The Mt Vernon visit was very good. The bus was clean and the driver and guide were very professional.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Our bus broke down at Arlington National Cemetery, we endured a 11/2 hour wait. The rest of the tour was rushed and not really worth it.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This was a great tour of Mt. Vernon and I highly recomment Mt. Vernon to everyone, but we did the "all day" tour and the second half of the day was very disappointing becaused we were rushed through Arlington (only saw the changing of the guards and the eternal flame/Kennedy's) but then we were given 1 hr + at the National Mall. This is disappointing because it's easy to get to the National Mall but not easy to get to Arlington if on foot.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The trip to Mt. VERNON was very interesting and the grounds and home were beautiful. I was dissapointed in the Arlington Cemetery section of the tour. It was hurried and we were unable to see all we wanted. I felt we spent too much time going back to the city to drop off and pick up the half day group of the tour. I thought it would be much better to leave those of us who were a full day tour group at the cemetery to have a look around and then regroup when the half day tour group arrived at the cemetery. There was a lot of wasted time.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

This Tour was booked as a trip out to Mount Vernon and then to Arlington Cemetery, after we are on the bus we're told it has to come all the way back in to the terminal to drop off five people and pick up seven. Now we go all the way back out to Arlington and we are rushed like a herd to slaughter to jam into a tiny tram car that is overfilled and designed for children and given eight minutes to offload, visit Kennedys Grave and get back down the hill and into the tram or "be left behind, we're late already" this included the people with walkers taking five minutes to get off the tram.... same for the Unknown Soldier Tomb. Your tour turned a solemn ceremony into a celebration of commercialism. I would warn anyone to avoid your tour like the plague and take a taxi to these places.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an excellent tour. Easy to find the travel office in Union Station and the tour was great. Well worth going on this tour and the driver was interesting.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Fabulous day, tour guide on coach very good and informative

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

We enjoyed or day visiting Mt Vernon and the Arlington Cemetery. Mt Vernon was excellent. We arrived early and had a lot of the sites to ourselves, however it was in October so that was in their off peak season.
The visit to the cemetery was good but needed more time there. We had to cut our visit short so the bus could go back to the Union Station to drop off the half day people and pick up some further patrons.
What should have happened is that the bus takes the half day people back the the Station and then pick up the full day people on it's return from picking up further people from Union Station.
That would have enabled us to have more time at the cemetery.
Having said that, what we saw was excellent but we had to go back to see other graves such as Audie Murphy.
I would certainly recommend this trip but the company does need to give its patron more time at the cemetery.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message