A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 375 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was easy to book the tour. We really enjoyed the relaxing river trip combined with visit to Mount Vernon. The views of the river added a new dimension to seeing George Washington's home. Mount Vernon is a wonderful stop all by itself: the house, tour, lunch at the Mount Vernon Inn, the new museum, and a fabulous gift shop.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Driver was very knowledgeable and friendly...good time thank you!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very nice trip. Mt. Vernon is beautiful. It was a very hot day so we didn't explore as much as we thought we would.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Richard was our bus driver. Very informed and knowledgeable. I only have one small complaint and that is the tour said we were going to go to the Lincoln Memorial and Viet Nam memorial and have a chance to walk around. I feel we spent to much time at Mt. Vernon. But , overall it was a nice tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Cruising the Potomac River made our Mt. Vernon trip very special. Many interesting sights and bits of history were pointed out along the way. Mt. Vernon is a must-see! We need to go back to spend more time in the interactive education center. The movies were great. The tour of the house was excellent and managed quite well with all of the many visitors.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We went on the Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour on a Monday. The bus was not nearly full. The driver / tour leader, Bob, was fantastic. His knowledge about all the points of interest, their history, and interesting facts about them is encyclopaedic. Often he would slow down and even stop momentarily in order that we could see the point of interest and hear about it. In order to avoid long lines, Bob switched the morning and afternoon parts - we went to Arlington in the morning and there were virtually no lines. The only deficiency in the Arlington part was with the description of the trolley schedule and stops not a fault of our driver. We did not use our time well and should have stopped in one other place, had we known where was the best place to stop and how long everything would take. The situation would also have been better, had the morning portion been 1/2 hour longer. Bob stopped at Washington's church in Alexandria for about 15 minutes as an extra stop, not on the schedule. The church grounds were lovely, however, that particular day the church volunteer was not able to come and open the church. The afternoon part of the tour was virtually perfect - no lines, a great lunch at Mount Vernon at our own expense and beautiful and interesting walking trails everywhere. It is possible to walk the entire grounds and see everything in the afternoon. In fact, we had more than enough time and this bears on our comment to lengthen the morning part by 1/2 hour. Despite these minor logistical issues, we would recommend the tour at least with Bob highly.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

In spite of the rain it was an incredibly wonderful experience! Had been there over 15 yrs. ago, but did not visit the 16-sided barn at that time. The stroll through the woods to the barn is wonderful and the barn itself was impressive to see. The cruise went off without a hitch highly recommended!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The bus driver/tourguide was excellent fantastic tour highly recommend

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved it. One of the best tours I've taken. Thanks.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed the Tour. The bike trail was great and the tour of Mt. Vernon was very enjoyable.
The bike company was very helpful and attentive to our needs.
Thanks for a great time!

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful! Knowledgable driver who provides a great commentary.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Just returned last week of May 2015, the day trip to Mount Vernon and Arlington Cemetery were very interesting. The 400,000 headstones at Arlington Cemetery were overwhelming. We were able to see the changing of the guard and the tomb of the Unknown Soldier, and that was very humbling. Mount Vernon was beautiful, from the house with the Potomac River to the whole estate. Our bus driver for the day was Tony, and he was very kind and knowledgeable. The only thing I would do differently if I go back to DC would be to go with the weather is cooler. Most of these activities were outside, and the humidity combined with the heat was awful.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this trip. A definite must see if you are heading to Washington.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Biked one way. Boated back. Peanut-chestnut soup and bread pudding at Mt Vernon restaurant were great complements to the tour. Three hours went quick at the estate.

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was very good. It was a very convenient way to see both Mount Vernon and Arlington Cemetary. The Bus Driver did a very good job and was very informative. The only criticism we have is the information on where to check in at Union Station and where to meet the bus could be more detailed as we had a difficult time finding where to check in and meet the bus as it is a large facility handling all forms of transportation not only Bus Tours.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is definitely a journey to the past. You are guided every step of the way. There are narrators throughout.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Trip!! Would recommend to anyone. Had 2 teenagers with us and they LOVED it!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour. Tony was a great driver and tour guide.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything was great. As an African American, I especially appreciated the memorial to the slaves and seeing part of their history and legacy remembered.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a wonderful way to see Mt. Vernon, when we had NOT rented a car for our stay. It was easy to get to the dock area using the Metro. The sights down the Potomac River were interesting and the guide did a great job of telling us interesting facts about what we were seeing. I highly recommend this tour to families staying in DC who have not rented transportation, but are relying on the Metro as a way to see sights.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour! It gave us plenty of time to see everything we wanted to see without feeling rushed. The driver was great! Very informative .

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message