A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 308 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the perfect tour for the 2nd day of our three day tour of Washington, DC. Walked six hours the first day of our visit, so sitting down for the river cruise was a joy. The visit at Mt. Vernon was a highlight of our trip. The dock where the boat leaves DC from is very easy to get to using the subway and walking a few blocks.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was just right for people who want to just see the highlights of these places. Arrived at Mt. Vernon in a timely manner. Toured the house and had time to see a little of the grounds too. Enjoyed the tram ride around Arlington and got to see guard changing. Stopped by Kennedy plots and even saw Space Shuttle plots. Good overview trip. Liked this whole experience a lot!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We loved both of the tours that we took. The trip to Mt. Vernon was full of information and history before we arrived and on the way home. The visit to Washington's home was breathtaking (though very hot).
Our trip to Arlington was wonderful as well and included unexpected stops at the Lincoln Memorial and the Reflecting pool. The driver was wonderful, friendly and full of information.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We enjoy the entire tour ; Mount Vernon in the morning and Arlington Cementary in the afternoon. Our tour guide Tony was great, very friendly and nice.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

We had a bad experience. The driver was not clear at drop off on where the pick up would be. At the Lincoln memorial my wife and I thought he said he would pick us up where he dropped us off. We both have hearing aids and may have got it wrong. But he did not repeat himself and we waited at the wrong place. When we did not show up for pick up he chose not to check for us where he dropped us off and we were forced to take a cab back to our hotel.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great job by our driver, very knowledgable. Everything was on time and smooth. Mt, Vernon is one of the must see places on a trip to DC.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour . . . we loved being able to visit Mt. Vernon and Arlington without a car and appreciated the tour guide's knowledge and wit!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I can't say enough about our trip. We planned it in one day, it was a last minute vacation. We decided what we wanted to see and I seen Viator had good reviews so I called them and set up all of our tours. It was so quick I was amazed. The Mount Vernon trip was awesome. It was just a strange feeling being in our country's first Presidents house. Wonderful trip. Must see. The workers their are so knowledgeable about the history of Washington. Food Court, Museum, Gift Shop. Workers are in costume. Just Awesome.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very good tour. It took just a little bit to get used to the accent of our driver, but he was courteous and funny and a good driver and informed us very well.
We had not remembered or weren't aware that we were also doing the war monuments with this tour so that was like a bonus!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My 10 year old and I came from Bakersfield, CA to see some REAL history and that's what we got! The tour of Mt Vernon was very educational. It washumbling walking the grounds of our nation's first president. The tours bus driver was very entertaining. He packed in many interesting facts along the route. Thanks Viator for living up to the description plus a little more.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Bus driver, tony, was awesome! This is a trip that requires a lot of walking so be prepared! Arlington was awesome too and changing of guard at unknown soldiers tomb was an unforgettable experience! Much respect for the guards and their commitment to their duties!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very good tour...so much more than we realized there was to see.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We had the best driver He explained everything thoroughly all the way to Mount Vernon and back. The tour resumed in DC with the changing of the guard and that wad wonderful as well

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message