A visit to George Washington's Virginia home, Mount Vernon, is an easy escape from Washington D.C. – one that the president himself enjoyed. It's also a journey through history: the country estate of this quintessential gentleman has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 459 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

River trip was great Boat crew very helpful and friendly We loved the a/c on the way back. RS

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Informative and easy! Enjoyed the boat, river cruise, and guided tours!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tony the tour guide was the BOMB! Tony was very personable, informative, friendly and had a GRAND personality. Highly recommend this tour. Worth the money, for sure.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a very nice way to see Mount Vernon. A nice peaceful cruise up the river on a beautiful morning. Could have used a little more time at Mount Vernon, but we managed to get it all in. What an amazing piece of property.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

WAS GREAT.WILL RECOMEND IT AND WILL DO IT AGAIN

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Unbelievable history! Breathtaking views of the Potomac! Stood there imagining how Martha felt as she awaited the return of her husband. Audio guided tour was great, gave so much information as you traveled through the amazing property. Reciting the Pledge of Allegiance in a group, standing in front of the burial tombs of George and Martha, was an emotional experience. Such a privilege to spend time on the very land and in the very rooms of the property he called home. A full and informative perspective into the life of one of the greatest men to ever live. An absolute must for anyone who loves this great country!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to get to Mt. Vernon. There was plenty of time to see the estate, eat lunch and shop in the gift store. Don't buy any of the jellies or jams they offer if you are flying home...TSA confiscated these items at the airport!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great experience. We didn't think we could spend 3 hours there, but we were wrong. So much to see and learn about. The boat ride was great going there as there was narration regarding different things along the shoreline, but the ride back seemed long.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was very a nice experience. Driver was very good and he has a very good knowledge about DC. Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery both were excellent places to hang out. I wish I had more time to explore the places. We started at sharp 8 am and back by 5.30 pm.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Due to morning traffic in the city, we missed the boat by a few minutes. The people at the company gave us some options. We chose taking the subway to a point and then the city bus to Mt. Vernon. We then were able to take the cruise back. That was nice and it was really neat to see Mt. Vernon from the Potomac river and other sights on the river.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was interesting but disappointed cause the outside of the mansion wasn't in its originaors and the outside was being renovated.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Admission Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed the boat ride on the Potomac. We liked Mount Vernon very much. Your crew was exceptional.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I find that there was not enough time for the tour at Mount Vernon. To fully explore the Museum and other sites, I think that an extra hour should be added.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The tour is really just a ride to Mt. Vernon and a ride back. Tour guide didn't add a whole lot of information. The biggest problem was that they overbooked the tour. My wife and I were the last two on the bus with one vacant seat in the very back and one next to the driver which was supposed to be the guide's seat. We were not going to go if we couldn't sit together for a 45-minute ride each way, but another group split up for us and the guide stood up the entire way which probably wasn't legal.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Beautiful day and beautiful boat trip. Mt. Vernon was under renovations and was overcrowded. That was a disappointment. But the tour was great and we would go again, just not in the summer.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

This tour was disappointing. We spent way too much time at Mount Vernon which left very little time to tour Arlington Cemetery. We had to be back to the bus by 4:30, which meant we ONLY had time to see the Changing of the Guard. There was no time to stop at the Kennedy gravesite or the Lee home. Our teenage grandkids were very disappointed they couldn't stop at the Kennedy gravesite, so we ended up going back to Arlington the next day paid for the Arlington Tour and were able to take our time to see everything. Save your money, don't purchase the VIATOR Tour, do it on your own!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was easy to book the tour. We really enjoyed the relaxing river trip combined with visit to Mount Vernon. The views of the river added a new dimension to seeing George Washington's home. Mount Vernon is a wonderful stop all by itself: the house, tour, lunch at the Mount Vernon Inn, the new museum, and a fabulous gift shop.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Driver was very knowledgeable and friendly...good time thank you!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

NewTravler
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and a must see for any vacation in the Washington DC area. The boat cruise on the Potomac River was enjoyable. Once we arrived we had set times for the house tour which allowed plenty of time afterwards to tour different parts of the grounds including a small on-site museum. I found out this large estate and surrounding land is only a fraction of the surrounding land that George Washington owned when he was alive. The tour of home was great and really is a step back in time to the founding days of United States. Highly recommended!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Not a single complaint.....well, except the coffee on the boat was really undrinkable. Strangest off taste I have ever encountered--and I am not normally picky about my coffee. Other than that, everything was great. Everything about the trip was well organized and professional.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great! The boat ride on the Spirit of Mount Vernon was fantastic and informative although a tad chilly and it was a great way to approach the estate. The grounds at Mount Vernon were spectacular, as was the tour within the house. My only complaint is that I wish we had more time to spend there, not being able to see the Distillery and feeling a bit rushed in the GORGEOUS museum that they have in the visitor's center / food court. Another regret is my choice in footwear all of the paths are gravel/dirt, so sneakers are a must!! I recommend this trip to all, but bring a jacket for the boat ride and do not wear sandals!!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very nice trip. Mt. Vernon is beautiful. It was a very hot day so we didn't explore as much as we thought we would.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message