Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

National Air and Space Museum

Each year, eight million people visit the cavernous halls of the National Air and Space Museum, for this popular Smithsonian museum is one of the best for kids of all ages, full of interactivity and things that go fast, boom, and swoosh! The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 259 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kmjedwards1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the best tours I have been on from Viator. I think it was due to the excellent narration from the bus driver, Cheryl. Due to the traffic difficulties, secondary to Rolling Thunder, she was outstanding in working around the traffic to get us to all of the monuments and historic places highlighted on the web for this tour. With her love of history, she really added a lot to our knowledge of US history.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

Sean M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

I was very disappointed with this hop on hop off pass. The buses were supposed to come every 20 minutes and we were lucky if it was every 45 min. We even had a driver shut the door in my husbands face and drive off. This was a complete waste of money. We purchased cards for the Boston and New York area and were very happy with them.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Diana D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Worst tour ever! I paid full price for 2 individuals and saw/heard nothing ... literally nothing. DO NOT WASTE YOUR ... terrible - terrible -terrible.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Dona L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

we left Williamsburg at 4:30 am but still did not make it time for tour. Disappointed for sure.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

Fernando M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The bus was always delayed and most of the time i walked without taking the bus

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

leslie c

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

In all honesty I cannot recommend this tour. I have taken previous Hop On/Hop Off tours offered by Viator and was extremely pleased, but this tour fell well short of the mark. I purchased the 48 hour, and on the first day we did not have a live guide but had recorded audio. The recordings were way out of date, referring to events or structures that you could possibly experience on a future tour, as they would not be complete until 2015!!! Also the speaker clearly had never visited the DC area, as he kept referring to the Potomac River as the POT-toe-mac, when in really the pronunciation id pot-TOE-mic. In addition to that, the recordings did not sync with the physical location of the bus, often referring to sights that were no longer visible and in one case announcing that this was the stop for a given attraction, longer after we had passed the stop. The tour was also spoiled by the traffic experienced in DC. We spent more time stopped in traffic than we did moving. When the recording wasn't mentioning something that was not visible, we were treated to the most horrendous Progressive Jazz interlude imaginable. That may be some folks idea of music, but I think they are in the minority, and it certainly wasn't mine.

The second day wasn't much better, for while we had a live guide, the wind and her weak voice made the garbled and virtually unintelligible. We finally resorted to taking our earbuds out and trying to hear the guide from where we sat. So needless to say we missed a lot of the commentary. Again the constant and prolonged stops meant the guide just stood there for prolonged periods, with nothing to say. Altogether, this tour was a waste of money. I will take another Hop On/Hop Off tour in another city in the future, but I cannot recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Frank K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I enjoyed it. However, it's not the best tour for people who cannot speak English. I don't have that issue but just making a comment

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

Ramone R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was not what I had hoped for and I would not do it again.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Jerry S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

To much walking no even ask if there were handicap person on board. i would not reconmend this trip to an elderly friend

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was great, driver was wonderful. Being elderly we did have a problem with the walking.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

Tina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guides were great -- very informative.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

marichuy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

the most amazing place. We were able learn and watch the cherry blossom.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

TIMOTHY J

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Thought the day trip was great except very disappointed that we didn't see the Smithsonian air and space museum that was on the agenda when I booked the tickets

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

Suzannepic1

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Value for money. Driver was also a great raconteur!

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

Kav M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Beautifully sunny day on an open-top bus, we managed to squeeze everything into just one day which was perfect for us.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

scott i

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Employees: Most were great, some were a bit questionable. Some talk way too fast!
Bus: Couldn't see a thing if one sat in the lower part of the bus. To see, one must sit on the top deck, which lends itself to freezing. Buses don't seem to run too close to a schedule.
If I were to spend money on a bus tour, to with Big Bus--they are very visible and a bigger company so they either have more buses, or run close to a schedule.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

zhiguang x

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

It was awful. when we got off to see the sites, our driver and personal told us that a bus would be coming again to pick us up. we waited over an hour and a half in the heat burning from the sun. We will never take this again. they do not inform passengers correctly and they are not very concerned about passengers.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Rochelle A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

We booked this tour and your company used City Sights DC. We had used Viator in NYC and this service was great so booked it when we were in DC, as well. It was chilly, not your fault of course, but when the bus finally got there, we had to sit upstairs in cold because the bus was filthy in the closed in downstairs and the windows were all grimy! Plus they had mechanical problems and had to pull over and wait for another bus to pick us up! It's condition was just as bad. We saw another Hop on and off bus service that looked so much more updated and new equipment called Big Bus. I suggest you change your Service Provider so that clients like me will book through your service. It was quite expensive for 3 of us at 229.47. We only used it that afternoon from 1:30-4pm as that is when they stop running.We then decided we would rather walk the rest of the time instead of getting back on the next day.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Helen M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

This trip was disappointing to say the least, the day tour had no guide and the commentary didn't work either. The saving grace for this company was the Night Tour, the tour guide was very knowledgeable and did her best to show us as much as she could. Without the night tour it would have been very poor value for money.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Helen M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

The Day Tour was very disappointing, there was no tour guide and the recorded commentary wasn't working either. The company were saved by the Night Tour, the tour guide was very knowledgeable and did her best to get us to as many places as possible.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Chud W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Our first stop was out to Arlington National Cemetary. We wasted 3 and a half hours on the bus trying to get out there. Terrible service, no help, extremely long waits. Worst use of our money, and we never got back on and had to pay to Uber our next day.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

david

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Covers access to most of the attractions, although the audio systems on all these buses need upgrades

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Lisa L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

We booked the trip for a Sunday. It was only when we arrived for the tour that we learned the Capital is closed on Sundays. The tour was good, but I booked it to see the Capital and we didn't get to.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

Helen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Granddaughter and I had a great time in DC. The hop on hop off bus tour was great lots of info from guides and so easy to get everywhere

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

honey

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

it was a full day of information, about of wonderful city of dc. lots to see, with loads of informative info.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message