Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

National Mall (The Mall)

Stretching from the Capitol to the Lincoln Memorial, the National Mall is a wide, tree-lined expanse of open space between the Constitution and Independence avenues. The Mall is the center of D.C. tourist attractions, fringed by the Smithsonian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The drivers and staff were friendly and helpful and did the best they could, but an earth day concert was going on in the national mall and because of traffic they were unable to get us to many off the important sites and we were unable to see much of what we wanted to on Saturday, which was disappointing because our time on Sunday was limited. We saw as much as we could but I truly wish that I had known about the concert, but because we are from out of state we had no idea. It would be nice if these kinds of places let you know ahead of time or at least gave out a discount

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Not sure about this tour. The problem is that you can do all of what it contained with 'free' walking tours, which even with a good tip are better value in my opinion. Into the bargain, we could not take the boat trip and as the alternative was being dumped in a shopping mall, this reduced the value of the whole trip for me. Oh and the guide obviously had a thing about the wrongs visited upon the locals by the Brits over the centuries!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Ken C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An outstanding day tour with one of the best guides we have ever experienced. There were only 6 on the tour and this made it even better.
Brilliant weather with clear blue skies and an outstanding guide who shared all sorts of insightful comments and history. A great way to be introduced to the city. Pace of the tour was excellent , lunch break was good at the Pentagon Shopping Mall.
An outstanding day tour and certainly recommend it as a great way to get an introduction to this wonderful city and its history.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

AEaddy
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, Lynette is a wealth of knowledge. It is best to take this tour in the Fall/Winter, less traffic and you can have a smaller, more intimate group and get all of your questions answered.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A great way to get an over-view of the city. Both the guides (Destiny and the guide on the bus) were excellent - they were informative, helpful, energetic and amusing. The only downside was the stop for lunch in the Pentagon Mall - awful environment and the food choices were all fat-laden, poor quality fast food. I am sure the boxed lunch on the summertime cruise would be a big improvement.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Good tour guide. Seems to me that we didn't make the stops that I saw on the website, but it was good enough. I also don't get how the Potomac boat ride was taken out, due to the winter time weather, and it's replacement was being dropped off at a crowded mall, which was being billed as a historic place? and the prices weren't dropped. Won't be going again

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Anthony
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Started off slowly and a bit disorganised but improved through out the day. Guides very knowledgeable and always helpful to all the visitors.
Lunch at the Pentagon Mall a bit of a disappointment, would have preferred the Potomac boat trip, but understand it October is the seasonal change.
Would recommend it

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Wow! What an amazing way to see the Mall and Monuments. We had a wonderful time with much thanks to our knowledgeable and fun guide Aaron.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The beginning of the tour was confusing as different tours joined ours and some ended before the one we selected. Once we got settled Andy was an excellent guide and the tour was quite good. But being dropped off at the local mall and being provided a meal voucher for the local food court for lunch was not fitting with the rest of the tour. Especially when the summer tour got a boat ride with lunch.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Jackie was a great guide. Her tour was full of information and wonderful stories. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves very much. Our experience at the Mall would have been less enjoyable if we had done it on our own. Thanks for a great tour.

Doing what: Small-Group National Mall Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a great way to see portions of Washington DC and the monuments on the national mall. We will definately use Viator again!!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fortunately for me and my children, we were part of a very small group. This helped with maneuvering through the crowds. We saw 8 memorials/monuments and made a special pit-stop at the Scout Memorial on our return trip. My son, who is 8, is a Scout and the guide had no issues with the extra stop. Biking through the city is the only way to see DC sites up close.....I couldn't imagine walking this tour! The guide was very patient, well informed on all the sites, made sure my kids were safe and stayed close to the group, we all had a great time!! I'd do it again and totally recommend it to anyone....novice or expert rider, it was a leisurely ride around town. I clocked just under 6 miles on my Garmin....it sure didn't feel like it!!

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was expert in the history f the development of the National Mall and adjoining monuments and museums. He delivered and provided such in-depth advise, we could clearly understand why the Mall was configured and developed in the way it was.

I came away from the tour feeling I had a better appreciation of the American culture and history of the Mall and its building. I would highly recommend this tour for those who want to know more than superficial information. Well done!

Doing what: Small-Group National Mall Walking Tour in Washington DC

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Good overall; delivered on what was advertised. The only hitch occurred when we were 'stuck' at the National Zoo. It seems the smaller buses used on the Green Loop were full and we were prevented from boarding. So we were forced to take the Metrorail and loose two critical hours from our touring plans and adjust the rest of our visit.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

the driver didnt even inform everyone in the bus how bad it can go wrong if the rain starts to pour down, sure enough when it started to rain, we couldnt even get downstair to get the poncho because the driver fill the bus with a lot of people and we cant even get downstairs because nobody wants to move. it was aterrible experience especially we had 3 small kids with us.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message