Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

National Mall (The Mall)

Stretching from the Capitol to the Lincoln Memorial, the National Mall is a wide, tree-lined expanse of open space between the Constitution and Independence avenues. The Mall is the center of D.C. tourist attractions, fringed by the Smithsonian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

From expierence, bike tours are the best way to orient yourself to a city and get basic facts about a lot of attractions. We were a small group and were able to do more than a larger group but still didn't cover as much as I had expected for a 3 hour tour. Most of your time is spent at memorials.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is the perfect trip if you have a guest who only has one day to see Washington DC! The amount we saw was amazing, the guide was knowledgeable and engaging, the driver was prompt and skilled, and it was a small group so it felt very personal. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The drivers and staff were friendly and helpful and did the best they could, but an earth day concert was going on in the national mall and because of traffic they were unable to get us to many off the important sites and we were unable to see much of what we wanted to on Saturday, which was disappointing because our time on Sunday was limited. We saw as much as we could but I truly wish that I had known about the concert, but because we are from out of state we had no idea. It would be nice if these kinds of places let you know ahead of time or at least gave out a discount

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Not sure about this tour. The problem is that you can do all of what it contained with 'free' walking tours, which even with a good tip are better value in my opinion. Into the bargain, we could not take the boat trip and as the alternative was being dumped in a shopping mall, this reduced the value of the whole trip for me. Oh and the guide obviously had a thing about the wrongs visited upon the locals by the Brits over the centuries!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Ken C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An outstanding day tour with one of the best guides we have ever experienced. There were only 6 on the tour and this made it even better.
Brilliant weather with clear blue skies and an outstanding guide who shared all sorts of insightful comments and history. A great way to be introduced to the city. Pace of the tour was excellent , lunch break was good at the Pentagon Shopping Mall.
An outstanding day tour and certainly recommend it as a great way to get an introduction to this wonderful city and its history.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

AEaddy
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, Lynette is a wealth of knowledge. It is best to take this tour in the Fall/Winter, less traffic and you can have a smaller, more intimate group and get all of your questions answered.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A great way to get an over-view of the city. Both the guides (Destiny and the guide on the bus) were excellent - they were informative, helpful, energetic and amusing. The only downside was the stop for lunch in the Pentagon Mall - awful environment and the food choices were all fat-laden, poor quality fast food. I am sure the boxed lunch on the summertime cruise would be a big improvement.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Good tour guide. Seems to me that we didn't make the stops that I saw on the website, but it was good enough. I also don't get how the Potomac boat ride was taken out, due to the winter time weather, and it's replacement was being dropped off at a crowded mall, which was being billed as a historic place? and the prices weren't dropped. Won't be going again

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Anthony
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Started off slowly and a bit disorganised but improved through out the day. Guides very knowledgeable and always helpful to all the visitors.
Lunch at the Pentagon Mall a bit of a disappointment, would have preferred the Potomac boat trip, but understand it October is the seasonal change.
Would recommend it

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Wow! What an amazing way to see the Mall and Monuments. We had a wonderful time with much thanks to our knowledgeable and fun guide Aaron.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The beginning of the tour was confusing as different tours joined ours and some ended before the one we selected. Once we got settled Andy was an excellent guide and the tour was quite good. But being dropped off at the local mall and being provided a meal voucher for the local food court for lunch was not fitting with the rest of the tour. Especially when the summer tour got a boat ride with lunch.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Jackie was a great guide. Her tour was full of information and wonderful stories. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves very much. Our experience at the Mall would have been less enjoyable if we had done it on our own. Thanks for a great tour.

Doing what: Small-Group National Mall Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a great way to see portions of Washington DC and the monuments on the national mall. We will definately use Viator again!!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fortunately for me and my children, we were part of a very small group. This helped with maneuvering through the crowds. We saw 8 memorials/monuments and made a special pit-stop at the Scout Memorial on our return trip. My son, who is 8, is a Scout and the guide had no issues with the extra stop. Biking through the city is the only way to see DC sites up close.....I couldn't imagine walking this tour! The guide was very patient, well informed on all the sites, made sure my kids were safe and stayed close to the group, we all had a great time!! I'd do it again and totally recommend it to anyone....novice or expert rider, it was a leisurely ride around town. I clocked just under 6 miles on my Garmin....it sure didn't feel like it!!

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was expert in the history f the development of the National Mall and adjoining monuments and museums. He delivered and provided such in-depth advise, we could clearly understand why the Mall was configured and developed in the way it was.

I came away from the tour feeling I had a better appreciation of the American culture and history of the Mall and its building. I would highly recommend this tour for those who want to know more than superficial information. Well done!

Doing what: Small-Group National Mall Walking Tour in Washington DC

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Good overall; delivered on what was advertised. The only hitch occurred when we were 'stuck' at the National Zoo. It seems the smaller buses used on the Green Loop were full and we were prevented from boarding. So we were forced to take the Metrorail and loose two critical hours from our touring plans and adjust the rest of our visit.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

the driver didnt even inform everyone in the bus how bad it can go wrong if the rain starts to pour down, sure enough when it started to rain, we couldnt even get downstair to get the poncho because the driver fill the bus with a lot of people and we cant even get downstairs because nobody wants to move. it was aterrible experience especially we had 3 small kids with us.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My husband and I, and our 2 kids age 14 and 12 went on this tour. This tour is a great way to see the monuments-- without walking yourself to death! We had spent the day on the Mall- everyone was tired and exhausted from the walking and had only seen a couple of the museums, the castle and the capital building. I was worried we would not survive our bike tour that evening! The tour was great, our tour guide (Andrea? sp?) was awesome, and the bikes were a great way to get around quickly to see the monuments and not get too tired. The weather was cooler that evening, the sunset was beautiful-- a perfect tour! I would highly recommend this!!!

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The evening tour on a bike with a very good guide is the perfect way to view the Mall and all the memorials, the guide gave a lot of interesting and relevant information throughout The tour. Halfway the tour the guide had a very welcome snack for us. The next day we had the bike for free so we made a tour with our tree kids (18, 16, 14) to the Pentagon, Arlington and The White House. We were lucky to see that The President just landed with his helicopter in his garden. It was quite hot in Washington and other people looked at us jealously: we had a nice wind and did not have to walk throughout this town. We recommand this tour to everyone especially if you have kids.

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

At first, my family and I had tried to do the loop around the capital once, then decide where to hop-off and on afterward. Well, this didn't work out too well because it was way too hot to sit on top of the bus for just the once-around. We ended up getting off for refreshments sooner than expected. The lower lever of the bus was not climate controled and always seemed to be filled anyway. So, we had to sit at the top and it was around 95 degrees at least. So, I feel misled about the climate control and also it was somewhat difficult to determine where the bus picked up at first. Until we became somewhat pro at looking for small burgandy and yellow signs attached to posts here and there. Some signs wrapped around posts, not even sticking out plainly. I feel we should have gotten more accomplished by using this tour, but I feel we did not get our monies worth:(

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Not too many of our "VIP tour" group were happy with the tour........we were just 18 in all, and that was great (always like the smaller groups). But when we got to do the hour cruise they clumped us with another group of about 25 people in a boat that looked anything like a "tour" boat.....the one in London was a heck of a lot better. Then when at the Capital they clumped us again with a group of about 35 people, while our guide stayed at the back on her i-pod all the time. So, "nix" to the tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

I did not personally take the tour. I was in charge of buying tickets for a small group. I called Viator and talked to someone I thought was knowledgeable about the ticket buying process, etc. I was told that I had to pick up tickets at Union Station and could do so a few days before. When I got to Union Station the next day I was told that I had to buy the tickets the day of the actual tour and that I could have picked up the tickets at a kiosk in the mall next to my hotel in Pentagon City. I spent $30 on cab fare, wasted over an hour of my day during my meeting, I am the planner so that was not convenient, and was given incorrect information. The women at the Union Station kiosk were helpful, but shook their heads when I told them what Todd at Viator had told me. I will NEVER recommend or use Viator for future events. It was costly and a waste of valuable time with having to run around from one place to another. Horrible experience.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were on limited time in Washington DC and wanted to see as much as possible, so this was a fantastic tour. Our Guide Ralph was a great personality and had fantastic knowledge to share. The tour takes in all the main tourist attractions (National Mall, Capitol Hill, White House, Lincoln Memorial, Reflecting Pool, Vietnam and Korean War Memorials to name just a few) and you see 100's of more sights along the way. The trip includes a 1 hour river boat ride on the Potomac River which was an added treat and you see everything from a different aspect including Watergate and the Pentagon. You can add lunch for a very reasonable price ($10) and it is delivered to the bus just before you get on the boat and bottles of water are supplied FOC throughout the trip. Excellent value for money and highly recommended

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

We took this tour on the first day of our 8 day stay in Washington. The large "luxory coach" that was advertised was replaced with a small van, and a river cruise that was included in the tour was cancelled. Our tour guide was "Al" or so he said. This "insider" tour was full of lies. "Al" made up all sorts or stories about visiting the White House, upcoming presidential appearances and even a story about the Queen coming to visit to honour the unveiling of President Clinton's new Bust - all sorts of stories that we learned later over the next 7 days, were just lies. We have no idea why this tour guide felt the need to make up such ridiculour stories - we were on this tour to get information and facts not made up stories. And the driver just went along with it all. We are very disappointed with the silliness of these lies and are now questioning EVERYTHING that we were told on this tour. Shame on this tour group!!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

All the routes covered everything in Washington you may wish to see. Went to the zoo and saw the pandas, Arlington and all that entails, Pentagon, Georgetown, all the museums and the Washington Mall. The narrators were knowledgable and the drivers very safe. Worth every penny and was great value, as well as the best way to get around over 3 days. Stops were easy to recognise and buses ran on time which was essential for early morning and changeover routes. Had people on the ground also helping with information at a lot of stops. Just one minor complaint, the marching band music was far too loud on one bus early in the morning with recorded comments, even without earphones.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message