Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

National Mall (The Mall)

Stretching from the Capitol to the Lincoln Memorial, the National Mall is a wide, tree-lined expanse of open space between the Constitution and Independence avenues. The Mall is the center of D.C. tourist attractions, fringed by the Smithsonian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

S C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

destination A to B takes way longer time, almost takes 1 hr 45 mins to 2 hrs. Very infrequent, big bus should increase the frequency as well as should cover at least until 9 pm during summers. The good thing was I had 48 hr ticket but was able to use it for 72 hrs. But given the 72 hrs I was only able to board it 3 times in total since it took long time from going destination A to B, rather people should use Circulator service which runs every 10min and is 1 per person per ride and takes you around all the memorials and national mall.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mrs Nicola J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Chris was very informative. Didn't have time to visit the gift shop at 'The Capitol Building' however you can easily go back as it is free to enter. We were not able to visit 2 of the monuments due to road closures however Chris took us to another monument that is not normally included on this tour and it was enjoyable. Well recommended tour to give you an overview of the Washington monuments

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Damian D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This is a great way to get a taste of the sites in D.C. If you are in D.C. for an extended stay, I would recommend doing this early on so you get a sense of what areas you might want to revisit the tour doesn't allow a lot of time at each site, which is understandable since you only have 3 hours to essentially tour the entire National Mall.

Doing what: Best Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Eileen B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Emily was great--she really knew her way around. Hit many many monuments/memorials, stopping almost too often--but that's what you get on the National Mall! Plenty of time to walk around each stop where appropriate. A very easy ride since the area around the Mall is pretty flat, except for Capitol Hill--which really is a bit of a hill!

Doing what: Best Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Jonathan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This Bike Tour was great. A small group and we covered most of the fantastic monuments in DC. Doing the night bike ride meant there were less people about and the cooler evening temperature made it most enjoyable. The ride was easy, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

Alan C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Your employees were very friendly in the Washington DC area. I only have one small complaint and that was one of the buses we hopped on had no air conditioner. And it was over 90 degrees that day... Anyway I did enjoy how your employees treated our family. We are from NY and are considering taking a tour hear in NYC....

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

ssauer

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

I have booked numerous Viator tours in the past, in both the US and Europe, and unfortunately I have to say this was the worst organized tour I have been on with Viator. The tour company USA Guided Tours was so unorganized to begin with. We started the tour off at the US Capital Building. There were no instructions given as to what we were going to see at the Capital Building, where we needed to be, etc. It felt like we were left on our own to figure things out. Then after, we walked outside to meet up with our shuttle buses, and that's when the confusion really started. The buses weren't there so they kept calling them to come pick us up. They had 4 extra passengers to accommodate and find spots for. We must have wasted about 45 minutes while they tried to sort this all out. This confusion continued on at our first stop - The White House. We were on a smaller 13 - person passenger bus which I believe was added at the last minute but there was no speaker system so the guests at the back of the bus could not hear the tour guide. Then they weren't really sure when the Boat Ride on the Potomac would be, which seems odd to me as you think it would be a standard schedule for this tour that runs every day. Our driver, Marvin was excellent. He was very courteous, helpful and a good driver. Our tour guide for the monuments was Lynette, she was fine too. Once they got past their logistical problems the tour went better and we did get to see all the main monuments and buildings in Washington. Would I recommend this tour - unfortunately I would say no simply because of the lack of organization.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Bonnie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was so much better than walking!!! All of the people trudging around the National Mall were looking at us with envy and we breezed by on our bike with our fabulous guide from Bike and Roll ! I have recommended this to many friends. Thx

Doing what: Best Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Kevin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour filled a good day.
It was a shame that they were doing remedial work on the Capitol Building, it had scaffolding around it, and the Mall was dug up with turf replacement going on.
We missed out on the Jefferson Memorial but all the others gave us a good insight to the pride and respect Americans give to their history and armed forces. It was a moving experience.
Our guide was knowledgeable and gave a good, humorous, commentary of each site.
Seeing Washington DC from the Potomac River was also good, but lunch on the boat was a bit of a shambles. There werent enough tables and chairs for the number of tourists on the boat.
I would recommend this tour to get a good look at Washington Mall and the associated Memorials when time is restricted by a short visit to Washington DC.

Doing what: The White House and National Mall Guided Tour in Washington DC

Shauni H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Allows you to see the majority of the must see monuments in the city. My only recommendation is a more formalized tour. Although I loved Chris's jokes, but he too is a knowledgeable man. I would have loved more information at the sites and moving as a group opposed to here is the mall, go explore.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Lane J

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

From expierence, bike tours are the best way to orient yourself to a city and get basic facts about a lot of attractions. We were a small group and were able to do more than a larger group but still didn't cover as much as I had expected for a 3 hour tour. Most of your time is spent at memorials.

Doing what: Best Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Shirley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is the perfect trip if you have a guest who only has one day to see Washington DC! The amount we saw was amazing, the guide was knowledgeable and engaging, the driver was prompt and skilled, and it was a small group so it felt very personal. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

David L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The drivers and staff were friendly and helpful and did the best they could, but an earth day concert was going on in the national mall and because of traffic they were unable to get us to many off the important sites and we were unable to see much of what we wanted to on Saturday, which was disappointing because our time on Sunday was limited. We saw as much as we could but I truly wish that I had known about the concert, but because we are from out of state we had no idea. It would be nice if these kinds of places let you know ahead of time or at least gave out a discount

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Chris W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Not sure about this tour. The problem is that you can do all of what it contained with 'free' walking tours, which even with a good tip are better value in my opinion. Into the bargain, we could not take the boat trip and as the alternative was being dumped in a shopping mall, this reduced the value of the whole trip for me. Oh and the guide obviously had a thing about the wrongs visited upon the locals by the Brits over the centuries!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Ken C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An outstanding day tour with one of the best guides we have ever experienced. There were only 6 on the tour and this made it even better.
Brilliant weather with clear blue skies and an outstanding guide who shared all sorts of insightful comments and history. A great way to be introduced to the city. Pace of the tour was excellent , lunch break was good at the Pentagon Shopping Mall.
An outstanding day tour and certainly recommend it as a great way to get an introduction to this wonderful city and its history.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

AEaddy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, Lynette is a wealth of knowledge. It is best to take this tour in the Fall/Winter, less traffic and you can have a smaller, more intimate group and get all of your questions answered.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

maree_faulkner

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A great way to get an over-view of the city. Both the guides (Destiny and the guide on the bus) were excellent - they were informative, helpful, energetic and amusing. The only downside was the stop for lunch in the Pentagon Mall - awful environment and the food choices were all fat-laden, poor quality fast food. I am sure the boxed lunch on the summertime cruise would be a big improvement.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

JOSEPH B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Good tour guide. Seems to me that we didn't make the stops that I saw on the website, but it was good enough. I also don't get how the Potomac boat ride was taken out, due to the winter time weather, and it's replacement was being dropped off at a crowded mall, which was being billed as a historic place? and the prices weren't dropped. Won't be going again

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Anthony United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Started off slowly and a bit disorganised but improved through out the day. Guides very knowledgeable and always helpful to all the visitors.
Lunch at the Pentagon Mall a bit of a disappointment, would have preferred the Potomac boat trip, but understand it October is the seasonal change.
Would recommend it

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Anthea M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Wow! What an amazing way to see the Mall and Monuments. We had a wonderful time with much thanks to our knowledgeable and fun guide Aaron.

Doing what: Best Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

William P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The beginning of the tour was confusing as different tours joined ours and some ended before the one we selected. Once we got settled Andy was an excellent guide and the tour was quite good. But being dropped off at the local mall and being provided a meal voucher for the local food court for lunch was not fitting with the rest of the tour. Especially when the summer tour got a boat ride with lunch.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Clara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Jackie was a great guide. Her tour was full of information and wonderful stories. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves very much. Our experience at the Mall would have been less enjoyable if we had done it on our own. Thanks for a great tour.

Doing what: Small-Group National Mall Walking Tour in Washington DC

necmann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a great way to see portions of Washington DC and the monuments on the national mall. We will definately use Viator again!!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Dana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fortunately for me and my children, we were part of a very small group. This helped with maneuvering through the crowds. We saw 8 memorials/monuments and made a special pit-stop at the Scout Memorial on our return trip. My son, who is 8, is a Scout and the guide had no issues with the extra stop. Biking through the city is the only way to see DC sites up close.....I couldn't imagine walking this tour! The guide was very patient, well informed on all the sites, made sure my kids were safe and stayed close to the group, we all had a great time!! I'd do it again and totally recommend it to anyone....novice or expert rider, it was a leisurely ride around town. I clocked just under 6 miles on my Garmin....it sure didn't feel like it!!

Doing what: Best Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Steve S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was expert in the history f the development of the National Mall and adjoining monuments and museums. He delivered and provided such in-depth advise, we could clearly understand why the Mall was configured and developed in the way it was.

I came away from the tour feeling I had a better appreciation of the American culture and history of the Mall and its building. I would highly recommend this tour for those who want to know more than superficial information. Well done!

Doing what: Small-Group National Mall Walking Tour in Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message