Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

National Mall (The Mall)

Stretching from the Capitol to the Lincoln Memorial, the National Mall is a wide, tree-lined expanse of open space between the Constitution and Independence avenues. The Mall is the center of D.C. tourist attractions, fringed by the Smithsonian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was great! our tour guide was very knowledgeable and was able to point out small things that we would have never seen his name is Ralph..good job Ralph! It had rained a bit that day and they also provided us with ponchos and the bus was nice and warm when we returned..wonderful tour

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Charles A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tony and Christ our guide and bus driver were great in providing lots of interesting facts, information, and humor as this trip was truly the Washington DC Mall in ONE DAY.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Arahy D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

It was a fiasco from start to finish. Instead of the big new bus shown in the advertising we get an old, small, airport shuttle type vehicle that was dirty and smelly and whose air conditioning did not work with windows that would not open. Then figure on being made to walk long distances in the heat. It was horrifying having to watch them make a 70 something year old woman and her husband try to navigate a long concrete stairwell outside the Capital Bldg. so we can be marched on foot to the White House. The lunch cruise was an organizational fiasco, was late leaving, and was shortened by wind out of their control obviously. Save your money and find another company. We had a wonderful night tour that was a much better and less expensive experience. And don't worry about not getting into the Capital, the tour there doesn't even allow you to see the current House or Senate chambers.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Lynda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was perfect for our family of four. We covered all the memorials at the National Mall with a great narrative to go along with all the sights. We saw the Washington Monument, the WWII Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, the Korean Memorial, the FDR Memorial, the MLK Memorial and the Jefferson Memorial. So much more interesting when a knowledgeable guide tells a story along the way.

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a brilliant tour - we had John as our tour guide and Tony was our driver. I cannot fault either of them. It was a wirlwind tour and there is a lot of walking - probably about 8 miles! However you do get to see a huge amount of Washington's main attractions and we really didn't feel rushed. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. The included lunch is quite basic so if you are a big eater you may want to take more supplies. They do supply small bottles of water and ponchos if it rains. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jeffrey C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Trip to the Capital was a bust. Plan on being hungry the lunch was the worst, 3 slices of turkey and the smallest bag of chips I have ever seen. The other parts of the trip were great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

MissLouise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Not worth the money. Everything in DC is free to access but I thought by booking this tour we would be given priority access skip-the-lines but all the museums DC have airport-style security which you still have to line up for. At the National Archives we stood in line just like everybody else, even after clearing security, and no we did not get to visit some part of the museum not normally accessible to the public as the title of this tour implies. Guided tours of the Capitol are free anyway. With the amount of walking we did in the rain between locations where the bus would meet us, it would have been cheaper and easier to just grab taxis from the street. The Potomac River cruise was freezing and with the rain, it was difficult to see anything. The lunch was a salad roll and a soda. The tour itself was fine but it's just not worth the money because not only is everything free anyway, but it doesn't give you any kind of priority access.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

das n

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Late start on tour
small shuttle vehicle, very bumpy ride
not sticking to itinary
boat tours cancelled without notice after arriving at the dock

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

S C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

destination A to B takes way longer time, almost takes 1 hr 45 mins to 2 hrs. Very infrequent, big bus should increase the frequency as well as should cover at least until 9 pm during summers. The good thing was I had 48 hr ticket but was able to use it for 72 hrs. But given the 72 hrs I was only able to board it 3 times in total since it took long time from going destination A to B, rather people should use Circulator service which runs every 10min and is 1 per person per ride and takes you around all the memorials and national mall.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mrs Nicola J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Chris was very informative. Didn't have time to visit the gift shop at 'The Capitol Building' however you can easily go back as it is free to enter. We were not able to visit 2 of the monuments due to road closures however Chris took us to another monument that is not normally included on this tour and it was enjoyable. Well recommended tour to give you an overview of the Washington monuments

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Damian D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This is a great way to get a taste of the sites in D.C. If you are in D.C. for an extended stay, I would recommend doing this early on so you get a sense of what areas you might want to revisit the tour doesn't allow a lot of time at each site, which is understandable since you only have 3 hours to essentially tour the entire National Mall.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Eileen B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Emily was great--she really knew her way around. Hit many many monuments/memorials, stopping almost too often--but that's what you get on the National Mall! Plenty of time to walk around each stop where appropriate. A very easy ride since the area around the Mall is pretty flat, except for Capitol Hill--which really is a bit of a hill!

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Jonathan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This Bike Tour was great. A small group and we covered most of the fantastic monuments in DC. Doing the night bike ride meant there were less people about and the cooler evening temperature made it most enjoyable. The ride was easy, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

Alan C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Your employees were very friendly in the Washington DC area. I only have one small complaint and that was one of the buses we hopped on had no air conditioner. And it was over 90 degrees that day... Anyway I did enjoy how your employees treated our family. We are from NY and are considering taking a tour hear in NYC....

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

ssauer

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

I have booked numerous Viator tours in the past, in both the US and Europe, and unfortunately I have to say this was the worst organized tour I have been on with Viator. The tour company USA Guided Tours was so unorganized to begin with. We started the tour off at the US Capital Building. There were no instructions given as to what we were going to see at the Capital Building, where we needed to be, etc. It felt like we were left on our own to figure things out. Then after, we walked outside to meet up with our shuttle buses, and that's when the confusion really started. The buses weren't there so they kept calling them to come pick us up. They had 4 extra passengers to accommodate and find spots for. We must have wasted about 45 minutes while they tried to sort this all out. This confusion continued on at our first stop - The White House. We were on a smaller 13 - person passenger bus which I believe was added at the last minute but there was no speaker system so the guests at the back of the bus could not hear the tour guide. Then they weren't really sure when the Boat Ride on the Potomac would be, which seems odd to me as you think it would be a standard schedule for this tour that runs every day. Our driver, Marvin was excellent. He was very courteous, helpful and a good driver. Our tour guide for the monuments was Lynette, she was fine too. Once they got past their logistical problems the tour went better and we did get to see all the main monuments and buildings in Washington. Would I recommend this tour - unfortunately I would say no simply because of the lack of organization.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Bonnie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was so much better than walking!!! All of the people trudging around the National Mall were looking at us with envy and we breezed by on our bike with our fabulous guide from Bike and Roll ! I have recommended this to many friends. Thx

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Kevin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour filled a good day.
It was a shame that they were doing remedial work on the Capitol Building, it had scaffolding around it, and the Mall was dug up with turf replacement going on.
We missed out on the Jefferson Memorial but all the others gave us a good insight to the pride and respect Americans give to their history and armed forces. It was a moving experience.
Our guide was knowledgeable and gave a good, humorous, commentary of each site.
Seeing Washington DC from the Potomac River was also good, but lunch on the boat was a bit of a shambles. There werent enough tables and chairs for the number of tourists on the boat.
I would recommend this tour to get a good look at Washington Mall and the associated Memorials when time is restricted by a short visit to Washington DC.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Shauni H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Allows you to see the majority of the must see monuments in the city. My only recommendation is a more formalized tour. Although I loved Chris's jokes, but he too is a knowledgeable man. I would have loved more information at the sites and moving as a group opposed to here is the mall, go explore.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Lane J

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

From expierence, bike tours are the best way to orient yourself to a city and get basic facts about a lot of attractions. We were a small group and were able to do more than a larger group but still didn't cover as much as I had expected for a 3 hour tour. Most of your time is spent at memorials.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Shirley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is the perfect trip if you have a guest who only has one day to see Washington DC! The amount we saw was amazing, the guide was knowledgeable and engaging, the driver was prompt and skilled, and it was a small group so it felt very personal. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

David L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The drivers and staff were friendly and helpful and did the best they could, but an earth day concert was going on in the national mall and because of traffic they were unable to get us to many off the important sites and we were unable to see much of what we wanted to on Saturday, which was disappointing because our time on Sunday was limited. We saw as much as we could but I truly wish that I had known about the concert, but because we are from out of state we had no idea. It would be nice if these kinds of places let you know ahead of time or at least gave out a discount

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Chris W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Not sure about this tour. The problem is that you can do all of what it contained with 'free' walking tours, which even with a good tip are better value in my opinion. Into the bargain, we could not take the boat trip and as the alternative was being dumped in a shopping mall, this reduced the value of the whole trip for me. Oh and the guide obviously had a thing about the wrongs visited upon the locals by the Brits over the centuries!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Ken C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An outstanding day tour with one of the best guides we have ever experienced. There were only 6 on the tour and this made it even better.
Brilliant weather with clear blue skies and an outstanding guide who shared all sorts of insightful comments and history. A great way to be introduced to the city. Pace of the tour was excellent , lunch break was good at the Pentagon Shopping Mall.
An outstanding day tour and certainly recommend it as a great way to get an introduction to this wonderful city and its history.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

AEaddy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, Lynette is a wealth of knowledge. It is best to take this tour in the Fall/Winter, less traffic and you can have a smaller, more intimate group and get all of your questions answered.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

maree_faulkner

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A great way to get an over-view of the city. Both the guides (Destiny and the guide on the bus) were excellent - they were informative, helpful, energetic and amusing. The only downside was the stop for lunch in the Pentagon Mall - awful environment and the food choices were all fat-laden, poor quality fast food. I am sure the boxed lunch on the summertime cruise would be a big improvement.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message