Approximately 15 minutes south of downtown Washington, the 18th-century Old Town – the local nickname for the historic center of Alexandria -- hugs the western bank of the Potomac and blends the area’s cultural melting pot with America’s Colonial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 120 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an excellent tour. Easy to find the travel office in Union Station and the tour was great. Well worth going on this tour and the driver was interesting.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I learned so much about Washington- My husband was chosen to read his prayer st the wreath laying- Mt Vernon was so impressive

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our driver, David Cooper was outstanding. Great tour and just the right amount of time to see everything.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Such a good and informative tour! Loved our bus driver

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great way to see the Georgetown and Alexandria waterfront and many sights along the Potomac.
We were there on Wednesday afternoon and found the best deal: 1# lobster dinner @ The Fish Market -$16.99!
Returned as the sun set and saw the Lincoln Memorial/Washington monuments lit for night. Wonderful!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments and Memorials Cruise on the Potomac

Gary Pickett
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip was simply a must, a thirty or so minute coach journey, then into the estate, to see Washington's tomb, remembering the history of the man, just wonderful. The tour of the house he spent so many years living in, and being able to touch and use the very handrail and stairway he had used so many times in his life was an honor and a privilege. The gardens were filled with such colour, and staff were dressed in periodical dress, the blacksmith shop continues to operate, and produce goods to sell in the gift shop. It was a pleasure to step back in American history, to the days of such a great man. Don't let this trip pass you by!

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Mount Vernon is a must see destination. Truly s special place. Tony was a fantastic guide.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great job by our driver, very knowledgable. Everything was on time and smooth. Mt, Vernon is one of the must see places on a trip to DC.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Really interesting. We booked because we prefer to go by ourselves and the tour is really well organized and allows everyone to go at its own step without losing anithing

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Mount Vernon was very good (even in the pouring rain). Very interesting. We did not stop in Old Town Alexandria because it was a Sunday and the church we were suppose to see is not open to the public on Sundays.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour. Everyone at Grayline was helpful and pleasant. We had plenty of time to tour the various museum exhibits, but at a busier time of year you may need more time. The house was very interesting and the tour guides at various points around the property were so wonderfully passionate and clearly felt honoured to be there. I even ended up reading Washington's prayer at a daily memorial service at his tomb which was an honour, even as a Brit. He was clearly a great man.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

David Cooper our driver kept us entertained throughout the journey from Union Station to Mount Vernon,with informative information about places we passed through, with a great sense of humour.He also told us the best route to follow on this tour so as not to lose the advantage of being the first group to arrive. We took his advise, he was not wrong and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. First class tour to this historic estate, loved all of it immensely despite it raining!!

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. It was an early start, but it meant we beat the crowds at Mt Vernon as we arrived there at 9am. We followed our driver's advice and headed straight for the house on arrival and enjoyed a tour of the house without the accompanying crowds. We were able to wander about the grounds and visit the museum at leisure. We had a full 3 hours at Mt Vernon, but it is so interesting we could have spent longer.
The drive through Old Town Alexandria was interesting, but there was no opportunity to stop and explore (apart from the photo stop at the church on the way to Mt Vernon).
I would definitely recommend this tour. Mt Vernon is a must see when visiting Washington.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent tour. I recommend a one-hour visit to Alexandria in returning from Mount Vernon.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

extremely good. very well organised.knowledgable tour guide, then left to do your own thing once you get to mount vernon. beautiful estate, and seeing where George Washington was buried was a fantastic historical perspective

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message