Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Town Alexandria

Approximately 15 minutes south of downtown Washington, the 18th-century Old Town – the local nickname for the historic center of Alexandria -- hugs the western bank of the Potomac and blends the area’s cultural melting pot with America’s Colonial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 289 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

john g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

FANTASTIC
the whole thing was so great I can not stop talking about it. Clear directions, Val, our bike renter was incredible and so helpful. The ride is beautiful and ending with a cruise up the Potomac was the best. The guides on the boat clearly love what they do and shared their knowledge of the wildlife and history of the river. Would do it again in a heartbeat and am telling everyone I know to give it a go.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour! Packed a lot of D.C. sights into 2 days. Had a different tour guide on each day one around D.C. one to Arlington/Mt. Vernon and both were funny and knowledgeable. If you you're looking to get a taste of the major D.C. attractions and spend a little more time at Arlington/Mount Vernon then I would highly recommend this package.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Theresa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great. Our guide was very funny. It was a great day and tour and I would book it again.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Vikki D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a wonderful tour. Appreciated the driver's information about Alexanderia,and the stop at Christ's Church in Alexandria where George Washington worshipped. We had 3 hours at Mt. Vernon,time to tour and take it all in.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Colleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great way to see most of the DC sights in a short period of time. Our tour guides were nice and informative. There are many times where you are dropped off at a location and told when/where to meet the bus for pickup, so if you are extremely geographically challenged, this is a heads-up. Also, wear comfy walking shoes, even though it's a bus tour, you'll do a ton of walking! Overall a great experience!

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Joe I think that's his name told us a lot of very interesting information on the way out and Mount Vernon was just great. Paul showed up on time to give us a ride back.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Nancy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great time. The trip was good and very informative. The bus driver, Big Joe, was great to ride with and kept us on our toes with facts and questions. I would recommend this trip!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent drivers on both days who were very knowledgeable and who made both trips very interesting.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

James Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an excellent tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining and we were able to see many of the key Washington landmarks in just two days.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Aimee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

enjoyed the tour. very informative. pleasant experience overall..

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Thane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

There were only two couples on this tour so it was very personable with each other and the tour guide.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Anthony J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Had a great day, well worth the time. The history was very interesting as we're both the educational centre and museum. The tour guide was good fun and had very good knowledge on the history but also on golf.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

MELISSA F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The entire experience was amazing. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. We enjoyed our time in Alexandria, VA and safely returned to the Washington Harbor. We will definitely be sailing with you again, as well as referring others. Thanks again!!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments and Memorials Cruise on the Potomac

Laureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The trail from Alexandria to Mount Vernon is really lovely. Most of it is shaded and fairly level. There are beautiful water views and the surrounding neighborhoods are all excellent. We parked the bikes when we arrived and ate in the dining room, which was surprisingly good. The gift shops and all the facilities at Mt. Vernon are top notch. After the tour we meandered down to the river and took the boat back to Alexandria where we had dinner. It was a perfect day.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Lisa Kate F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Due to weather issues we had to move the ride to July 5th and the guys from Bike and Roll were terrific about helping us with that and giving us directions to get to the starting point in Old Town Alexandria. Beautiful bike trails and the Mount Vernon tour was really interesting.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

stevenp9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

the check-in was easy and efficient. Buses very comfortable. Loved what was packed into the 2 days - see a little of everything. This is definitely the best way to visit Washington DC. Day 1 Bus Driver great. He used a headset for speaking and very easy to understanding. Extremely knowledgeable. Day 2 Bus Driver also very good. A little unnerving that he was using an actual microphone in one hand, while driving around the very busy city with the other. Suggest all bus drivers use headsets. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Darlene S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very nice trip. Mt. Vernon is beautiful. It was a very hot day so we didn't explore as much as we thought we would.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Garry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Biked one way. Boated back. Peanut-chestnut soup and bread pudding at Mt Vernon restaurant were great complements to the tour. Three hours went quick at the estate.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Clifford R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly enjoyable with enough time to visit each attraction.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed the Tour. The bike trail was great and the tour of Mt. Vernon was very enjoyable.
The bike company was very helpful and attentive to our needs.
Thanks for a great time!

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Helen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. So much to see. Great drivers/guides.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Roubadan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great way to get a taste of the city. The guide was great, friendly, informative and fun. Thanks for the great trip - best of all we didn't waste time getting lost if we had been driving.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message