Approximately 15 minutes south of downtown Washington, the 18th-century Old Town – the local nickname for the historic center of Alexandria -- hugs the western bank of the Potomac and blends the area’s cultural melting pot with America’s Colonial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Mount Vernon is a must see destination. Truly s special place. Tony was a fantastic guide.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great job by our driver, very knowledgable. Everything was on time and smooth. Mt, Vernon is one of the must see places on a trip to DC.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Really interesting. We booked because we prefer to go by ourselves and the tour is really well organized and allows everyone to go at its own step without losing anithing

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Mount Vernon was very good (even in the pouring rain). Very interesting. We did not stop in Old Town Alexandria because it was a Sunday and the church we were suppose to see is not open to the public on Sundays.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour. Everyone at Grayline was helpful and pleasant. We had plenty of time to tour the various museum exhibits, but at a busier time of year you may need more time. The house was very interesting and the tour guides at various points around the property were so wonderfully passionate and clearly felt honoured to be there. I even ended up reading Washington's prayer at a daily memorial service at his tomb which was an honour, even as a Brit. He was clearly a great man.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

David Cooper our driver kept us entertained throughout the journey from Union Station to Mount Vernon,with informative information about places we passed through, with a great sense of humour.He also told us the best route to follow on this tour so as not to lose the advantage of being the first group to arrive. We took his advise, he was not wrong and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. First class tour to this historic estate, loved all of it immensely despite it raining!!

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. It was an early start, but it meant we beat the crowds at Mt Vernon as we arrived there at 9am. We followed our driver's advice and headed straight for the house on arrival and enjoyed a tour of the house without the accompanying crowds. We were able to wander about the grounds and visit the museum at leisure. We had a full 3 hours at Mt Vernon, but it is so interesting we could have spent longer.
The drive through Old Town Alexandria was interesting, but there was no opportunity to stop and explore (apart from the photo stop at the church on the way to Mt Vernon).
I would definitely recommend this tour. Mt Vernon is a must see when visiting Washington.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent tour. I recommend a one-hour visit to Alexandria in returning from Mount Vernon.

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

extremely good. very well organised.knowledgable tour guide, then left to do your own thing once you get to mount vernon. beautiful estate, and seeing where George Washington was buried was a fantastic historical perspective

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Really enjoyable and informative. Mount Vernon offers
good facilities and something for the whole family to enjoy.
a more restful morning complement to sightseeing in Washington

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great halfdaytour of Old Alexandria and Mt. Vernon. On time and Mike was very knowledgable and had a great demeanor. Self-toured Mt. Vernon and had plenty of time to spend there. My grandson and I were so happy to squeeze in this tour in our whirlwind 3 days in DC!

Doing what: Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message