From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 515 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour. It was a rainy day however our tour guide and bus driver did everything possible to make our tour easy, fun and educational. The best way to see D.C.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Covered many of the popular sites. Informative guides..Extra touches that go beyond the norm.Overall, very enjoyable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Given the long lines, which on a relatively hot day, was not high on our list of things to tackle, we opted for the VIP tour - great choice! The guides were spectacular - the various destinations were brought to life through the colorful insights offered by our guide and the boat ride was great!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Norman W
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Outstanding! Everything was in place, and perfect, it made my 31st Anniversary a special memory.

Thanks for the memories!

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Very uncoordinated. Tour director seemed like he was auditioning for a part in a Shakespeare play. He pontificated at ever stop. Way more information on his worldly knowledge than necessary. We were there to learn only about the monuments that we were visiting. Food on the boat was Subway, limp bread and tasteless. Couldn't take it anymore and walked away at the base of the Lincoln Memorial. We walked 25 minutes to the closest Metro. Standing in the sun and heat and listening to Andy talk about the Free masons was not for us. We would never recommend this tour, very amateuristic.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We missed the cherry blossoms by a week but the boat ride was beautiful! It was a nice break from the wind. The captain was very informative and we enjoyed his narration and comments. I would do it again.

Doing what: Cherry Blossom and Monuments Cruise in Washington DC

tgapper
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was great. The perspective of DC from the Potomac was extremely captivating. Snapped a lot of pictures which from the water added a different perspective of the great monuments I have seen so many times while traveling through DC by car. Great trip!

Doing what: Cherry Blossom Riverboat Cruise on the Potomac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

If you have a short time to visit and want to see the most, then this is a MUST DO!! Andy was the most entertaining gentleman, full of knowledge and surprise for everyone. A man who has a genuine love for his city, it's history and his chance to share it, a true gem.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is the perfect trip if you have a guest who only has one day to see Washington DC! The amount we saw was amazing, the guide was knowledgeable and engaging, the driver was prompt and skilled, and it was a small group so it felt very personal. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour, bypassed lines, Craig was a great tour guide. Only negative was late lunch/no morning snack if needed after capitol.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We had done the monument cruise before and enjoyed it very much. There were 6 of us on this cruise and the sole purpose was to view the cherry blossoms. Unfortunately they weren't out yet!! It is a great cruise, though and a wonderful way to see DC.

Doing what: Cherry Blossom and Monuments Cruise in Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very nice trip down the river. Cherry blossoms were in bloom. Enjoyable.

Doing what: Cherry Blossom and Monuments Cruise in Washington DC

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Good variety. Two very disappointing aspects...the tour guide was too soft spoken. I asked 4 times on the bus for him to speak up..he fell back to speaking away fromyhe mike..many of just tuned out at the end. Secondly the guides need to coordinate the narrative...we got the same thing from the boat tour/ bus tour. Also, if one has done any tours, the jokes are stale. Eg anyone not here raise their hand,etc. probably could do all the siitess at less cost elsewhere..the amazing tour guide was attached to the capital..obviously a professional - first class..made the others look like wanna be's

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Cruise was upgraded to the Odessy - I would book on that cruise ship when I return as the place was total glass - sides and overhead - super. Live music was great - DJ type music later in the eveing and everyone got up to dance. Bar service was outstanding - service was great overall however, the food was not very good. We had Steak and Lobster - paid 25.00 for each as an upgrade. The steak was terrible - little seasoning made it very bland - no one ate it. Lobster was a half lobster - not very good - I would stick to the pre-paid items such as short ribs which were tastey actually and other choices. Desert was very good. Overall - we had a ball and I would do it again for the fun and music and dancing but keep your expectations for the food in check as it was barely a 5 on a scale of ten!

Doing what: Washington DC Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour and our guide was good. The bad part was ending not where we started. We were within walking distance in the morning. And that walking distance was doubled from the ending spot. And at that time of the DA not wanting to get in and pay a cab just to sit in traffic we walked back to hotel

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Nice tour with great view of the sites along the river. Not thrilling, but definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Cherry Blossom Riverboat Cruise on the Potomac

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Bad and good -- arrived as requested by viator 30 minutes early in very cold and wet conditions. No Viator rep as email indicated no response from viator phone number altho several families called. We took shelter under the porch of the building and different members of the different families would go downstairs to check every few minutes. When a rep arrived late traffic problems she found one family in the appointed spot that family told her of the others waiting up the steep stairs, and was told Too bad, they aren't here they will be left. The rep stayed put the other family climbed the stairs and told almost 10 people the rep had arrived. This seemed unprofessional to me and no reply from the numerous phone messages left with viator.
The good was the tour itself - exceptional tour guide, Joan, and driver. Almost compensated for paying for a tour wherein a representative is late and unwilling to gather the group together.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Enjoyed the tour of the capital and the informative guide. The long lines and wait at the National Archives was not what I expected for a VIP tour, which stated Your guide will lead you past the long lines. We were always running behind schedule so did not get to tour the Viet Nam Memorial, Washington Memorial, Korean Memorial, and a couple of others. It was a cold and rainy day, so I certainly didn't expect to have lunch on a open air cruise of the Potomac. The tour says in Winter lunch will be in a local indoor market. I fully expected the market and not a very cold airy cruise. In fact, after visiting with people coming off of these cruises and their remarks about it being so cold, we chose not to go. Instead went to Marc Fare for a Lobster Bisque stated awful which I didn't eat, and coffee. With tip it cost over 30! Expensive lunch of bread and coffee!! Boxed salad we were given went in the trash. All in all, I certainly didn't get what I paid for!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Tour was billed as VIP- far from it - as is the company's response to complaints!! I emailed immediately X2 after - yet to receive response. The tour of the Capitol was good ( due to Mr Malone Capitol guide) Had relief guide - didn't know schedule and we missed our boat trip! Bus was cramped and old

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Better signs should be in place for finding your boat. Time is wasted looking all over the place and everyone asking each other.

Doing what: Cherry Blossom and Monuments Cruise in Washington DC

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

nothing VIP about it! started late didn't see anything you couldn't see on your own , poor tour guide poor driver some people gave up and left part way , important places not visited or even pointed out eg the ford theatre , despite confirming food it was not there , boat unsafe to board if elderly

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

first time to DC unfortunately I got off at the wrong metro stop I walked for over 1hr to get to the meeting place. google maps on my phone took me a long round about route. I missed my tour, so upset. I contacted the # on my confirmation to reschedule, I never received a call back. dissapointed

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

There was a replacement tour guide who seemed frazzled and the itinerary got confusing. We missed the boat lunch due to running late. I wouldnt reccommned this to other people

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message