From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 882 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Manuel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Out guide Christopher was funny and very knowledgeable. Definitely recommend the tour to everyone. For what is offered in the tour, the value is right on....Awesome Tour...

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Christopher the guide was a very bright young history graduate who clearly loved his city and was extremely knowledgeable about it. A really good way to see a lot of key sight's quickly. Only one very slight criticism was the packed lunches on the boat were a bit disappointing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

James S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was amazing! Goes to all the major monuments except for the Iwo Jima memorial.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Matthew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had Chris as our tour guide, he made for a great day and very informative. Great tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

raphael m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Christopher was an excellent source of knowledge and entertainment. Going in a group was great because I didn't want to travel downtown alone. Lunch on the boat was a nice break from the walking. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

patrick.versepuy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

La visite de la maison de Georges Washington à Mount Vernon est l'occasion de faire une petite croisière sur le Potomac qui borde Washington DC. La maison du maître est très richement décorée contrastant avec les petites maison des employés et esclaves de Washington. C'est un lieu magnifique avec une vue splendide sur le Potomac. La croisière est également très instructive autant que belle.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a brilliant tour - we had John as our tour guide and Tony was our driver. I cannot fault either of them. It was a wirlwind tour and there is a lot of walking - probably about 8 miles! However you do get to see a huge amount of Washington's main attractions and we really didn't feel rushed. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. The included lunch is quite basic so if you are a big eater you may want to take more supplies. They do supply small bottles of water and ponchos if it rains. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Tina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It's a busy and fast tour, but was a great way to see and learn about DC. We did this tour on a Sat. And went back to the area's we wanted to see more. It worked out perfect.
The best part was Mary our tour guide! Incredible knowledge about DC.
Thank you!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Eleanor L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was excellent. It covered a great deal of ground that we would never have managed on our own. We took my mother-in-law with us and she was in a wheelchair. The tour guides took great care of us.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Charlie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide was Chris and he was hilarious, made sure we got all the information we needed on all the sites and when we got out and walked around he made sure we got every detail about the monuments.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Debra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Kent was a great Captain. This is my 3rd ducktour and they have all been very enjoyable.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

Margaret W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A truly wonderful experience on the Potomac cruise. The meal and entertainment were exceptional and dancing with my wife brought romance to the air. We will be back ourselves and will highly recommend to family and friends.

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

Rosario R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing, had a ball met new friends stil in touch with them,the food was ok the service was great the ship was great and clean

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

Jane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved the boat trip done the Potomac though felt we should have been told we needed ID to collect the tickets. Mount Vernon is a wonderful place and the staff and guides are so engaging we thought this was good value as there is a lot to see.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Traci G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very crowded. Knowledgeable staff

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

JamesW

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Everything was fine. Most of the tour was great.
Overall, the tour and guides were very informative.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jeffrey C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Trip to the Capital was a bust. Plan on being hungry the lunch was the worst, 3 slices of turkey and the smallest bag of chips I have ever seen. The other parts of the trip were great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Valerie R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I was totally upset never got surved until a hour and 1/2 after we boarded the boat. The manager done everything to make it a good experience, good bless her. But staff need to treat everyone as equal

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

Rosario R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

For the price I dint feel we got enough we paid 250 for two people and they drop us off at Archives and said goodby !!! It was not vip tour

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

rog

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Our tour guide was excellent. The biggest problem for us what to find a place to park. I would suggest that when a reservation is booked, you tell the party where to park, a major issue for us.

Also, please let those on your tour know that there is A Lot of walking involved.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Joseph D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Can see more from a car! Trees obstruct views, limited seating inside if cold. Bar obstructs views as people line up. Music boring, better use would be a tape of what you are supposed to be seeing! Overall waste of time and money!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message