From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 476 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful day out - and an experience to remember

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour of the DC area. Andy the tour guide was fantastic as he was articulate, passionate and extremely knowledgeable. His enthusiasm and emotion allowed us to get a true appreciation of the various monuments. When booking this tour, make sure you get Andy! The lunch break on the boat trip was quite nice as it provided a bag lunch and a break in the day to relax and view from the boat. Otherwise the bus tour and walk was perfect for a full tour day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We are really pleased to have done this tour. We saw more than we would have seen had we tried to do it on our own. Our guide Patricia was interesting and really knowledgeable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great time on the boat I would highly recommended.

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

Lucy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is excellent. A bus guide shows around all of the DC War memorials (Which is great because they are all quite spread out from each other) and other important buildings.
This tour began at 9am and we arrived back at our hotel at 7pm. Well worth the money you would pay.
Our guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable. The lunch included is awesome - freshly made sandwiches- made to order and delivered to the bus before you embark on the boat journey (which was peaceful and with a welcome breeze).
Everytime we left the bus the tour guide and bus driver offered us a bottle of iced water which was very welcome in the August heat.
The only negative was the lunch was a 'late lunch' arriving to use at 2pm and you are not able to bring snacks as the Capitol Building does not allow food. So have a big breakfast!

We are so pleased we bought this tour and would highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The river cruise was amazing and the serving staff great !!!

Doing what: Washington DC Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a very scenic, interesting, and pleasant way to get to Mt. Vernon. The pier was very easy to find and a very short walk from the Waterfront Metro Station. The narration was quite interesting and there was a lot more to see along the river than I expected. There were several breaks in the narration so you could enjoy the scenery. Mt. Vernon itself is well worth a visit. You are given a ticket when you disembark that tells you the time of your tour and the system worked very well. We were able to see everything, did not feel rushed, and learned a lot from the docents. A wide variety of food options is available for lunch. There are several outbuildings and gardens to visits depending on one's interest. If I have any criticism - and it is very slight - it is that I wish we had had about half an hour more at Mt. Vernon. Ran out of time to really experience the gardens. As usual, very good value for the money.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was awesome! Hats off to the staff!!! Very accommodating and knowledgable of city and history! Thank you :-) special thanks to Destiny and Tony and the horse lady :-)

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I am so glad you asked. We were 5 adults, 1 four and a hall year old and twin two year olds. I was celebrating a big birthday with my family in the DC area.and thought the cruise would be a lovely way to end a fun weekend . It was a great choice for us! I don't recall seeing that there would be reserved tables on you r contact info but, it was welcomed when we went on board not to have to search for an empty table and manage the kiddies. By the way, they absolutely adored the flights of steps and would rate their ascents and descents a solid 5 STARS. As a family we had been eating out all weekend and found the food in many places very good but the service lacking. You were all very organized, friendly and totally customer service oriented. From the photogs on deck and then Drew on board , all servers and the Baquet Manager helped to assure on cruise was great fun and exceeded my expectations. PS the food was yummy , too. Thank you all for a wonderful birthday celebration!! Andrea P. And family

Doing what: Washington DC Scenic Lunch Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. We're both in our early sixties, and so the moderately fast pace of the walking tour about the many memorials and such, took a little toll on my wife. We saw much, much more than we might ever had hoped for should we have attempted to plan the tour ourselves. Our tour guides were very informative and interesting. Lunch on the Potomac was modest, but no complaints. The tour, the guides, the motorcoach, the river cruise boat, the many wonderful things we saw, the weather, . . . . . everything was as close to perfect as could have been wished for. We would highly recommend this tour and tour company to any and all persons visiting our national capital for the first time.
One star subtracted because at the National Archives, we were turned lose to view the exhibits at our leisure and pace; the tour guide saying, "Farewell!", none of us realizing the tour was concluded.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Tour was great everything we expected and paid for. Our guides destiny and Andy were informative and personal

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message