From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 489 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tgapper
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was great. The perspective of DC from the Potomac was extremely captivating. Snapped a lot of pictures which from the water added a different perspective of the great monuments I have seen so many times while traveling through DC by car. Great trip!

Doing what: Cherry Blossom Riverboat Cruise on the Potomac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

If you have a short time to visit and want to see the most, then this is a MUST DO!! Andy was the most entertaining gentleman, full of knowledge and surprise for everyone. A man who has a genuine love for his city, it's history and his chance to share it, a true gem.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Good variety. Two very disappointing aspects...the tour guide was too soft spoken. I asked 4 times on the bus for him to speak up..he fell back to speaking away fromyhe mike..many of just tuned out at the end. Secondly the guides need to coordinate the narrative...we got the same thing from the boat tour/ bus tour. Also, if one has done any tours, the jokes are stale. Eg anyone not here raise their hand,etc. probably could do all the siitess at less cost elsewhere..the amazing tour guide was attached to the capital..obviously a professional - first class..made the others look like wanna be's

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Bad and good -- arrived as requested by viator 30 minutes early in very cold and wet conditions. No Viator rep as email indicated no response from viator phone number altho several families called. We took shelter under the porch of the building and different members of the different families would go downstairs to check every few minutes. When a rep arrived late traffic problems she found one family in the appointed spot that family told her of the others waiting up the steep stairs, and was told Too bad, they aren't here they will be left. The rep stayed put the other family climbed the stairs and told almost 10 people the rep had arrived. This seemed unprofessional to me and no reply from the numerous phone messages left with viator.
The good was the tour itself - exceptional tour guide, Joan, and driver. Almost compensated for paying for a tour wherein a representative is late and unwilling to gather the group together.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Enjoyed the tour of the capital and the informative guide. The long lines and wait at the National Archives was not what I expected for a VIP tour, which stated Your guide will lead you past the long lines. We were always running behind schedule so did not get to tour the Viet Nam Memorial, Washington Memorial, Korean Memorial, and a couple of others. It was a cold and rainy day, so I certainly didn't expect to have lunch on a open air cruise of the Potomac. The tour says in Winter lunch will be in a local indoor market. I fully expected the market and not a very cold airy cruise. In fact, after visiting with people coming off of these cruises and their remarks about it being so cold, we chose not to go. Instead went to Marc Fare for a Lobster Bisque stated awful which I didn't eat, and coffee. With tip it cost over 30! Expensive lunch of bread and coffee!! Boxed salad we were given went in the trash. All in all, I certainly didn't get what I paid for!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Tour was billed as VIP- far from it - as is the company's response to complaints!! I emailed immediately X2 after - yet to receive response. The tour of the Capitol was good ( due to Mr Malone Capitol guide) Had relief guide - didn't know schedule and we missed our boat trip! Bus was cramped and old

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

nothing VIP about it! started late didn't see anything you couldn't see on your own , poor tour guide poor driver some people gave up and left part way , important places not visited or even pointed out eg the ford theatre , despite confirming food it was not there , boat unsafe to board if elderly

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

first time to DC unfortunately I got off at the wrong metro stop I walked for over 1hr to get to the meeting place. google maps on my phone took me a long round about route. I missed my tour, so upset. I contacted the # on my confirmation to reschedule, I never received a call back. dissapointed

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

There was a replacement tour guide who seemed frazzled and the itinerary got confusing. We missed the boat lunch due to running late. I wouldnt reccommned this to other people

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great time on this tour. It was a great way to see Mt. Vernon. The boat trip was very scenic and you were handed a timed ticket to tour the house as soon as you exited the boat. The time on the ticket allowed you to tour the house first and then have plenty of time to tour the grounds and the museum. I have been to Mt. Vernon several times in the past and this is the best way to see it. It is a great value also, since you get the boat ride and the tour. I'm so glad that we decided to include this in our Washington DC itinerary.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This was not our thing. I wish we saw more monuments but the focus was on the food ( not great) and the dancing. Not worth the heavy price tag.

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

excellent day trip! smooth boat ride down the Potomac, Washington's estate is amazing! dont miss it!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

fun night, staff was very pleasant and accomodating. plenty of tasty food.

Doing what: Washington DC Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent package. The time at the Capitol is way too short, but the tour was amazing! We had an amazing tour guide by the name of Andy. Andy was a great tour guide and made the experience at every stop very interesting with the level of detail he provided. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message