From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 454 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a great time. The river cruise was wonderful. We would have liked a little more time at Mt Vernon (maybe 4 hours instead of 3) but we did see everything. Highly recommend.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great bike trail along the Potomac - good bikes- we were able to go to the front of the tour line at Mt.Vernon with our passes. Liked everything about the tour. Alexandria is charming. Maybe could have had better directions for finding the bike sho originally- but smartphone got us there.

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. Andy was extremely knowledgeable and patient. I wish all tour guides were as helpful as him.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The lunch cruise tour was awesome. My entire family really enjoyed the time we spent on the boat. The employees were great, the food was marvelous. And the DJ was wonderful, he had a dynamic voice, he can dance and d j at the same time. He help made to trip magnificent. So I thoroughly would recommend this tour, it was worth while. We enjoyed it so that the time just flew by us, that was just how much fun we had. My hat's off the cook, the DJ, and the whole staff. If I ever travel to D C again, this will be one of my stops. Oh, we were from Mississippi, and it was my birthday and they really made me feel special. Thanks again!

Doing what: Washington DC Scenic Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great way to travel the Potomac River and visit Mt. Vernon. Very informative tour.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Jenn13
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked the VIP tour through Viator. We were very happy that we did. We were annoyed because we got an e-mail the afternoon before that the boat cruise was cancelled due to the African Summit and wondering if we wanted to reschedule. We couldn't because it was our last day. When we got there we found out it was back on.
We started out with Destiny who took us to the Capital building. Police would not let us in and were quite rude - we later found out that there was a suspicious package. A nice officer back at the top told us to go through the tunnel. We did but couldn't believe that we had to go through security twice to get through! The tour at the Capital was very informative. We saw a video and then 3 rooms.
After Destiny passed us off to Andy and Lee. Andy was an excellent tour guide - very informed but also entertaining. He took us to the White House and various monuments. We had seen some of the monuments the previous day on our own but Andy gave us so much more information that we felt like we hadn't see them.
We had a nice cruise and we got lunch for the boat. They give you your choice of sandwich, a bag of chips, a cookie and a pop.
The last stop is the National Archives which you do on your own.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The day cruise exceeded my expectations! The trip was a great experience. We especially enjoyed the cruise down the Potomac. The guide did a great job of pointing out and giving details of the sites along the way. We enjoyed snacks and drinks aboard the boat and they were very reasonably priced and good quality. It truly was a highlight of our Washington, DC trip.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It started with Police sirens and the bomb squad removing us, so we could not go into the Capitol building but then Destiny led us through the library of Congress, to the Capitol building where we had a great and intimate tour of the Capitol building. Then off to meet Andy and his capable Driver Joey.
Andy is a delight and very knowledgeable. He made our journey fantastic and I would say - DO THIS TRIP - ASK FOR ANDY.
Going around with Andy meant that there were answers to every question, comments and discussions about your questions plus he showed GENUINE ENJOYMENT IN BEING WITH US. It was not a case of get this over with, but of sharing his knowledge, singing to us, telling us jokes, etc
The buildings and monuments were wide in their attraction and appeal, but we spent to little time at each. This is to be expected when ones looks at the tight program that we were on, so that we could see all that we did. Took far to many pictures but that is due to the variety of things we saw.
The water boat was disappointing in comparison, but we had a chance to eat our lunch and see the sights.
If you only have one day (we only had one day, as we flew in and out with a day in the middle), then this is the tour to take. It is worth the money.
Gail and I now know enough of Washington, to know that we need to take at least 2 days to see the sights again and to spend time where it matters to us.
This tour gave us that insight plus an understanding of what lies where.
Cheers to Andy and his Tour company.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The live singing on the cruise was amazing! We had a great time.

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome!!, Our driver was excellent and Andy was like an encyclopedia; knowledgeable, pleasant and helpful in every way. Every stop was well organised, with time to see things properly and nothing was a problem. The best tour of our trip!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Incredible way to see a most amazing town. So informative, brilliant guide and having the information needed to understand so much history. A definite when visiting DC.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A truely memorable day. Seeing the inside of Congress is a richly rewarding, if a times a chaotic experience. The rest of the tour is well planned out and extremly well executed. Our first experince of Washington tour guides, on the City part of our tour, tought us that they are passionate and profesional people. Not at all "robotic" and much more informative and uplifting than expected. Our guide was, I think a former journalist, who really new his stuff and how to deliver the commetary with depth and emotion. A big shout out to your guides, obviously this is a vocation, not just another job in the US, people undertake with enthusiam and gusto.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was very enjoyable. As our first night in DC, this was a great introduction. Wish they did not go back and forth a few times, but eventually we headed out further. Food was good - but be sure to get in line early! Took my two young daughters, too and they had a blast dancing!

Doing what: Washington DC Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The ride on the boat was interesting and relaxing. The time at Mt Vernon was just right with ample time to visit all the sites and enjoy the videos and informational displays. Very enjoyable day trip.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is an opportunity to enjoy easy access to all the major attractions and monuments in D.C. It is well organized and informative. Defibitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message