• USD ($)
  • English
From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 414 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the perfect tour for the 2nd day of our three day tour of Washington, DC. Walked six hours the first day of our visit, so sitting down for the river cruise was a joy. The visit at Mt. Vernon was a highlight of our trip. The dock where the boat leaves DC from is very easy to get to using the subway and walking a few blocks.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a great way to see the city!!!

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! Not enough time!!! One of the most enjoyable parts was the actor who played the part of George Washington. He came out to the lawn, answered questions and stayed in character for all answers! The museum was VERY well done, informative and such. Just the running films of George Washington were not that great in the little theaters. Need to be refreshed. But only ONE boat runs out and back to New York each day so BE ON TIME. We almost missed it because we forgot a backpack at the cafeteria which was 1/4 of a mile up the hill!!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Patricia, our tour giude was very informative. She was very patient with all our questions and even encouraged us to ask questions about all the sites and monuments we visited. Tony, our driver was a great driver. Tony had ice water ready for us in a cooler the day of our tour...it was a great idea since the day was very hot. I highly recommend this tour if you want to visit the capital and all it's major monuments and sites. It was worth everyones time and money!! :-)

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good food good ride. Very hospitable

Doing what: Washington DC Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fun and relaxing. Downside: Be prepared to heat your food n the microwave if you choose to purchase food on the boat.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fun and relaxing. Downside: Be prepared to heat your food n the microwave if you choose to purchase food on the boat.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Since I had lived in the D.C. area for many years, it was important to me to show my family and more importantly the younger ones our Nations Capital. I did not make a mistake in choosing this Dinner Cruse...it was just right. The crew were very welcoming and helpful, the food was really good and the trip was unforgettable to the family. It's pricy but for a one time experience, well worth the money. I would highly recommend you put it on your evening agenda on your next visit....oh, don't get me wrong, it's not only for family's, It's romantic for that special someone.

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour and a fun experience. Wish it could have lasted longer with a few stops a long the way. Who knew that those amphibious vehicles could go on the freeway? Great tour guide!

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really enjoyed the trip up and down the Potomac as well as Mt. Vernon. The boat was leisurely and there was lots to see on the ride. Mt. Vernon is a huge place so be sure to wear good walking shoes! Don't stop to eat or rest as there is so much to see that before you know it its time to get back on the boat. No eating on the Mt. Vernon grounds, we packed a small lunch in a backpack and ate on the boat coming home. The boat also sells small meals (like hot dogs) and beverages (their breakfast sandwiches we're pretty good too). We'll go back again someday to see all we missed! We've used Viator across the globe, they've never disappointed us.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was great. Our tour guide, Patricia was wonderful. She was so very knowledgeable about each and every tour stop and you could tell from her narration that she loved sharing this knowledge. We had a wonderful day and left at the end of the day glad we chose this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The cruise on the Potomac was smooth and very nice, loved the comments by the crew on what we were passing. the only thing I think it needs is a later departure from Mount Vernon. maybe a 5pm departure, there is so much to see and do there, it is hard to fit it all in. but we hustled and saw almost everything, lucky it was a slow day there.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful tour. All the staff was very helpful.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message