From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 861 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Valerie R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I was totally upset never got surved until a hour and 1/2 after we boarded the boat. The manager done everything to make it a good experience, good bless her. But staff need to treat everyone as equal

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

Joseph D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Can see more from a car! Trees obstruct views, limited seating inside if cold. Bar obstructs views as people line up. Music boring, better use would be a tape of what you are supposed to be seeing! Overall waste of time and money!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Cruise

Gisele C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

VERY disappointed!!!!! Zero narration of the FEW sites you could see. Rude guy working the boat not drriver. Boat smelled like a dirty toilet

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Cruise

charles e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic!

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

Christopher E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, our guide Chris was funny as well as informative, and the sites we saw were brilliant. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide and driver were both outstanding and very knowledgeable. They kept the tour moving and fun for both us and our grandchildren. They made sure we visited all of the significant areas on our tour and assured we had enough time and information to get the best of each one of them. thank you.

Doing what: Monuments Tour by Bus Plus Potomac River Cruise

Annette B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Viator VIP is truly VIP. I had an amazing time during my tour. I give my tour experience 5 STARSL
Learned a lot my experience was very positive and exciting. the tour is a MUST Do.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

David P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very worthwhile tour. Very Informative. Our guide new his stuff. Great way too see where we wanted to spend further time at.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

snowflakes16 Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide Esau was entertaining and provided a good narration of the city's sights. The tour picked out the most significant memorials and monuments for us to visit. Was a good introduction to Washingon D.C.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Terry E A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Even though it was a very cold day, my daughter and I had a wonderful time. Our Guide Christopher was funny and seemed to know the city very well. This is the second time I have used Viator on a full day tour. I would continue to use them in the future. This tour was a must see!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

D'Ann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent tour. You got to see everything and had enough time at each location. I would highly recommend this tour. It is well worth the price. Chris the guide was excellent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Susan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous tour and guides. Cherry blossoms were in peak bloom on Friday, March 25 when we took our tour. Highly recommend! Susan Eki

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Patrick R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice. Food and entertainment worth the cost.

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

Kathryn F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! We saw a lot, captain was fun and informative. Three adults, three tweens all would recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

john g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

FANTASTIC
the whole thing was so great I can not stop talking about it. Clear directions, Val, our bike renter was incredible and so helpful. The ride is beautiful and ending with a cruise up the Potomac was the best. The guides on the boat clearly love what they do and shared their knowledge of the wildlife and history of the river. Would do it again in a heartbeat and am telling everyone I know to give it a go.

Doing what: Mount Vernon Bike Trail: Independent Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

Karen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, highly recommended. Guide Chris was very informative with a few jokes thrown in.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Rochelle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour! Guide was very knowledgeable and professional! It was a great way to experience D.C. and many of its wonderful monuments and buildings! Also, the tour company you used was very clean and comfortable and the driving was superb! Excellent!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

margaret r

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Cruise and Mt Vernon tour were very good. The weather was not. There wasn't enough time to enjoy all of Mt Vernon. It was difficult to hear the boat tour info- speakers not well placed and not loud enough.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Sarah R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, would have loved more time at Mt Vernon, felt a little rushed

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

April N

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was a great tour in a short time, seeing a great many sights. The driver was well informed and was able to give us a few little known facts too. The only big draw back was there was no real plan set for when traffic was rerouted because of the Nuclear Summit, but I am sure those things happen a lot in our Capital. I think with a little for planning there could have been a plan put in place to not lose some sights because of something such as that.

Doing what: Monuments Tour by Bus Plus Potomac River Cruise

Traci G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was a really fun day but the boat was absolutely freezing
The scenary was incredible, Great trip.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

David United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The initial rain dampened our spirits a bit but it was nice to tour the mansion and grounds and museum. The site wasn't crowded so the time spent there was just about right. It wasn't raining on the boat ride back to the city, but there was no reminder of any landmarks on the return trip.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Debra D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Christopher was excellent. So personable and lots of knowledge of history. He is very good at what he does. The bus was very comfortable. All the sites were so memorable. Loved the river lunch cruise, although we had to wait over 30 mins for the boat. The meet up near the Capitol was a bit unorganized. The greeters could be a bit more definitive as to the check in process. I would definitely recommend this to others!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jerry J

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Overall positive experience for our first trip to DC. The start of the tour and the capital part and then on to the buses was a little hectic and confusing and in my opinion we had too large of a group. Once on the bus BB did a great job as a tour guide. This tour allows you to see a lot but in complete candidness a few of the stops felt extremely rushed and provided us limited photo ops and opportunity to see the entire place we were seeing. River boat tour got a little confusing again they had us on a boat with another tour group not from this company and boat was packed. Again overall a positive experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message