From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 522 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour. It was a rainy day however our tour guide and bus driver did everything possible to make our tour easy, fun and educational. The best way to see D.C.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had an excellent time at Mount Vernon and the boat ride was great also.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My wife and I are very happy we chose this tour. Ralph, Tony and the team made this an informative and very entertaining day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a great time. Captain Franklin gave us an excellent tour. He knows his town and loves his work and it shows. We were lucky to be there on a perfect spring day. The time in the river was our favorite part.

I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Covered many of the popular sites. Informative guides..Extra touches that go beyond the norm.Overall, very enjoyable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Given the long lines, which on a relatively hot day, was not high on our list of things to tackle, we opted for the VIP tour - great choice! The guides were spectacular - the various destinations were brought to life through the colorful insights offered by our guide and the boat ride was great!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Norman W
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Outstanding! Everything was in place, and perfect, it made my 31st Anniversary a special memory.

Thanks for the memories!

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was on time and the narritave was detailed. Beautiful views and attentive crew. Would do this again and definitely recommend to others.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments and Memorials Cruise on the Potomac

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Had a great tour guide named Andy who provided tremendous insight into the many monuments and museums throughout the day long excursion...
Most enjoyable .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Very uncoordinated. Tour director seemed like he was auditioning for a part in a Shakespeare play. He pontificated at ever stop. Way more information on his worldly knowledge than necessary. We were there to learn only about the monuments that we were visiting. Food on the boat was Subway, limp bread and tasteless. Couldn't take it anymore and walked away at the base of the Lincoln Memorial. We walked 25 minutes to the closest Metro. Standing in the sun and heat and listening to Andy talk about the Free masons was not for us. We would never recommend this tour, very amateuristic.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We missed the cherry blossoms by a week but the boat ride was beautiful! It was a nice break from the wind. The captain was very informative and we enjoyed his narration and comments. I would do it again.

Doing what: Cherry Blossom and Monuments Cruise in Washington DC

tgapper
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was great. The perspective of DC from the Potomac was extremely captivating. Snapped a lot of pictures which from the water added a different perspective of the great monuments I have seen so many times while traveling through DC by car. Great trip!

Doing what: Cherry Blossom Riverboat Cruise on the Potomac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

If you have a short time to visit and want to see the most, then this is a MUST DO!! Andy was the most entertaining gentleman, full of knowledge and surprise for everyone. A man who has a genuine love for his city, it's history and his chance to share it, a true gem.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is the perfect trip if you have a guest who only has one day to see Washington DC! The amount we saw was amazing, the guide was knowledgeable and engaging, the driver was prompt and skilled, and it was a small group so it felt very personal. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour, bypassed lines, Craig was a great tour guide. Only negative was late lunch/no morning snack if needed after capitol.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We had done the monument cruise before and enjoyed it very much. There were 6 of us on this cruise and the sole purpose was to view the cherry blossoms. Unfortunately they weren't out yet!! It is a great cruise, though and a wonderful way to see DC.

Doing what: Cherry Blossom and Monuments Cruise in Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very nice trip down the river. Cherry blossoms were in bloom. Enjoyable.

Doing what: Cherry Blossom and Monuments Cruise in Washington DC

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Good variety. Two very disappointing aspects...the tour guide was too soft spoken. I asked 4 times on the bus for him to speak up..he fell back to speaking away fromyhe mike..many of just tuned out at the end. Secondly the guides need to coordinate the narrative...we got the same thing from the boat tour/ bus tour. Also, if one has done any tours, the jokes are stale. Eg anyone not here raise their hand,etc. probably could do all the siitess at less cost elsewhere..the amazing tour guide was attached to the capital..obviously a professional - first class..made the others look like wanna be's

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Cruise was upgraded to the Odessy - I would book on that cruise ship when I return as the place was total glass - sides and overhead - super. Live music was great - DJ type music later in the eveing and everyone got up to dance. Bar service was outstanding - service was great overall however, the food was not very good. We had Steak and Lobster - paid 25.00 for each as an upgrade. The steak was terrible - little seasoning made it very bland - no one ate it. Lobster was a half lobster - not very good - I would stick to the pre-paid items such as short ribs which were tastey actually and other choices. Desert was very good. Overall - we had a ball and I would do it again for the fun and music and dancing but keep your expectations for the food in check as it was barely a 5 on a scale of ten!

Doing what: Washington DC Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour and our guide was good. The bad part was ending not where we started. We were within walking distance in the morning. And that walking distance was doubled from the ending spot. And at that time of the DA not wanting to get in and pay a cab just to sit in traffic we walked back to hotel

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Nice tour with great view of the sites along the river. Not thrilling, but definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Cherry Blossom Riverboat Cruise on the Potomac

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message