From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 487 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great time on this tour. It was a great way to see Mt. Vernon. The boat trip was very scenic and you were handed a timed ticket to tour the house as soon as you exited the boat. The time on the ticket allowed you to tour the house first and then have plenty of time to tour the grounds and the museum. I have been to Mt. Vernon several times in the past and this is the best way to see it. It is a great value also, since you get the boat ride and the tour. I'm so glad that we decided to include this in our Washington DC itinerary.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This was not our thing. I wish we saw more monuments but the focus was on the food ( not great) and the dancing. Not worth the heavy price tag.

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

excellent day trip! smooth boat ride down the Potomac, Washington's estate is amazing! dont miss it!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

fun night, staff was very pleasant and accomodating. plenty of tasty food.

Doing what: Washington DC Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent package. The time at the Capitol is way too short, but the tour was amazing! We had an amazing tour guide by the name of Andy. Andy was a great tour guide and made the experience at every stop very interesting with the level of detail he provided. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I HIGHLY Recommend this tour! We had taken a train from NY to Washington to do this for the day. We saw many memorials such as WWI, Vietnam and the Korean War memorials. There were many vets around and we saw many shaking their hands thanking them for their service. We saw the White House, the Capital, Lincoln Memorial and the Archives. We also saw the Martin Luther King Memorial. Our guide Andy was the best. He was EXTREMELY knowledgeable about Washington DC and was VERY passionate throughout the tour. We saw several people stop that were doing their own sightseeing to listen to what he was sharing about what we were seeing at the time. It was the experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Beautiful scenery, it was all over too quickly. Attentive crew and refreshments on board. Great way to see DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Fall Foliage Day Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I really enjoyed it. Well planned and organised. Wasn't please that we, the paid VIP group had to rush to fit in another (non VIP) groups schedule. The 2 guides were excellent- the guides make all the difference. We had one day to see the main attractions and we did see it all. Vey please with what I paid and received.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A great way to get an over-view of the city. Both the guides (Destiny and the guide on the bus) were excellent - they were informative, helpful, energetic and amusing. The only downside was the stop for lunch in the Pentagon Mall - awful environment and the food choices were all fat-laden, poor quality fast food. I am sure the boxed lunch on the summertime cruise would be a big improvement.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This is lovely way to see the surroundings of Washington, we were here in November and were
Very lucky to have had good weather to ride on top.

Doing what: Washington DC Fall Foliage Day Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

It really wasn't much of a "VIP" tour rather than a tour guide walking you around the national monuments. There was an express entry to the capitol, archives, etc. However, Lisa was nice and she has quite a bit of knowledge of DC.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

This tour was disappointing and a waste of money. The tour guide only spoke over the intercom once in the hour long ride. The bar ran out of multiple drinks before the boat had even left the dock. And apparently a customer hooked their iPhone with bad music up to the stereo system.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It as outstanding as usual. This is my third trip with Viator. My guests and family al enjoyed it very much.
I can highly recommend it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Really enjoyed the relaxing cruise despite the weather. Great scenery with beautiful colours

Doing what: Washington DC Fall Foliage Day Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message