• USD ($)
  • English
From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 337 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very relaxing tour. Always a great view from the water. Well done.

Doing what: Cherry Blossom Riverboat Cruise on the Potomac

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

We were the only two people on the boat as there was no Cherry Blossoms yet!

Doing what: Cherry Blossom Riverboat Cruise on the Potomac

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

I just wasn't impressed with the tour. There was no one to tell you about the sights unless you ask. I thought for the money paid it would have been a better deal. I think I would have got more out of the bus tour. The boat just went up the river and back. Very very disappointed in the trip. Should have saved my money. Would not recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great- music and food good . pleasant staff. waiter could have come by a little more but they were fast when they did bring something requested. would recommend to others. What is the cost for children under 1 year

Doing what: Washington DC Brunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent. The crew, the music and the food was excellent.

Doing what: Washington DC Scenic Lunch Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The food and the service was better than the tour. The food was hot and ready on time. The wait staff was excellent and friendly. The tour narration didn't give much detail of what you could see from the water.

Doing what: Washington DC Scenic Lunch Cruise

Claudia W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a great start to our first trip to Washington. The day was cold and windy, but the greeting from Rory was warm and welcoming. Marcus was an excellent driver and the addition of Danielle later in the trip only enhanced our experience.The Tour covered all that we had heard about Washington and gave us a taste for more. I have no hesitation in recommending this tour to all foreign visitors and American visitors alike.
As Rudyard Kipling said---" The First Condition of Understanding a foreign Country Is To smell It ". Thank you for a memorable experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great history and a fun day on the water

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Having biked most of the 200 or so kilometers of the Hawkes Bay (NZ) bike trails, which are wonderful, I have to say, this is my new favourite ride. We arrived early in Old Alexandria town so we were able to wander the beautiful cobbled streets and soak up the ambience of this lovely town before arriving at the Bike and Roll depot near the waterfront at 10 am. We were soon dispatched with our bikes and clear instructions and followed the track through the city and out into the beautiful Virginian countryside along the Potomac river. There were a few lumps (small hills) but our bikes dealt with them admirably. We travelled there in the middle of October so the fall colours were just showing through. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour of Mt Vernon but felt a little rushed as the ferry was not available and we had to bike back to be in time for the 5 o'clock closing (apparently it usually closes a bit later). The trip back was a little easier and just as spectacular.We travelled with our 23 year old son who enjoyed it just as much as we did and I would unreservedly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to get a little exercise while sightseeing. I should mention there is a free trolley bus that travels up and down King Street from the train station, which we thankfully discovered on the way back.

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was awesome. Tour guide(driver) was very friendly, and informative. I will recommend this tour to any of my family and friends.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Beautiful, amazing!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A WELL ORGANISED TRIP WITH ONLY 14 PEOPLE IN THE GROUP AND OUR TOUR GUIDE MIKE WAS EXCEPTIONAL WITH HIS KNOWLEDGE OF THE AREA. THE PACKED LUNCH ON OUR RIVER CRUISE WAS WELL- RECEIVED AND IT WAS GREAT TO HAVE ORGANISED SEATS ON THE BOAT FOR THE WHOLE TOUR PARTY WHICH AGAIN ALLOWED US TO EMBARK BEFORE THE OTHER CRUISERS. BY THE END OF THE DAY WE COULD NOT WALK ANOTHER STEP BUT FELT WE CERTAINLY HAD SEEN WHAT WASHINGTON HAD TO OFFER.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good food...great boat...friendly crew....fabulous weather....

Doing what: Washington DC Scenic Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

One of the best tours I've taken. We visited many of the monuments and memorials and received a lot of info about them. Annelies(?), the tour guide, was very enthusiastic and very knowledgable, so nobody ever got bored. After going, going, going, the lunch on the boat came at the right time to rest up and reenergize.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour. Young man that was guiding our small group was knowledgeable as well as witty.He explained to our group interesting facts about each place we visited and gave the group ample time to look around on our own.Trip down the Potomac with a box lunch was very nice.I highly recommend this tour.Well worth the money.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message