From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 836 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

M D L C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Totally exceeded our expectations. Incredible value for money. One of our best tours ever.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Richard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a very nice trip well worth the ticket price. Mount Vernon is a beautiful place to visit. We went on Columbus Day so we were not able see everything of interest during the 3 1/2 hr stay. Staff said non holiday visits are less crowded. The museum is unbelieveable, right down to Washington's dentures. The river is calm with scenic views. Highly recommended.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Tracey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour was fantastic Chris our tour guy was fantastic could answer any questions that where asked
Chris is an asset to your team in DC

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Philip S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The day cruise down to Mount Vernon was very well done. Just enough info from the crew on what we were passing but still time to carry on a conversation with fellow passengers on the way down and way back to DC. The tour of Mt Vernon itself was good as well. You were given the right amount of time to tour the buildings as well as get a snack if you wanted as well. Got back to the dock in plenty of time for the relaxing sail back to DC. Weather was great for that time of year as well.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Maureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was the highlight of our trip. The ship is beautiful, the food fantastic, the service outstanding and the staff warm and welcoming. Don't miss this!

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

Richard L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great trip - had full day and managed to cram loads in and also beat the queues at the Capitol and National Archive. The guide, Christopher was great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Geza O

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour with a very good guide. The uncertainity is always the White House because of possible nearby road closes dueto unplannable events.
You can not make all those spots to see in one day without travelling,and you got plenty of info and historical data from your guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Janet G

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

I liked the overview route, with the exception of not visiting the Jefferson Memorial, but would have preferred a more historical narrative. The guide was very personable but a little too acerbic and comical for my tastes.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Flem B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful, excellent tour. I took my god child 17 and niece 14. During the entire tour they were on their phones so I assumed they were bored. When we retuned home they both gave me the biggest hug and told me it was the best trip ever:.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Sheila P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Thought this was going to be an old foggies ride. Turned out the band was terrific, the views were spectacular, the food was reasonable not great

Doing what: Washington DC Dinner Cruise

hunterfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable day, and the cruise on the river is a great way of seeing something different.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Lucia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour was organized and fun.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

JS

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour and very knowledgeable tour guides! Highly recommend to everyone!
Vera

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

jbuchan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour covering so many highlights and building details. Hats off to guid Chris and driver Tony. Excellent job.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Susan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a great experience - lots of great information presented in a fun way!

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

Timothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely wonderful excursion. Starting with a friendly staff on the river boat cruise to the fantastic home, museum, pioneer farming and exhibitions going on that day. My only negative comment would be that I wish it lasted longer.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Definitely worth doing, but as you can imagine, it's a lot to cram into one day. We didn't felt rushed. If you're short on time this tour is great for the highlights. Another thing, the capital is being renovated so there is tons of scaffolding on the outside and inside of the dome. You couldn't see much - not good for pictures.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

trevor_watkins

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Tour made seeing many visitor attractions easy. Information on logistics and administration poor Tourguide Chris and driver Tony good

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Michael H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip. Chris the guide was exceptional and tony the driver was awesome. THe sites were as promised and we all had a great time

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message