From its source in West Virginia to where it empties out in Chesapeake Bay, the Potomac River is an area rich in American history, so much that’s often called "the Nation’s River." George Washington, the first President of the United ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 643 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was great. We really had a great time. Bucky was a wonderful Captain. I would tell everone to take this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour, highly recommended! It was 100 degrees when we went, so we were very happy to ride in an air conditioned bus, Oscar was a great guide, very knowledgeable! We got to get off the bus and get pics at many of the wonderful monuments! The river tour was nice, good to see things from the Potomac!

Doing what: Land and River Monuments Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was easy to book the tour. We really enjoyed the relaxing river trip combined with visit to Mount Vernon. The views of the river added a new dimension to seeing George Washington's home. Mount Vernon is a wonderful stop all by itself: the house, tour, lunch at the Mount Vernon Inn, the new museum, and a fabulous gift shop.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

All four of us rated it 100. The tour guide was outstanding. Very humorous, knowledgeable, and courteous. We were very fortunate to have had him as our guide.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

NewTravler
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and a must see for any vacation in the Washington DC area. The boat cruise on the Potomac River was enjoyable. Once we arrived we had set times for the house tour which allowed plenty of time afterwards to tour different parts of the grounds including a small on-site museum. I found out this large estate and surrounding land is only a fraction of the surrounding land that George Washington owned when he was alive. The tour of home was great and really is a step back in time to the founding days of United States. Highly recommended!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Even in the rain we had a great trip. My grandsons really enjoyed Capt Forest and remember each fact filled story. Thanks

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! The guides were excellent especially the lady who conducted the Capitol Tour and Christopher who took us around DC on the bus. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Thank you

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Not a single complaint.....well, except the coffee on the boat was really undrinkable. Strangest off taste I have ever encountered--and I am not normally picky about my coffee. Other than that, everything was great. Everything about the trip was well organized and professional.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved it! We are 70 something grandparents, and had two grandsons with us 7 and 15. A great time was had by all. Captain Rick was our guide. He was very knowledgable and entertaining.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great! The boat ride on the Spirit of Mount Vernon was fantastic and informative although a tad chilly and it was a great way to approach the estate. The grounds at Mount Vernon were spectacular, as was the tour within the house. My only complaint is that I wish we had more time to spend there, not being able to see the Distillery and feeling a bit rushed in the GORGEOUS museum that they have in the visitor's center / food court. Another regret is my choice in footwear all of the paths are gravel/dirt, so sneakers are a must!! I recommend this trip to all, but bring a jacket for the boat ride and do not wear sandals!!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see DC....by land and water!

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful tour. The cruise down the Potomac was relaxing as well as informational. There was ample time to tour Mount Vernon before returning to DC. I would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely fantastic, worth every penny. Our guide John was excellent, very knowledgeable and interesting. Amazing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Five stars....loved everything...boat, food, personnel. Thanks.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is the 4th time I have been on this tour and I have loved it every time. It is the one tour I recommend to get your trip started off with a big smile.

Doing what: Washington DC Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice I loved the boat ride and then the tour.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My family and I had a fabulous time! I highly recommend this tour to anyone who is interested in learning about the history and fun facts while in Washington DC.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very well planned and informative. The guides were very well educated and versed on the different sites and offered tidbits of local nostalgia. The Capitol rotunda was awesome as well as the National Archives where the Constitution and other documents are no display. The only disappointment was not being able to see the House and Senate Chambers which evidently are closed when not in session. Highly recommend this tour for first time visitors as myself!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour ! We loved Christopher. He was an amazing tour guide. We will highly recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip - great value for money
Our tour guide Mary was superb her knowledge of Washington was amazing
Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting DC

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was truly worth the money. The tour lasted about 6 1/2 including lunch. Our bus guide, Christopher, was very informative and also funny. He was able to answer all questions that tour attendees had. For anyone visiting Washington DC for the first time, this tour is well worth the expense. Lunch on the Potomac consisted of Subway sandwiches, snack and a drink.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent experience! Highly recommend. The cruise staff were extremely courteous and very good at what they do. The food was exceptional as well. Overall, an unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Brunch Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message