Indeed, the Smithsonian Institution is one of the most famous collections of museums in the world. For under the Smithsonian banner are nineteen world-class museums, nine research centers, and the National Zoological Park. Its collection of some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 567 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We completed this on our first day to get our bearings. It was really a great tour with Mike our guide full of information and a great sense of humour
This tour really helped us get around the City.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great for Orientation and a god send when your feet are aching and you can just jump on and off when you want. Even in the rain, poncho's were plentiful and staff good humoured. I will use this company again in other cities and on return to Washington as I couldn't fault it.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Angelo N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great easy way to see it all.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Timothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed the tour. Traffic was very heavy on Memorial weekend not allowing access to certain areas. We will be back on a less crowded weekend.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jeffrey J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must. The guides, through free ear buds, give you the great history of Washington
DC. There is no need to fight the traffic and find parking.
We were even furnished rain ponchos during a storm. Only way to visit a big city. Am looking for more Big Bus tours when we travel

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

michelle c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time . The teens enjoyed it . We had 5 hours in DC and we saw all the highlights

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

CRISTINE G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

NIGHT tour was amazing---- do it!! Sam was our guide, it was fantastic!

The day tour could have had more buses, after 11am, the buses were all full and you could not always get on. The A/C was not turned on in the lower sections on some buses. When it is hot and the bus is packed, AC is a must!

Over all... not too bad. Have used Big Bus in London, England too! Good company.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John Philip S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

You get to see a lot of DC, just remember don and #39;t go on the yellow line during 5:00 rush hour or you will be sitting in traffic. We had a great tour guide while on the red line. Overall very enjoyable.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Erick L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good experience, wished all the buses were air conditioned

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Edward C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Night tour was fabulous. Little traffic and stops at just the right places.
Day tours were too infrequent. Good way to get around slowly and above ground But, if you have any idea where you're going, Metro would be a better choice.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Trina W

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Was good up until Sunday, it was so crowded on the bus we were packed in like sardines and asked to squeeze together in 90 heat in order to get as many people as they could onto the bus. Next time we will take taxis to get around.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Dianelis R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This tour is good, but must of the guide tour didn and #39;t offer details or advise when they will stop.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

natalie h

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Great way to see everything in one day, however we were told they ran until 6 and at 4 pm we waited 45 mins and then had to get a taxi or we would have missed our train, a family were trying to ring head office at the bus stop to see what was going on and no-one answered, few buses at the end of the day we went in June aside from this we loved Washington and got to see everything

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sean M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

I was very disappointed with this hop on hop off pass. The buses were supposed to come every 20 minutes and we were lucky if it was every 45 min. We even had a driver shut the door in my husbands face and drive off. This was a complete waste of money. We purchased cards for the Boston and New York area and were very happy with them.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Diana D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Worst tour ever! I paid full price for 2 individuals and saw/heard nothing ... literally nothing. DO NOT WASTE YOUR ... terrible - terrible -terrible.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Michael M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I was not happy with the bus tour. There were too many stops and we never went any further then the museums. It was not clear where the stops were or when. We spent too much time waiting for the bus when we could have been touring and it was not clear when the last bus was. Not happy at all.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Fernando M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The bus was always delayed and most of the time i walked without taking the bus

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

leslie c

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

In all honesty I cannot recommend this tour. I have taken previous Hop On/Hop Off tours offered by Viator and was extremely pleased, but this tour fell well short of the mark. I purchased the 48 hour, and on the first day we did not have a live guide but had recorded audio. The recordings were way out of date, referring to events or structures that you could possibly experience on a future tour, as they would not be complete until 2015!!! Also the speaker clearly had never visited the DC area, as he kept referring to the Potomac River as the POT-toe-mac, when in really the pronunciation id pot-TOE-mic. In addition to that, the recordings did not sync with the physical location of the bus, often referring to sights that were no longer visible and in one case announcing that this was the stop for a given attraction, longer after we had passed the stop. The tour was also spoiled by the traffic experienced in DC. We spent more time stopped in traffic than we did moving. When the recording wasn't mentioning something that was not visible, we were treated to the most horrendous Progressive Jazz interlude imaginable. That may be some folks idea of music, but I think they are in the minority, and it certainly wasn't mine.

The second day wasn't much better, for while we had a live guide, the wind and her weak voice made the garbled and virtually unintelligible. We finally resorted to taking our earbuds out and trying to hear the guide from where we sat. So needless to say we missed a lot of the commentary. Again the constant and prolonged stops meant the guide just stood there for prolonged periods, with nothing to say. Altogether, this tour was a waste of money. I will take another Hop On/Hop Off tour in another city in the future, but I cannot recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Louie G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good way of getting around and getting some basic facts/history about different sites. Out of the 4 or 5 buses we took, only one had a live guided option which is by far the best way to get the most out of your trip. While having the pre-recorded is still nice to have, it just can't beat the live version which always includes personal reflections, interactions, and additional facts you can't find in the pre-recorded version. The only other problem... traffic. When taking the Red Line, be aware that you will spend a lot of time in traffic with very little sightseeing options.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

sisterstravel

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Due to the limited time of our trip and rainy weather, my sister and I were unable to enjoy the trip to the fullest. We enjoy the aspect of being able to get an overview of the city by bus. However we found it very difficult to make the first connection with the bus line even though we had pre-booked our tickets. The bus routes seem to be on off the beaten path and therefore difficult to find. It cost us 3 to 4 hours of valuable time before our first bus ride. Also even though many of your ads state desired sites the routes do not come within sight of the sites. That is very disappointing.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ramone R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was not what I had hoped for and I would not do it again.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Brandon A

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Very informative, takes you to exactly where you want to be. Unfortunately it pails in comparison to the New York version as it doesn't have live guides on all except the main route. The busses themselves are also aging and decrepit, of all the busses we travelled on only one was new. The others had rattling panels, or panels missing. The one live commentary tour we went on had no working mic and the door jammed and wouldn't close but the tour guide took it in his comedic stride. The first bus we got on sat still for 25 mins because the purchase machine the driver had was broken. We don't regret the choice to go with big bus but they need to up their game.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Nicspics

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Sadly, and no fault to Big Bus, the day we used it coincided with two parades in Washington DC forcing the closure of many roads. Our plan to sightsee everything didn't happen and instead we spent lots of time just sitting in traffic or changing buses. We finally gave up. I've used Big Bus before in another city and it worked well, so imagine Washington would be the same on a good day.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Vicki A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I would never recommend taking this tour. I learned very little about DC. The narrative was taped and didn't work half the time. The wait times were very long. Traffic was terrible so the buses had trouble getting to the stops on time. Two years ago I took an On Board tour of DC and was very pleased. I got so much information, learned my way around and didn't waste time waiting for transportation since it stayed right with us.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message