Indeed, the Smithsonian Institution is one of the most famous collections of museums in the world. For under the Smithsonian banner are nineteen world-class museums, nine research centers, and the National Zoological Park. Its collection of some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 368 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very nice people and buses. It snowed all day both days but the buses ran according to schedule and even back up and moved around to get a better way for us to jump over the snow banks and into the bus! Very knowledgeable guides. We really enjoyed this!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is well worth the money takes you to every place you would want to visit in DC , we waited no more than 20 minutes for a bus once we got off and the staff were great and very helpful.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Good Routes and Stops!! Take a guidebook-- the taped guide and music over the PA are boring

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Not enough buses. Other tours had 3 or more buses in the 20 minutes we waited for out tour bus. Because there were too few buses, the bus was very crowded. On the last leg of our trip, the roof inside got so hot, several people were feeling sick. One man ended up holding the door open with his foot to cool down the inside compartment.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Great way to see the city and get an understanding of each area, guide was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great way to learn a lot about the city. The buses were clean and on time. I appreciated the additional benefits: free visit to Madame Tussaud's, Crime and Punishment Museum and free Potomac river cruise.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a very short amount of time to sightsee. The bus tour was the perfect way to maximize our time.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tours were great! Lots of great information from the tour guides. Would highly recommend this company!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent! We had a guest from Tanzania East Africa who was delighted to see so much of the city in such an efficient way. Great Tour guides - beautiful weather. Wonderful accommodations. Thanks!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Informative, all personal helpful and friendly. We took all four lines and saw most everything. Great introduction to DC. It showed us where we wanted to explore more throughly.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

very well organized
recommend reading all material well in advance before starting your tour, to avoid loosing time

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was great! I've done lots of these in Europe (handy to get to know a town the first time, then choose where you really want to focus on visiting). A bit annoying that they joined the Red and Blue lines; I did not want to go to the Pentagon (look at a cement building while you drive by), and didn't want to go shopping (Pentagon City), but a fairly minor (1/2 hour) annoyance. I assume touristing is down so it was necessary. They should let the hotels know about that, though, my hotel thought the lines were still separate. Worth doing, especially for first time visitors or someone, like I, who haven't been for over 10 years.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very convenient. Really nice tours with the live guides.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

i enjoyed my tour using the Hop-On Hip-Off bus, we were able to visit many of the sites by using this tour bus

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Laura M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We arrived from NYC early so hopped on the first bus of the day. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed his commentary. However, one of the other Big Bus employees, who I think just hitched a ride round on different routes all day, gave us wrong directional information not once, but twice during our day which was a little disappointing. We loved the city though and do think that this type of tour is best if you are short of time. Our other complaint would be that we were dropped at the White House stop at around 4.30pm, expecting to be able to call at the visitor centre afterwards. It's a shame we weren't informed that the visitor centre closed at 4pm, we could have changed our routes had we known.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message