Indeed, the Smithsonian Institution is one of the most famous collections of museums in the world. For under the Smithsonian banner are nineteen world-class museums, nine research centers, and the National Zoological Park. Its collection of some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 549 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Louie G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good way of getting around and getting some basic facts/history about different sites. Out of the 4 or 5 buses we took, only one had a live guided option which is by far the best way to get the most out of your trip. While having the pre-recorded is still nice to have, it just can't beat the live version which always includes personal reflections, interactions, and additional facts you can't find in the pre-recorded version. The only other problem... traffic. When taking the Red Line, be aware that you will spend a lot of time in traffic with very little sightseeing options.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

sisterstravel

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Due to the limited time of our trip and rainy weather, my sister and I were unable to enjoy the trip to the fullest. We enjoy the aspect of being able to get an overview of the city by bus. However we found it very difficult to make the first connection with the bus line even though we had pre-booked our tickets. The bus routes seem to be on off the beaten path and therefore difficult to find. It cost us 3 to 4 hours of valuable time before our first bus ride. Also even though many of your ads state desired sites the routes do not come within sight of the sites. That is very disappointing.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ramone R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was not what I had hoped for and I would not do it again.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Brandon A

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Very informative, takes you to exactly where you want to be. Unfortunately it pails in comparison to the New York version as it doesn't have live guides on all except the main route. The busses themselves are also aging and decrepit, of all the busses we travelled on only one was new. The others had rattling panels, or panels missing. The one live commentary tour we went on had no working mic and the door jammed and wouldn't close but the tour guide took it in his comedic stride. The first bus we got on sat still for 25 mins because the purchase machine the driver had was broken. We don't regret the choice to go with big bus but they need to up their game.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Nicspics

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Sadly, and no fault to Big Bus, the day we used it coincided with two parades in Washington DC forcing the closure of many roads. Our plan to sightsee everything didn't happen and instead we spent lots of time just sitting in traffic or changing buses. We finally gave up. I've used Big Bus before in another city and it worked well, so imagine Washington would be the same on a good day.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Vicki A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I would never recommend taking this tour. I learned very little about DC. The narrative was taped and didn't work half the time. The wait times were very long. Traffic was terrible so the buses had trouble getting to the stops on time. Two years ago I took an On Board tour of DC and was very pleased. I got so much information, learned my way around and didn't waste time waiting for transportation since it stayed right with us.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guides were great -- very informative.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

martaleida United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way to see the sites.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alistair G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great tour with 5 separate routes and a free night tour, all tours were informative with either a recorded commentary or personal guides. The night tour was a fantastic bonus, seeing all the sights and monuments by night. You were also afforded the opportunity to get off the bus and to get a closer look at the monuments with a history given by your tour guide, this was both interesting and informative.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best way ever to get around.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

scott i

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Employees: Most were great, some were a bit questionable. Some talk way too fast!
Bus: Couldn't see a thing if one sat in the lower part of the bus. To see, one must sit on the top deck, which lends itself to freezing. Buses don't seem to run too close to a schedule.
If I were to spend money on a bus tour, to with Big Bus--they are very visible and a bigger company so they either have more buses, or run close to a schedule.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

zhiguang x

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

It was awful. when we got off to see the sites, our driver and personal told us that a bus would be coming again to pick us up. we waited over an hour and a half in the heat burning from the sun. We will never take this again. they do not inform passengers correctly and they are not very concerned about passengers.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Rochelle A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

We booked this tour and your company used City Sights DC. We had used Viator in NYC and this service was great so booked it when we were in DC, as well. It was chilly, not your fault of course, but when the bus finally got there, we had to sit upstairs in cold because the bus was filthy in the closed in downstairs and the windows were all grimy! Plus they had mechanical problems and had to pull over and wait for another bus to pick us up! It's condition was just as bad. We saw another Hop on and off bus service that looked so much more updated and new equipment called Big Bus. I suggest you change your Service Provider so that clients like me will book through your service. It was quite expensive for 3 of us at 229.47. We only used it that afternoon from 1:30-4pm as that is when they stop running.We then decided we would rather walk the rest of the time instead of getting back on the next day.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Helen M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

This trip was disappointing to say the least, the day tour had no guide and the commentary didn't work either. The saving grace for this company was the Night Tour, the tour guide was very knowledgeable and did her best to show us as much as she could. Without the night tour it would have been very poor value for money.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Helen M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

The Day Tour was very disappointing, there was no tour guide and the recorded commentary wasn't working either. The company were saved by the Night Tour, the tour guide was very knowledgeable and did her best to get us to as many places as possible.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

David R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

It would be nice if they ran a little more often and if all four lines intersected. We had to hop from red to yellow to catch the green line.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Amanda P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Unfortunately the wait for the bus at every stop 30 minutes was frustrating and we only used our 48 hour hop-on-hop-off ticket once the entire two days. The headphone tour was below par but the view from the top was fun.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Chud W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Our first stop was out to Arlington National Cemetary. We wasted 3 and a half hours on the bus trying to get out there. Terrible service, no help, extremely long waits. Worst use of our money, and we never got back on and had to pay to Uber our next day.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

David D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

I don't have an experience because we were NEVER able to get on a bus

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jason

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Only way to do Washington Dc

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Nicole M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This tour was good, although some of the buses are a little outdated and the seats were cold sometimes. Also on one of the buses we were on, it had an advertising wrap over the window completely obscuring the view. With this being a sight seeing tour - it seemed a bit ridiculous.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

david

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Covers access to most of the attractions, although the audio systems on all these buses need upgrades

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message