Indeed, the Smithsonian Institution is one of the most famous collections of museums in the world. For under the Smithsonian banner are nineteen world-class museums, nine research centers, and the National Zoological Park. Its collection of some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 394 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is the best way to see the sights of this beautiful city. Easy to use and informative.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful opportunity to see all the main monuments and museums in DC. We were overwhelmed by the rich history surrounding us and the helpfulness of the bus drivers and staff. We enjoyed the convenience of locations so much that we bought another 48 hours to use as our primary mode of transportation during our week visit. We would suggest that anyone visiting DC use this great way to see this city!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

OK once on the bus, bet finding convenient bus stops a real pain. No signs. Many times no guide. Night tour really good and the added attractions are a great value.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Some of the tour guides were good but we had a few that were not very personable. We had to wait over an hour to be picked up at our hotel, and we had to call. They seemed very disorganized and did not follow the schedule they gave us. Their hop on hop off pick up spots were not marked so we had to guess where they were and sometimes run to the bus to get on. The buses did not come as often as indicated in the brochure. I would try another tour company next time. The night tour of the monuments was great.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

There should be more frequency at the stops of the buses. We waited at Arlington Cemetery for 1/2 hour and when the bus came it was packed. We were all cramed.

The ticket agent at Lincoln memorial was very helpful

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

I saw more buses of another company three go by while I was waiting for the Big Bus to come. Although they advertise a red and a blue tour line, they combined it. So I spent time going to Arlington cemetery where I didn't want to go. However the last driver was very nice in helping an old confused couple get back to their hotel by stopping and getting a cab for them.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Is not worth it for a short visit. We have to be tranfering from bus to bus, and sometimes the bus you are on arrives just when the other one left so you have to wait half hour. It took me 21/2 hours to get from the national zoo to the washington monument. there was never a narrator on my bus either

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The routes, bus and narrators were very good. However, the wait time between buses was excessive. We read that the buses would arrive every 20 minutes on some routes and every 30 minutes on other routes. However, the wait time at the stops was double that time. We felt that we wasted a lot of time on just waiting on the buses. We would see other buses from other companies arrive at the same stops with much more frequency.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

I was not able to use the coupon to the full amt.. I went to madam tussaud museum and that was it. Also the drivers were rude and abrasive and the accent of the tour guide was too, too thick and the ear buds did not work as well and on the bus seat hopping occurred to use the radios for the tour guide. Not as nice as I expected.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

We got on at Union Station to start as we figured that was the starting point and we'd get all the basics. No live tour guide. Bus driver didn't tell us there was a detour and he wasn't going in our direction due to the detour. He also didn't explain about the head phones to us. He also didn't point out the bus stop signs. Later in the day we waited in the shade in view of where we were dropped off, as the recording had said that they stop at each stop whether anyone was getting off or not. After 10 minutes of waiting, a bus went by us without stopping - had to wait 20 more minutes, causing us to have to pass on our river cruise due to a time crunch. We bought this because it was advertised as 48 hours. It was not spelled out that the night tour so prominently featured is not included during your 48 hours: you really only have 2 10-hour day passes. Big Bus would only help on some things because we bought from a third party. The whole trip we only had a live tour guide for a 3-stop stretch.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is the way to go!!! Taking a private tour, by a Tour Guide that was super knowledgable and friendly, Craig, was making the most of our time. He was able to explain, and demonstrate several times with props he had. very effective! If in Washington and going to the Smithsonian Air and Space, this is certainly worth it!

Doing what: Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum and Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Bus tour was awesome. Easy to find where to get your tickets at Union Station - busses were right out front - no wait time to get moving. Double Decker is a huge advantage when viewing the Departments such as Treasury etc... I'd do it again in a heart beat - great value.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was an ideal way to get around Washington DC. We never waited very long for a bus and the staff were really accomodating. Our questions were answered quickly and they went out of their way to help us.
The locations that we were able to see were great. We loved it and cant wait to do it again!!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

an easy way to see around the city

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was good, however the best part was the ability to chose 2 attractions were great. Highly recomend the Newseum.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The drivers and staff were friendly and helpful and did the best they could, but an earth day concert was going on in the national mall and because of traffic they were unable to get us to many off the important sites and we were unable to see much of what we wanted to on Saturday, which was disappointing because our time on Sunday was limited. We saw as much as we could but I truly wish that I had known about the concert, but because we are from out of state we had no idea. It would be nice if these kinds of places let you know ahead of time or at least gave out a discount

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was a nice option. But seemed a lot of the drivers did not have a lot of proper training knowing destinations other than the monuments.
Still was a nice option to have, a little pricey but we enjoyed our day trip.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

So disappointing! Canned music became nearly unbearable-very, very little actual information about the sites. In fact, the tape was not in sync with our location when there was someone speaking. I've done a number of "hop on/off" type tours in cities all over-this was not-not worth the money!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The Viator website had a list of stops that we could jump on but it was inaccurate. We waited a total of an hour, 30mins on each side of the building to be picked up but the bus never stopped. We didn't get to visit very many places because there was an earth day concert and a lot of roads were blocked. We only got off the bus once to see the Lincoln, WWII, and Vietnam memorials. We sat in a lot of traffic as we took a lot of detours. The big bus operators did offer to extend our 24hr due to the chaos but we were didn't have time the next day to use it.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Disappointing.The are only a few buses, so long waits on stops.The bus loops are too long and only go in one direction which means you travel around for hours, overlapping the same spot before you get where you want to go. The traffic is horrendous and the buses stop at 5pm - so no evening travel.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The local tour operator twice failed to show up at the designated location and time. This caused my son and to wait in the rain for about an hour each time for a tour that no one told us had been cancelled for lack of a minimum number of tourists we learned this only after we returned home after our trip and spoke with VIATOR customer service. Failure to communicate is a real problem if you are in a service industry like yours. I won't recommend VIATOR to anyone.

Doing what: Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum and Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message