Indeed, the Smithsonian Institution is one of the most famous collections of museums in the world. For under the Smithsonian banner are nineteen world-class museums, nine research centers, and the National Zoological Park. Its collection of some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 374 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is the way to go!!! Taking a private tour, by a Tour Guide that was super knowledgable and friendly, Craig, was making the most of our time. He was able to explain, and demonstrate several times with props he had. very effective! If in Washington and going to the Smithsonian Air and Space, this is certainly worth it!

Doing what: Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum and Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

an easy way to see around the city

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was good, however the best part was the ability to chose 2 attractions were great. Highly recomend the Newseum.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

So disappointing! Canned music became nearly unbearable-very, very little actual information about the sites. In fact, the tape was not in sync with our location when there was someone speaking. I've done a number of "hop on/off" type tours in cities all over-this was not-not worth the money!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Disappointing.The are only a few buses, so long waits on stops.The bus loops are too long and only go in one direction which means you travel around for hours, overlapping the same spot before you get where you want to go. The traffic is horrendous and the buses stop at 5pm - so no evening travel.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The local tour operator twice failed to show up at the designated location and time. This caused my son and to wait in the rain for about an hour each time for a tour that no one told us had been cancelled for lack of a minimum number of tourists we learned this only after we returned home after our trip and spoke with VIATOR customer service. Failure to communicate is a real problem if you are in a service industry like yours. I won't recommend VIATOR to anyone.

Doing what: Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum and Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very nice people and buses. It snowed all day both days but the buses ran according to schedule and even back up and moved around to get a better way for us to jump over the snow banks and into the bus! Very knowledgeable guides. We really enjoyed this!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is well worth the money takes you to every place you would want to visit in DC , we waited no more than 20 minutes for a bus once we got off and the staff were great and very helpful.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Good Routes and Stops!! Take a guidebook-- the taped guide and music over the PA are boring

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Not enough buses. Other tours had 3 or more buses in the 20 minutes we waited for out tour bus. Because there were too few buses, the bus was very crowded. On the last leg of our trip, the roof inside got so hot, several people were feeling sick. One man ended up holding the door open with his foot to cool down the inside compartment.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Great way to see the city and get an understanding of each area, guide was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great way to learn a lot about the city. The buses were clean and on time. I appreciated the additional benefits: free visit to Madame Tussaud's, Crime and Punishment Museum and free Potomac river cruise.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a very short amount of time to sightsee. The bus tour was the perfect way to maximize our time.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tours were great! Lots of great information from the tour guides. Would highly recommend this company!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent! We had a guest from Tanzania East Africa who was delighted to see so much of the city in such an efficient way. Great Tour guides - beautiful weather. Wonderful accommodations. Thanks!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message