Indeed, the Smithsonian Institution is one of the most famous collections of museums in the world. For under the Smithsonian banner are nineteen world-class museums, nine research centers, and the National Zoological Park. Its collection of some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 529 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nicole M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This tour was good, although some of the buses are a little outdated and the seats were cold sometimes. Also on one of the buses we were on, it had an advertising wrap over the window completely obscuring the view. With this being a sight seeing tour - it seemed a bit ridiculous.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

david

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Covers access to most of the attractions, although the audio systems on all these buses need upgrades

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Robert B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

By the way--after the ruined day, I emailed them on 4 different occasions and never got a return email from them. The only thing they know is how to grab tourists' money.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Helen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Granddaughter and I had a great time in DC. The hop on hop off bus tour was great lots of info from guides and so easy to get everywhere

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Diana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome tour. We were on the 48 hour tour with the Night tour included. The night tour is something I would do over and over again. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and interesting. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Washington DC.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

pedringus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

it was the greatest and amazing learning experience i've ever had. the tour guide, mr. mike c is awesome, he did a good job. i must admit that particular trip, stirred my interest to study american history. may GOD bless America and the whole world

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jacqueline G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Hop off is great, hop ON is left to chance however. Multiple waits over 45 Minutes week of september 28, busses not stopping, in Arlington we had to take another company's bus, as we were left stranded for good. Night tour was completely overbooked, took ages to organize a second bus and only one supervisor present who was great but all on his own. Most of the time the German recording was not working at all.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a wonderful way to get around.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

pattymc997

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved our tour. I wish I had asked how long the tour would be because we only got off at one stop in fear of being late. Next time we go, Lord willing, we will be better prepared. Loved the tour and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The bus tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kathryn Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our party of 4 enjoyed a great tour of all the major sights in Washington DC with the help of Henry, our live tour guide. With his charming commentary, even we long-term residents of the the city learned new things about it. Although we did not take advantage of the hop-on hop off feature on this tour, we will repeat the tour next year and do so. Recommended!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Joe H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Best way to see DC. Tour guides were funny and knowledgable, stops were perfectly convenient, really a fantastic way to explore a new city. I'll definitely do this again!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent way to see the main attractions in Washington.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Verran K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The most exiting way to experience Washington.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Dennis W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

please a little more clarity on how to use system. A map in advance would have helped

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Stephen D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Only issue we had was that the advertised bus stops were every half hour when in fact they were every hour during the time we were there on Nov 22 and Nov 23 2015. Drivers were very helpful and most of the tour guides seemed to know what they were talking about.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

JP

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Had hard time finding out where they stopped. Didn't seem to be many buses.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Doris D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

This is one I should have given a miss and rather walked with a map in hand. This was the first time ever I used one of the hop on hop off services and will not repeat it. I prefer walking and exploring at my own pace. I am certain this trip is worthwhile for thousands of visitors who prefer to be hopped on and off, but not a repeat experience for me. Also, the head phones and/or audio system was not working at my seat and the bus was full so I could not sit elsewhere......

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sheila P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Half of the roads were blocked off on Sat and Sun, so just went one day for the 2 day price. Had to wait over 45 mins at one stop, watched as the almost empty Big Bus went by.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Doc A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent - will recommend to others willingly.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Lynne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great way to see the main sights of Washington when you're short on time. Really friendly staff too

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great way to get a layout of the sites in Washington DC, especially if you are a first time visitor.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Vickie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Taking the hop on hop off trolley is very well done. The recording was very informative and detailed. We came away much more informed. The staff are very friendly and most helpful. This is a great way to tour the city and learn the heritage.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Michele R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great Tour of the city and monuments! Would not have seen as much as we did without the tour. Staff very friendly and helpful. Didn't realize DC would be such a great trip. Will be back to see more!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Shannon P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We really liked how it was easy to get on and off and how much we were able to see in just one day. However, not all the buses have live people giving the tour information. It's much better to have a real person giving the information about the buildings, etc... than the recordings you can listen to.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message