Indeed, the Smithsonian Institution is one of the most famous collections of museums in the world. For under the Smithsonian banner are nineteen world-class museums, nine research centers, and the National Zoological Park. Its collection of some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 446 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

I had a problem with finding the voucher link on a smart phone screen. Then when I finally was able to access the voucher, the bus company would not accept it.
1.        Viator should inform people that they need to start at a location with a Big Bus Tour Company desk. The only one I know of is Union Station. Our problem would never have gotten resolved if we had tried to start at Arlington Cemetery or the World War II Memorial for example.
2.        Viator confirmation e-mail should put the voucher link right at the beginning and on the left side of the message, so it is easy to find. Better yet, why should the customer need a voucher at all? Cant Viator coordinate with the bus company so that we just show some ID and they know that we bought a ticket?
3.        The voucher thing with its little scan code widget was totally useless anyway, since the bus company needed their own voucher scan code. Whats up with that?
My wife and I were stuck at Union Station in DC for about 50 minutes until this all got resolved.

The tour itself was good.

All-in-all, glad I took the tour. Sorry I bought the tickets through Viator. I should have just bought them at the Big Bus desk at Union Station. I see that Viator sells tours all over the world. I shudder to think how much worse this could have been in a foreign country. I never will use Viator again.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff. Big Bus is a great way to see Washington
Highly recommend using this tour group.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This Tour Was Amazing! We enjoyed every bit of it! Great transportation to every spot in April 16-17th were the days we visited DC! The roof made the spring ride amazing! Will do the big bus again!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Easy to connect @ union station from hotel we stayed at F. St

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We love this tour! We rode it all day and got to see as many attractions as we wanted. Definitely recommend for a great price! I also read others reviews and chose this tour!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was wonderful to be able to get on and off the bus as my family wished. However, be sure to look to see if Washington DC has any parades or events that close down the streets. We went down over Memorial Day weekend and due to the Motorcycle Rally on Sunday, May 24th, a lot of routes were closed. We were hoping to see Jefferson Memorial and Arlington Cemetery but were not able to do so. Additionally, the signs to catch the Big Bus are hidden in some areas. Yet at the bigger attractions, there is someone to help answer questions and sell tickets. If you ride on the upper portion of the bus, be careful as there are some lower hanging branches that you will have to duck and weave to avoid getting hit.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The routes were perfect, every guide was knowledgable and personable. Even when it rained we had a great time! Word of advice... Start with the first pickup time- the day goes quick!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great. Buses were frequent and drivers were friendly.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Easy way to see the sites. Buses were very fast in pick up so you never wait long. Tour guides were great and very knowledgable. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Big Bus is the best way to go my husband and I highly recommended it and you want be disappointed at all.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Karen Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good hop on hop off tour with 3 different loops. Make sure you do the Night Tour and the Yellow Loop.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful way to get around town! This is a must for anyone visiting for the first time. You will see all of the most popular sites and monuments, and then you can decide where you want to spend a little more time.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

By taking this tour you get to see EVERYTHING! What a great tour. The buses were clean, the drivers very easy to understand when telling you about what you are seeing - take this tour!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an awesome time, were very impressed with the security measures taken in certain places. The people are very friendly and communicative with you. The only thing we suggest is to travel more in the spring or fall because it was really hot, but overall we made it work just fine. The tours were on time and no hassles whatsoever. The hotel was amazing, great spot and good service along with the hospitality was very good. The Lombardy Hotel I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great way to see the city!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an Awesome time!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a good way to learn about the sights. The audio was not always synced. The overall experience was very comparable to other Hop-on, hop-off tours I've done. The staff were very nice and helpful!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The drivers were quite helpful and knowledgeable. Felt like we got our money's worth

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great tour. I really enjoyed seeing so many parts of DC.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Loved the flexibility of the hop on-hop off bus. Most tour guides were really great.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I really enjoyed my overall tours. The guide and bus driver were great on my red tour. I took the red and yellow loops. Throughout the day, I transfered to different buses. The only thing I did not like was the recorded guide tours. The majority of the time the bus driver was either ahead or behind the recorded tour. I will tour with this company again! However, I parked at Union Station it cost 20 for the day. Next time, I will take the metro in and pick up the tour at the Native American museum in order to say money.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message