Indeed, the Smithsonian Institution is one of the most famous collections of museums in the world. For under the Smithsonian banner are nineteen world-class museums, nine research centers, and the National Zoological Park. Its collection of some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 459 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was good and entertaining. Unless you are familiar with the locations and know what you are supposed to visit, you may end visiting the same places multiple times.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a pity we only had one day in Washington DC because we missed a lot of sights but what we saw was very enjoyable. We did seem to waste time waiting for buses but would do this tour again

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We were well pleased with the whole adventure. We enjoyed the ability of being able to get off-get-on when we wanted. We were able to visit St. Matthew's Cathederal, which was the sight of John Kennedy's funeral. The one thing I wish we had been able to do was visit the National Catherdal...next time.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We had a very nice time utilizing the Big Bus Tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Used the buses a lot. You have to be careful as some of the Big Bus signs are missing from stops which is annoying! They take you to all the major sights and there are plenty of buses even at peak times. Always a good way to get your bearings.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Very busy and too crowded for bus to get through crowds, we could not do the entire tour due to this. Also we didn't know that besides our voucher, we needed to turn that in to the attendant who gave us another ticket. We missed a bus due to this and with the crowd waited another 30 minutes. While we saw many important spots, the day was a struggle.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Our intention was to ride the full circuit and not use the hop on/hop off option because our time in DC was limited. While we enjoyed the narrator when we finally got on the correct bus, we had to change buses 3 times because of 1. broken audio system, 2. guide instructed us to the wrong bus 3. our bus went out of service at Union Station and we had to transfer buses. Maybe this is not a problem for most folks but we were traveling with my 87 year old mother and getting on and off the bus was very difficult for her.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Problems with the yellow loop, theymade us wait for mor than 30 minutes and then simply cut short the loop. Nobody had the correct or the same information, and thatmade us feeli uncertaim.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The buses seemed to take a while to come to certain stops along the route. And where we had an amazing lady giving great information on one bus, other buses had guides that gave little to no information or it was only a brief audio bit you got to listen to. Will check out another company on my next visit.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The first bus was not air conditioned, it was 95 outside, the second we had to set up top, HOT, we are seniors so not conventiate, we had to walk much more than planed because they did not use schedule we were given.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Recording gave minimal information very disappointing.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

I had a problem with finding the voucher link on a smart phone screen. Then when I finally was able to access the voucher, the bus company would not accept it.
1.        Viator should inform people that they need to start at a location with a Big Bus Tour Company desk. The only one I know of is Union Station. Our problem would never have gotten resolved if we had tried to start at Arlington Cemetery or the World War II Memorial for example.
2.        Viator confirmation e-mail should put the voucher link right at the beginning and on the left side of the message, so it is easy to find. Better yet, why should the customer need a voucher at all? Cant Viator coordinate with the bus company so that we just show some ID and they know that we bought a ticket?
3.        The voucher thing with its little scan code widget was totally useless anyway, since the bus company needed their own voucher scan code. Whats up with that?
My wife and I were stuck at Union Station in DC for about 50 minutes until this all got resolved.

The tour itself was good.

All-in-all, glad I took the tour. Sorry I bought the tickets through Viator. I should have just bought them at the Big Bus desk at Union Station. I see that Viator sells tours all over the world. I shudder to think how much worse this could have been in a foreign country. I never will use Viator again.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Big disappointement ! My son and wife where waiting for this trip for so long, especially my son who like's to have an explication of everything. Your open-top bus tours provide an informative and entertaining commentary, so you can get to know the history of the city, as well as discovering local insights.
The problem is that the french commentary was not working !!! We had only 30 min french comments on our first bus but on the 3 other busses it was not working ! And without those french commentary it was not the same experience. I paid the full price but diden't get the service fior what i paid...
I'm back in Brussels now but i well be soon going to New York and will again take the On-hop On-off bus what are you going to do for me ???
Best Regards,
Christian

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

We had a very challenging and upsetting customer experience one afternoon. The brochure map indicated the correct place to get on the red line was in front of Madame Tussaud's museum in Washington DC. In front of the museum we asked the bus driver if the bus was a 'red line' bus and if there was enough room for 7 people 2 of which were my parents and my father doesn't walk well and needs a cane. He threw up his hands and put his head down on the driving wheel. He then looked at me and said he didn't mean to be a smarty pants. Then my mom showed him the map and was expressing frustration on the pick up point and he then got very agitated and told her Lady, you need to shut your mouth! I told him calmly we'd catch another bus and walked up the street a block and talked with the City Sights tour people and they tried to explain the incorrect map situation. The incorrect map clearly frustrates the drivers as well as the customers. After spending several hundred dollars on a tour that could have been a great experience, it was very upsetting being told to 'shut your mouth'.

Some of the staff, bus drivers and tour guides were very helpful but after our upsetting confrontation that afternoon, we found the Big Tours bus people to be so helpful on the street explaining where the bus pick up spot really was supposed to be.

We were able to see a lot of the city and did enjoy the night tour. This particular tour offers a lot of value and we did like being able to get in to different attractions. We found that we would not recommend your organization City Sights bus tours to anybody visiting Washington DC. Our customer experience was not what we would expect for the kind of money that we spent.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff. Big Bus is a great way to see Washington
Highly recommend using this tour group.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This Tour Was Amazing! We enjoyed every bit of it! Great transportation to every spot in April 16-17th were the days we visited DC! The roof made the spring ride amazing! Will do the big bus again!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Easy to connect @ union station from hotel we stayed at F. St

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We love this tour! We rode it all day and got to see as many attractions as we wanted. Definitely recommend for a great price! I also read others reviews and chose this tour!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was wonderful to be able to get on and off the bus as my family wished. However, be sure to look to see if Washington DC has any parades or events that close down the streets. We went down over Memorial Day weekend and due to the Motorcycle Rally on Sunday, May 24th, a lot of routes were closed. We were hoping to see Jefferson Memorial and Arlington Cemetery but were not able to do so. Additionally, the signs to catch the Big Bus are hidden in some areas. Yet at the bigger attractions, there is someone to help answer questions and sell tickets. If you ride on the upper portion of the bus, be careful as there are some lower hanging branches that you will have to duck and weave to avoid getting hit.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The routes were perfect, every guide was knowledgable and personable. Even when it rained we had a great time! Word of advice... Start with the first pickup time- the day goes quick!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great. Buses were frequent and drivers were friendly.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Easy way to see the sites. Buses were very fast in pick up so you never wait long. Tour guides were great and very knowledgable. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Big Bus is the best way to go my husband and I highly recommended it and you want be disappointed at all.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Karen Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good hop on hop off tour with 3 different loops. Make sure you do the Night Tour and the Yellow Loop.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message