• USD ($)
  • English
There's nothing quite like the majestic sight of the U.S. Capitol, with its towering 285 ft (86 m) cast-iron dome topped by the bronze Statue of Freedom, ornate fountains, and marble Roman pillars set on sweeping lawns and flowering gardens.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

GREAT SERVICE.
Very accommodating for my disabled veteran father and I. The Capitol area was very busy and this offered an excellent mode of transportation.
The drivers was very informative and friendly. It was a busy Saturday and additional trams were added. The frequency of pickups was 15 min

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A wonderful day touring the best of Washington DC ! Our driver and guide (Tony and Ralph) took great care of us, even selecting the best shaded spots on a very hot DC day. Loved the capitol tour, Lincoln monument, and ALL the war memorials ! We even found an uncle listed on the WWII registry. The boat ride down the Potomac was very relaxing and a nice way to take a break after a full morning of touring. The lunch sandwich was so-so...think just ordering a Subway sandwich would be better. Enjoyed our last stop at National Archives, being on our own and taking our time to view so many of the historic documents. Wonderful tour and bottled waters on our bus were greatly appreciated.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

As the focus of this tour is the Capitol, I expected to see the Senate and House chambers. This was not to be as we were ushered thru rotundas housing statues of mostly obscure individuals I'd never heard of. Then we joined another couple of tours, some of whom had different itineries. We whipped thru Important memorials such as the Vietnam Memorial by observing it from a distance and being hurried off to the next destination. A

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic tour! Our tour guide (Mike) enthusiastically shared his vast knowledge of all of D.C.'s monuments. Seeing and photographing the monuments at night is a delightfully refreshing way to experience D.C. This is a "must" tour for anybody visiting our nation's capitol.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is without question a great way to see the major monuments in DC. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour guide, Kate, who was bubbling over with knowledge about Washington and enthusiasm for her job. It is fun to ride around town in the open-air electric cars. We felt the cost was very fair for what we received -- they even provided cold bottled water. And it sure saves lots of walking. The only thing to be aware of is that this tour does not stop at either the WWII Memorial (no parking available) or the US Capitol (a time ticket is required for a separate tour).

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were on limited time in Washington DC and wanted to see as much as possible, so this was a fantastic tour. Our Guide Ralph was a great personality and had fantastic knowledge to share. The tour takes in all the main tourist attractions (National Mall, Capitol Hill, White House, Lincoln Memorial, Reflecting Pool, Vietnam and Korean War Memorials to name just a few) and you see 100's of more sights along the way. The trip includes a 1 hour river boat ride on the Potomac River which was an added treat and you see everything from a different aspect including Watergate and the Pentagon. You can add lunch for a very reasonable price ($10) and it is delivered to the bus just before you get on the boat and bottles of water are supplied FOC throughout the trip. Excellent value for money and highly recommended

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

First of all, forget the Capitol tour reserved for you in advance , the bus driver dropped you off on one side and you walk around to the other to stand in a giant line to get into the visitors center to stand in another line to get a tour - nothing is reserved And that was the selling point for us in taking the tour. It took over 40 minutes to even start the tour of the Capitol. We scheduled this tour on Day 2 of our visit as it wasn't offered on Sunday. We scheduled what we were going to see on Day 1 based on the tour description. Imagine our surprise when some of sights listed on this tour were skipped and we stopped at places that we had already seen the day before. What a waste of the little time we had in DC. Even at the start the location was so badly described that when arriving 20 minutes early at Union Station, we barely made it to the counter by 8. The bus didn't leave until after 8:30 so we spent another half hour in a bus terminal inhaling diesel fumes. We also spent a good 20 minutes waiting on the bus for people that couldn't make it back on time. The one good note was that the driver was very accommodating and dropped us off at the end at one of the Museums that we thought we were going to see earlier in the day.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had THE MOST AWESOME tour guide, Eric. The tour itself was wonderful; seeing up close such sights as the Lincoln, FDR, MLK and Viet Nam wall memorials but Eric made it especially super because of his in depth knowledge of history. It was very nice to see the White House, Capitol and other noteworthy historical buildings lit up at night. Of the three tours we took while in DC, this would definitely be the one I would and did recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was great! It was a quick way to get in seeing all the monuments. Our tour guide, Dave was pleasant and he made it a fun experience. Some of the monuments were just "drive by's" but for us that was fine since it wasn't our first trip to Washington but seeing them lit up at night was really cool. It's not a tour that you would go on if you want to spend time at each monument. If you want to go inside the Capitol, for instance, you would have to do that on another tour or on your own. There's just not enough time to spend that long at each monument. Again, for us, that was not important. Our main objective was to see the monuments at night and this tour far exceeded our expectations!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Would definitely recommend this as an easy way to get around to see everything without having to walk miles and miles. Most tourists don't realize how far it is from the Lincoln Memorial to the Capitol, for instance. Mr. History really knew his stuff...although how he could drive in Cherry Blossom traffic and recite the Preamble to Declaration of Independence, etc., was amazing!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Do not plan your trip to Washington without taking this night tour. The magnitude and greatness of all the monuments and buildings such as the Capitol and the White House are stunning at night. Our driver, Gil, was exceptional. A true historian, giving life to Washington's past and present with informative facts and story telling.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My wife, two kids and I had a great time on this tour of DC. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and the Segways were a BLAST. On the tour we saw the White House, Capitol, the Mall, Smithonian buildings, Washington Monument, and got to walk around the Lincoln, Vietnam, and Korean War Memorial. Great time but if its cold or cool at all bring a jacket or sweatshirt. There is a little room on the Segway to store a jacket or camera. The segways move faster than you think and both my wife and daughter got a bit cold while we were "segwaying" around.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We had a great tour of the city! The bus driver was very knowlegeable and aswered all of our questions in a very professional and honest manner. We should have been informed that we NEEDED to make a reservation to visit the U.S. Capitol. It is unfortunate that it is no longer possible to visit inside the White House any more. I feel that a stop at the Lincoln Memorial SHOULD BE included as part of the tour; since this would not have been out of the way or taken much time out of the tour schedule.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our tour guide, Jason was excellent. He was very friendly, approachable and had a sense of humor which kept us all entertained from the very beginning right until he kindly dropped us off at our hotel after the tour. The stories he shared and the way he blended jokes with interesting facts and stories about different attractions was brilliant. At no part of the trip did I ever think we had wasted our money. We were even lucky enough to have an almost full moon rise over the Capitol building whilst we were at the Iwa Jima memorial.
As for any regrets, there are barely any. If I had a disappointment it was that we did not stop at the Jefferson Memorial. However, it is understandable that we cannot fit in all the attractions on the trip. One other thing would be that the plastic material used as windows doesn't allow for great photos to be taken due to the reflection. Some advice for future guests would be to find a seat near a joint in the plastic material so that you can fit your camera through to get the perfect shot.

Apart from that, I would like to thank Jason for a truly unforgettable experience. We were only in DC for 2 nights and debated at length whether the tour would be worth it - well, it was more than worth it! We would recommend your tour to anyone who asks!

Thanks again
Kyle Forder
All the way from South Africa!!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

We made the reservation online and got a mobile boarding pass. We walked to our pickup site from the Renaissance Hotel. Got on board with no problem, Got off at first stop and then after that, could not find the next pickup point, they are marked on the street, but we did not get a map to tell us where they are. What was frustrating is that we saw several of the competitors going by and we could have easily got to where we needed to go. We felt we did not choose well. It was much longer than 30 minutes between busses, (we waited 64 minutes at the capitol and no busses came by.) The second day, we were short on time and just missed the bus. We had to get a taxi to our first location. After that we did not see another Green bus (yours) all day long and had to get a cab to go from place to place. Washington was great but for two people, it was easier to get a cab from place to place. What would have helped is to have a map to tell us where to be picked up at. Just so you will know, your competitors outmatched you on this one with the sheer volume of busses to take folks around. Also, it interesting to see the number of taxi's that are around you pickup sites, waiting of frustrated riders.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message