There's nothing quite like the majestic sight of the U.S. Capitol, with its towering 285 ft (86 m) cast-iron dome topped by the bronze Statue of Freedom, ornate fountains, and marble Roman pillars set on sweeping lawns and flowering gardens.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From the time we met our initial tour guide at 8:30 across the street from the Capitol, until the time our bus tour guide dropped us off at the National Archives, my wife and I had a great time. The tour of the Capitol building was rather rushed, but to be honest, without being able to see the rotunda due to the work being done, could have been skipped. Once aboard the tour bus, our guide and driver were nothing more than TOP NOTCH. Our guide kept us entertained and informed, while our drive maneuvered through the tough DC Monday traffic with precision and skill. There was plenty of time to tour the Lincoln, Korean and Vietnam memorials, but the very cool WWII memorial needed at least another 10-15 minutes to really enjoy the entire memorial. The boat ride, along with the Subway box lunch was very cool and very relaxing. I could go on and on, but suffice to say, my wife and I were both very happy with this choice. We give it an A for the quantity of memorials that we had time to see. Value for the dollar is excellent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour and got to see Washington all in one day
Capitol building currently under renovation which meant some of the tour had changed in the last week
Top Guide Christopher very knowledgeable and made the day fun as well

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Outstanding! Our guide, Chris was entertaining and informative. The tour itself was wonderful! We toured the Capitol, saw the White House, toured the National Archives where we saw the Declaration of Independence, the Bill of Rights and the Constitution. We saw monuments and memorials and learned things we had never heard before. Lunch on the Potomac was also great. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who is traveling to our Nation's Capitol

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The perfect tour when you don't have a lot of time to spend and don't know the area. We were only in DC for a couple of days so we tried to see as much as possible. The 'Best of DC' tour fit the bill. Chris was our tour guide and was very funny and entertaining. We toured the Capitol, saw the White House, toured the National Archives and saw the Declaration of Independence, the Bill of Rights and the Constitution. We saw monuments and memorials and learned many details about them that we were unaware of before. The WWII memorial was amazing. I even found the 'Kilroy was here' drawing that was etched into a secluded place at the memorial. Very cool. The lunch on the boat cruising Potomac was really fun too. Some cool relief on a very hot day. It does take much of one day and there is a lot of walking, but well worth it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My mother and I went to Washington, D.C. for a 3-day weekend. We arrived early on a Friday, checked into our hotel, and headed to the U.S. Navy Memorial where we picked up this tour. After being unsure of which bus to board, we found the right one and departed shortly after. Our tour guide Mary was awesome. She was knowledgeable and funny. She knew so much about the history of the city and its monuments. Ali was our driver and he got us around the city with no problems. We visited the U.S. Capitol unfortunately, the dome was covered in scaffolding, but the building was still amazing, the White House, the World War II Memorial, the MLK, Jr. Memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, the Korean War Memorial, and the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. Mary also identified out other points of interest along the way, such as the Eisenhower Administrative Building, Blair House, and the Hoover FBI Building quite ugly. We then dropped some members of the tour off at the Washington Monument. They had purchased the 4-hour tour. Around 2 p.m. we got lunch, then took a 50-minute boat ride on the Potomac. The boat tour guide was great, too. We saw the Watergate Complex, the Kennedy Center of the Performing Arts, and the Pentagon. He gave us some history on the bridges spanning the river. You could also see the Washington Monument, Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials from the river. We got back on the bus and headed over to the Marine Corps Memorial Iwo Jima which was magnificent. The whole tour was fabulous. This is a great way to see the highlights in a day. The only monument you don't see up close is the Jefferson Memorial, but you can always go see it on your own. I found the Korean War Memorial to be hauntingly beautiful. Also, climbing the Washington Monument is not included in this particular tour. If I ever get back to D.C., or any city for that matter, I would definitely take another Viator tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The first part in the Capitol Building could have been better if the guides had explained what was going on but the second guide who took us on the bus tour was great. We saw a lot of the Washington landmarks and had details explained. The time allotted for each venue was also just right too.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide Chris was awesome. Tony, the driver, was great too. The tour guide that managed us through the US Capitol was disappointing. I was expecting some minimal comments and knowledge.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was great and the experience at the Capitol was awesome!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Easy way to see the key memorials and Capitol in a day. River cruise was a relaxed interlude for lunch. Capitol itself was disappointing, though, with access basically only to the visitor centre, not the building itself. Archive also not worth the effort. Too crowded and dark to see the documents.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! The guides were excellent especially the lady who conducted the Capitol Tour and Christopher who took us around DC on the bus. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Thank you

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very well planned and informative. The guides were very well educated and versed on the different sites and offered tidbits of local nostalgia. The Capitol rotunda was awesome as well as the National Archives where the Constitution and other documents are no display. The only disappointment was not being able to see the House and Senate Chambers which evidently are closed when not in session. Highly recommend this tour for first time visitors as myself!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A perfect way to see the sights with a family! My husband and I, along with our daughters 12 and 7 used the hop-on hop-off tour in order to see as much as we could in DC. I highly recommend this tour because it made it so easy to visit many of the sights- especially in 90 degree heat. The kids would have never made it to so many of the monuments had we tried to walk. The tour guides were very informative. The only advice that I would give is to start at stop 1. We did not because it said that you could jump on anywhere, but we had a hard time finding the stop at the Capitol as it is not well marked and the GPS did not work well on the website.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Best guided tour I have ever been on. All sites covered great lunch on the river cruise and above all the guide whose name was Andy and his driver Tony were brilliant. Andy made the day for us and went in to great detail at each site we visited.
The tour guide in the Capitol Hill was great and extremely funny as well as knowing every detail of his tour.
Overall a brilliant experience and money well spent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is the best way to see Washington. The Capitol tour and National Archives were wonderful. It was worth the time and money. Our USA guide needed to stop trying to be a stand up comic and just give the history of the area.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

While we saw most of what we came to Washington for, there were a few things that could have been better organized. First, we had been instructed to be in front of the Library of Congress at 8:30 am. Until someone showed up about 10 minutes later, I wasn't sure we were in the right location. The tour of the Capitol was a little disappointing. I thought we would see both the House and Senate areas, but didn't. Our boat ride on the Potomac was pleasant except for the fact that our lunch did not make it on the boat. When we returned to the tour bus Andy and Tony handed out our lunches. While I had made orders for 4 lunches mine and my 3 granddaughters we only had 2 delivered in our name. Two of my granddaughters were given box lunches with someone else's names which of course we're not what they ordered. But at least they had something to eat. Andy, the tour guide and Tony, the driver were both cordial, knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The Capitol tour was a waste of time. It seemed like the guides from USA had no clue what they were doing. It was a joke and that tour lasted 10 minutes and we got zero out of it. Very disappointed.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The Capitol could have been toured on our own as we didn't see anything or experience anything the general public saw too...the other stops were too rushed and we should have done on our own using cabs..for the two of us it would have cost the same..this tour is a waste of money. Tour guide was ok.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

This so called VIP tour was a joke. Our VIP group had to join a normal group therefore in total we were approx.. 45 people and we were correspondingly very flexible. Especially in the Capitol it had not even a touch of a VIP tour. The 2 guides were friendly but young, unskilled and unorganized. Later on, after the Capitol it changed and another guide took over the responsibility. He was not friendly only but very involved and competent. Summarizing it is to say that the second guide has saved the tour and the total day. But however the promise VIP tour is nothing more than a normal tour through DC and therefor overpriced. The tour will be handled by a local tour agency USA guided tours for the same price.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a lot of fun! : I had 4 different drivers plus the one going to Arlington. They were all good. The first one was my favorite - I don't remember his name - it was like Mr. Wonder, or something. Anyway - it was a great tour and got me all around DC. It was my first trip. It was very fun! Thanks for the great intro to the Capitol! :

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a gift to three West Point cadets. They loved it. It was wonderful for them to see their nation's capitol city and heritage. Service was great. Convenience could not be beat! So glad that you had a stop at the metro at Union Station. The info your web site provided is excellent. Your customer service in changing the dates a s requested was so very efficient. We would have missed it if you waited days to make the change. But you did so within hours. Thank you ever so much!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

: The biggest plus is the tracking feature for the trolleys. It helped us plan our day perfectly. The orange trolley covers everything that you would want to visit in the national mall area.
- : The Orange Trolley stop for the White House should be near Lafayette Square which is the green trolley stop 13 rather than the White House Visitor Center which is a 10 min walk away from the North Entrance. The Capitol stop is on the West side but that makes you walk around the hill to the Visitors Center which is on the East side.
My recommendation:
The only 'touristy' spot on the green trolley is the National Cathedral. A visit to the Arlington National Cemetery on the red trolley is at least a 2.5 hr round trip. I suggest that you visit these two places separately parking is cheap at both places and use the orange trolley for just the National Mall. If you want to spend at least 30 mins at the big museums AND see all the monuments/memorials, I suggest you take the 2 day orange trolley pass.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My mom, husband and I only had about 2 days in DC and to see the highlights we decided to take the 3 hour signature tour. We are happy we made this choice as it took us to the key highlights of DC such as the Capitol, FDR Memorial and the White House. Our tour guide was very good and it was nice to have the option to be in the bus and walk around especially when it started getting warmer in the latter part of the afternoon. I will recommend this tour to anyone traveling to DC.

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The tour was good except for a long wait for the trolley at the Capitol Hill stop--the wait was close to 1 hour. The other tour bus companies day tours stopped more frequently at that spot.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

rough start, an avoidable 1.5hr delay entering US capitol. the remainder of the trip felt rushed / compressed to make up time. Would look to other tours as possibility in my next visit.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message