There's nothing quite like the majestic sight of the U.S. Capitol, with its towering 285 ft (86 m) cast-iron dome topped by the bronze Statue of Freedom, ornate fountains, and marble Roman pillars set on sweeping lawns and flowering gardens.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

In one day I saw all the highlights of DC The skip the line pass really saved a lot of time The one fault I had with the tour was that you combined tours after the visit to the Capitol I realized this when I entered the bus and the tour guide made this announcement," We will have to hurry along because we have people who paid for a four hour tour and we must get to all the places they paid for" I didn't pay $125 to rushed as we were If you didn't have enough people for a bus you could have switched to a mini van

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our trip to D.C. was outstanding. The Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour was perfect for us. We really enjoyed the drivers descriptions of the sites we would pass by and their knowledge of the history in our capitol city. I wish I would have written all the drivers names down because they were all knowledgable and had a good sense of humor. The office near Ford's theater was friendly and cordial, answering all the questions we had. Thanks for helping us enjoy our trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

When I first got on the segway I was scared to death I have to admit. But after the first 15 min. I had a
blast. It was about 3 hours and 7 miles long. I went on a Sunday night when there wasn't alot of traffic
and that was perfect. Our guide was funny and kept watching out for us. SOOO glad I did it. It was cool
to see the monuments/capitol at night. I am a 50+ female and would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I went to DC with a friend who had never been there before and I thought this would help her see
everything. The first day we did the capitol and Arlington Cementary. The second day we saw the
Jefferson and Lincoln monuments and went to Georgetown. We ended up adding on a third day
to do what we still wanted to do. A great way to see and experience the major attractions of DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was more than we expected - a full day, jam packed with information, insight and professionalism. Our expectations were more than exceeded and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Washington DC for the first time wanting to get an overview of the tourist attractions.

To the organisors, though, I would like to make a suggestion: We were advised to meet the tour guide at 08:30 (for a 09:00 start) and that we should not bring with us any food/ drink as our first stop (The Capitol) did not allow it and we would only meet up with the vehicle after the tour. This meant that our first drink/ snack/ meal was when we got on the boat at 13:30! Needless to say we were starving and thirsty (we learnt halfway through the tour that water was available on the coach, but this was never mentioned to us). I'd like to suggest that you allow people to first meet at the coach to drop off any goodies, and then to walk to The Capitol.

Other than than - fantastic!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I enjoyed how much ground was covered through this tour. It was great to have an organized path to follow throughout the day as we only had 24 hours in DC. However, the guide seemed rushed from the point we met her, and we were not allowed to spend any time really seeing monuments. We did not even get to walk up the steps to the Lincoln Memorial as she said we were too short on time. The highlight of our tour was the reserved access to the Capitol and National Archives. The tour guide that worked in the Capital was the most friendly and energetic guide, she was fantastic! We also enjoyed the river cruise lunch as it was a nice change of pace. I would only recommend this tour if you are short on time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Die Tour war ok, leider zu wenig Zeit im Capitol, viel zu viele Memorials, der Guide Andy war sehr anstrengend und zum Teil recht unfreundlich, wenn man seinen Worten nicht ehrfürchtig lauschte.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Disappointed in this tour overall. We had no itinerary - had 2 children with us; needed more details about what to expect and how long the tour would be. Bus tour guide made some inappropriate and uncomfortable comments about a couple of things as we went along. The White House visitors area was pointless - we expected something a little more special. As it was, we would have enjoyed it more just driving past it. We went too long without lunch; then ate lunch on our laps on river boat ride - uncomfortable, plus we had no choice of the drink included with the meal, a major faux pas. The river boat guide was good and informative, but it was hard to see everything while holding our lunches on our laps. The tour of the capitol building was the first site on our tour and we had to dump my grandson's snacks before entering - really really lame. We had to go the rest of the day with no snacks for a 2 year old!! That tour could have been last. We ended up not going to the last stop, Archives, because it was too late in the day and getting back home on the Metro would have been a nightmare. It would have been better to go to Archives first, and the other sites second. The one saving grace of the whole tour was our bus driver. He was fantastic, going way out of his way to make the experience a good one for everyone. He even drove us to a metro stop while others were out of the bus at the MLK statue, and we decided we couldn't continue the tour. We saw many of the things on this tour, but in a better way, when we took the Hop-on-Hop-off Trolley Tour a couple of weeks prior to this one, and felt that this tour was a big waste of money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Lucy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is excellent. A bus guide shows around all of the DC War memorials (Which is great because they are all quite spread out from each other) and other important buildings.
This tour began at 9am and we arrived back at our hotel at 7pm. Well worth the money you would pay.
Our guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable. The lunch included is awesome - freshly made sandwiches- made to order and delivered to the bus before you embark on the boat journey (which was peaceful and with a welcome breeze).
Everytime we left the bus the tour guide and bus driver offered us a bottle of iced water which was very welcome in the August heat.
The only negative was the lunch was a 'late lunch' arriving to use at 2pm and you are not able to bring snacks as the Capitol Building does not allow food. So have a big breakfast!

We are so pleased we bought this tour and would highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The concept is great! The drivers were friendly and awesome! The only drawback was that there needed to be more trolleys running or come at 15 minute intervals instead of 30. One trolley came by around noon pass the Capitol Building and was packed. We had to wait an additional 30 minutes which made for a total of an hour's wait. We missed getting to some of the sites we wanted to see on that day. Will have to revisit that situation if I return to Washington D.C. again prior to booking the Hop-on-Hop-off Trolley Tour.
Yvonne R.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour guide was great. Saw lots of sights in DC. Wish we could have gotten good pictures of the White House and the Capitol, but the bus kept moving. Didn't have time to see all monuments at one stop...had to choose. The tour was supposed to be 2-1:2 hours...ours was 3 hours 15 minutes. Late!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The tour guide did not arrive until well after the tour was scheduled to start at the capitol. The boat ride on the Potomac was very short (40 minutes) and the lunch on the boat ride was a nothing special boxed lunch sandwich from Subway.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It started with Police sirens and the bomb squad removing us, so we could not go into the Capitol building but then Destiny led us through the library of Congress, to the Capitol building where we had a great and intimate tour of the Capitol building. Then off to meet Andy and his capable Driver Joey.
Andy is a delight and very knowledgeable. He made our journey fantastic and I would say - DO THIS TRIP - ASK FOR ANDY.
Going around with Andy meant that there were answers to every question, comments and discussions about your questions plus he showed GENUINE ENJOYMENT IN BEING WITH US. It was not a case of get this over with, but of sharing his knowledge, singing to us, telling us jokes, etc
The buildings and monuments were wide in their attraction and appeal, but we spent to little time at each. This is to be expected when ones looks at the tight program that we were on, so that we could see all that we did. Took far to many pictures but that is due to the variety of things we saw.
The water boat was disappointing in comparison, but we had a chance to eat our lunch and see the sights.
If you only have one day (we only had one day, as we flew in and out with a day in the middle), then this is the tour to take. It is worth the money.
Gail and I now know enough of Washington, to know that we need to take at least 2 days to see the sights again and to spend time where it matters to us.
This tour gave us that insight plus an understanding of what lies where.
Cheers to Andy and his Tour company.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The Washington DC in a Day Tour was not entirely what I expected but still worth the money. I met the coach at the busy Union Station and once everyone was on board, we were taken straight to the US Capitol Visitor Centre. We were left on our own to take pictures of the various buildings in the area then go in to the visitor centre and book our own places on the guided tour of the building. It was a very interesting and informative tour once inside but very crowded. There was a lot to see including huge statues and wonderful artwork. There was so much history to learn about. There were tickets available also to sit in on a debate in the Senate or House of Representatives Chambers although at the time there were no debates taking place. We also had brunch in the lovely restaurant.

After the tour of the US Capitol, we were back on the coach and taken to the museums where you could choose whether to visit the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum, American History Museum or the Natural History Museum. You are given approximately two hours to spend there and have lunch.

Next stop was the White House where we got lots of opportunities to take pictures outside the White House (from in front of the railings). There was a lot of security around due to the sheer volume of people trying to take pictures but it was a good experience.

The last stop was the Martin Luther King and Jefferson Memorials. I was taken aback by the huge memorials that this city has to offer and these two were no exception. If you have more time, try to see the other memorials around the city too as this tour only stopped at these two.

The coach then took us back to Union Station at around 4pm. All in all it did feel a little bit like the coach was just a bus taking us to the next stop with the driver pointing out a few famous sights. If you want more of a historical tour I would choose the guided tour. Hopefully that would offer a greater experience than this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

GREAT SERVICE.
Very accommodating for my disabled veteran father and I. The Capitol area was very busy and this offered an excellent mode of transportation.
The drivers was very informative and friendly. It was a busy Saturday and additional trams were added. The frequency of pickups was 15 min

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message