There's nothing quite like the majestic sight of the U.S. Capitol, with its towering 285 ft (86 m) cast-iron dome topped by the bronze Statue of Freedom, ornate fountains, and marble Roman pillars set on sweeping lawns and flowering gardens.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! The guides were excellent especially the lady who conducted the Capitol Tour and Christopher who took us around DC on the bus. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Thank you

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very well planned and informative. The guides were very well educated and versed on the different sites and offered tidbits of local nostalgia. The Capitol rotunda was awesome as well as the National Archives where the Constitution and other documents are no display. The only disappointment was not being able to see the House and Senate Chambers which evidently are closed when not in session. Highly recommend this tour for first time visitors as myself!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A perfect way to see the sights with a family! My husband and I, along with our daughters 12 and 7 used the hop-on hop-off tour in order to see as much as we could in DC. I highly recommend this tour because it made it so easy to visit many of the sights- especially in 90 degree heat. The kids would have never made it to so many of the monuments had we tried to walk. The tour guides were very informative. The only advice that I would give is to start at stop 1. We did not because it said that you could jump on anywhere, but we had a hard time finding the stop at the Capitol as it is not well marked and the GPS did not work well on the website.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Best guided tour I have ever been on. All sites covered great lunch on the river cruise and above all the guide whose name was Andy and his driver Tony were brilliant. Andy made the day for us and went in to great detail at each site we visited.
The tour guide in the Capitol Hill was great and extremely funny as well as knowing every detail of his tour.
Overall a brilliant experience and money well spent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is the best way to see Washington. The Capitol tour and National Archives were wonderful. It was worth the time and money. Our USA guide needed to stop trying to be a stand up comic and just give the history of the area.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

While we saw most of what we came to Washington for, there were a few things that could have been better organized. First, we had been instructed to be in front of the Library of Congress at 8:30 am. Until someone showed up about 10 minutes later, I wasn't sure we were in the right location. The tour of the Capitol was a little disappointing. I thought we would see both the House and Senate areas, but didn't. Our boat ride on the Potomac was pleasant except for the fact that our lunch did not make it on the boat. When we returned to the tour bus Andy and Tony handed out our lunches. While I had made orders for 4 lunches mine and my 3 granddaughters we only had 2 delivered in our name. Two of my granddaughters were given box lunches with someone else's names which of course we're not what they ordered. But at least they had something to eat. Andy, the tour guide and Tony, the driver were both cordial, knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The Capitol tour was a waste of time. It seemed like the guides from USA had no clue what they were doing. It was a joke and that tour lasted 10 minutes and we got zero out of it. Very disappointed.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The Capitol could have been toured on our own as we didn't see anything or experience anything the general public saw too...the other stops were too rushed and we should have done on our own using cabs..for the two of us it would have cost the same..this tour is a waste of money. Tour guide was ok.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

This so called VIP tour was a joke. Our VIP group had to join a normal group therefore in total we were approx.. 45 people and we were correspondingly very flexible. Especially in the Capitol it had not even a touch of a VIP tour. The 2 guides were friendly but young, unskilled and unorganized. Later on, after the Capitol it changed and another guide took over the responsibility. He was not friendly only but very involved and competent. Summarizing it is to say that the second guide has saved the tour and the total day. But however the promise VIP tour is nothing more than a normal tour through DC and therefor overpriced. The tour will be handled by a local tour agency USA guided tours for the same price.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a lot of fun! : I had 4 different drivers plus the one going to Arlington. They were all good. The first one was my favorite - I don't remember his name - it was like Mr. Wonder, or something. Anyway - it was a great tour and got me all around DC. It was my first trip. It was very fun! Thanks for the great intro to the Capitol! :

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a gift to three West Point cadets. They loved it. It was wonderful for them to see their nation's capitol city and heritage. Service was great. Convenience could not be beat! So glad that you had a stop at the metro at Union Station. The info your web site provided is excellent. Your customer service in changing the dates a s requested was so very efficient. We would have missed it if you waited days to make the change. But you did so within hours. Thank you ever so much!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

: The biggest plus is the tracking feature for the trolleys. It helped us plan our day perfectly. The orange trolley covers everything that you would want to visit in the national mall area.
- : The Orange Trolley stop for the White House should be near Lafayette Square which is the green trolley stop 13 rather than the White House Visitor Center which is a 10 min walk away from the North Entrance. The Capitol stop is on the West side but that makes you walk around the hill to the Visitors Center which is on the East side.
My recommendation:
The only 'touristy' spot on the green trolley is the National Cathedral. A visit to the Arlington National Cemetery on the red trolley is at least a 2.5 hr round trip. I suggest that you visit these two places separately parking is cheap at both places and use the orange trolley for just the National Mall. If you want to spend at least 30 mins at the big museums AND see all the monuments/memorials, I suggest you take the 2 day orange trolley pass.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My mom, husband and I only had about 2 days in DC and to see the highlights we decided to take the 3 hour signature tour. We are happy we made this choice as it took us to the key highlights of DC such as the Capitol, FDR Memorial and the White House. Our tour guide was very good and it was nice to have the option to be in the bus and walk around especially when it started getting warmer in the latter part of the afternoon. I will recommend this tour to anyone traveling to DC.

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The tour was good except for a long wait for the trolley at the Capitol Hill stop--the wait was close to 1 hour. The other tour bus companies day tours stopped more frequently at that spot.

Doing what: Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

rough start, an avoidable 1.5hr delay entering US capitol. the remainder of the trip felt rushed / compressed to make up time. Would look to other tours as possibility in my next visit.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

I have a heart condition and couldn't keep up in the capitol building, I got thru it all but I was on my own, I didn't have a ticket to show what firm I was with, the driver wouldn't keep the coach where we could climb in all the time, we were mostly seniors.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour, bypassed lines, Craig was a great tour guide. Only negative was late lunch/no morning snack if needed after capitol.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Tour was billed as VIP- far from it - as is the company's response to complaints!! I emailed immediately X2 after - yet to receive response. The tour of the Capitol was good ( due to Mr Malone Capitol guide) Had relief guide - didn't know schedule and we missed our boat trip! Bus was cramped and old

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent package. The time at the Capitol is way too short, but the tour was amazing! We had an amazing tour guide by the name of Andy. Andy was a great tour guide and made the experience at every stop very interesting with the level of detail he provided. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Awesome trip and wonderful guide Laura. Very enjoyable. Best way to cover a lot of area in DC and enjoy our nation's capitol.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

It really wasn't much of a "VIP" tour rather than a tour guide walking you around the national monuments. There was an express entry to the capitol, archives, etc. However, Lisa was nice and she has quite a bit of knowledge of DC.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

In one day I saw all the highlights of DC The skip the line pass really saved a lot of time The one fault I had with the tour was that you combined tours after the visit to the Capitol I realized this when I entered the bus and the tour guide made this announcement," We will have to hurry along because we have people who paid for a four hour tour and we must get to all the places they paid for" I didn't pay $125 to rushed as we were If you didn't have enough people for a bus you could have switched to a mini van

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our trip to D.C. was outstanding. The Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour was perfect for us. We really enjoyed the drivers descriptions of the sites we would pass by and their knowledge of the history in our capitol city. I wish I would have written all the drivers names down because they were all knowledgable and had a good sense of humor. The office near Ford's theater was friendly and cordial, answering all the questions we had. Thanks for helping us enjoy our trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

When I first got on the segway I was scared to death I have to admit. But after the first 15 min. I had a
blast. It was about 3 hours and 7 miles long. I went on a Sunday night when there wasn't alot of traffic
and that was perfect. Our guide was funny and kept watching out for us. SOOO glad I did it. It was cool
to see the monuments/capitol at night. I am a 50+ female and would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Night Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message