There's nothing quite like the majestic sight of the U.S. Capitol, with its towering 285 ft (86 m) cast-iron dome topped by the bronze Statue of Freedom, ornate fountains, and marble Roman pillars set on sweeping lawns and flowering gardens.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 106 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hugo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Overall a great experience. The Hop on off Trolley allows you the freedom to sight see our nations capitol with ease and comfort.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Richard L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great trip - had full day and managed to cram loads in and also beat the queues at the Capitol and National Archive. The guide, Christopher was great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was my first trip to D.C. and my first segway tour. I thought it would be a fun activity and a great way to get an orientation of the city and a brief overview of the buildings and history. I'm in my 50s and my daughter is in her late teens and we both had a total blast and enjoyed every minute of this experience. The guides give a great safety demonstration on how to use the segway. Within minutes you're zipping around comfortably and wising you had one of these for your own use. Our route covered an expansive route Foggy Bottom, GW, White House, Archives, Reflecting Pond, Capitol, Washington Monument, The Mall, Lincoln Memorial, and more and the segways are each equipped with walkie talkie receivers so you can hear the guide narrate info about other nearby sites as you pass by. Our guide, Pedro, was great and our group bonded right away and had fun together. I'm so happy we did this tour. If you like fun and new experiences, don't hesitate - JUST DO IT!!

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

Norman W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Christopher our guide was very knowledgeable with facts at every attraction that we visited. Tony our driver drove our group with the utmost safety in mind. We were met promptly at The Library Of Congress and escorted to The Capitol for the tour. We had ample time at each attraction site. Dropped off at The National Archives and toured at our own pace. Would highly recommend this tour if you do not have much time in DC!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Hayden M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

1st guide Destiny was very nice. Couldn't tour the Capitol because there was a ceremony there. We were offered a free option to go back there today. Chris the next tour guide was amazing. Funny and informative couldn't have been better. Tony the bus driver was great as well. Highly recommend this

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

amberland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

LOVED this tour, the guide Emily was really friendly and full of facts about the city. It was easy to cycle around Washington, there was only one hill up to the Capitol Building, the rest was flat. A really good few hours spent learning about Washington!

Doing what: Best Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Ceri M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

As the Pope was in DC two days were crammed together and the tour was VERY crowded, also we did not seem to get any VIP or special treatment.
Be aware the Capitol building is under renovation until September 2016 and has scaffolding on the interior and exterior of the dome, so some of the statues ans artwork are totally obscured, very disappointing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Arthur H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We took this tour with my mother-in-law who has a walker. The tour guides/bus driver were great. They helped her on and off the bus, helped with loading and unloading the walker and were very patient with my mother-in-law. The trip also included a lunch cruise on the Potomac River, which was nice. Lunch consisted of a Subway boxed lunch but was good for the price. This trip also hit every major monument, even if just for a few moments in Washington DC. I would definitely recommend this for anyone interested in touring the nations capitol.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Margaret R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful way to be introduced to Washington D.C. The Capitol Tour was excellent. It will be even better when they complete the renovation of the Rotunda. We saw the major monuments and memorials. It was nice to be let off right in front of the destination. The National Archives topped of our trip. It was awe-inspiring to see the actual Constitution. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Donald T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A brilliant experience. Our guide Kait was excellent and kept our small group of eight safe and well informed. We covered most of the sights between the Lincoln Memorial and the Capitol Building. As senior citizens we would not liked to have walked the distance we covered but the Segway made it effortless for us.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

Mrs Nicola J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Chris was very informative. Didn't have time to visit the gift shop at 'The Capitol Building' however you can easily go back as it is free to enter. We were not able to visit 2 of the monuments due to road closures however Chris took us to another monument that is not normally included on this tour and it was enjoyable. Well recommended tour to give you an overview of the Washington monuments

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Eileen B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Emily was great--she really knew her way around. Hit many many monuments/memorials, stopping almost too often--but that's what you get on the National Mall! Plenty of time to walk around each stop where appropriate. A very easy ride since the area around the Mall is pretty flat, except for Capitol Hill--which really is a bit of a hill!

Doing what: Best Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Larry B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

I tried to get on the tour at the Capitol, but the signs were not clearly marked as to where to get the bus. I wound up walking to Union Station where the staff was not very friendly. Our tour guide was very informative but the tour is over priced

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From the time we met our initial tour guide at 8:30 across the street from the Capitol, until the time our bus tour guide dropped us off at the National Archives, my wife and I had a great time. The tour of the Capitol building was rather rushed, but to be honest, without being able to see the rotunda due to the work being done, could have been skipped. Once aboard the tour bus, our guide and driver were nothing more than TOP NOTCH. Our guide kept us entertained and informed, while our drive maneuvered through the tough DC Monday traffic with precision and skill. There was plenty of time to tour the Lincoln, Korean and Vietnam memorials, but the very cool WWII memorial needed at least another 10-15 minutes to really enjoy the entire memorial. The boat ride, along with the Subway box lunch was very cool and very relaxing. I could go on and on, but suffice to say, my wife and I were both very happy with this choice. We give it an A for the quantity of memorials that we had time to see. Value for the dollar is excellent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Simon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour and got to see Washington all in one day
Capitol building currently under renovation which meant some of the tour had changed in the last week
Top Guide Christopher very knowledgeable and made the day fun as well

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Natasha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Outstanding! Our guide, Chris was entertaining and informative. The tour itself was wonderful! We toured the Capitol, saw the White House, toured the National Archives where we saw the Declaration of Independence, the Bill of Rights and the Constitution. We saw monuments and memorials and learned things we had never heard before. Lunch on the Potomac was also great. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who is traveling to our Nation's Capitol

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Charles S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The perfect tour when you don't have a lot of time to spend and don't know the area. We were only in DC for a couple of days so we tried to see as much as possible. The 'Best of DC' tour fit the bill. Chris was our tour guide and was very funny and entertaining. We toured the Capitol, saw the White House, toured the National Archives and saw the Declaration of Independence, the Bill of Rights and the Constitution. We saw monuments and memorials and learned many details about them that we were unaware of before. The WWII memorial was amazing. I even found the 'Kilroy was here' drawing that was etched into a secluded place at the memorial. Very cool. The lunch on the boat cruising Potomac was really fun too. Some cool relief on a very hot day. It does take much of one day and there is a lot of walking, but well worth it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Tammy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My mother and I went to Washington, D.C. for a 3-day weekend. We arrived early on a Friday, checked into our hotel, and headed to the U.S. Navy Memorial where we picked up this tour. After being unsure of which bus to board, we found the right one and departed shortly after. Our tour guide Mary was awesome. She was knowledgeable and funny. She knew so much about the history of the city and its monuments. Ali was our driver and he got us around the city with no problems. We visited the U.S. Capitol unfortunately, the dome was covered in scaffolding, but the building was still amazing, the White House, the World War II Memorial, the MLK, Jr. Memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, the Korean War Memorial, and the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. Mary also identified out other points of interest along the way, such as the Eisenhower Administrative Building, Blair House, and the Hoover FBI Building quite ugly. We then dropped some members of the tour off at the Washington Monument. They had purchased the 4-hour tour. Around 2 p.m. we got lunch, then took a 50-minute boat ride on the Potomac. The boat tour guide was great, too. We saw the Watergate Complex, the Kennedy Center of the Performing Arts, and the Pentagon. He gave us some history on the bridges spanning the river. You could also see the Washington Monument, Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials from the river. We got back on the bus and headed over to the Marine Corps Memorial Iwo Jima which was magnificent. The whole tour was fabulous. This is a great way to see the highlights in a day. The only monument you don't see up close is the Jefferson Memorial, but you can always go see it on your own. I found the Korean War Memorial to be hauntingly beautiful. Also, climbing the Washington Monument is not included in this particular tour. If I ever get back to D.C., or any city for that matter, I would definitely take another Viator tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The first part in the Capitol Building could have been better if the guides had explained what was going on but the second guide who took us on the bus tour was great. We saw a lot of the Washington landmarks and had details explained. The time allotted for each venue was also just right too.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Vladimir B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide Chris was awesome. Tony, the driver, was great too. The tour guide that managed us through the US Capitol was disappointing. I was expecting some minimal comments and knowledge.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Amar Pal S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was great and the experience at the Capitol was awesome!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Stephen E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Easy way to see the key memorials and Capitol in a day. River cruise was a relaxed interlude for lunch. Capitol itself was disappointing, though, with access basically only to the visitor centre, not the building itself. Archive also not worth the effort. Too crowded and dark to see the documents.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Courtney W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! The guides were excellent especially the lady who conducted the Capitol Tour and Christopher who took us around DC on the bus. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Thank you

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Stanley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very well planned and informative. The guides were very well educated and versed on the different sites and offered tidbits of local nostalgia. The Capitol rotunda was awesome as well as the National Archives where the Constitution and other documents are no display. The only disappointment was not being able to see the House and Senate Chambers which evidently are closed when not in session. Highly recommend this tour for first time visitors as myself!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

sakitsko

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A perfect way to see the sights with a family! My husband and I, along with our daughters 12 and 7 used the hop-on hop-off tour in order to see as much as we could in DC. I highly recommend this tour because it made it so easy to visit many of the sights- especially in 90 degree heat. The kids would have never made it to so many of the monuments had we tried to walk. The tour guides were very informative. The only advice that I would give is to start at stop 1. We did not because it said that you could jump on anywhere, but we had a hard time finding the stop at the Capitol as it is not well marked and the GPS did not work well on the website.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message