Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Vietnam Veterans Memorial

If not one of the most powerful in the world, the Vietnam Veteran's Memorial is certainly one of the most powerful in Washington D.C. The iconic memorial is comprised of two walls of polished black granite, on which the names of the 58,209 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From the time we met our initial tour guide at 8:30 across the street from the Capitol, until the time our bus tour guide dropped us off at the National Archives, my wife and I had a great time. The tour of the Capitol building was rather rushed, but to be honest, without being able to see the rotunda due to the work being done, could have been skipped. Once aboard the tour bus, our guide and driver were nothing more than TOP NOTCH. Our guide kept us entertained and informed, while our drive maneuvered through the tough DC Monday traffic with precision and skill. There was plenty of time to tour the Lincoln, Korean and Vietnam memorials, but the very cool WWII memorial needed at least another 10-15 minutes to really enjoy the entire memorial. The boat ride, along with the Subway box lunch was very cool and very relaxing. I could go on and on, but suffice to say, my wife and I were both very happy with this choice. We give it an A for the quantity of memorials that we had time to see. Value for the dollar is excellent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The tour was lovely, very interesting. The tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. The actual logistics left a little to be desired. We were rushed at the final large monuments. We only had a total of 15 minutes to walk all the way up to the Lincoln Monument, then there was not enough time to see Vietnam and the Korean war monuments. More time must be allocated to the tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The guide was nice and experienced, but it makes me wonder when he and the driver are going back and forth on where to go next exactly how organized the tour really is. Also, why take the guests to somewhere like the Vietnam Veterans Memorial where you can't see anything at night and skip the Jefferson Memorial, especially when you have it pictured in your marketing blurbs?

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A very fun tour, great way to see the monuments in the summer when walking around in the heat is not appealing. However, the stops at the monuments were not long enough to see everything. . . The Vietnam Wall is better in the daylight, much more impressive. We didn't get to the Korean War Memorial, we ran out of time! By the time we got there it was too dark to see much of it anyway I think.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoy night tours of Washington and wanted to share the experience with my six-year-old grandsons. The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. She made the boys feel especially welcome. The tour included a stop at the Lincoln Memorial, Roosevelt Memorial, Iwo Jima statue, Martin Luther King Memorial and the Vietnam Memorial. The narration was interesting and informative. The guide interacted with the audience.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour and Sooner Steve did a wonderful job with the narration. The only suggestion would be to spend more time at the Lincoln Memorial. It was a little rushed to see the Lincoln Memorial, Vietnam Memorial, and Korean War Memorial and be able to give them the respect they deserve.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was really good. Very informative and entertaining. Christopher our tour guide was wonderful!!! The only reason I didn't give the tour a 5 star rating, was because I felt that we arrived at the Vietnam wall after dark and could really see it.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Bob was lovely and I appreciated his humor and his care. This tour is perfect for folks who want to see a lot in a little time. I found it was a bit too much to see -- especially the monuments -- and spend any quality time but I understand the reasoning...you do need a good three hours in Arlington. But trying to see The Korean war memorial, The Vietnam Memorial and the Lincoln Memorial in 30 minutes is a bit much. However, that is my only criticism. Everything else was lovely!

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

I have taken the midnight monuments tour with another company so I had high expectations for the experience for the guest I had with me from Arizona. Our driver Just Joe was a nice guy, but we were not paying to hear about his girlfriend or family life or to hear his jokes or rap music. At one stop, we ran to be sure to get back on time and did not have enough time to see the Vietnam Mem, only to then sit for 20 minuters on the bus while Joe tried to run on foot after a bus that he so kindly wanted to offer our parking space to. It was also excruciatingly boring to sit at intersections while he read the monitor of history one couple disembarked early. We should have done the same. We finished very late and were not comfortable taking the metro at 11pm to Old Town, so we hailed a taxi. An unexpected expense. Overall, the trip was frustrating and disappointing. I live in Richmond, Va. and frequent DC. I would not recommend Viator at this point. Joe needs his own billing for his kind of tour. Karen Overmeyer

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great overall experience! Easy to find at Union Station, buses well marked, driver friendly and chatty, and well versed in the monuments as we drove around. Only flaw was at the Lincoln and Vietnam Memorials, where we had to get off, walk to three different areas, then figure out where the bus actually was rather than having it in one on-off location.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

I had never seen our nation's monuments illuminated after dark and this tour certainly provided this opportunity. The tour guide Mr. E was very knowledgeable and very personable. As a photographer, however, I was a bit disappointed that we only stopped at three places and the rest were viewed with running commentary as we drove past. We stopped at the Martin Luther King and FDR memorials 1 stop, the Iwo Jima Memorial 1 stop and the Lincoln, Vietnam War and Korean War memorials 1 stop. The time allotted for each stop was quite short and you had to hurry to see them and return to the bus on time - especially at the Lincoln Memorial - Vietnam War Memorial - Korean War Memorial stop. I ended up skipping a close encounter with the Lincoln Memorial just so I could practically run to the Vietnam Memorial and photograph the sculptures there I had already visited the Wall on a previous trip to DC anyway and hurry in the opposite direction to photograph the Korean War Memorial. I couldn't even make it to the FDR Memorial in time, so just photographed the Martin Luther King Memorial and returned to the bus. For other photographers, I would recommend taking the hop on hop off bus during the day for a more relaxed encounter with the monuments then take this tour just for the ambiance.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Rated my USA Guided Tour on TripAdvisor:
Capital, WH, Vietnam Memorial, WWII Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, Korean War Memorial, MLK,
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015
Above are the monuments we stopped to get photos. Would have liked to have stopped at the Jefferson Memorial but we drove by it. Since the guide said that we would drive by the Marine Corps Memorial not stop, I decided to get off at the Lincoln Memorial stop and walk back to my hotel which was 3 blocks from the memorial. Some other evening tours may stop at more memorials for photo ops. In general, the tour provided a good intro to the monuments.

Though the departure time was supposed to be 7:30 pm, it was closer to 30-45 minutes later. Apparently, a minivan was added to the motorcoach to handle people from an Embassy Suites Hotel and people were shuffled around to accommodate the Embassy Suites hotel guests. It might have been the reason for not stopping at the FDR Memorial or the Marine Corps Memorial.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

No service to Jefferson, Lincoln, Vietnam memorials. No notice at all. No opportunity to book another tour.

Very disappointing!!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I HIGHLY Recommend this tour! We had taken a train from NY to Washington to do this for the day. We saw many memorials such as WWI, Vietnam and the Korean War memorials. There were many vets around and we saw many shaking their hands thanking them for their service. We saw the White House, the Capital, Lincoln Memorial and the Archives. We also saw the Martin Luther King Memorial. Our guide Andy was the best. He was EXTREMELY knowledgeable about Washington DC and was VERY passionate throughout the tour. We saw several people stop that were doing their own sightseeing to listen to what he was sharing about what we were seeing at the time. It was the experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour with good weather, great guide and driver. The tour was a little longer than expected and recommend taking a flashlight as a few of the trails between the Lincoln Mem., Korean War mem and Vietnam Mem are not well lighted.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We were the only people on our tour, so we basically had our own personal driver/guide. His name was John (I think) and he was excellent. He was good company and very informative about the places he took us to. As well as the Arlington cemetery, he gave us a lot of info. about the Lincoln memorial, Korean Memorial and Vietnam Memorial before giving us plenty time to have a good look around. The bus was clean and comfortable and we never felt that we were under pressure to move on. I would certainly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Washington DC.

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The guide who took us into the capital was great. The tour in the capital was really interesting and well guided -but I was a bit disapointed that we didn't see either of the chambers where the senators function. We were then taken to our guide for the rest of the day and our bus.

The monuments and memorials included on the tour were excellent - eg Vietnam memorial, WW1 and 2 memorials etc. It was disapointing that the guide took so long dramatcally telling us his facts and anecdotes about each that our personal time was limited at for example Vietnam memorial, Jefferson Memorial (quick photo stop for the back) and no stop at all at Iwa Jima. We were late for our lunch boat cruise- which was excellent and the commentary specific and to the point.

Lunch was not so good- soggy subway sandwiches - I was given a choice of sandwich but not drink and ended up with a fizzy drink - but I don't drink them.

I enjoyed al the monuments and memorials as mentioned and more (eg Martin Luther King and FDR).

The National archive ticket entry was for 4.30 pm- which gave us only an hour. Which was okay - but by the time I'd queued to see the key documents it left only a little time for the rest which was potentially interesting. However, it was really interesting in there.

This was a full on day but was a well thought out tour, which I have enthused about to my friends. I would recommend ithe tour unreservedly.

The only problem was the guide, who didn't like being asked questions, treated us like a bunch of idiots and was totally patronising and "picked " on people when they did ask him questions or strayed a yard away from him. He was boring, and pompous - prentending to be overly sincere and moved and kept going on about being a journalist. But for him - this would have been a 5 star review.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I really enjoyed this trip.

The driver Mr B was friendly and informative.

My only problem was when getting off the bus at the Lincoln memorial - we were told the general direction of the Korean and Vietnam memorials and as it was rather dark I only found the Korean one. Same problem with the FDR and Martin Luther King jnr memorials- i found FDR - but like many others didn't locate the MLK one.

The views down the mall to the Washington memorial and the Capital were spectacular from the Lincoln memorial. The reflecting pool was doing its job and the mirror image of the Washington memorial was wonderful!

Despite some rather heavy rain I had a great evening on the trolley! It was a great tour and I would recommend it!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Disappointed that the tour didn't drive by more of the government buildings such as the Supreme Court, Library of Congress, National Archives, etc. Vietnam Memorial was disappointed because it was dark, really need to see that in the day time. Disappointed that we could not see the White House at night due to a security breach. Your tour information should provide more details as to the specific sights that the tour will cover. Really felt that the we did not receive value for the price we paid.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Trip was ok and gave us a sense of the city layout however could have been better. The tour guide was hard to understand and monotone as if reading off notecards. Add to that all the rude talking people in the back of the trolley. We were seated on bottom rows of trolley and it was difficult to see out the windows. Very frustrating. Wished we were in back or on top of double decker bus. Stop at Lincoln Memorial was not nearly long enough to see the other Vietnam and Korean Memorials. Disappointed we didn't go by Whitehouse. In the end probably got what we paid for as tour less expensive than most others. Teenage kids got bored but we were glad to have a ride after a tiring day.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I booked this trolley tour because we had never been to D.C. and wanted to see all of the sites without all of the walking. My mother had a kidney transplant and is still not able to do a lot of walking. Booking this tour was the BEST decision we made. We had the opportunity to see, take pictures and learn about all of the sites from the trolley, and able to get off of the trolley to look more extensively at those sites most important to us. My father is a Vietnam Veteran and had himself, never been to D.C. He lost a lot of friends in Vietnam and almost didn't make it back himself. He never wanted to visit D.C., until now, partially because his first grandson graduated a year and a half ago from the Air Force over Veteran's Day Weekend. Everywhere we went, that graduation weekend in Texas, the Veterans were honored. Grandfather and grandson being asked to stand and be acknowledged. He was finally able to be proud and hold his head up and for the first time wanted to see D.C. It was amazing and emotional to witness him experience the Vietnam Memorial Wall for the first time. To watch the volunteers and him share stories and see all of the memorabilia left at the wall over the Father's Day weekend. The trolley staff were extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. If you are in D.C. this trolley is a must, the green loop is worth the extra money, ESPECIALLY if you get driver H.W.! He said H.W. stood for "hard worker", but to us it also stood for "home-work". He really knows his facts, is entertaining, and has a love and pride for his city and country that just shines through!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

As the focus of this tour is the Capitol, I expected to see the Senate and House chambers. This was not to be as we were ushered thru rotundas housing statues of mostly obscure individuals I'd never heard of. Then we joined another couple of tours, some of whom had different itineries. We whipped thru Important memorials such as the Vietnam Memorial by observing it from a distance and being hurried off to the next destination. A

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was wonderful. The ONLY suggestion I have is that you go to the Vietnam memorial first while it's still light. We didn't have enough days to go back during the day.
Really had a good time. Thanks you

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were on limited time in Washington DC and wanted to see as much as possible, so this was a fantastic tour. Our Guide Ralph was a great personality and had fantastic knowledge to share. The tour takes in all the main tourist attractions (National Mall, Capitol Hill, White House, Lincoln Memorial, Reflecting Pool, Vietnam and Korean War Memorials to name just a few) and you see 100's of more sights along the way. The trip includes a 1 hour river boat ride on the Potomac River which was an added treat and you see everything from a different aspect including Watergate and the Pentagon. You can add lunch for a very reasonable price ($10) and it is delivered to the bus just before you get on the boat and bottles of water are supplied FOC throughout the trip. Excellent value for money and highly recommended

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was fantastic and so happy we took in this tour. I would suggest that the Vietnam War Memorial stop happen while there is still some light as it was hard to appreciate the expanse of the wall with all the names on it in the dark. Also, if the bus driver would announce how to find a particular name, it would have saved us a lot of time. We ended up wasting about 10 minutes of the 1/2 hour we were allotted (and that included taking in the Lincoln Memorial at the same stop) trying to figure it out on our own before we asked another visitor and were told about the directory. We might have noticed it at the entrance if it had not been so dark. But, other than that, it was AWESOME and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message