Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Vietnam Veterans Memorial

If not one of the most powerful in the world, the Vietnam Veteran's Memorial is certainly one of the most powerful in Washington D.C. The iconic memorial is comprised of two walls of polished black granite, on which the names of the 58,209 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I booked this trolley tour because we had never been to D.C. and wanted to see all of the sites without all of the walking. My mother had a kidney transplant and is still not able to do a lot of walking. Booking this tour was the BEST decision we made. We had the opportunity to see, take pictures and learn about all of the sites from the trolley, and able to get off of the trolley to look more extensively at those sites most important to us. My father is a Vietnam Veteran and had himself, never been to D.C. He lost a lot of friends in Vietnam and almost didn't make it back himself. He never wanted to visit D.C., until now, partially because his first grandson graduated a year and a half ago from the Air Force over Veteran's Day Weekend. Everywhere we went, that graduation weekend in Texas, the Veterans were honored. Grandfather and grandson being asked to stand and be acknowledged. He was finally able to be proud and hold his head up and for the first time wanted to see D.C. It was amazing and emotional to witness him experience the Vietnam Memorial Wall for the first time. To watch the volunteers and him share stories and see all of the memorabilia left at the wall over the Father's Day weekend. The trolley staff were extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. If you are in D.C. this trolley is a must, the green loop is worth the extra money, ESPECIALLY if you get driver H.W.! He said H.W. stood for "hard worker", but to us it also stood for "home-work". He really knows his facts, is entertaining, and has a love and pride for his city and country that just shines through!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

As the focus of this tour is the Capitol, I expected to see the Senate and House chambers. This was not to be as we were ushered thru rotundas housing statues of mostly obscure individuals I'd never heard of. Then we joined another couple of tours, some of whom had different itineries. We whipped thru Important memorials such as the Vietnam Memorial by observing it from a distance and being hurried off to the next destination. A

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was wonderful. The ONLY suggestion I have is that you go to the Vietnam memorial first while it's still light. We didn't have enough days to go back during the day.
Really had a good time. Thanks you

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were on limited time in Washington DC and wanted to see as much as possible, so this was a fantastic tour. Our Guide Ralph was a great personality and had fantastic knowledge to share. The tour takes in all the main tourist attractions (National Mall, Capitol Hill, White House, Lincoln Memorial, Reflecting Pool, Vietnam and Korean War Memorials to name just a few) and you see 100's of more sights along the way. The trip includes a 1 hour river boat ride on the Potomac River which was an added treat and you see everything from a different aspect including Watergate and the Pentagon. You can add lunch for a very reasonable price ($10) and it is delivered to the bus just before you get on the boat and bottles of water are supplied FOC throughout the trip. Excellent value for money and highly recommended

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was fantastic and so happy we took in this tour. I would suggest that the Vietnam War Memorial stop happen while there is still some light as it was hard to appreciate the expanse of the wall with all the names on it in the dark. Also, if the bus driver would announce how to find a particular name, it would have saved us a lot of time. We ended up wasting about 10 minutes of the 1/2 hour we were allotted (and that included taking in the Lincoln Memorial at the same stop) trying to figure it out on our own before we asked another visitor and were told about the directory. We might have noticed it at the entrance if it had not been so dark. But, other than that, it was AWESOME and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

We went last Sunday the 22 for the noght tour. The tour itself was okay-although we skipped the Vietnam Memorial -by the tour guide-not enough time-without giving us an option to skip something else-but the tour guide-a young man -a college student from U of M was bad. He was hemming and hawing and his dialogue was not good.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour covered the White House and several memorials (Lincoln, MLK Jr, World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War) among other things. The tour guide was friendly, funny, and informative. All in all it was a great tour; we enjoyed it thoroughly. Only one small complain: You should mention in the tour description that it involves quite a bit of walking. Already after a long day of walking, it was a bit hard to walk some more with a toddler in tag. I knew it would involve walking (all sightseeing in DC does), but didn't quite expect that much.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our family totally enjoyed the moonlight night tour by trolley. Our guide/driver was very informative. We covered many areas and had a chance to walk some of the sites. The highlight was the Roosevelt Memorial. We wish they had more lighting at the Vietnam Memorial. Tip: at the end of the tour if you are near your hotel asked to be let off instead of returning to Union Station. Oh, lots of restaurants in the station to eat before the tour. We did also see the White House bathed in pink for breast cancer awareness. Great tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Excellent tour. Reasonably priced. We needed a thorough tour that would work for my grandparents. They cannot walk long distances at all and so this was a terrific and safe and enjoyable way for them to see the city comfortably. Our guide was excellent. Super informative and friendly! Would most definitely go again. Only frustrating part was there was an event going on at the monuments so we could not see Lincoln, Vietnam, WW II, or Korean...certainly not the tour's fault though! Would highly recommend for those that may have some limitations or accessibility issues!

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We were amazed at the number of people in line for this trip - they had to call in an extra trolley! Lucky for us, we were on that last trolley, so there was a little room to spread out. This is a great tour and I would do it again. Some of the places we stopped for a quick tour (Korean War Memorial and Vietnam Memorial) were not very well-lit, but we were inspired to visit again during daylight. All in all, it was a beautiful trip through the city and we couldn't have asked for a more informative, entertaining, and accommodating guide.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Adam was a fantastic tour guide - armed with interesting and often funny facts about the sights we were seeing. Wish we could have a longer stop at Lincoln/Vietnam/Korea especially given the crowds. I was disappointed that we didn't stop at the Jefferson Memorial given that it is one of the prettiest memorials in the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

I believe it would be better if when we stopped at the Lincoln we had more time to see all 3 memorials Korea, Vietnam and Lincoln. I also believe it would be better to stop at WWII instead of the Iwa Jima Memorial. Several years ago we took Tour mobile. They are out of business now but I liked there tour alot better. Maybe you should look at what they did.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

It was an experience to travel on a bike thru Washington...You have to bike on the sidewalk.
But everything we saw was very impressief...the war site especially the Korean Memorilal with
the supporting Wall...those grey soldiers...no expressions on thier faces.
Also the Vietnam monument and that from World War II everything broyght you back in
memory.....Washington Monument is under construction due to a earthquake.

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

The photo on this page is not of the Vietnam Memorial - that is the Korean War Memorial.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The tour and guide were excellent. Only disappointing thing was the lack of lighting in certain areas (korean monument, Vietnam..) as it was too dark to take photos. Fortunately I had seen the Vietnam memorial in the daytime, but for the stops, the tour needs to stop where there are lights.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message