Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Forbidden City (Imperial Palace)

Have you ever wondered what's so forbidden about the Forbidden City? It's called that because it was closed to the outside world for 500 years. This was the seat of the Ming and the Qing emperors, and no one could enter - or leave - the imperial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I HIGHLY Recommend this tour! We had taken a train from NY to Washington to do this for the day. We saw many memorials such as WWI, Vietnam and the Korean War memorials. There were many vets around and we saw many shaking their hands thanking them for their service. We saw the White House, the Capital, Lincoln Memorial and the Archives. We also saw the Martin Luther King Memorial. Our guide Andy was the best. He was EXTREMELY knowledgeable about Washington DC and was VERY passionate throughout the tour. We saw several people stop that were doing their own sightseeing to listen to what he was sharing about what we were seeing at the time. It was the experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour with good weather, great guide and driver. The tour was a little longer than expected and recommend taking a flashlight as a few of the trails between the Lincoln Mem., Korean War mem and Vietnam Mem are not well lighted.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The guide who took us into the capital was great. The tour in the capital was really interesting and well guided -but I was a bit disapointed that we didn't see either of the chambers where the senators function. We were then taken to our guide for the rest of the day and our bus.

The monuments and memorials included on the tour were excellent - eg Vietnam memorial, WW1 and 2 memorials etc. It was disapointing that the guide took so long dramatcally telling us his facts and anecdotes about each that our personal time was limited at for example Vietnam memorial, Jefferson Memorial (quick photo stop for the back) and no stop at all at Iwa Jima. We were late for our lunch boat cruise- which was excellent and the commentary specific and to the point.

Lunch was not so good- soggy subway sandwiches - I was given a choice of sandwich but not drink and ended up with a fizzy drink - but I don't drink them.

I enjoyed al the monuments and memorials as mentioned and more (eg Martin Luther King and FDR).

The National archive ticket entry was for 4.30 pm- which gave us only an hour. Which was okay - but by the time I'd queued to see the key documents it left only a little time for the rest which was potentially interesting. However, it was really interesting in there.

This was a full on day but was a well thought out tour, which I have enthused about to my friends. I would recommend ithe tour unreservedly.

The only problem was the guide, who didn't like being asked questions, treated us like a bunch of idiots and was totally patronising and "picked " on people when they did ask him questions or strayed a yard away from him. He was boring, and pompous - prentending to be overly sincere and moved and kept going on about being a journalist. But for him - this would have been a 5 star review.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I really enjoyed this trip.

The driver Mr B was friendly and informative.

My only problem was when getting off the bus at the Lincoln memorial - we were told the general direction of the Korean and Vietnam memorials and as it was rather dark I only found the Korean one. Same problem with the FDR and Martin Luther King jnr memorials- i found FDR - but like many others didn't locate the MLK one.

The views down the mall to the Washington memorial and the Capital were spectacular from the Lincoln memorial. The reflecting pool was doing its job and the mirror image of the Washington memorial was wonderful!

Despite some rather heavy rain I had a great evening on the trolley! It was a great tour and I would recommend it!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Disappointed that the tour didn't drive by more of the government buildings such as the Supreme Court, Library of Congress, National Archives, etc. Vietnam Memorial was disappointed because it was dark, really need to see that in the day time. Disappointed that we could not see the White House at night due to a security breach. Your tour information should provide more details as to the specific sights that the tour will cover. Really felt that the we did not receive value for the price we paid.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Trip was ok and gave us a sense of the city layout however could have been better. The tour guide was hard to understand and monotone as if reading off notecards. Add to that all the rude talking people in the back of the trolley. We were seated on bottom rows of trolley and it was difficult to see out the windows. Very frustrating. Wished we were in back or on top of double decker bus. Stop at Lincoln Memorial was not nearly long enough to see the other Vietnam and Korean Memorials. Disappointed we didn't go by Whitehouse. In the end probably got what we paid for as tour less expensive than most others. Teenage kids got bored but we were glad to have a ride after a tiring day.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I booked this trolley tour because we had never been to D.C. and wanted to see all of the sites without all of the walking. My mother had a kidney transplant and is still not able to do a lot of walking. Booking this tour was the BEST decision we made. We had the opportunity to see, take pictures and learn about all of the sites from the trolley, and able to get off of the trolley to look more extensively at those sites most important to us. My father is a Vietnam Veteran and had himself, never been to D.C. He lost a lot of friends in Vietnam and almost didn't make it back himself. He never wanted to visit D.C., until now, partially because his first grandson graduated a year and a half ago from the Air Force over Veteran's Day Weekend. Everywhere we went, that graduation weekend in Texas, the Veterans were honored. Grandfather and grandson being asked to stand and be acknowledged. He was finally able to be proud and hold his head up and for the first time wanted to see D.C. It was amazing and emotional to witness him experience the Vietnam Memorial Wall for the first time. To watch the volunteers and him share stories and see all of the memorabilia left at the wall over the Father's Day weekend. The trolley staff were extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. If you are in D.C. this trolley is a must, the green loop is worth the extra money, ESPECIALLY if you get driver H.W.! He said H.W. stood for "hard worker", but to us it also stood for "home-work". He really knows his facts, is entertaining, and has a love and pride for his city and country that just shines through!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

As the focus of this tour is the Capitol, I expected to see the Senate and House chambers. This was not to be as we were ushered thru rotundas housing statues of mostly obscure individuals I'd never heard of. Then we joined another couple of tours, some of whom had different itineries. We whipped thru Important memorials such as the Vietnam Memorial by observing it from a distance and being hurried off to the next destination. A

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was wonderful. The ONLY suggestion I have is that you go to the Vietnam memorial first while it's still light. We didn't have enough days to go back during the day.
Really had a good time. Thanks you

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were on limited time in Washington DC and wanted to see as much as possible, so this was a fantastic tour. Our Guide Ralph was a great personality and had fantastic knowledge to share. The tour takes in all the main tourist attractions (National Mall, Capitol Hill, White House, Lincoln Memorial, Reflecting Pool, Vietnam and Korean War Memorials to name just a few) and you see 100's of more sights along the way. The trip includes a 1 hour river boat ride on the Potomac River which was an added treat and you see everything from a different aspect including Watergate and the Pentagon. You can add lunch for a very reasonable price ($10) and it is delivered to the bus just before you get on the boat and bottles of water are supplied FOC throughout the trip. Excellent value for money and highly recommended

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was fantastic and so happy we took in this tour. I would suggest that the Vietnam War Memorial stop happen while there is still some light as it was hard to appreciate the expanse of the wall with all the names on it in the dark. Also, if the bus driver would announce how to find a particular name, it would have saved us a lot of time. We ended up wasting about 10 minutes of the 1/2 hour we were allotted (and that included taking in the Lincoln Memorial at the same stop) trying to figure it out on our own before we asked another visitor and were told about the directory. We might have noticed it at the entrance if it had not been so dark. But, other than that, it was AWESOME and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

We went last Sunday the 22 for the noght tour. The tour itself was okay-although we skipped the Vietnam Memorial -by the tour guide-not enough time-without giving us an option to skip something else-but the tour guide-a young man -a college student from U of M was bad. He was hemming and hawing and his dialogue was not good.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour covered the White House and several memorials (Lincoln, MLK Jr, World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War) among other things. The tour guide was friendly, funny, and informative. All in all it was a great tour; we enjoyed it thoroughly. Only one small complain: You should mention in the tour description that it involves quite a bit of walking. Already after a long day of walking, it was a bit hard to walk some more with a toddler in tag. I knew it would involve walking (all sightseeing in DC does), but didn't quite expect that much.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our family totally enjoyed the moonlight night tour by trolley. Our guide/driver was very informative. We covered many areas and had a chance to walk some of the sites. The highlight was the Roosevelt Memorial. We wish they had more lighting at the Vietnam Memorial. Tip: at the end of the tour if you are near your hotel asked to be let off instead of returning to Union Station. Oh, lots of restaurants in the station to eat before the tour. We did also see the White House bathed in pink for breast cancer awareness. Great tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Excellent tour. Reasonably priced. We needed a thorough tour that would work for my grandparents. They cannot walk long distances at all and so this was a terrific and safe and enjoyable way for them to see the city comfortably. Our guide was excellent. Super informative and friendly! Would most definitely go again. Only frustrating part was there was an event going on at the monuments so we could not see Lincoln, Vietnam, WW II, or Korean...certainly not the tour's fault though! Would highly recommend for those that may have some limitations or accessibility issues!

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message