Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Washington Monument

At 555 ft (170 m) the Washington Monument is not only the tallest building in Washington D.C., it is also the tallest masonry structure in the world. Strangely, this pale obelisk needling the sky near the Mall's west end was originally conceived ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3351 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour was excellent! Mr. History tour guide was very engaging, informative, and genuinely interesting in our having a meaningful experience. I have take several tours before and had someone new to DC with me. I got much out of it as did he. Other than it being cold it was January, you could only control so much, it was excellent. Great value!!!!!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Kathleen H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

I was very much looking forward to this tour but disappointed by the plastic being down which hampered the view of the passing sights. I understand the company has no control over the weather, but the driver could have turned the heat on.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

M D L C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Totally exceeded our expectations. Incredible value for money. One of our best tours ever.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

anahat b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very knowledgeable and helpful guide Mr Holiday.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Beth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was outstanding our tour guide David? I'm not sure of his name now made it quite interesting. Ample time was given to visit the memorials and his informative details added to the experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Louise J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This Moonlight Tour was the frosting on the cake to our D.C. trip. So interesting and so beautiful at night. Our guide, Hoya, was the best ever. Thank you !!!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Lin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a great tour since it was my first time to DC and had only 1 day. The tour guide Christopher was friendly and interesting. He gave explanations during the ride and we could get off and take pictures when we arrived. It was nice to do the bus tour during winter so when we get too cold, we can just go wait in the bus. It was great to go up to the Washington Monument at the end. Wish we did the all day tour didn't know about it to see the Pentagon and Arlington Cemetery.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Washington Monument Reserved Admission with DC Landmarks and Memorials Tour

Lin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a great tour since it was my first time to DC and had only 1 day. The tour guide Christopher was friendly and interesting. He gave explanations during the ride and we could get off and take pictures when we arrived. It was nice to do the bus tour during winter so when we get too cold, we can just go wait in the bus. It was great to go up to the Washington Monument at the end. Wish we did the all day tour didn't know about it to see the Pentagon and Arlington Cemetery.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Washington Monument Reserved Admission with DC Landmarks and Memorials Tour

Lin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a great tour since it was my first time to DC and had only 1 day. The tour guide Christopher was friendly and interesting. He gave explanations during the ride and we could get off and take pictures when we arrived. It was nice to do the bus tour during winter so when we get too cold, we can just go wait in the bus. It was great to go up to the Washington Monument at the end. Wish we did the all day tour didn't know about it to see the Pentagon and Arlington Cemetery.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Washington Monument Reserved Admission with DC Landmarks and Memorials Tour

Rhoda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Jason was amazing. He had great stories, and made it entertaining. He also took us to the Metro stop! Super nice guy, and had a great time.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

paul b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

i love the fact that you can get off where you want and get back on when you want! you see a lot of things on this tour well worth the price!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Tracey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour was fantastic Chris our tour guy was fantastic could answer any questions that where asked
Chris is an asset to your team in DC

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Russell F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic. John had more facts and stories than you can imagine. Made it extremely interesting. He and his driver, Tony, went out of their way to help us, We arrived late and Tony came back to meet us. Incredible. John even waited at the Washington Monument for 25 minutes in the cold, until we we finished, holding a pocket knife for one of us that wouldn't pass thru security. He didn't have to do that.
I my opinion, always ask for John and his driver Tony.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Washington Monument Reserved Admission with DC Landmarks and Memorials Tour

Hop On Hop Off Bus

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We had a great ride on the trolley with driver Aaron! He was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Would definitely recommend this trip!

Not so much with driver Special K. I believe it was her final day as a driver from what I overheard. Not friendly or knowledgeable. Had an attitude. Glad she is not driving anymore for this trolley line.

Unknown to us when planning, the day we went to Washington was the Million Man March. Pick up stops were not the usual, crowds were large, but Aaron did everything to make the day great for us! Had a granddaughter with us who never had been to DC before. She loved it!! Would use this company again!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Michelle R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This tour was really great! Our tour guide was very knowledgable and a lot of fun. He kept everything running smoothly and we got to see every site we visited with ample time at each. The only issue we had was the smell on the bus. It had a very bad sulfur odor. The tour would have been perfect had we not had the smell on board. Overall I would highly recommend this tour to anyone, and I intend to use Viator for my tours in Italy later this year.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Washington Monument Reserved Admission with DC Landmarks and Memorials Tour

Richard P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Excellent your with very knowledgable guides.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Nicole M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This tour was good, although some of the buses are a little outdated and the seats were cold sometimes. Also on one of the buses we were on, it had an advertising wrap over the window completely obscuring the view. With this being a sight seeing tour - it seemed a bit ridiculous.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Robert B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

By the way--after the ruined day, I emailed them on 4 different occasions and never got a return email from them. The only thing they know is how to grab tourists' money.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Marcus L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Doesn't get any better....everything I expected it to be!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Cornishee B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Smiley is the best tour guide ever!!!! Smile Smiley, because you deserve it!!! :-

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Elizabet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent experience. Great way to see D.C. Reasonably priced. Friendly, knowledgeable tour guides.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

August J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Chris was our tour guide and he was great. ..very friendly and knowledgeable about all the attractions. .Tony was our driver and he even was awesome as well. I have already recommended the tour to friends

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Washington Monument Reserved Admission with DC Landmarks and Memorials Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message