Washington DC ATTRACTIONS See all

Washington Monument

At 555 ft (170 m) the Washington Monument is not only the tallest building in Washington D.C., it is also the tallest masonry structure in the world. Strangely, this pale obelisk needling the sky near the Mall's west end was originally conceived ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3507 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was great to be able to hop on the bus when our legs were too tired to carry us further. Most drivers were fantastic although we did have one that talked waaaay to much.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

sisterstravel

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Due to the limited time of our trip and rainy weather, my sister and I were unable to enjoy the trip to the fullest. We enjoy the aspect of being able to get an overview of the city by bus. However we found it very difficult to make the first connection with the bus line even though we had pre-booked our tickets. The bus routes seem to be on off the beaten path and therefore difficult to find. It cost us 3 to 4 hours of valuable time before our first bus ride. Also even though many of your ads state desired sites the routes do not come within sight of the sites. That is very disappointing.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Joseph A

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Too much political bulls__t by the drivers during the trip! We came to sightsee not hear how wonderful Hillary is.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Lorraine Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Driver was very good, very informative, was disappointed in the fact that there were not people at the monuments to direct you around before trying to get back on bus. The Roosevelt Monument was not lit up very well at all. Felt like walking thru a dark park. It is a great way to see the beautiful sights at night.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Holly T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

THEY LEFT US AT ARLINGTON NATIONAL CEMETERY.

After waiting for over 40 minutes for a shuttle to the cemetery, I had to flag down the driver to keep her from leaving us because she stopped so far away from the original drop off. Several other customers had to do this, as well. Then the driver and another employee sold us upgrade tickets to the guided tour at Arlington and failed to tell us that it was 45 minutes long. By the time we arrived at Arlington, it was past 4:00pm. We overheard an Arlington employee say how long the tour was and we questioned the driver about it. We were told that the last shuttle left at 5:00pm and we would not be left as long as we were back by then. This, of course, meant we couldn't get off the shuttle at any stops. Our tour came back just before 5:00pm and the Old Town shuttle was gone. Several other customers were left behind, as well. Employees at Arlington contacted Old Town and were told that a final shuttle would be coming in 15 minutes. After waiting for 30 minutes, they contacted Old Town again and were told no more shuttles were coming. We were also told by Arlington employees that the last shuttle had left at 4:50pm. This is completely unacceptable. The driver and employee should not have been selling tickets to the guided tour that late knowing that it was 45 minutes without stops. And the last shuttle should not have left early. We also had issues with our vouchers, and the representative at the Visitor's Center not only did not seem knowledgeable about the routes, she was completely unhelpful and acted like we were bothering her when we asked her for information. We had 2 great tour guides earlier in the day- Gary and Art of Facts- who almost saved the experience, but being left at Arlington Cemetery just totally ruined it for us. I do not recommend this tour. And I've shared this with my close friend who works at Travel Channel.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Joseph D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Can see more from a car! Trees obstruct views, limited seating inside if cold. Bar obstructs views as people line up. Music boring, better use would be a tape of what you are supposed to be seeing! Overall waste of time and money!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Cruise

Marlene O

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

We booked online. We received a voucher, however no direction on getting actual tickets. We wasted half the day trying to redeem the voucher. NOTE-when we finally went to get our tickets, they were extremely nice and very helpful.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Gisele C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

VERY disappointed!!!!! Zero narration of the FEW sites you could see. Rude guy working the boat not drriver. Boat smelled like a dirty toilet

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Cruise

Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our driver was Adam. He was very informative and comical at the same time. My wife and I really enjoyed our experience. Not only was he informing us of the history, he also played trivia games with us and also shared personal stories. I would recommend this tour to family and friends

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Kathleen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great information. The details were awesome. Really liked our tour guide!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Ann M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very comprehensive tour that showed great sights in the city

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Laurie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful guides with a great deal of knowledge and very funny. Best Tour ever!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Andreas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice! Our guide Geroge was excellent.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

robert b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

very interesting and informative! the actual tour was 4 stars, but the tour guide made it 5 stars!! miss Sunny was a treat!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Grant H. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our tour. The driver was excellent and was very interesting. Made the trip very nice.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Beth G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Seeing the city lit up at night was wonderful. Our tour guide, Joe, was entertaining and great at making sure we had great photo opportunities. I would highly recommend it. Make sure to dress warmly as the bus windows are open and it can get cold.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Mike, our driver and guide, was the best guide I have had in years. He was funny, articulate, easy to understand not all guides are and certainly shows a passion for what he shares with his guests!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My tour was amazing! The guide was very knowledgeable. We had a great time.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

Petra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great 4 hour tour. Our tour guide John was very informative and entertaining. He made sure to get to know the people in his group so that he could point out specific information related to the areas we came from. He helped everyone off the bus and didn't even lose any of us. : I asked him for a recommendation for an Asian restaurant and we went there for dinner. It was great John, thanks! Our driver Mike was wonderful and made sure to find safe boarding and drop off areas. John kept the history going at each of our stops and made the tour very very interesting. Ending our tour at the Washington Monument was fantastic. Its not easy these days getting tickets for the monument and this alone was worth the price because the view from the top is spectacular.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Washington Monument Reserved Admission with DC Landmarks and Memorials Tour

Brad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

In DC for 4 days and this was the highlight of the trip. Saw 9 monuments/memorials in 3.5 hours. Bike tour is the ONLY way to do that and get some history of all of them. Tujon was our guide and was great! Very knowledgeable and able to manage the group with ease. Our family had 2 adults and 2 kids age 7 and 11 and 16 people total in the group. We all loved this tour. Would do it again in a heartbeat. Kudos!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments Bike Tour

Christopher E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, our guide Chris was funny as well as informative, and the sites we saw were brilliant. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

martaleida United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way to see the sites.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Barbara D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Convenient way to get an overview of the city upon arrival. Informative and fun.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message