• USD ($)
  • English
Unlike many sites of similar caliber, the White House feels more uplifting than somber. Maybe that’s because this is, at the end of the day, a home as well as symbol. Every U.S president since John Adams has made this 132-room mansion his home. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 55 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overview of area with good stops at Lincoln and Jefferson and King Memorials. Usual tourist general information. Grandson enjoyed it. Would have liked a White House tour instead of just looking at outside. It also would have been nice to see congressional chambers since they were not in session. Rotunda was crowded as was statuary halls. Rote tour presentation there which made it unimpressive!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We thought that this was a guided tour where the tour guide would leave with us on the bus to tour us. Instead, we were driven to the areas and dropped off for a couple of hours. Some of the drop off times were too long and other way too short (ie 20 min given to walk and look at White House). Also at the end of the trip, not sure if it was because of the rain or worn out bus tires, the bus had a very hard time going up the ramp of the Union Station parking garage. Bus driver spun the tires with smoke coming out until he could get the bus to go up to parking garage. Was kind of scary...thought that we would slide off on the side of the ramp of the parking garage.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

This is ok if you want to be taken around, but it is not good if you can't walk far. This tour is very-self guided and if you get lost or are not on time, the bus will leave you behind. The Federal building does not permit makeup or liquids and I wish I had known this before even getting on the tour. The bus terminal was very confusing to find and the queue was VERY long and full of a lot of confused people, some barely buying tickets and others like me with a reservation. Overall, I think I could have explored every thing myself because we had a lot of time at some locations and not many at others. We didn't even get to approach the White House and still had to walk far. Pedicabs could have amounted to the same price and I could have done every thing at my own pace. The bus guide tells you stories, but there is no foot guide.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

It was horrible!!!! Every other tour group had a guide walking to each monument telling facts along the way! We were dropped off at each monument and given times when to return! We didn't even get to stop at the White House! $195 dollars for a family of five!! Wouldn't even pay $50 for the service

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had an excellent tour guide. He was articulate and charismatic. He imparted knowledge of DC to us that only an insider could. We didn't just have a tour, we had an education about the intricate and interlaced workings of the various departments of US government. We learned about polity and protocol with reference to the President, the White House and Congress. He enlightened us as to the various security details that protect the President in his complex duties as head of the Free World. He was approachable and painstaking in his responsibility as tour guide and always ready to respond to any of our many queries. A great day was had by all.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour of DC was absolutely wonderful. Ralph our guide made our trip just wonderful. He was so good at explaining everything in detail. He was the best. I was a bit disappointed because I did want to get closer to the white house. I brought my 14 year old grandson because he loves history. He was so excited, I will use Viator again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were on limited time in Washington DC and wanted to see as much as possible, so this was a fantastic tour. Our Guide Ralph was a great personality and had fantastic knowledge to share. The tour takes in all the main tourist attractions (National Mall, Capitol Hill, White House, Lincoln Memorial, Reflecting Pool, Vietnam and Korean War Memorials to name just a few) and you see 100's of more sights along the way. The trip includes a 1 hour river boat ride on the Potomac River which was an added treat and you see everything from a different aspect including Watergate and the Pentagon. You can add lunch for a very reasonable price ($10) and it is delivered to the bus just before you get on the boat and bottles of water are supplied FOC throughout the trip. Excellent value for money and highly recommended

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I was very pleased with the trip. Your guide, Tim, was an expert and very professional. My group ranged from 11 years old to 73 and we all thoroughly enjoyed the trip. My only disappointment was not going through the White House. That would really be POWERFUL!

CHARLOTTE COPELAND

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I had a short stay in my vacation trip to Washington DC and based on the feedback and reviews from others opted for the 1 day Hop on Hop off tour. After the first stop near White house, I explored the close by Lincoln memorial and Washington monument. Went back on the bus and the guide was very knowledgeable and funny (forgot his name - sorry). He had to drop us off midway at the welcom center after which we switched buses (I think it was to the green loop). The lady who was driving and guiding was very patient in answering questions posed by the people on the bus. All in all worth the money.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Needed more time at some of the sights. Hardly saw the White House at all as we drove by. The guide was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

We took this tour on the first day of our 8 day stay in Washington. The large "luxory coach" that was advertised was replaced with a small van, and a river cruise that was included in the tour was cancelled. Our tour guide was "Al" or so he said. This "insider" tour was full of lies. "Al" made up all sorts or stories about visiting the White House, upcoming presidential appearances and even a story about the Queen coming to visit to honour the unveiling of President Clinton's new Bust - all sorts of stories that we learned later over the next 7 days, were just lies. We have no idea why this tour guide felt the need to make up such ridiculour stories - we were on this tour to get information and facts not made up stories. And the driver just went along with it all. We are very disappointed with the silliness of these lies and are now questioning EVERYTHING that we were told on this tour. Shame on this tour group!!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had THE MOST AWESOME tour guide, Eric. The tour itself was wonderful; seeing up close such sights as the Lincoln, FDR, MLK and Viet Nam wall memorials but Eric made it especially super because of his in depth knowledge of history. It was very nice to see the White House, Capitol and other noteworthy historical buildings lit up at night. Of the three tours we took while in DC, this would definitely be the one I would and did recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The trolley tours were, all in all, pretty informative and also made it easier to get around to see more sights.
The only problem we encountered was concerning the White House stop. The driver did not announce the number and the stop clearly and we missed the stop, having to get to the next stop and take a cab back. The other issue was trying to find the pick-up spot, since again we did not stop there to begin with. Other than that, all of the drivers were informative, knowledgeable, and friendly. One driver in particular was outstanding and that was "H.W.", especially while going through Embassy Row!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Jason the tour guide was great! Just wish we would've been able to get off at the white house.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We had 1 day of our vacation allotted for monuments/memorials and this tour was exactly what we needed because I really underestimated the walking distance between the monuments. We took the Metro to Union Station and picked up the trolley from there. The tour is listed on the mall directory/map just like a regular store so we were able to find the ticket counter easily. We went through a circuit of the Orange Line to decide where we wanted to hop off. We hopped on/off several times. Each time the next trolley arrived we had no trouble finding seats. The drivers - Darin, Anthony, and Sooner Steve - worked hard to make the tour lively and informative. They repeated numerous times that the trolley runs from 9am to 5pm only and the last bus from Arlington Cemetery leaves at 4:30pm. I can't stress enough that YOU NEED TO PLAN ACCORDINGLY!! We hopped off at the White House, Jefferson Memorial, and Lincoln Memorial. We walked down to the WWII Memorial then back to the Lincoln to pick up the Red Line bus to Arlington Cemetery. We spent about 45 minutes at each site plus 20 - 30 minutes for trolley pick-up and travel time to the next monument. We chose to stay past the pick-up time at Arlington Cemetery and take the Metro back to the hotel. There is a station just outside the cemetery. In retrospect, I wish we had taken 2 days to view the monuments and bought the 2 day tour pass so we could have seen more of the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message