Undoubtedly Washington DC's most famous landmark, the White House serves as both a home and a symbol of America. Every US president since John Adams has made this 132-room mansion his home, and its stature has only grown over the years. No longer ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Arahy D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

It was a fiasco from start to finish. Instead of the big new bus shown in the advertising we get an old, small, airport shuttle type vehicle that was dirty and smelly and whose air conditioning did not work with windows that would not open. Then figure on being made to walk long distances in the heat. It was horrifying having to watch them make a 70 something year old woman and her husband try to navigate a long concrete stairwell outside the Capital Bldg. so we can be marched on foot to the White House. The lunch cruise was an organizational fiasco, was late leaving, and was shortened by wind out of their control obviously. Save your money and find another company. We had a wonderful night tour that was a much better and less expensive experience. And don't worry about not getting into the Capital, the tour there doesn't even allow you to see the current House or Senate chambers.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jill M L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My flight arrived at 9am in DC, and I went straight to the 10am bike tour with time to spare. This tour was a fantastic way to see a LOT in a few hours. The biking was comfortable, and our guide Andy was knowledgeable. The weather even cooperated, which certainly helped! My only wish was that we could swing closer to the white house on our trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Debbie L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I am giving a bed review because of the following reasons:

1. The tour guide left 10 minutes before the meeting time.
My daughter and I arrived in front of library of congress and the Neptune water fountain at 9 sharp. There were no sign of a tour group. I did hear one gentlemen calling the company and question the group where about. It turned out they have left us 10 minutes prior to 9 am, which was not responsible. Since the instruction was to meet at 9 am.

2. Really late lunch service, if any.
After the Us Capitol the shuttle bus took us to many walking sites the front of White House, World War ll memorial, Vietnam Memorial. and Lincoln memorial. We ended at infront of The National Archives around 1 pm and were told to return on the bus at 1:50 pm. There were no lunch discussion at 1 pm yet. I really don't know when my group ate, since I decided to feed my daughter in the National Archieve cafferteria. I also told the tour guide we were returning at that point.

3. They changed the agenda around. According to their advisement we were to end at the National Archieve. But the switched and went to the Archieve in the middle of the trip, without prior worning. Which caused problem for me.
This DC trip was my first trip treviling with just my daughter and I. I planned metro ride back to our hotel at the stop of the National Archieve. Since the company changed the order of the tour. I felt I eased to continued with the trip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Geza O

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour with a very good guide. The uncertainity is always the White House because of possible nearby road closes dueto unplannable events.
You can not make all those spots to see in one day without travelling,and you got plenty of info and historical data from your guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was my first trip to D.C. and my first segway tour. I thought it would be a fun activity and a great way to get an orientation of the city and a brief overview of the buildings and history. I'm in my 50s and my daughter is in her late teens and we both had a total blast and enjoyed every minute of this experience. The guides give a great safety demonstration on how to use the segway. Within minutes you're zipping around comfortably and wising you had one of these for your own use. Our route covered an expansive route Foggy Bottom, GW, White House, Archives, Reflecting Pond, Capitol, Washington Monument, The Mall, Lincoln Memorial, and more and the segways are each equipped with walkie talkie receivers so you can hear the guide narrate info about other nearby sites as you pass by. Our guide, Pedro, was great and our group bonded right away and had fun together. I'm so happy we did this tour. If you like fun and new experiences, don't hesitate - JUST DO IT!!

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

Natasha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Outstanding! Our guide, Chris was entertaining and informative. The tour itself was wonderful! We toured the Capitol, saw the White House, toured the National Archives where we saw the Declaration of Independence, the Bill of Rights and the Constitution. We saw monuments and memorials and learned things we had never heard before. Lunch on the Potomac was also great. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who is traveling to our Nation's Capitol

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Charles S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The perfect tour when you don't have a lot of time to spend and don't know the area. We were only in DC for a couple of days so we tried to see as much as possible. The 'Best of DC' tour fit the bill. Chris was our tour guide and was very funny and entertaining. We toured the Capitol, saw the White House, toured the National Archives and saw the Declaration of Independence, the Bill of Rights and the Constitution. We saw monuments and memorials and learned many details about them that we were unaware of before. The WWII memorial was amazing. I even found the 'Kilroy was here' drawing that was etched into a secluded place at the memorial. Very cool. The lunch on the boat cruising Potomac was really fun too. Some cool relief on a very hot day. It does take much of one day and there is a lot of walking, but well worth it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

ssauer

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

I have booked numerous Viator tours in the past, in both the US and Europe, and unfortunately I have to say this was the worst organized tour I have been on with Viator. The tour company USA Guided Tours was so unorganized to begin with. We started the tour off at the US Capital Building. There were no instructions given as to what we were going to see at the Capital Building, where we needed to be, etc. It felt like we were left on our own to figure things out. Then after, we walked outside to meet up with our shuttle buses, and that's when the confusion really started. The buses weren't there so they kept calling them to come pick us up. They had 4 extra passengers to accommodate and find spots for. We must have wasted about 45 minutes while they tried to sort this all out. This confusion continued on at our first stop - The White House. We were on a smaller 13 - person passenger bus which I believe was added at the last minute but there was no speaker system so the guests at the back of the bus could not hear the tour guide. Then they weren't really sure when the Boat Ride on the Potomac would be, which seems odd to me as you think it would be a standard schedule for this tour that runs every day. Our driver, Marvin was excellent. He was very courteous, helpful and a good driver. Our tour guide for the monuments was Lynette, she was fine too. Once they got past their logistical problems the tour went better and we did get to see all the main monuments and buildings in Washington. Would I recommend this tour - unfortunately I would say no simply because of the lack of organization.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Phyllis L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was loads of fun! Segway is very user friendly especially for this 67 year old female novice! Loved scooting down the middle of Pennsylvania Ave. in the bike lane heading straight for the White House! Word of caution....look up most recent weather report and dress for the day. We froze especially with the wind chill factor.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

Cara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I HIGHLY Recommend this tour! We had taken a train from NY to Washington to do this for the day. We saw many memorials such as WWI, Vietnam and the Korean War memorials. There were many vets around and we saw many shaking their hands thanking them for their service. We saw the White House, the Capital, Lincoln Memorial and the Archives. We also saw the Martin Luther King Memorial. Our guide Andy was the best. He was EXTREMELY knowledgeable about Washington DC and was VERY passionate throughout the tour. We saw several people stop that were doing their own sightseeing to listen to what he was sharing about what we were seeing at the time. It was the experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Lauren M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a fantastic time on this tour! Loved every minute of it (despite the terrible cold). People are raving about the photos of us out the front of the White House on our Segways. Fantastic way to see the city with a guide who was very very informative.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

James L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Disappointed in this tour overall. We had no itinerary - had 2 children with us; needed more details about what to expect and how long the tour would be. Bus tour guide made some inappropriate and uncomfortable comments about a couple of things as we went along. The White House visitors area was pointless - we expected something a little more special. As it was, we would have enjoyed it more just driving past it. We went too long without lunch; then ate lunch on our laps on river boat ride - uncomfortable, plus we had no choice of the drink included with the meal, a major faux pas. The river boat guide was good and informative, but it was hard to see everything while holding our lunches on our laps. The tour of the capitol building was the first site on our tour and we had to dump my grandson's snacks before entering - really really lame. We had to go the rest of the day with no snacks for a 2 year old!! That tour could have been last. We ended up not going to the last stop, Archives, because it was too late in the day and getting back home on the Metro would have been a nightmare. It would have been better to go to Archives first, and the other sites second. The one saving grace of the whole tour was our bus driver. He was fantastic, going way out of his way to make the experience a good one for everyone. He even drove us to a metro stop while others were out of the bus at the MLK statue, and we decided we couldn't continue the tour. We saw many of the things on this tour, but in a better way, when we took the Hop-on-Hop-off Trolley Tour a couple of weeks prior to this one, and felt that this tour was a big waste of money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Christopher F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

An extremely interesting full day. Greatly enhanced by the commentary provided by our tour guide, Adam.. Inspite of the security problems the driver still manged to allow us to see the White house.
The trip round Congress was very informative particulaly for non americans.
The only issue was the problem at the beginning with bus size, overbooked so I didn't have a seat initially.
The lunch on the boat is a limited choice Subway box, though the trip down the Potamic river was very pleasant.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jenn13 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked the VIP tour through Viator. We were very happy that we did. We were annoyed because we got an e-mail the afternoon before that the boat cruise was cancelled due to the African Summit and wondering if we wanted to reschedule. We couldn't because it was our last day. When we got there we found out it was back on.
We started out with Destiny who took us to the Capital building. Police would not let us in and were quite rude - we later found out that there was a suspicious package. A nice officer back at the top told us to go through the tunnel. We did but couldn't believe that we had to go through security twice to get through! The tour at the Capital was very informative. We saw a video and then 3 rooms.
After Destiny passed us off to Andy and Lee. Andy was an excellent tour guide - very informed but also entertaining. He took us to the White House and various monuments. We had seen some of the monuments the previous day on our own but Andy gave us so much more information that we felt like we hadn't see them.
We had a nice cruise and we got lunch for the boat. They give you your choice of sandwich, a bag of chips, a cookie and a pop.
The last stop is the National Archives which you do on your own.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Mary P

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overview of area with good stops at Lincoln and Jefferson and King Memorials. Usual tourist general information. Grandson enjoyed it. Would have liked a White House tour instead of just looking at outside. It also would have been nice to see congressional chambers since they were not in session. Rotunda was crowded as was statuary halls. Rote tour presentation there which made it unimpressive!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Nancy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour of DC was absolutely wonderful. Ralph our guide made our trip just wonderful. He was so good at explaining everything in detail. He was the best. I was a bit disappointed because I did want to get closer to the white house. I brought my 14 year old grandson because he loves history. He was so excited, I will use Viator again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

ccopeland100

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I was very pleased with the trip. Your guide, Tim, was an expert and very professional. My group ranged from 11 years old to 73 and we all thoroughly enjoyed the trip. My only disappointment was not going through the White House. That would really be POWERFUL!

CHARLOTTE COPELAND

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My wife, two kids and I had a great time on this tour of DC. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and the Segways were a BLAST. On the tour we saw the White House, Capitol, the Mall, Smithonian buildings, Washington Monument, and got to walk around the Lincoln, Vietnam, and Korean War Memorial. Great time but if its cold or cool at all bring a jacket or sweatshirt. There is a little room on the Segway to store a jacket or camera. The segways move faster than you think and both my wife and daughter got a bit cold while we were "segwaying" around.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

Ron K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My family and I would give this tour a rating of 4 1/2 stars. The tour we took allowed us to see many of the major memorials, capital, and White House with excellent tour commentary by our guide. The only reason we couldn't give it the perfect score was because when we stopped for about 10 minutes to view the Lincoln Memorial and Vietnam Memorial we weren't give an extra 5 minutes to see the Korean War Memorial which was extremely close. The tour was very reasonable in price, saved us a ton of walking, and riding a Segway is always fun. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

Bruce A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great way to start a vacation in Washington D.C. to become familiar with many of the top tourist attractions, museums, national monuments, White House, Capitol, etc. Guide was exceptional and the tour was a great way to start our memorable vacation.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

Amitabha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Touring DC on a Segway was one of the best things we did. Our tour guide Melissa was wonderful and very informative. The Segway took us to all the major spots in DC, including the Washington Monument, The White House, Capitol Building, Lincoln Memorial, etc. It takes hardly 5 minutes of training to get used to the Segway and then you never want to get off. We had taken the 10 am tour which lasted for about 3 hours. The tour also gives you enough time to take pictures, stroll around, and take short breaks if you are tired. One of the best parts of the tour was when we rode the Segway on the Pennsylvania Avenue towards the Capitol Building. It took us about 20 minutes, and on our way we saw the streets and most of the famous buildings on the Penn Avenue. In summary, if you have just a couple of days in DC, or even otherwise, if you just want to have a lot of fun in an unconventional way, Segway is your best choice!

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message