Unlike many sites of similar caliber, the White House feels more uplifting than somber. Maybe that’s because this is, at the end of the day, a home as well as symbol. Every U.S president since John Adams has made this 132-room mansion his home. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Disappointed in this tour overall. We had no itinerary - had 2 children with us; needed more details about what to expect and how long the tour would be. Bus tour guide made some inappropriate and uncomfortable comments about a couple of things as we went along. The White House visitors area was pointless - we expected something a little more special. As it was, we would have enjoyed it more just driving past it. We went too long without lunch; then ate lunch on our laps on river boat ride - uncomfortable, plus we had no choice of the drink included with the meal, a major faux pas. The river boat guide was good and informative, but it was hard to see everything while holding our lunches on our laps. The tour of the capitol building was the first site on our tour and we had to dump my grandson's snacks before entering - really really lame. We had to go the rest of the day with no snacks for a 2 year old!! That tour could have been last. We ended up not going to the last stop, Archives, because it was too late in the day and getting back home on the Metro would have been a nightmare. It would have been better to go to Archives first, and the other sites second. The one saving grace of the whole tour was our bus driver. He was fantastic, going way out of his way to make the experience a good one for everyone. He even drove us to a metro stop while others were out of the bus at the MLK statue, and we decided we couldn't continue the tour. We saw many of the things on this tour, but in a better way, when we took the Hop-on-Hop-off Trolley Tour a couple of weeks prior to this one, and felt that this tour was a big waste of money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had a two day ticket. Did Orange and Green trolleys, then the Green again. Loved everything. The drivers were fantastic and their knowledge second to none. Also they are very witty, especially Jewel. Loved seeing the White House and all the other buildings and having travelled on the Trolley, we knew what museums to visit and where the stops were. Washington is a beautiful city, but it was soooo hot and humid, but we coped.
Thank you. Sorry haven't downloaded my photos yet

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Good tour! Wish we could have seen the White House for more than 2 seconds

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Yes, we took the hop-on-hop-off tour with your company. It was really really nice. I loved your tour guides they knew a lot about the city and made the trip a very enjoyable experience. I really enjoyed and appreciated how organized the tour was. Once we arrived at the meeting location there was a bus already there which was about to go so great no waiting. If I could change one thing it would be to have more viewing of the White House but we did it on our own so not a big deal. I think the tour guide named Speaker is an asset to your company and I would like to thank him for a lovely day and the gentlemen who we came back to the center with but I am sorry I don't remember his name he did tell us but it was a short trip back with him and I just forgot. Thank you all very much. We loved Washington and all the lovely people there. Sincerely, Don and Josephine Lewicki.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

An extremely interesting full day. Greatly enhanced by the commentary provided by our tour guide, Adam.. Inspite of the security problems the driver still manged to allow us to see the White house.
The trip round Congress was very informative particulaly for non americans.
The only issue was the problem at the beginning with bus size, overbooked so I didn't have a seat initially.
The lunch on the boat is a limited choice Subway box, though the trip down the Potamic river was very pleasant.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour guide was great. Saw lots of sights in DC. Wish we could have gotten good pictures of the White House and the Capitol, but the bus kept moving. Didn't have time to see all monuments at one stop...had to choose. The tour was supposed to be 2-1:2 hours...ours was 3 hours 15 minutes. Late!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Jenn13
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked the VIP tour through Viator. We were very happy that we did. We were annoyed because we got an e-mail the afternoon before that the boat cruise was cancelled due to the African Summit and wondering if we wanted to reschedule. We couldn't because it was our last day. When we got there we found out it was back on.
We started out with Destiny who took us to the Capital building. Police would not let us in and were quite rude - we later found out that there was a suspicious package. A nice officer back at the top told us to go through the tunnel. We did but couldn't believe that we had to go through security twice to get through! The tour at the Capital was very informative. We saw a video and then 3 rooms.
After Destiny passed us off to Andy and Lee. Andy was an excellent tour guide - very informed but also entertaining. He took us to the White House and various monuments. We had seen some of the monuments the previous day on our own but Andy gave us so much more information that we felt like we hadn't see them.
We had a nice cruise and we got lunch for the boat. They give you your choice of sandwich, a bag of chips, a cookie and a pop.
The last stop is the National Archives which you do on your own.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The Washington DC in a Day Tour was not entirely what I expected but still worth the money. I met the coach at the busy Union Station and once everyone was on board, we were taken straight to the US Capitol Visitor Centre. We were left on our own to take pictures of the various buildings in the area then go in to the visitor centre and book our own places on the guided tour of the building. It was a very interesting and informative tour once inside but very crowded. There was a lot to see including huge statues and wonderful artwork. There was so much history to learn about. There were tickets available also to sit in on a debate in the Senate or House of Representatives Chambers although at the time there were no debates taking place. We also had brunch in the lovely restaurant.

After the tour of the US Capitol, we were back on the coach and taken to the museums where you could choose whether to visit the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum, American History Museum or the Natural History Museum. You are given approximately two hours to spend there and have lunch.

Next stop was the White House where we got lots of opportunities to take pictures outside the White House (from in front of the railings). There was a lot of security around due to the sheer volume of people trying to take pictures but it was a good experience.

The last stop was the Martin Luther King and Jefferson Memorials. I was taken aback by the huge memorials that this city has to offer and these two were no exception. If you have more time, try to see the other memorials around the city too as this tour only stopped at these two.

The coach then took us back to Union Station at around 4pm. All in all it did feel a little bit like the coach was just a bus taking us to the next stop with the driver pointing out a few famous sights. If you want more of a historical tour I would choose the guided tour. Hopefully that would offer a greater experience than this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overview of area with good stops at Lincoln and Jefferson and King Memorials. Usual tourist general information. Grandson enjoyed it. Would have liked a White House tour instead of just looking at outside. It also would have been nice to see congressional chambers since they were not in session. Rotunda was crowded as was statuary halls. Rote tour presentation there which made it unimpressive!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We thought that this was a guided tour where the tour guide would leave with us on the bus to tour us. Instead, we were driven to the areas and dropped off for a couple of hours. Some of the drop off times were too long and other way too short (ie 20 min given to walk and look at White House). Also at the end of the trip, not sure if it was because of the rain or worn out bus tires, the bus had a very hard time going up the ramp of the Union Station parking garage. Bus driver spun the tires with smoke coming out until he could get the bus to go up to parking garage. Was kind of scary...thought that we would slide off on the side of the ramp of the parking garage.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

This is ok if you want to be taken around, but it is not good if you can't walk far. This tour is very-self guided and if you get lost or are not on time, the bus will leave you behind. The Federal building does not permit makeup or liquids and I wish I had known this before even getting on the tour. The bus terminal was very confusing to find and the queue was VERY long and full of a lot of confused people, some barely buying tickets and others like me with a reservation. Overall, I think I could have explored every thing myself because we had a lot of time at some locations and not many at others. We didn't even get to approach the White House and still had to walk far. Pedicabs could have amounted to the same price and I could have done every thing at my own pace. The bus guide tells you stories, but there is no foot guide.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

It was horrible!!!! Every other tour group had a guide walking to each monument telling facts along the way! We were dropped off at each monument and given times when to return! We didn't even get to stop at the White House! $195 dollars for a family of five!! Wouldn't even pay $50 for the service

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had an excellent tour guide. He was articulate and charismatic. He imparted knowledge of DC to us that only an insider could. We didn't just have a tour, we had an education about the intricate and interlaced workings of the various departments of US government. We learned about polity and protocol with reference to the President, the White House and Congress. He enlightened us as to the various security details that protect the President in his complex duties as head of the Free World. He was approachable and painstaking in his responsibility as tour guide and always ready to respond to any of our many queries. A great day was had by all.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour of DC was absolutely wonderful. Ralph our guide made our trip just wonderful. He was so good at explaining everything in detail. He was the best. I was a bit disappointed because I did want to get closer to the white house. I brought my 14 year old grandson because he loves history. He was so excited, I will use Viator again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were on limited time in Washington DC and wanted to see as much as possible, so this was a fantastic tour. Our Guide Ralph was a great personality and had fantastic knowledge to share. The tour takes in all the main tourist attractions (National Mall, Capitol Hill, White House, Lincoln Memorial, Reflecting Pool, Vietnam and Korean War Memorials to name just a few) and you see 100's of more sights along the way. The trip includes a 1 hour river boat ride on the Potomac River which was an added treat and you see everything from a different aspect including Watergate and the Pentagon. You can add lunch for a very reasonable price ($10) and it is delivered to the bus just before you get on the boat and bottles of water are supplied FOC throughout the trip. Excellent value for money and highly recommended

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message