Unlike many sites of similar caliber, the White House feels more uplifting than somber. Maybe that’s because this is, at the end of the day, a home as well as symbol. Every U.S president since John Adams has made this 132-room mansion his home. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had a two day ticket. Did Orange and Green trolleys, then the Green again. Loved everything. The drivers were fantastic and their knowledge second to none. Also they are very witty, especially Jewel. Loved seeing the White House and all the other buildings and having travelled on the Trolley, we knew what museums to visit and where the stops were. Washington is a beautiful city, but it was soooo hot and humid, but we coped.
Thank you. Sorry haven't downloaded my photos yet

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Jenn13
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked the VIP tour through Viator. We were very happy that we did. We were annoyed because we got an e-mail the afternoon before that the boat cruise was cancelled due to the African Summit and wondering if we wanted to reschedule. We couldn't because it was our last day. When we got there we found out it was back on.
We started out with Destiny who took us to the Capital building. Police would not let us in and were quite rude - we later found out that there was a suspicious package. A nice officer back at the top told us to go through the tunnel. We did but couldn't believe that we had to go through security twice to get through! The tour at the Capital was very informative. We saw a video and then 3 rooms.
After Destiny passed us off to Andy and Lee. Andy was an excellent tour guide - very informed but also entertaining. He took us to the White House and various monuments. We had seen some of the monuments the previous day on our own but Andy gave us so much more information that we felt like we hadn't see them.
We had a nice cruise and we got lunch for the boat. They give you your choice of sandwich, a bag of chips, a cookie and a pop.
The last stop is the National Archives which you do on your own.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The Washington DC in a Day Tour was not entirely what I expected but still worth the money. I met the coach at the busy Union Station and once everyone was on board, we were taken straight to the US Capitol Visitor Centre. We were left on our own to take pictures of the various buildings in the area then go in to the visitor centre and book our own places on the guided tour of the building. It was a very interesting and informative tour once inside but very crowded. There was a lot to see including huge statues and wonderful artwork. There was so much history to learn about. There were tickets available also to sit in on a debate in the Senate or House of Representatives Chambers although at the time there were no debates taking place. We also had brunch in the lovely restaurant.

After the tour of the US Capitol, we were back on the coach and taken to the museums where you could choose whether to visit the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum, American History Museum or the Natural History Museum. You are given approximately two hours to spend there and have lunch.

Next stop was the White House where we got lots of opportunities to take pictures outside the White House (from in front of the railings). There was a lot of security around due to the sheer volume of people trying to take pictures but it was a good experience.

The last stop was the Martin Luther King and Jefferson Memorials. I was taken aback by the huge memorials that this city has to offer and these two were no exception. If you have more time, try to see the other memorials around the city too as this tour only stopped at these two.

The coach then took us back to Union Station at around 4pm. All in all it did feel a little bit like the coach was just a bus taking us to the next stop with the driver pointing out a few famous sights. If you want more of a historical tour I would choose the guided tour. Hopefully that would offer a greater experience than this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overview of area with good stops at Lincoln and Jefferson and King Memorials. Usual tourist general information. Grandson enjoyed it. Would have liked a White House tour instead of just looking at outside. It also would have been nice to see congressional chambers since they were not in session. Rotunda was crowded as was statuary halls. Rote tour presentation there which made it unimpressive!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We thought that this was a guided tour where the tour guide would leave with us on the bus to tour us. Instead, we were driven to the areas and dropped off for a couple of hours. Some of the drop off times were too long and other way too short (ie 20 min given to walk and look at White House). Also at the end of the trip, not sure if it was because of the rain or worn out bus tires, the bus had a very hard time going up the ramp of the Union Station parking garage. Bus driver spun the tires with smoke coming out until he could get the bus to go up to parking garage. Was kind of scary...thought that we would slide off on the side of the ramp of the parking garage.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

This is ok if you want to be taken around, but it is not good if you can't walk far. This tour is very-self guided and if you get lost or are not on time, the bus will leave you behind. The Federal building does not permit makeup or liquids and I wish I had known this before even getting on the tour. The bus terminal was very confusing to find and the queue was VERY long and full of a lot of confused people, some barely buying tickets and others like me with a reservation. Overall, I think I could have explored every thing myself because we had a lot of time at some locations and not many at others. We didn't even get to approach the White House and still had to walk far. Pedicabs could have amounted to the same price and I could have done every thing at my own pace. The bus guide tells you stories, but there is no foot guide.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

It was horrible!!!! Every other tour group had a guide walking to each monument telling facts along the way! We were dropped off at each monument and given times when to return! We didn't even get to stop at the White House! $195 dollars for a family of five!! Wouldn't even pay $50 for the service

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had an excellent tour guide. He was articulate and charismatic. He imparted knowledge of DC to us that only an insider could. We didn't just have a tour, we had an education about the intricate and interlaced workings of the various departments of US government. We learned about polity and protocol with reference to the President, the White House and Congress. He enlightened us as to the various security details that protect the President in his complex duties as head of the Free World. He was approachable and painstaking in his responsibility as tour guide and always ready to respond to any of our many queries. A great day was had by all.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour of DC was absolutely wonderful. Ralph our guide made our trip just wonderful. He was so good at explaining everything in detail. He was the best. I was a bit disappointed because I did want to get closer to the white house. I brought my 14 year old grandson because he loves history. He was so excited, I will use Viator again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were on limited time in Washington DC and wanted to see as much as possible, so this was a fantastic tour. Our Guide Ralph was a great personality and had fantastic knowledge to share. The tour takes in all the main tourist attractions (National Mall, Capitol Hill, White House, Lincoln Memorial, Reflecting Pool, Vietnam and Korean War Memorials to name just a few) and you see 100's of more sights along the way. The trip includes a 1 hour river boat ride on the Potomac River which was an added treat and you see everything from a different aspect including Watergate and the Pentagon. You can add lunch for a very reasonable price ($10) and it is delivered to the bus just before you get on the boat and bottles of water are supplied FOC throughout the trip. Excellent value for money and highly recommended

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I was very pleased with the trip. Your guide, Tim, was an expert and very professional. My group ranged from 11 years old to 73 and we all thoroughly enjoyed the trip. My only disappointment was not going through the White House. That would really be POWERFUL!

CHARLOTTE COPELAND

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I had a short stay in my vacation trip to Washington DC and based on the feedback and reviews from others opted for the 1 day Hop on Hop off tour. After the first stop near White house, I explored the close by Lincoln memorial and Washington monument. Went back on the bus and the guide was very knowledgeable and funny (forgot his name - sorry). He had to drop us off midway at the welcom center after which we switched buses (I think it was to the green loop). The lady who was driving and guiding was very patient in answering questions posed by the people on the bus. All in all worth the money.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Needed more time at some of the sights. Hardly saw the White House at all as we drove by. The guide was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

We took this tour on the first day of our 8 day stay in Washington. The large "luxory coach" that was advertised was replaced with a small van, and a river cruise that was included in the tour was cancelled. Our tour guide was "Al" or so he said. This "insider" tour was full of lies. "Al" made up all sorts or stories about visiting the White House, upcoming presidential appearances and even a story about the Queen coming to visit to honour the unveiling of President Clinton's new Bust - all sorts of stories that we learned later over the next 7 days, were just lies. We have no idea why this tour guide felt the need to make up such ridiculour stories - we were on this tour to get information and facts not made up stories. And the driver just went along with it all. We are very disappointed with the silliness of these lies and are now questioning EVERYTHING that we were told on this tour. Shame on this tour group!!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had THE MOST AWESOME tour guide, Eric. The tour itself was wonderful; seeing up close such sights as the Lincoln, FDR, MLK and Viet Nam wall memorials but Eric made it especially super because of his in depth knowledge of history. It was very nice to see the White House, Capitol and other noteworthy historical buildings lit up at night. Of the three tours we took while in DC, this would definitely be the one I would and did recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message