• USD ($)
  • English
Unlike many sites of similar caliber, the White House feels more uplifting than somber. Maybe that’s because this is, at the end of the day, a home as well as symbol. Every U.S president since John Adams has made this 132-room mansion his home. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We had 1 day of our vacation allotted for monuments/memorials and this tour was exactly what we needed because I really underestimated the walking distance between the monuments. We took the Metro to Union Station and picked up the trolley from there. The tour is listed on the mall directory/map just like a regular store so we were able to find the ticket counter easily. We went through a circuit of the Orange Line to decide where we wanted to hop off. We hopped on/off several times. Each time the next trolley arrived we had no trouble finding seats. The drivers - Darin, Anthony, and Sooner Steve - worked hard to make the tour lively and informative. They repeated numerous times that the trolley runs from 9am to 5pm only and the last bus from Arlington Cemetery leaves at 4:30pm. I can't stress enough that YOU NEED TO PLAN ACCORDINGLY!! We hopped off at the White House, Jefferson Memorial, and Lincoln Memorial. We walked down to the WWII Memorial then back to the Lincoln to pick up the Red Line bus to Arlington Cemetery. We spent about 45 minutes at each site plus 20 - 30 minutes for trolley pick-up and travel time to the next monument. We chose to stay past the pick-up time at Arlington Cemetery and take the Metro back to the hotel. There is a station just outside the cemetery. In retrospect, I wish we had taken 2 days to view the monuments and bought the 2 day tour pass so we could have seen more of the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Do not plan your trip to Washington without taking this night tour. The magnitude and greatness of all the monuments and buildings such as the Capitol and the White House are stunning at night. Our driver, Gil, was exceptional. A true historian, giving life to Washington's past and present with informative facts and story telling.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My wife, two kids and I had a great time on this tour of DC. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and the Segways were a BLAST. On the tour we saw the White House, Capitol, the Mall, Smithonian buildings, Washington Monument, and got to walk around the Lincoln, Vietnam, and Korean War Memorial. Great time but if its cold or cool at all bring a jacket or sweatshirt. There is a little room on the Segway to store a jacket or camera. The segways move faster than you think and both my wife and daughter got a bit cold while we were "segwaying" around.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We had a great tour of the city! The bus driver was very knowlegeable and aswered all of our questions in a very professional and honest manner. We should have been informed that we NEEDED to make a reservation to visit the U.S. Capitol. It is unfortunate that it is no longer possible to visit inside the White House any more. I feel that a stop at the Lincoln Memorial SHOULD BE included as part of the tour; since this would not have been out of the way or taken much time out of the tour schedule.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The Hotel (Quincy) was just right for a short trip (3 days) and we could walk to the White House easily (10 mins?) As we are an older couple, we recommend the Hop On, Hop Off Trolley Bus Tours. The drivers were fun and shared lots of helpful information - which really enhanced our trip. As this was our first visit to Washington, the HOPO was a great way to see all the main sights and decide which we wanted to see most. Arlington was very moving and we enjoyed climbing the Lincoln Memorial. We spent most of our second day walking to and touring the Museum of Art although we also took in the Native American Museum and had an excellent brunch there (pulled bison). The HOPO also helped us decide where to go for our evening meals...Tomates in the diplomatic area and Paulos in Georgetown - both excellent.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

I wish we would have gone by the White House and more federal buildings. Also the tour guide talked so fast we couldnt understand him. He did, however, drop us off at our bus/ hotel stop.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our family totally enjoyed the moonlight night tour by trolley. Our guide/driver was very informative. We covered many areas and had a chance to walk some of the sites. The highlight was the Roosevelt Memorial. We wish they had more lighting at the Vietnam Memorial. Tip: at the end of the tour if you are near your hotel asked to be let off instead of returning to Union Station. Oh, lots of restaurants in the station to eat before the tour. We did also see the White House bathed in pink for breast cancer awareness. Great tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour was a good overview of Capitol Hill and its surrounding buildings. It was definitely an intimate and up close to the the memorials, the White House. Also plenty of interesting stories. I highly recommend it to others to give a go.

Doing what: Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric Cart

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We arrived in Washington for our first visit ever and our first tour was the Monuments by Night Tour. My husband and I enjoyed the ride and information given by our driver was to the point. We had obtained our Senior SmartTrip cards in the afternoon so we took the Metro to reach Union Station to reach our tour bus.We found Washinton easy to get around. When we started, it was still light but very soon, it got darker and darker...the Capitol, the White House and all the Monuments are really beautiful when all lit up. We recomend seeing Washington at night....

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Took the night tour during the government shutdown period, the driver did his very best to get to each site that was possible to reach. The aftermath of the white house shooting episode was also creating additional barriers. All in all, I recommend this tour, bet it is really good if the government happens to be functional!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My family and I would give this tour a rating of 4 1/2 stars. The tour we took allowed us to see many of the major memorials, capital, and White House with excellent tour commentary by our guide. The only reason we couldn't give it the perfect score was because when we stopped for about 10 minutes to view the Lincoln Memorial and Vietnam Memorial we weren't give an extra 5 minutes to see the Korean War Memorial which was extremely close. The tour was very reasonable in price, saved us a ton of walking, and riding a Segway is always fun. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Trolley Tour was very good, we did not have to wait long for the trolley when we "hopped off" at the monuments, etc. Seats were always available, and the drop off-pick up points were always as close to the monument/museum entrance as possible.
I purchased the voucher/tickets online, thinking that this would be convenient and a time-savings for my niece and I. I was, however, very disappointed when I found out that I had to go to Union Station or the White House Gift Shop to get the actual tickets for boarding. This resulted in a cab ride from our hotel!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. It's a great way to see Washington D.C., especially at night! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Just wished we could have been able to stop and take pictures of the White House. Unfortunately, as we drove by the White House another bus was in front of our bus and we missed the opportunity to get a picture. Otherwise, highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great way to start a vacation in Washington D.C. to become familiar with many of the top tourist attractions, museums, national monuments, White House, Capitol, etc. Guide was exceptional and the tour was a great way to start our memorable vacation.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

You get to know Washington. The way they operate and keep that city going.
Impressief was the tour thru the Capitol, with all the monuments, the dome with all the paintings.
A vist to the Air and Spacemuseum of Smithsonian was awesome....there is so much to
see you need almost a day to see it all....from there i lost my party. But they went to the White House.
I had a great time with all the tours from VIATOR...Thank you

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message