To some, Washington DC means white marble, verdant lawns, and the colorful, ritualistic pageantry of American politics: the Capitol dome; limousine processions on Inauguration Day; the mournful, somber, stately changing of the guard at Arlington ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1618 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour is outstanding. Nick our guide was knowledgable, interesting and funny. In 3 short hours we were able to walk through most of the monuments without dealing with traffic, mapping or parking issues. The nighttime views are amazing, well worth the money,

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

THIS TOUR WAS FANTASIC. It was very busy but you went to every major site in Washington. If you have a chance to do this tour I would do it. Had a great time learning about the history of Washington DC.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Easy to use hop-on hop-off tour.....highly recommend. Thanks for the m and m's, Mike.....it got us through the big walk up the hill. :)

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This trip was amazing, the tour guide was excellent in her knowledge of every stop and the sites where very good in the evening. A safe way to see these places at night.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Ken C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An outstanding day tour with one of the best guides we have ever experienced. There were only 6 on the tour and this made it even better.
Brilliant weather with clear blue skies and an outstanding guide who shared all sorts of insightful comments and history. A great way to be introduced to the city. Pace of the tour was excellent , lunch break was good at the Pentagon Shopping Mall.
An outstanding day tour and certainly recommend it as a great way to get an introduction to this wonderful city and its history.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Ken C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An outstanding day tour with one of the best guides we have ever experienced. There were only 6 on the tour and this made it even better.
Brilliant weather with clear blue skies and an outstanding guide who shared all sorts of insightful comments and history. A great way to be introduced to the city. Pace of the tour was excellent , lunch break was good at the Pentagon Shopping Mall.
An outstanding day tour and certainly recommend it as a great way to get an introduction to this wonderful city and its history.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Nick, our tour guide, was extremely friendly and very informative!

The monuments were great all lit up but, I am going to go back during the day to get a better look at some.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The drivers were very accommodating and charming! Would do this again if we visit next time.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Ken C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

An enjoyable and interesting tour at night with a very good and knowledgeable guide.

Excellent way to see Washington at night. The weather progressively deteriorated and we were fortunate to see as much as we did. The lights and colours were just magical

Tour had 24 people and this was about the maximum you would want. Pick up and drop off were very good. Information was as promoted .
A good result and pleased to recommend

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Ken C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

An enjoyable and interesting tour at night with a very good and knowledgeable guide.

Excellent way to see Washington at night. The weather progressively deteriorated and we were fortunate to see as much as we did. The lights and colours were just magical

Tour had 24 people and this was about the maximum you would want. Pick up and drop off were very good. Information was as promoted .
A good result and pleased to recommend

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The Mount Vernon and the Arlington National Cemetery Tour was a great way to spend a day in DC/Virginia.
Our driver was really engaging and gave us great tips on how to navigate Mount Vernon.

The only reason I don't give this 5 stars is because the instructions to Union Station were very vague and not very helpful. Unfortunately there were (not the driver) several staff members were very unprofessional and did not treat us well. It is not obvious that you need to have tickets for Mount Vernon or Arlington National Cemetery Tour (for the tram). This particular individual had a very nasty attitude when we asked questions. Specifically when he told my group that we needed to go inside the office, I only asked why did we need to do that, only to get a nasty look, followed by the rolling of the eyes and not a single reply to my question. Please be mindful that while you may know the area, we are just visitors and do not know how to navigate around. Answering our questions would be helpful. It really set a nasty tone right at the beginning, but soon the driver and the tour washed that nasty experience away.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The orange line was great! I really enjoyed the stories and the sites. I would rate that a 5. The green line was AWFUL! The driver (Bob) sucked on a piece of candy, murmured stories, injected his own mumbled commentary and ruined the tour for us. What should have been an interesting trip through Embassy Row was instead a countdown to "how much longer are we stuck on this?". Really disappointing, but not enough time to get off at wait for a new trolley. Thankfully all the other drivers we encountered on our 2-day were great.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

We enjoyed our trip to Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery. The bus driver was knowledgeable and friendly. We had ample time to see all the sites at Mount Vernon and enjoyed lunch on the site. Because Viator also offers just a morning or just an afternoon tour, those of us who paid for the whole day, had to be taken back to Union Station to let off the morning tour goers and then pick up the afternoon people. We ended up waiting in the Union Station for quite some time while the bus driver visited with other bus drivers. It was a waste of our time and then we got to the Arlington National Cemetery late and barely made it to see the changing of the guard. It seemed unfair to the full day paying tour goers to have to waste 1 or more hours of the trip as a convenience for Viator. I would recommend them looking at a way to remedy this situation. Thank you!!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It would have been nice to have been informed that it was best to start at the Main Trolley Stop #1 to get our passes. The stop behind the Lincoln Monument is not marked and the first driver we encountered Trolley driver was rude when expecting us to run a block to catch up with him. While the road was wide open and sidewalk clear, he simply waved us on to the far end of the block. I sent a text asking for guidance and it was never answered. Also, when I called to listen to the Trolley stops the recording was broken and got stuck repeating the same line over and over. The only positive was the driver of another route... "Just Joe" was GREAT! He's smart, personal, fun, knows DC and was tremendously helpful.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Tegan S
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour itself was good! you got to see a fair bulk of what Washington DC has to offer. I think that the listing of ''The White House'' is deceptive. My impression when booking this tour was that there would be a tour of The White House, but I barely even saw it! the White house Visitors Center is a waste of time and nothing to do with the White House itself.
Other than that, it was a good tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message