• USD ($)
  • English
For United States history buffs, a visit to Washington, D.C. is a must. The US capital city houses Congress, and the President, along with the original Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution. Here are the top five places to see to get ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My wife and I arrived at the site of the Lincoln Tour early. We saw a man sitting nearby. We approached him and asked if he was on the tour also. It was Robert Goffredi, the Tour Guide. He was friendly, personable and enthusiastically shared with us that he, his father and grandfather all were raised in Washington DC. And that he was a retired lawyer. We had four adults and three children on our very educational tour of the people and events and especially the places surrounding Lincoln's last days of his life. Mr Goffredi, in his eloquent portrayal of his subject matter, was adept at helping each of our group of seven feel important and also to imagine and internalize what happened that April 1865. I have always been an admirer of Abraham Lincoln and have studied his life a great deal. Walking to the places where history happened, seeing the places I've only read about and having it explained enthusiastically by Mr Goffredi made this walking tour a highlight of my first visit to Washington DC.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our trip to Washington D.C. was topped off with the Segway tour. What a great opportunity to experience so much of the architecture and history of the amazing city. Our guide was to kind to each of our tour group and answered all questions. I can honestly say it was the so much fun for us and we will do it again. Thanks for making this the best trip in years.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour filled with history and tips.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful tour with knowledgage guide. Robert made the history come to life. The entire family enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I had an amazing time on this tour! First stop was Fords Theatre to see to see where President Lincoln was shot which included a narrated guide, and then we had a couple of hours in Mt Vernon which was more than enough to see the plantation and grounds. My excellent guide and driver Leroy walked me through the grounds and gave me a huge amount of information and history in general about life at that time - all fascinating. This is a great time of year to visit Mt Vernon as it is not too crowded. There are plenty of restaurants and I picked up unusual gifts in their store. And then we drove through Old Town Alexandria and again Leroy pointed out all the places of interest. He offered to stop but due to jet lag we decided to continue. It was a brilliant day with a lovely informative and interesting guide.....i totally recommend it as an alternative to Washington city and museums.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We toured Ford's theater earlier in the day. Linked up with Rob, the guide, in front of the White House at about 630. The tour lasted 2 hours, and even though it was cold, it rated a 10 out of 10 for my three teenagers. Phenomenal history.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time on the tour. Rob was extremely knowledgable and made the history come alive. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who loves history (he gave info. we didn't know ) or wants something fun to do when in Washington. We will go on any tour he leads when we return to DC.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Once we got to Mt Vernon the tour took a turn for the better...our tour guide/driver was questionable. He wasn't professional however once he dropped us off at Mt Vernon and we were on our own all was good. Mt Vernon is grand there's plenty of history to see and learn about. Oh also, the driver's van was raggedy we weren't sure if it would survive the 5 hour tour. I will give this tour 5 stars because Mt Vernon is worth seeing however the tour guide/driver is another story.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a brilliant tour, the guide was a history teacher and not only knew the story extremely well, but set the scene and atmosphere with additional information on the city as it was then, the background politics and the characters of the people involved in the events. Indeed, he brought the drama to life so incredibly well, that I and my friend carried on discussing the matter well into the night as though it were a current event, and with suitable indignation for the fate of Lincoln.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The most fascinating exhibit ever seen! On Penn ave. minutes from the White House and Capitol.

U.S.A. presents its history as seen through the media lens with brilliance and panache.

If you only see one museum in Washington, this is it!!

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Though not one of the free tours in Washington, DC, it is worth the discounted admission (via Viator) price to go through the history of significant espionage events in America and abroad. You learn about how espionage helped in the American Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI and WWII and other American conflicts. To top it off, you get a comprehensive exhibit of all of James Bonds' movie, including each movie's summary, villains, plots and Q and A. Lastly, the tour ends with the museum's store where you can purchase your favorite espionage souvenier...like Spy vs Spy T-Shirts, James Bond movie posters, etc...Don't miss this tour when you are in DC.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our walking tour was very enjoyable. Our guide, Robert, was very knowledgeable in the history of Washington DC and the events surrounding the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. We would recommend this tour to others. Our thoughts for improving the tour would be to shorten the time.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed this "Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour. The gentleman who took us on the tour was "very knowledgeable" and "very nice"! If you love history like we do you'll love this tour!!

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Amazing. My husband, boys and I spent two days there and learned so much about our history and the mediums that have preserved it. Some exhibits were tough to take in - particularly the 9/11 exhibit - but these are our nation's stories.

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The experience was excellent due to the guide. A well-rounded, knowledgeable gentleman regarding DC, history, politics and the world in general. He had excellent people skills and was very curious about the lives of the group. Well-done.

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message