For United States history buffs, a visit to Washington, D.C. is a must. The US capital city houses Congress, and the President, along with the original Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution. Here are the top five places to see to get ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 141 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Red panda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a lot of fun and unique experience to see DC after the dark! I had learnt a lot of history of America. Our tour guide John and driver Osei are both friendly and knowledgably. Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Laura N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great facts and history tidbits. We covered so much on this tour. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Frank T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Dawayne and Curtis were great. Dawayne was very entertaining and very knowledgeable about the history of each site visit. I highly recommend this tour, especially for those on a compressed time line.

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Stephen D S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent. Tour guide, Terry?, was excellent, very knowledgeable, kept the group together and covered a lot of good history that I didn't know about. I would highly recommend this tour. However, you walk more than you realize....my fitbit said about 12,000 steps. They had a lot of water for us, which we needed.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

eugene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much history, Fascinating!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Kunio T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, informative about the US history. We enjoyed Brian' guide very much. Thank you.
Old couple from Canada Japan

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Found the trip excellent value. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and was able to bring to life the history of each site.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

kmjedwards1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the best tours I have been on from Viator. I think it was due to the excellent narration from the bus driver, Cheryl. Due to the traffic difficulties, secondary to Rolling Thunder, she was outstanding in working around the traffic to get us to all of the monuments and historic places highlighted on the web for this tour. With her love of history, she really added a lot to our knowledge of US history.

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

Jane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We chose this as our first tour to get to see th city before we started on our sight seeing. Dwaine the tour guide was really excellent and so passionate about the city and its history. This tour takes in lots of sites and all the memorials . We really enjoyed it

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Christopher the guide was a very bright young history graduate who clearly loved his city and was extremely knowledgeable about it. A really good way to see a lot of key sight's quickly. Only one very slight criticism was the packed lunches on the boat were a bit disappointing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Jenny A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic way to get orientated to the city, in which the monuments are well spread out. On a bike, they are easy to get to and of course, the guide makes all the difference by adding to your knowledge with his witty repartee. Thank you Andy for the history and anecdotes.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Brenda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great quick tour of D.C. It was my first time there so I was able to see several things in a short period of time. Our guide was wonderful. She told us so much history about everything. She was very pleasant and kept our group together. It was very educational. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Terry B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time on our Viator Guided Night Tour. We thought 3 hours was going to be a long time but it went by so quickly. We saw all the major memorial and the White House illuminated and showing up in a totally different way. Our guide Nick was terrific. His knowledge of the history of the city and the buildings as well as general history of the area was really to be commended. He did a wonderful job of introducing us to this beautiful city. He was very friendly and took excellent care of his passengers. We would recommend Viator, this particular tour and Nick without a doubt.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Lauren L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Christopher, our tour guide was excellent. He knew his facts and history and delivered it well. Loved the humor. Our driver, Ali, was also wonderful. Getting us in and out of those congested areas is a talent. We enjoyed the evening/night effects of the tour and recommend this to all.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Brett G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Chris was our guide and Ali was our driver. They were great! Friendly and extremely knowledgable. Happy to take photos, answer questions, let us have good amount of time at each site and were happy to accommodate people staying in the bus as it was a very cold night. As an international visitor the information from Chris about the architecture, sights and history of Washington DC and America was great!
The sights we were able to see are definitely worth seeing at night. An amazing way to see the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Ramya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was very informative and covered key spots. With just a few hours to spare, I was not willing to miss out on the important landmarks at DC. This tour did complete justice to the time. More importantly, the tour guide, Sally who was a history graduate gave us such insights into American history that it added so much more meaning to every place we visited. A big thanks to her.

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Byron H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We really loved our Arlington National Cemetery tour. Tunday was our driver and history teacher, I might add. We had a lovely day together with another couple practically a private tour! We would highly recommend this tour.....just spectacular!

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was FANTASTIC Our guide, Dwayne, was excellent, he was a walking history book! he was so prepared, he was friendly, professional, and knew everything about each stop we made, and also as we drove along he was constantly giving us information about all the sites we passed. This was THE BEST money we spend on our trip, we book a 3 hour tour with a private guide from another company the next day and it was twice as much , but it was a total disappointment. I wish I had booked Dwayne for a private tour instead. We will use this company and request him each time we visit the DC area!

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

Suzanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Nick was our tour guide and what a delight he was. He shared many interesting facts and bits to help us appreciate the history behind many of the monuments and buildings in DC. He adds a dose of humor and fun to the tour which was refreshing. He did a particularly excellent job of explaining the meaning behind various memorials such as the Vietnam and WW2, what the artist's intention was and the meaning they wished to convey. Very thought provoking. We highly recommend this guide and the night tour. Worth your time.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Della W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My friends and I enjoyed the night tour of Washington DC on 10/13/2015, Tuesday. John, our tour guide, and Ali our driver were great. John provided history to the various landmarks/memorials that we saw. The various memorial sites and Capitol building were lovely at night time with the lights turned on. I highly recommend this tour and will most likely take it again when I return for a visit. I appreciated the small water bottles that John and Ali provided for the tour members. Overall, it was a fabulous tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

Victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent experience. Nick was our guide. He was very informative and gave us a lot of very interesting history and information. The tour was on time and the monuments at night are beautiful.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

aidan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

we were lucky to get a great team. i think guides name was andy he is an ex newspaperman .he was brilliant his history knowledge was superb and insight and love of it came through.one thing was it was a pity there was no hotel pickup as we had to get taxi for such an early start .even if it cost more the hotel pickup is worth it.the best tour we have ever done .we would recommend andy as best tour guide.he lived history and being from ireland we loved it

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was my first trip to D.C. and my first segway tour. I thought it would be a fun activity and a great way to get an orientation of the city and a brief overview of the buildings and history. I'm in my 50s and my daughter is in her late teens and we both had a total blast and enjoyed every minute of this experience. The guides give a great safety demonstration on how to use the segway. Within minutes you're zipping around comfortably and wising you had one of these for your own use. Our route covered an expansive route Foggy Bottom, GW, White House, Archives, Reflecting Pond, Capitol, Washington Monument, The Mall, Lincoln Memorial, and more and the segways are each equipped with walkie talkie receivers so you can hear the guide narrate info about other nearby sites as you pass by. Our guide, Pedro, was great and our group bonded right away and had fun together. I'm so happy we did this tour. If you like fun and new experiences, don't hesitate - JUST DO IT!!

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our trip was great and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Our guide, Christopher, did an amazing job of sharing not only all of the sites, but great history and detail as well. We had a man separate from the group during the tour and Christopher handled that situation very well until all parties were reunited again. It was truly a great day and way to see lots of the historic sites in Washington DC. Thank you!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Maureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This trip was made perfect by our tour guide, Bobby. He greeted us warmly, got us settled in and used a microphone hooray in the van so all of us could hear his wonderful dialogue on the history of the area. He told us what to expect and saw to it that we were comfortable with the trolly that took us to the different spots at the cemetery. He was waiting for us when we finished and took each of us to our hotels so we didn't have to find transportation after a long day. Bobby is the best!

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message