For United States history buffs, a visit to Washington, D.C. is a must. The US capital city houses Congress, and the President, along with the original Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution. Here are the top five places to see to get ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was great, guide and driver were great! Saw a lot, the boat tour was a bit boring as if he was reading a book about the history of DC! Almost went to sleep.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great evening, the guide was very interesting and had lots of little stories to tell us ! Learnt more about the history of Washington while on this tour than doing it on your own. Great Value and Washington was at its picture perfect that evening !

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour of DC was absolutely wonderful. Ralph our guide made our trip just wonderful. He was so good at explaining everything in detail. He was the best. I was a bit disappointed because I did want to get closer to the white house. I brought my 14 year old grandson because he loves history. He was so excited, I will use Viator again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour. Very knowledgeable tour guide who gave us detailed history and info about each site. We were given sufficient time at each site to get out and take pictures. Only drawback was that the tour started at 7 p.m. EST while it was still pretty light outside, so just keep that in mind - depending on the season, part of your tour may take place while the sun is still out.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip to DC and we learned so much! The retired attorney that took us on this tour was absolutely amazing! He shared his great love of history with us and we all felt his passion and excitement as he took us from place to place. Thumbs Up in a big way!

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Mount Vernon. It was a bit of a shock to be the only people on the tour but the guide was very good, very knowledgeable and interested in the history that he told us about. It was a little confusing at the hotel for the pickup, we didn't know what to look for, but eventually found the guide. The mini bus needs to have some sort of clear advertising on to help people who do the tours. At the house everyone was helpful if you asked them questions, the displays and the buildings were fantastic, would recommend for everyone to see this.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Educational, informative and entertaining! Rob our guide was so knowledge but even more enthusiastic. I walked away feeling like I had personal knowlage of the sad events that evening. I would rate my history knowlage and interest as a one out of ten yet I found this tour outstanding. Our son who loves civil war history would also recommend it. Some how our guide engages all no matter their knowlage base. Like the Viator easy of booking and their assistance.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

After a long day of walking the city with our two young children, we boarded the comfortable, air-conditioned bus and set off on our tour. Our tour-guide was friendly, funny and so incredibly knowledgable of our country's history. He educated us on all six monuments we visited and also shared stories and details of museums and statues we passed along the way. We were able to walk through and photograph the monuments which were stunning at sunset. My children agreed that this tour was the highlight of our 3-day trip to DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My wife and I arrived at the site of the Lincoln Tour early. We saw a man sitting nearby. We approached him and asked if he was on the tour also. It was Robert Goffredi, the Tour Guide. He was friendly, personable and enthusiastically shared with us that he, his father and grandfather all were raised in Washington DC. And that he was a retired lawyer. We had four adults and three children on our very educational tour of the people and events and especially the places surrounding Lincoln's last days of his life. Mr Goffredi, in his eloquent portrayal of his subject matter, was adept at helping each of our group of seven feel important and also to imagine and internalize what happened that April 1865. I have always been an admirer of Abraham Lincoln and have studied his life a great deal. Walking to the places where history happened, seeing the places I've only read about and having it explained enthusiastically by Mr Goffredi made this walking tour a highlight of my first visit to Washington DC.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our trip to Washington D.C. was topped off with the Segway tour. What a great opportunity to experience so much of the architecture and history of the amazing city. Our guide was to kind to each of our tour group and answered all questions. I can honestly say it was the so much fun for us and we will do it again. Thanks for making this the best trip in years.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour filled with history and tips.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful tour with knowledgage guide. Robert made the history come to life. The entire family enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I had an amazing time on this tour! First stop was Fords Theatre to see to see where President Lincoln was shot which included a narrated guide, and then we had a couple of hours in Mt Vernon which was more than enough to see the plantation and grounds. My excellent guide and driver Leroy walked me through the grounds and gave me a huge amount of information and history in general about life at that time - all fascinating. This is a great time of year to visit Mt Vernon as it is not too crowded. There are plenty of restaurants and I picked up unusual gifts in their store. And then we drove through Old Town Alexandria and again Leroy pointed out all the places of interest. He offered to stop but due to jet lag we decided to continue. It was a brilliant day with a lovely informative and interesting guide.....i totally recommend it as an alternative to Washington city and museums.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We toured Ford's theater earlier in the day. Linked up with Rob, the guide, in front of the White House at about 630. The tour lasted 2 hours, and even though it was cold, it rated a 10 out of 10 for my three teenagers. Phenomenal history.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time on the tour. Rob was extremely knowledgable and made the history come alive. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who loves history (he gave info. we didn't know ) or wants something fun to do when in Washington. We will go on any tour he leads when we return to DC.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message