For United States history buffs, a visit to Washington, D.C. is a must. The US capital city houses Congress, and the President, along with the original Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution. Here are the top five places to see to get ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was just what i wanted I saw the Capitol, White House and all the memorials under lights The guide was especially good He gave the history and important facts about each i would rate the tour as a 9

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was my favorite tour while in DC. The guide was fantastic, he took the extra time to explain any questions we had and was truly passionate about teaching us the history behind the assassination. It was a small group and I learned so much. I would absolutely recommend this tour to everyone taking a trip to DC without any reservations.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Although our tour was on an overcast, rainy day, it was excellent. We were provided with rain ponchos and proceeded as planned. Denise, our tour guide, and Lee, our driver, were both experts at their tasks. Denise was so well informed on every monument and its history that we all learned a great deal at each site. Lunch was a bit of a problem at the boat trip so my husband and I opted to have lunch at the dock and rejoin the tour upon its return. Overall, this is just the tour to take for your one day introduction to DC. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was awesome!!! He knew so much about the history of Washington DC and it's famous people. And all the military monuments we visited. He was terrific! The ride on the Potomac was great also. Good lunch. Loved the whole day. Would do it again!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was fabulous but Andy our guide was spectacular bringing the sites and memorials to life and explaining the symbolism of the artists. His voice was spectacular and he really knew his history. He was extremely respectful and delightful to be around. When it rained for a couple of hours we were given rain ponchos to keep us dry. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was awesome! Hats off to the staff!!! Very accommodating and knowledgable of city and history! Thank you :-) special thanks to Destiny and Tony and the horse lady :-)

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was excellent! The guide was very knowledgeable and had very interesting commentary that made history come alive at the different memorials. I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Incredible way to see a most amazing town. So informative, brilliant guide and having the information needed to understand so much history. A definite when visiting DC.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I went on the tour this past week with the so-called Mr. Mapman -- it was fantastic. He is as knowledgeable as any American history textbook, with the extra bonus of being personable and anecdotal. Also very well-informed on DC architecture!!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was great, guide and driver were great! Saw a lot, the boat tour was a bit boring as if he was reading a book about the history of DC! Almost went to sleep.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great evening, the guide was very interesting and had lots of little stories to tell us ! Learnt more about the history of Washington while on this tour than doing it on your own. Great Value and Washington was at its picture perfect that evening !

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour of DC was absolutely wonderful. Ralph our guide made our trip just wonderful. He was so good at explaining everything in detail. He was the best. I was a bit disappointed because I did want to get closer to the white house. I brought my 14 year old grandson because he loves history. He was so excited, I will use Viator again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour. Very knowledgeable tour guide who gave us detailed history and info about each site. We were given sufficient time at each site to get out and take pictures. Only drawback was that the tour started at 7 p.m. EST while it was still pretty light outside, so just keep that in mind - depending on the season, part of your tour may take place while the sun is still out.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip to DC and we learned so much! The retired attorney that took us on this tour was absolutely amazing! He shared his great love of history with us and we all felt his passion and excitement as he took us from place to place. Thumbs Up in a big way!

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Mount Vernon. It was a bit of a shock to be the only people on the tour but the guide was very good, very knowledgeable and interested in the history that he told us about. It was a little confusing at the hotel for the pickup, we didn't know what to look for, but eventually found the guide. The mini bus needs to have some sort of clear advertising on to help people who do the tours. At the house everyone was helpful if you asked them questions, the displays and the buildings were fantastic, would recommend for everyone to see this.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message