For United States history buffs, a visit to Washington, D.C. is a must. The US capital city houses Congress, and the President, along with the original Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution. Here are the top five places to see to get ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

John the tour guide was wonderful we had a late start due to bus running late. The sights were amazing and we had plenty of time to get out take pictures and admire all the monuments. Bus driver was the best and got us right up to the statues. John told us the history and antidotes about the city very enjoyable.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

If you have a short time to visit and want to see the most, then this is a MUST DO!! Andy was the most entertaining gentleman, full of knowledge and surprise for everyone. A man who has a genuine love for his city, it's history and his chance to share it, a true gem.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Nick, was so informative and entertaining -- he was very personable and had so many funny jokes along the way, which made the 3hr evening tour even more worthwhile. And the driver Long was accommodating and awesome too! Highly recommend for first timers in D.C. -- I learned more about the history and district, just from those 3hrs, and now know what other places I need to visit for my next trip out there. Two thumbs up!!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Joe, was fantastic. He challenged my teen son with trivia questions on American history related to George Washington and produced a family contest while driving to Mt. Vernon. When a school field trip arrived ahead of us, Joe adjusted the tour appropriately. We loved this opportunity Joe afforded us. We would go on another tour with Joe in the Washington, DC area.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was excellent! The driver Tony very competent and polite! The guide Andy phantastic, very knowledgeable in history, ready to answer all questions and cover all aspects of visited monuments architectural, artistic, historic etc! No stops just to fill the six hours! No visits in souvenir shops! A perfect tour for somebody who wants to get the essence of a very beautiful city in just six but full hours. I had similar tours in every city I visit and I do it almost 4 times a year. None of these was comparable to this tour. Absolutely recommendable!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was awesome. We forgot the names of the tour guide and driver, but they were excellent, kind, and super knowledgable. Just remember she used to be a history teacher. Totally recommend this tour to everyone who wants to see the DC in the best way.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The guide was excellent! He had an extremely thorough knowledge of history and made it come alive with his stories.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

Ken C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An outstanding day tour with one of the best guides we have ever experienced. There were only 6 on the tour and this made it even better.
Brilliant weather with clear blue skies and an outstanding guide who shared all sorts of insightful comments and history. A great way to be introduced to the city. Pace of the tour was excellent , lunch break was good at the Pentagon Shopping Mall.
An outstanding day tour and certainly recommend it as a great way to get an introduction to this wonderful city and its history.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic!
Nick did a great job, has great knowledge, presents the history facts well.
Great personality! Great job!
Evelyn, Great driver!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was just what i wanted I saw the Capitol, White House and all the memorials under lights The guide was especially good He gave the history and important facts about each i would rate the tour as a 9

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was my favorite tour while in DC. The guide was fantastic, he took the extra time to explain any questions we had and was truly passionate about teaching us the history behind the assassination. It was a small group and I learned so much. I would absolutely recommend this tour to everyone taking a trip to DC without any reservations.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Although our tour was on an overcast, rainy day, it was excellent. We were provided with rain ponchos and proceeded as planned. Denise, our tour guide, and Lee, our driver, were both experts at their tasks. Denise was so well informed on every monument and its history that we all learned a great deal at each site. Lunch was a bit of a problem at the boat trip so my husband and I opted to have lunch at the dock and rejoin the tour upon its return. Overall, this is just the tour to take for your one day introduction to DC. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was awesome!!! He knew so much about the history of Washington DC and it's famous people. And all the military monuments we visited. He was terrific! The ride on the Potomac was great also. Good lunch. Loved the whole day. Would do it again!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was fabulous but Andy our guide was spectacular bringing the sites and memorials to life and explaining the symbolism of the artists. His voice was spectacular and he really knew his history. He was extremely respectful and delightful to be around. When it rained for a couple of hours we were given rain ponchos to keep us dry. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was awesome! Hats off to the staff!!! Very accommodating and knowledgable of city and history! Thank you :-) special thanks to Destiny and Tony and the horse lady :-)

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message