For United States history buffs, a visit to Washington, D.C. is a must. The US capital city houses Congress, and the President, along with the original Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution. Here are the top five places to see to get ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My mother and I went to Washington, D.C. for a 3-day weekend. We arrived early on a Friday, checked into our hotel, and headed to the U.S. Navy Memorial where we picked up this tour. After being unsure of which bus to board, we found the right one and departed shortly after. Our tour guide Mary was awesome. She was knowledgeable and funny. She knew so much about the history of the city and its monuments. Ali was our driver and he got us around the city with no problems. We visited the U.S. Capitol unfortunately, the dome was covered in scaffolding, but the building was still amazing, the White House, the World War II Memorial, the MLK, Jr. Memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, the Korean War Memorial, and the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. Mary also identified out other points of interest along the way, such as the Eisenhower Administrative Building, Blair House, and the Hoover FBI Building quite ugly. We then dropped some members of the tour off at the Washington Monument. They had purchased the 4-hour tour. Around 2 p.m. we got lunch, then took a 50-minute boat ride on the Potomac. The boat tour guide was great, too. We saw the Watergate Complex, the Kennedy Center of the Performing Arts, and the Pentagon. He gave us some history on the bridges spanning the river. You could also see the Washington Monument, Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials from the river. We got back on the bus and headed over to the Marine Corps Memorial Iwo Jima which was magnificent. The whole tour was fabulous. This is a great way to see the highlights in a day. The only monument you don't see up close is the Jefferson Memorial, but you can always go see it on your own. I found the Korean War Memorial to be hauntingly beautiful. Also, climbing the Washington Monument is not included in this particular tour. If I ever get back to D.C., or any city for that matter, I would definitely take another Viator tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was excellent, see almost all of DC history in one day in comfort!

Doing what: Washington DC in a Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour shared with a small 30 or so group and lovely way to see the monuments particularly with the young Belgian au pair I was hosting. Shuttle bus was on time, great condition, comfortable seats with a young Washingtonian who not only had the important history down pat but amusing and interesting anecdotal information. It was like touring with friends and family with a great guide. They did a great job. All that and free cold water too!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour is AWESOME. Great way to see where the buildings and monuments are.
And the guide giving a little history was enlightening.
I had such a great time with my daughter the 2 days I was there.

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This one day tour was fantastic! Considering we only had one day to try and see as much as we could of Washington, we certainly felt we did this with the excellent driver and our guide who was such a joy to spend the day with. Her enthusiasm, passion and love for Washington's history was catching and very entertaining!
We would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting beautiful Washington!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Dewayne and Curtis made it enjoyable and filled with history. Thank you!

Doing what: Guided Tour of Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I had an awesome time on this trip! Our tour driver, Bobby, was awesome. He told me many things about the history of DC that I hadn't known. There were only two of us on this tour so he was able to give us plenty of attention. I just can't say enough about him. He is truly an asset to your company! I would definitely book this again as long as I knew Bobby would be my guide.

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This museum is awesome! Anyone who loves the spy genre will enjoy this place. Anyone who is a history buff will love this place! Anyone who is a James Bond fan will love this place! Shortly after arriving, you are asked to choose a spy persona, which you will need throughout the museum for the interactive areas. Kids will love crawling through the duct work. Just wished I had had more time to spend there!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My family and I had a fabulous time! I highly recommend this tour to anyone who is interested in learning about the history and fun facts while in Washington DC.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a extremely hot day and very happy to see everything in an nice air condition bus. Each stop you get off for detailed information and photo opportunities. Andy was the guild he was great with a ton of personality and personal knowledge. He also had a great voice from his radio days. He was a little on the quirky side but much better then dry personality if you ask me. He knew a lot about the architecture and the history behind why and how things were built. It is the only way to see this amazing history in DC. If you tried to walk it you never get through it and half the time you miss out on the interesting facts that go along with each location. At lunch there some better restaurants then you were directed to but if you act quickly you can get a drink and a sandwich at Mama Rouge. I would only suggest the tour give you a little more time for lunch so you can get a better meal then pizza. I went on 3 days of tours and I was getting tired of food courts when there are so many great restaurants in the town. Just grab you lunch to go before you get on the boat ride.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nick, our tour guide was great. He certainly knows his history, and made the tour fun and comical, with his jokes. The monuments, at night, are a must see! I highly recommended this tour

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were in DC for only one day and this was a great tour to see so many sites. We can't say enough aboout our tour guide, Andy. He has an enthusiasm for history and such a good sense of humor and a fantastic knowledge of all the area. Our boat ride on the river was a calming and relaxing break in the tour and a chance to eat lunch on the way. Thanks to Andy for such a great day!!! ..... from the Jones family of nine

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I grew up in the DC area but never really spent much time leaning about the the best city in the nation. Despite the rainy weather this was an incredible tour. Andy was our tour guide and he was beyond phenomenal. He was highly knowledgeable about a lot in DC including memorials and sites that aren't listed on this tour with VIATOR. His enthusiasm and true passion for history made the learning incredibly fun!!! I'd absolutely sign up for this tour again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tim Kelly was great. This tour was so informative. If you are a history buff you will love it. Lots of standing and walking... but we are young so no worries...

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour with lots of information. Our tour guide, Mary, did a great job. You could tell she loves her job, history and DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Bobby was amazing loved his stories and his knowledge of the history of Washington we had a wonderful tour

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great day! the company is well run, efficient and friendly. We came to ride the Segways in a great setting but ended up enjoying the tour very much. Maria kept us moving and had just the right amount of history as well as the back story to keep us interested. I would consider giving this as a gift to out of town visitors,

Doing what: Washington DC Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were lucky we had our own private tour guide did not have any other clients, his name was Leroy and he was great. He took us to all the places we needed to go told us all the history and stories of the city. Very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

John the tour guide was wonderful we had a late start due to bus running late. The sights were amazing and we had plenty of time to get out take pictures and admire all the monuments. Bus driver was the best and got us right up to the statues. John told us the history and antidotes about the city very enjoyable.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

If you have a short time to visit and want to see the most, then this is a MUST DO!! Andy was the most entertaining gentleman, full of knowledge and surprise for everyone. A man who has a genuine love for his city, it's history and his chance to share it, a true gem.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved Access, the White House and Lincoln Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Nick, was so informative and entertaining -- he was very personable and had so many funny jokes along the way, which made the 3hr evening tour even more worthwhile. And the driver Long was accommodating and awesome too! Highly recommend for first timers in D.C. -- I learned more about the history and district, just from those 3hrs, and now know what other places I need to visit for my next trip out there. Two thumbs up!!

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Joe, was fantastic. He challenged my teen son with trivia questions on American history related to George Washington and produced a family contest while driving to Mt. Vernon. When a school field trip arrived ahead of us, Joe adjusted the tour appropriately. We loved this opportunity Joe afforded us. We would go on another tour with Joe in the Washington, DC area.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was excellent! The driver Tony very competent and polite! The guide Andy phantastic, very knowledgeable in history, ready to answer all questions and cover all aspects of visited monuments architectural, artistic, historic etc! No stops just to fill the six hours! No visits in souvenir shops! A perfect tour for somebody who wants to get the essence of a very beautiful city in just six but full hours. I had similar tours in every city I visit and I do it almost 4 times a year. None of these was comparable to this tour. Absolutely recommendable!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was awesome. We forgot the names of the tour guide and driver, but they were excellent, kind, and super knowledgable. Just remember she used to be a history teacher. Totally recommend this tour to everyone who wants to see the DC in the best way.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The guide was excellent! He had an extremely thorough knowledge of history and made it come alive with his stories.

Doing what: Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message