• USD ($)
  • English
While there are world-famous museums in various cities around the globe, you would be hard-pressed to find a city with more high-quality museums than Washington DC. The United States's capital city's museums run the gambit from art houses to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic museum. Highly interactive and we could've spent a lot longer than the three hours we spent there. The design of the museum is beautiful, but I found the layout to be confusing and circuitous from floor to floor. My kids especially loved the 4D movie. My favorite part was the timeline display of all the newspapers, absolutely fascinating. We would definitely go back!

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trolley ride is a great way to find out how the city, museums, and monuments are laid out. You can plan where you can walk too and what you want to see. We stayed on the orange line and were able to see several things and then made plans for an all day walking sightseeing adventure the next day. The drivers are versed with great facts and share many stories. If you find them fun, be sure to tip them...not every driver has the same stories and fun facts. Let them know you appreciate the time they took to learn all the things they share with you on their ride. They will answer any question you have and will help you with directions.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The hop on hop off bus was great! Everyone had told me how there was so much walking in DC but with the bus, it was so convenient. The bus would drop you off at the designated stops and then when you're done, you go back to the same spot the bus dropped you off at to catch the next bus. The red loop bus comes every 20 minutes and it goes to all the popular places. Also, since it's hot outside, the bottom floor of the bus was great for the air-condition. When it rained, they gave everyone panchos. If you're on the top deck, you'll probably need to come down because a pancho can only help so much when it's pouring.

I would definitely recommend this bus. It's so convenient and worth the price. I did the 48 hour tour since it was only about $10 more for the extra day and it included entrance into the wax museum, the crime and punishment museum and the riverboat on the potomac (I didn't have time to do the boat unfortunately). Great value!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was a very pleasant day with having quick view of DC places using Hop-On Hop-Off bus. I wish I could stay longer to hop off more and see more museums and historical buildings. But, it gave me an excellent overview and also good idea for the next trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A few glitches to begin with--couldn't figure out where to get the trolley at first. Beyond that? WONDERFUL! Each and every driver was full of facts and fun. The best of them was Mr. E--we were sad to get off his tour. Great idea to let us get out and explore and then meet up with the next trolley. So many wonderful sights to see in DC. Amazing and almost every single museum we went to was free. We ended up taking a second day of trolley because it was so good and so much to see. COMPLETELY worth the very low price.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I loved this museum. I got to touch the Berlin Wall, walk through the Anchorman Exhibit, and see hundreds of news articles! The entrance ticket even allowed me to come back the next day (which is so worth it because you need many hours to cover everything).

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Well worth the money. The Madame Tussade's was an added bonus. Buy the 2 day pass if you really want to see the museums. But a really good tour if you just want to get a quick feel of everything. And start early in the morning.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

As always, the museum was very entertaining and informative. Will visit next time in town.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The DC Hop on Hop off Trolley Tour saved our trip. Unfortunately our government was shut down while we were there so a traditional trip wasn't an option. So we expanded our trip to include more than museums and found that it was the best trip ever. We saw way more than we would have otherwise seen, used public transportation and walking more and got a real insiders view thanks to delightful and knowledgeable tour guides. Everyone from our first bus driver to the kids in the gift shop were helpful, full of enthusiasm for the city and very welcoming. I would highly suggest this as a way to start any trip to DC. They told me things I didn't know and I went to school there a million years ago. Great trip. Awesome tour and well worth the money.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Educational and interesting particularly to 'Baby Boomers'. Artifacts such as a section of the Berlin Wall and the communication tower that sat a top the World Trade Center are on display. It brings you behind the news and pays tribute to those who have taken great personal risk to report it over the years. Great museum.

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

All the routes covered everything in Washington you may wish to see. Went to the zoo and saw the pandas, Arlington and all that entails, Pentagon, Georgetown, all the museums and the Washington Mall. The narrators were knowledgable and the drivers very safe. Worth every penny and was great value, as well as the best way to get around over 3 days. Stops were easy to recognise and buses ran on time which was essential for early morning and changeover routes. Had people on the ground also helping with information at a lot of stops. Just one minor complaint, the marching band music was far too loud on one bus early in the morning with recorded comments, even without earphones.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The most fascinating exhibit ever seen! On Penn ave. minutes from the White House and Capitol.

U.S.A. presents its history as seen through the media lens with brilliance and panache.

If you only see one museum in Washington, this is it!!

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Interesting place for those into the whole 'get smart' tv shows and James Bond type film lovers. However I was curious by the whole museum and had an appreciation of being a spy. Interactive place allowing you to do things inside and touch. Great exhibits and overall interesting. All nearby to the other museums so plan ahead and allow 1 hour if you rush it or 2-3 hours for a good experience.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My grandson and I had a great time at the Spy Museum. The next day we went to the Crime Museum and enjoyed that, as well.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

On a week day this museum is not crowded. Our pre booked tickets were handy but not necessary since there was not much of a crowd.Therefore the experience was good. One could easily spent half a day seeing the exhibits ,

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message