While there are world-famous museums in various cities around the globe, you would be hard-pressed to find a city with more high-quality museums than Washington DC. The United States's capital city's museums run the gambit from art houses to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peggy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this outstanding museum. Loved the Vietman special exhibit and the 9/11 memorial as well. Could have spent hours in the room with all the newspaper covers year by year. Plan a minimum of 2 hours. 4 would be best.

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

Hildred G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I found the museum to be fascinating.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Ellen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic museum-----so much to see, they let you have a 2 day pass. Well done, well-organized. The cafe food is excellent and portions are huge. Will visit this museum again when in DC.
I wish all students could see the Civil Rights exhibit.

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

Ellen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Such a cool museum. We learned a ton and were fascinated. Will visit again.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Agnes G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed our visit and learned lots of new things. It sure makes you stop and wonder when you are walking down the streets of DC who may be a spy. Fantastic museum.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

krazyq

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Me and my wife had about 7 hours to spend in D.C so this was great,. It takes you to the all the main attractions. You can pay extra if you want to take the trolley to see uptown however I would only suggest this if you have more than one day or if you've already seen all the museums and memorials.
The tour guide who is also the driver was great and funny.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

patricia_s01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Good Museum but think kids enjoy it more than adults.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

celmhg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The ability to hop-on, hop-off was an excellent way to take time to visit the memorials and museums. All of the drivers were courteous and knowledgeable. I apologize about not tipping each one.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Walter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great museum, lots of artifacts. Nice insight in the hidden spy world. Great explanations. Could spent easily hald a day but had to limit my time because there is so much to see in Washington

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Lloyd W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This museum is awesome! Anyone who loves the spy genre will enjoy this place. Anyone who is a history buff will love this place! Anyone who is a James Bond fan will love this place! Shortly after arriving, you are asked to choose a spy persona, which you will need throughout the museum for the interactive areas. Kids will love crawling through the duct work. Just wished I had had more time to spend there!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Sheila M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Spy Museum was wonderful!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting. The kids love this museum.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Tim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great museum of James Bond ,

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Carolyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent museum, I especially enjoyed the exibition of the pictures of the year.

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I've enjoyed Madame Tussaud's wax museums since I visited my first one in Las Vegas back in the 90s. Since then I have visited the original Madame Tussaud's in London and the one in New York as well. The DC incarnation is divided evenly between history all the presidents of the United States and a few other historical figures as well and current celebrities that have entertained presidents or participated in events in our nations capital at some point. I saw wax sculptures of the presidents at another wax museum near Mount Rushmore but I think the sculptures at this Madame Tussaud's looked more realistic and much more like formal portraits of the presidents I have seen. As for the celebrities, I think I liked the figure of Michael Jackson best, having the most expression on his face and in his pose. The George Clooney and Julia Roberts figures appear to be copies of the sculptures in the same poses that I saw in London. I think the figures of John F. Kennedy and Jaqueline were also quite similar to those in London although I thought our JFK seemed a little more natural.

Of course I was quite excited to see the sculptures of Barak and Michelle Obama and the warrior prince Harry and the new Duchess of Cambridge, Kate Middleton. I also thought the figure of Queen Elizabeth II had more of a sparkle in her eyes than the one I had seen in London.

My only disappointment was that the Obamas and British royals were behind a barrier in the photo session promotional area and the photographer there would not let me take individual photos of them when I went into the area to have my picture taken.

Overall, though, I enjoyed myself immensely as I was sure I would!

Doing what: Madame Tussauds Washington DC

debra h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful opportunity to see all the main monuments and museums in DC. We were overwhelmed by the rich history surrounding us and the helpfulness of the bus drivers and staff. We enjoyed the convenience of locations so much that we bought another 48 hours to use as our primary mode of transportation during our week visit. We would suggest that anyone visiting DC use this great way to see this city!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

marijana.dj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great way to learn a lot about the city. The buses were clean and on time. I appreciated the additional benefits: free visit to Madame Tussaud's, Crime and Punishment Museum and free Potomac river cruise.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kimberley N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great way to see all the monuments and museums. Never much of a wait for the trolley. Very informative drivers. Well worth the $$

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Margaret P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had a two day ticket. Did Orange and Green trolleys, then the Green again. Loved everything. The drivers were fantastic and their knowledge second to none. Also they are very witty, especially Jewel. Loved seeing the White House and all the other buildings and having travelled on the Trolley, we knew what museums to visit and where the stops were. Washington is a beautiful city, but it was soooo hot and humid, but we coped.
Thank you. Sorry haven't downloaded my photos yet

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Sarah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We only had 1 day in Washington and the Hop On / Off trolley bus tour was excellent, we got to see all the main atttractions allowing us to get off at some stops then pick up the next bus. The driver's commentary was fantastic, lots of historic facts and other points of interest including details about the various museums. They told us when the next photo opportunity was coming up, driving slowly by or stopping when able.
It meant that we certainly got the most out of our day and left us time to visit 2 museums and the botanical gardens.
We would recommend this trip, enjoyed by 2 parents and a 16 and 11 year old.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Jessica N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This museum is super fun. My family loved picking their secret identities, the briefing room, crawling throught the secret duct, and just checking out all the cool gadgets that spies use. The James Bond exhibit was cool too. This is one museum you want to add to your list when visiting Washington DC!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Karen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

FANTASTIC! highly professional, informative and very well presented. We did the "spy mission", which was more like a theme park attraction than a museum. A great morning for my 16 year old son and me!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Winsome S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Spy Museum was great my son had a great time. Would visit DC again

Doing what: International Spy Museum

Sharon J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trolley tour! I would recommend doing this tour to anyone who is visiting the National Mall. We stayed on the trolley until Arlington National Cemetery. We did this so that we could get an idea on where everything was at. On the second round we stopped and visited several museums. This was a good experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Theresa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an awesome way to see DC. Definitely too much to see in one day and a second day is needed if you want to visit any museums, etc. Drivers/tour directors were very knowledgeable about their city. I would recommend the hop on/hop off trolley tour when visiting Washington!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message