While there are world-famous museums in various cities around the globe, you would be hard-pressed to find a city with more high-quality museums than Washington DC. The United States's capital city's museums run the gambit from art houses to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 127 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had a two day ticket. Did Orange and Green trolleys, then the Green again. Loved everything. The drivers were fantastic and their knowledge second to none. Also they are very witty, especially Jewel. Loved seeing the White House and all the other buildings and having travelled on the Trolley, we knew what museums to visit and where the stops were. Washington is a beautiful city, but it was soooo hot and humid, but we coped.
Thank you. Sorry haven't downloaded my photos yet

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was exceptional and I highly recommend him to any other people wishing to tour the National Air and Space Museum. He was great with the kids, addressing their interests, while still making it interesting for the adults.

Doing what: Washington DC Guided Tour of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We only had 1 day in Washington and the Hop On / Off trolley bus tour was excellent, we got to see all the main atttractions allowing us to get off at some stops then pick up the next bus. The driver's commentary was fantastic, lots of historic facts and other points of interest including details about the various museums. They told us when the next photo opportunity was coming up, driving slowly by or stopping when able.
It meant that we certainly got the most out of our day and left us time to visit 2 museums and the botanical gardens.
We would recommend this trip, enjoyed by 2 parents and a 16 and 11 year old.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This museum is super fun. My family loved picking their secret identities, the briefing room, crawling throught the secret duct, and just checking out all the cool gadgets that spies use. The James Bond exhibit was cool too. This is one museum you want to add to your list when visiting Washington DC!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

FANTASTIC! highly professional, informative and very well presented. We did the "spy mission", which was more like a theme park attraction than a museum. A great morning for my 16 year old son and me!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great fun - my 16 year old loved it as "it wasn't like a typical museum - such fun!". We bought the treasure hunt option which really added to the excitement. Very well designed and presented.

Doing what: National Museum of Crime and Punishment Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic museum!! Highly recommend

Doing what: National Museum of Crime and Punishment Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Spy Museum was great my son had a great time. Would visit DC again

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trolley tour! I would recommend doing this tour to anyone who is visiting the National Mall. We stayed on the trolley until Arlington National Cemetery. We did this so that we could get an idea on where everything was at. On the second round we stopped and visited several museums. This was a good experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an awesome way to see DC. Definitely too much to see in one day and a second day is needed if you want to visit any museums, etc. Drivers/tour directors were very knowledgeable about their city. I would recommend the hop on/hop off trolley tour when visiting Washington!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic museum. Highly interactive and we could've spent a lot longer than the three hours we spent there. The design of the museum is beautiful, but I found the layout to be confusing and circuitous from floor to floor. My kids especially loved the 4D movie. My favorite part was the timeline display of all the newspapers, absolutely fascinating. We would definitely go back!

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trolley ride is a great way to find out how the city, museums, and monuments are laid out. You can plan where you can walk too and what you want to see. We stayed on the orange line and were able to see several things and then made plans for an all day walking sightseeing adventure the next day. The drivers are versed with great facts and share many stories. If you find them fun, be sure to tip them...not every driver has the same stories and fun facts. Let them know you appreciate the time they took to learn all the things they share with you on their ride. They will answer any question you have and will help you with directions.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The hop on hop off bus was great! Everyone had told me how there was so much walking in DC but with the bus, it was so convenient. The bus would drop you off at the designated stops and then when you're done, you go back to the same spot the bus dropped you off at to catch the next bus. The red loop bus comes every 20 minutes and it goes to all the popular places. Also, since it's hot outside, the bottom floor of the bus was great for the air-condition. When it rained, they gave everyone panchos. If you're on the top deck, you'll probably need to come down because a pancho can only help so much when it's pouring.

I would definitely recommend this bus. It's so convenient and worth the price. I did the 48 hour tour since it was only about $10 more for the extra day and it included entrance into the wax museum, the crime and punishment museum and the riverboat on the potomac (I didn't have time to do the boat unfortunately). Great value!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was a very pleasant day with having quick view of DC places using Hop-On Hop-Off bus. I wish I could stay longer to hop off more and see more museums and historical buildings. But, it gave me an excellent overview and also good idea for the next trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A few glitches to begin with--couldn't figure out where to get the trolley at first. Beyond that? WONDERFUL! Each and every driver was full of facts and fun. The best of them was Mr. E--we were sad to get off his tour. Great idea to let us get out and explore and then meet up with the next trolley. So many wonderful sights to see in DC. Amazing and almost every single museum we went to was free. We ended up taking a second day of trolley because it was so good and so much to see. COMPLETELY worth the very low price.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message