While there are world-famous museums in various cities around the globe, you would be hard-pressed to find a city with more high-quality museums than Washington DC. The United States's capital city's museums run the gambit from art houses to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 149 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting. The kids love this museum.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great museum of James Bond ,

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent museum, I especially enjoyed the exibition of the pictures of the year.

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I've enjoyed Madame Tussaud's wax museums since I visited my first one in Las Vegas back in the 90s. Since then I have visited the original Madame Tussaud's in London and the one in New York as well. The DC incarnation is divided evenly between history all the presidents of the United States and a few other historical figures as well and current celebrities that have entertained presidents or participated in events in our nations capital at some point. I saw wax sculptures of the presidents at another wax museum near Mount Rushmore but I think the sculptures at this Madame Tussaud's looked more realistic and much more like formal portraits of the presidents I have seen. As for the celebrities, I think I liked the figure of Michael Jackson best, having the most expression on his face and in his pose. The George Clooney and Julia Roberts figures appear to be copies of the sculptures in the same poses that I saw in London. I think the figures of John F. Kennedy and Jaqueline were also quite similar to those in London although I thought our JFK seemed a little more natural.

Of course I was quite excited to see the sculptures of Barak and Michelle Obama and the warrior prince Harry and the new Duchess of Cambridge, Kate Middleton. I also thought the figure of Queen Elizabeth II had more of a sparkle in her eyes than the one I had seen in London.

My only disappointment was that the Obamas and British royals were behind a barrier in the photo session promotional area and the photographer there would not let me take individual photos of them when I went into the area to have my picture taken.

Overall, though, I enjoyed myself immensely as I was sure I would!

Doing what: Madame Tussauds Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful opportunity to see all the main monuments and museums in DC. We were overwhelmed by the rich history surrounding us and the helpfulness of the bus drivers and staff. We enjoyed the convenience of locations so much that we bought another 48 hours to use as our primary mode of transportation during our week visit. We would suggest that anyone visiting DC use this great way to see this city!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great way to learn a lot about the city. The buses were clean and on time. I appreciated the additional benefits: free visit to Madame Tussaud's, Crime and Punishment Museum and free Potomac river cruise.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great way to see all the monuments and museums. Never much of a wait for the trolley. Very informative drivers. Well worth the $$

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had a two day ticket. Did Orange and Green trolleys, then the Green again. Loved everything. The drivers were fantastic and their knowledge second to none. Also they are very witty, especially Jewel. Loved seeing the White House and all the other buildings and having travelled on the Trolley, we knew what museums to visit and where the stops were. Washington is a beautiful city, but it was soooo hot and humid, but we coped.
Thank you. Sorry haven't downloaded my photos yet

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We only had 1 day in Washington and the Hop On / Off trolley bus tour was excellent, we got to see all the main atttractions allowing us to get off at some stops then pick up the next bus. The driver's commentary was fantastic, lots of historic facts and other points of interest including details about the various museums. They told us when the next photo opportunity was coming up, driving slowly by or stopping when able.
It meant that we certainly got the most out of our day and left us time to visit 2 museums and the botanical gardens.
We would recommend this trip, enjoyed by 2 parents and a 16 and 11 year old.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This museum is super fun. My family loved picking their secret identities, the briefing room, crawling throught the secret duct, and just checking out all the cool gadgets that spies use. The James Bond exhibit was cool too. This is one museum you want to add to your list when visiting Washington DC!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

FANTASTIC! highly professional, informative and very well presented. We did the "spy mission", which was more like a theme park attraction than a museum. A great morning for my 16 year old son and me!

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great fun - my 16 year old loved it as "it wasn't like a typical museum - such fun!". We bought the treasure hunt option which really added to the excitement. Very well designed and presented.

Doing what: National Museum of Crime and Punishment Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic museum!! Highly recommend

Doing what: National Museum of Crime and Punishment Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Spy Museum was great my son had a great time. Would visit DC again

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trolley tour! I would recommend doing this tour to anyone who is visiting the National Mall. We stayed on the trolley until Arlington National Cemetery. We did this so that we could get an idea on where everything was at. On the second round we stopped and visited several museums. This was a good experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an awesome way to see DC. Definitely too much to see in one day and a second day is needed if you want to visit any museums, etc. Drivers/tour directors were very knowledgeable about their city. I would recommend the hop on/hop off trolley tour when visiting Washington!

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic museum. Highly interactive and we could've spent a lot longer than the three hours we spent there. The design of the museum is beautiful, but I found the layout to be confusing and circuitous from floor to floor. My kids especially loved the 4D movie. My favorite part was the timeline display of all the newspapers, absolutely fascinating. We would definitely go back!

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trolley ride is a great way to find out how the city, museums, and monuments are laid out. You can plan where you can walk too and what you want to see. We stayed on the orange line and were able to see several things and then made plans for an all day walking sightseeing adventure the next day. The drivers are versed with great facts and share many stories. If you find them fun, be sure to tip them...not every driver has the same stories and fun facts. Let them know you appreciate the time they took to learn all the things they share with you on their ride. They will answer any question you have and will help you with directions.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The hop on hop off bus was great! Everyone had told me how there was so much walking in DC but with the bus, it was so convenient. The bus would drop you off at the designated stops and then when you're done, you go back to the same spot the bus dropped you off at to catch the next bus. The red loop bus comes every 20 minutes and it goes to all the popular places. Also, since it's hot outside, the bottom floor of the bus was great for the air-condition. When it rained, they gave everyone panchos. If you're on the top deck, you'll probably need to come down because a pancho can only help so much when it's pouring.

I would definitely recommend this bus. It's so convenient and worth the price. I did the 48 hour tour since it was only about $10 more for the extra day and it included entrance into the wax museum, the crime and punishment museum and the riverboat on the potomac (I didn't have time to do the boat unfortunately). Great value!

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was a very pleasant day with having quick view of DC places using Hop-On Hop-Off bus. I wish I could stay longer to hop off more and see more museums and historical buildings. But, it gave me an excellent overview and also good idea for the next trip.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A few glitches to begin with--couldn't figure out where to get the trolley at first. Beyond that? WONDERFUL! Each and every driver was full of facts and fun. The best of them was Mr. E--we were sad to get off his tour. Great idea to let us get out and explore and then meet up with the next trolley. So many wonderful sights to see in DC. Amazing and almost every single museum we went to was free. We ended up taking a second day of trolley because it was so good and so much to see. COMPLETELY worth the very low price.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I loved this museum. I got to touch the Berlin Wall, walk through the Anchorman Exhibit, and see hundreds of news articles! The entrance ticket even allowed me to come back the next day (which is so worth it because you need many hours to cover everything).

Doing what: Admission to Washington DC Newseum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Well worth the money. The Madame Tussade's was an added bonus. Buy the 2 day pass if you really want to see the museums. But a really good tour if you just want to get a quick feel of everything. And start early in the morning.

Doing what: Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

As always, the museum was very entertaining and informative. Will visit next time in town.

Doing what: International Spy Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The DC Hop on Hop off Trolley Tour saved our trip. Unfortunately our government was shut down while we were there so a traditional trip wasn't an option. So we expanded our trip to include more than museums and found that it was the best trip ever. We saw way more than we would have otherwise seen, used public transportation and walking more and got a real insiders view thanks to delightful and knowledgeable tour guides. Everyone from our first bus driver to the kids in the gift shop were helpful, full of enthusiasm for the city and very welcoming. I would highly suggest this as a way to start any trip to DC. They told me things I didn't know and I went to school there a million years ago. Great trip. Awesome tour and well worth the money.

Doing what: Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message