• USD ($)
  • English
Washington, DC is smaller in area than any state; it is possible for a person to traverse the entire city in a day without stepping foot in a vehicle or the underground metro rail. Because of its compact size and myriad outdoor attractions, biking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The bike tour allowed me to see all the historical monuments to understand better what the leaders have been fighting for all these while. Andy, the tour guide was exceptionally amazing! A truly must-do thing in Washington DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Perhaps the funnest part of our trip! We had not biked in YEARS - it was a moderate trail but challenging at times. However, lots of laughs and such beautiful scenery along the Potomac. We truly enjoyed ourselves. I highly recommend! Take the cruise back to relax and enjoy the sights!! A+++

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Having biked most of the 200 or so kilometers of the Hawkes Bay (NZ) bike trails, which are wonderful, I have to say, this is my new favourite ride. We arrived early in Old Alexandria town so we were able to wander the beautiful cobbled streets and soak up the ambience of this lovely town before arriving at the Bike and Roll depot near the waterfront at 10 am. We were soon dispatched with our bikes and clear instructions and followed the track through the city and out into the beautiful Virginian countryside along the Potomac river. There were a few lumps (small hills) but our bikes dealt with them admirably. We travelled there in the middle of October so the fall colours were just showing through. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour of Mt Vernon but felt a little rushed as the ferry was not available and we had to bike back to be in time for the 5 o'clock closing (apparently it usually closes a bit later). The trip back was a little easier and just as spectacular.We travelled with our 23 year old son who enjoyed it just as much as we did and I would unreservedly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to get a little exercise while sightseeing. I should mention there is a free trolley bus that travels up and down King Street from the train station, which we thankfully discovered on the way back.

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Bike shop staff were extremely helpful in sizing the bikes for everyone in our group, making sure we all felt comfortable (including those who hadn't been on bicycles for decades), and provided very clear directions for our self-guided tour. The ride was challenging without being overwhelming, and Mt. Vernon was magnificent. I only wish we had had more time to explore - but that's only because we spent too much time enjoying lunch!

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Washington is a bike friendly city.
We rented the bikes for two days the first day we when with a guide and he was very helpful and informative. The second day my husband and I when on our own which was nice because it allowed us to go at our own pace.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really lucked out with great weather and since the other family didn't show it ended up being a private tour of just our family and the guide. It was totally cool to see the monuments at night and since my family loves biking it was great to cover a greater distance with ease after a day of walking to all the Smithsonians. Our guide was very informative and I saw monuments I have never seen in previous trips to DC because they were too far to walk to. The most memorable was the Thomas Jefferson memorial riding along the tidal basin with a gorgeous sunset. This tour was a highlight of our Washington, DC trip. Would highly recommend this bike tour..

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a fantastic tour! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. The bike ride was not difficult and the time at each stop was just enough. My family and I had a great time on this trip and would take another bike tour from this company in Washington DC or any of the other cities listed. I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A great way to see the memorials at night. The tour guide was great. We had 7-10 minutes at each memorial to explore. My 12 year old did fine on the bike. I used a tandem bike for my 8 year old, which was new to me and manuevering on crowded sidewalks was a bit of an adventure. We stopped in front of the White House just in time to watch the 3 helicopters carrying the President back home!

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Wow! I have never rented a bike and had it so expertly fit to me. Even the helmet was sized for me! The trail was well marked and absolutely beautiful! It was a hot day, and I just wish we had started out a little earlier. We were very glad that we took the Potomac River Cruise option for coming back because of the heat. The cruise was relaxing however there was not much information given by the moderator on the cruise.

Doing what: Mt Vernon Independent Bike Tour with Optional Potomac River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide (Andy) was outstanding. You don't need to be an athlete to do this, but this could be rough if you are out of shape and the weather is hot. Having stated that this was a pleasant tour. Do it in the morning; less crowded on the streets after morning work traffic dies down and before pm traffic starts. A full 3-hour treatment covering a lot of ground and stories. They do a good job in setting you up with nice bikes and helmets (we brought our own, but it would have been fine to use theirs - at no extra charge). We got this on "sale" but this would have been worth the regular price.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Although it was raining the whole tour, we had a very good time! Nice relaxing bike tour with all the highlights of Washington DC. The bikes were good and we had time enough to stop at all the important places.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Justin was very knowledgable and was a great tour leader. I felt very honoured to have visited the monuments. It was so much more fun doing it on bikes. The bikes were excellent and the tour ran on time.

Doing what: Washington DC Monuments Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We've taken a few different "Monuments at Night" in the past and this was by far the best. The bikes were comfortable, our guide Ryan was friendly and very knowledgeable. Being on bike allows you to "park" even closer than you do on the big bus tours so you see more in the same amount time.

Doing what: Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was one of the highlights of our tour!! Our tourguide was well informed, bright and cheerful and full of fun. The biking was not tiring at all as Washington is fairly flat. The bicycles were in good condition and the whole set-up was done effectively and proffessionally!! The best was when we got back we were offered the bikes free of charge for the rest of the day. We biked Washington for more than 6 hours and saw SOOOO much more than we would have had we tried to do so on foot. Definitely to be recommended.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Very knowledgeable guide and a comfortable pace made this bike tour very enjoyable.

Doing what: Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message