Travelers to Washington DC could easily spend weeks exploring the many museums, monuments, parks and attractions showcased That being said, there are also an array of worthwhile day trips accessible from the city. To help you plan your quick jaunt ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 600 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Unbelievable history! Breathtaking views of the Potomac! Stood there imagining how Martha felt as she awaited the return of her husband. Audio guided tour was great, gave so much information as you traveled through the amazing property. Reciting the Pledge of Allegiance in a group, standing in front of the burial tombs of George and Martha, was an emotional experience. Such a privilege to spend time on the very land and in the very rooms of the property he called home. A full and informative perspective into the life of one of the greatest men to ever live. An absolute must for anyone who loves this great country!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was exceptional. The tour bus was comfortable, and the video during the ride was very informative. Once we arrived at Montecello, the docents on site were great.

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

WAS GREAT.WILL RECOMEND IT AND WILL DO IT AGAIN

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome trip. I would definitely recommend it!!!

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fantastic tour. The guide was knowledgeable and the Shriver house was amazing. It truly brought this American part of history to life.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was an absolutely wonderful day. We had a great driver and very informative and wonderful tour guide. It was the best part of our vacation.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tony the tour guide was the BOMB! Tony was very personable, informative, friendly and had a GRAND personality. Highly recommend this tour. Worth the money, for sure.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved exploring Gettysburg. Having someone else do the driving and navigating really took the pressure off and allowed us to just enjoy our experience. The Gettysburg Visitor Center was excellent - I would have liked to have had more time to explore there. The battlefield tour was incredibly humbling it was incredible to see the sites I'd read about in history class as a kid.

A couple of tips:
-If you're sick of eating cafeteria and gift shop food like everywhere else on your vacation, bring some snacks. It's a long day and you'll probably get munchy at some point and all you'll be able to find are M and Ms and peanuts.
-Plan for all sorts of weather. When it rains, it can really rain.
-Watch the 1993 Gettysburg film or read Michael Shaara's Killer Angels before you go. I was really glad I did because I had forgotten so much since my history class days. It isn't necessary to have a good time, but I enjoyed it even more than my family did because I was familiar with names and details that they weren't. It also allowed me to get even more out of our tour guide because I could ask him questions along the way instead of his usual and good! canned speech.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Long day but well worth it. Smooth travel, great information, enjoyable guide.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Tour guide was also very informative and humorous. Mt Vernon is an amazing place with lots to see. George Washington was certainly an amazing person, and I hadn't realised he had so much in his life. I'm inspired to now read more about his life and impacts.
Agree with other comments that 3 hours at this site is not enough, but was still well worth a visit, especially for future reference.

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is awesome. I would recommend this tour to anyone. It was worth every dollar we spent. We had a great time.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Again, another great tour experience. Our bus driver and Tour guide was great. The Shriver house was an unexpected surprise. Would have liked to seen a bit more the actual Battlefield.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide/bus driver was so good and had the best personality. Nice air conditioned buses. I could have used one less hour of Mt. Vernon and 1 more hour of Arlington. I felt like we rushed through it a bit.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The whole day was a great experience.

From the driver, through the tour of the town house, the presentation and diorama in the Visitors Centre and finally the battleground tour with the guide brought the event to life.

One of our most interesting experiences of our US holiday.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

the check-in was easy and efficient. Buses very comfortable. Loved what was packed into the 2 days - see a little of everything. This is definitely the best way to visit Washington DC. Day 1 Bus Driver great. He used a headset for speaking and very easy to understanding. Extremely knowledgeable. Day 2 Bus Driver also very good. A little unnerving that he was using an actual microphone in one hand, while driving around the very busy city with the other. Suggest all bus drivers use headsets. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The was exceptional and fabulous. My family enjoyed every minute. We wished it could have lasted longer. We highly recommend it. We enjoyed watching the Gettysburg movie on the trip there and back.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

NewTravler
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and day trip! I've always wanted to visit Monticello and glad I finally did. I read the reviews on Viator prior to booking and now I am paying it forward. The bus ride was comfortable with a friendly bus driver. The drive there featured a DVD on Thomas Jefferson and the ride back featured a movie. The tour of Jefferson's house was awesome and the tour guide was very informative. The Monticello grounds and surrounding views are amazing. I was able to catch most of one of the two free tours of different parts of the grounds. While we were given several hours at Monticello, I personally could have used a bit more time...but then again I am a history buff and tend to take a while soaking everything in. In summary, it was a great day trip and tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very nice trip. Mt. Vernon is beautiful. It was a very hot day so we didn't explore as much as we thought we would.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Driver was very knowledgeable and friendly...good time thank you!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing day and tour! One of the highlights of my trip to Washington DC. Highly recommend it!!!

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Driver was great as well as the guide at Gettysburg. Nice ride great day.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour! It gave us plenty of time to see everything we wanted to see without feeling rushed. The driver was great! Very informative .

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message