Travelers to Washington DC could easily spend weeks exploring the many museums, monuments, parks and attractions showcased That being said, there are also an array of worthwhile day trips accessible from the city. To help you plan your quick jaunt ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 557 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Driver was great as well as the guide at Gettysburg. Nice ride great day.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour! It gave us plenty of time to see everything we wanted to see without feeling rushed. The driver was great! Very informative .

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour. Tony was a great driver and tour guide.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is definitely a journey to the past. You are guided every step of the way. There are narrators throughout.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very well organised tour with excellent information from the local guide .

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent, very well run, on time, great guide , great driver, great plan and would do it again and recommend to anybody!WWB

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was very good. It was a very convenient way to see both Mount Vernon and Arlington Cemetary. The Bus Driver did a very good job and was very informative. The only criticism we have is the information on where to check in at Union Station and where to meet the bus could be more detailed as we had a difficult time finding where to check in and meet the bus as it is a large facility handling all forms of transportation not only Bus Tours.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great experience, very informative , enjoyed it and glad I was able to do this tour.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed the tour very much. Bus left on time and the commentary from driver during the trip to Gettysburg was good. The guide who joined the bus was very informative - the whole experience helped me appreciate the battle at Gettysburg.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly enjoyable with enough time to visit each attraction.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our day at Gettysburg was wonderful. Met some lovely people on the tour. The driver was good. A long day but well worth it.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver was very professional, friendly, and courteous. Enjoyed both the tavern good guide tour, and excellent meal. Montecello was lovely good guide, and I have a renewed appreciation for this truly unique, conflicted, and intelligent man. I am proud to call Thomas Jefferson one of our founding fathers.

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The bus driver/tourguide was excellent fantastic tour highly recommend

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this trip. A definite must see if you are heading to Washington.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. So much to see. Great drivers/guides.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We went on the Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour on a Monday. The bus was not nearly full. The driver / tour leader, Bob, was fantastic. His knowledge about all the points of interest, their history, and interesting facts about them is encyclopaedic. Often he would slow down and even stop momentarily in order that we could see the point of interest and hear about it. In order to avoid long lines, Bob switched the morning and afternoon parts - we went to Arlington in the morning and there were virtually no lines. The only deficiency in the Arlington part was with the description of the trolley schedule and stops not a fault of our driver. We did not use our time well and should have stopped in one other place, had we known where was the best place to stop and how long everything would take. The situation would also have been better, had the morning portion been 1/2 hour longer. Bob stopped at Washington's church in Alexandria for about 15 minutes as an extra stop, not on the schedule. The church grounds were lovely, however, that particular day the church volunteer was not able to come and open the church. The afternoon part of the tour was virtually perfect - no lines, a great lunch at Mount Vernon at our own expense and beautiful and interesting walking trails everywhere. It is possible to walk the entire grounds and see everything in the afternoon. In fact, we had more than enough time and this bears on our comment to lengthen the morning part by 1/2 hour. Despite these minor logistical issues, we would recommend the tour at least with Bob highly.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great. It was amazing to actually see where the battle took place and to hear from our park guide what the soldiers would have experienced on that 3 days of fighting

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We would highly recommend this tour as an overview of Gettysburg.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We would highly recommend this tour as an overview of Gettysburg.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Cant wait to return. It is such a charming area and the tour was very nice.

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour which covered so much of this amazing military park. The local guide was very informative and the Visitors Centre was outstanding particularly the cyclorama representation of the Gettysburg battles. We enjoyed the tour of the family home in Gettysburg which provided an authentic insight into how people lived in the 1860s and the impact the battles had on daily life. Would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful! Knowledgable driver who provides a great commentary.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved it. One of the best tours I've taken. Thanks.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message