Travelers to Washington DC could easily spend weeks exploring the many museums, monuments, parks and attractions showcased That being said, there are also an array of worthwhile day trips accessible from the city. To help you plan your quick jaunt ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 807 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jan P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a nice drive to Mount Vernon, and we were able to stop at the Christ Church for a docent talk and tour. The guides were all very knowledgeable and welcomed questions. Well worth the time and money!

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

kuhlalbo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a wonderful tour with a nice guide.

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

Mandie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our Driver was excellent! Definitely a great trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Julienne S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Très beau voyage....Il est vrai que le tour était indépendant, mais nous avons pu nous retrouver. Je recommande ce tour, car Philadelphie est une ville qui porte en elle les empreintes de l'indépendance américaine. Nous avons également fait Mount Vernon, et Washington. Les pages d'histoire qu'écrivent ces endroits se recoupent et vous donnent une vue d'ensemble de l'histoire américaine et de son indépendance.
En revanche, par rapport au tour, on mentionne qu'un lunch est offert, mais il n'y a pas plus de précision que cela. Pourriez-vous en dire davantage?

Doing what: Washington DC to Philadelphia Day Trip

Sarah B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour with a very funny and knowledgeable driver /guide, Tony.
Mount Vernon was very surreal and beautiful place which had lovely grounds.
Arlington cemetery was also breathtaking and the changing of the guard brilliant. Well worth a visit to cemetery if visiting Washington.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

suzanne.henry1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip was very interesting. Our specialist guide at Gettysburg was very knowledgeable.

Out lady driver was excellent and she had a great personality.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Graham P M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the tour immensely. As Australians visiting the site of the battle of Gettysburg was a very moving experience and one I would highly recommend to anyone thinking of taking this tour.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a great time on this tour. Our driver was excellent and we didn't feel rushed. Although our time at Arlington Cemetery didn't feel long enough so much to do. Our bus driver said we could stay longer, but would need to take the train back. Many of the passengers did just that, I would highly recommend that too. The best part was visiting Mount Vernon. Make sure to wait in line by the garden to get a tour of the inside of his home, we almost missed it. Also, as you head back to the food court, don't forget to stop by the small museum inside. Unfortunately, we missed it and didn't get to see some of Washington's belongings, including his dentures!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Tour guide/driver was humorous and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Rees M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a most informative tour. Enjoyed Mount Vernon and could have stayed longer to take in more of the museum.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Sheila P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Bus Driver was fabulous. This was a great tour through history. I learned anenormous amont about Washington and the times he lived in. The museum at the end was unbleievable. If you go leave time for this fabulous museum featuring of course George Washinton.

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

joebono

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Mt. Vernon is beautiful and more extensive than I expected. Learned a lot about George Washington that I didn't know.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Qin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I loved this tour. It was exciting and sad at the same time to be in the Gettysburg battlefield where thousands of people of the same country killed when fighting for their principles. It was a turning point in the American History and from this day it shaped the core values of our country.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

jbuchan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We highly recommend this tour.....well organized, excellent, entertaining, informative driver as well as speaker guides. The information given and all the areas covered really brings history alive.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Donald Adeli A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved the tour great and informative driver

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

Jeffrey F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The driver was funny and informative. We enjoyed the trip

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Britt B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Not to be missed! From Union Station we left D.C. with a very informative and pleasant guide. The fall colors and the fog rising from the Potomac river made for a beautiful trip to Alexandria and a brief stop at the Christ Church for photo-ops. At Mount Vernon we were turned loose on our own and could create our individual agenda. The Mansion tour was guided, however a map of the estate was easy to follow. The impressive estate designed by a brilliant man and president ,with a vision of the future and the needs of people, is evident all over. A shuttle service is provided between a few places, since a lot of walking is required. Docents, full of information, are all around to answer questions. If you have time, the Mount Vernon Inn serves an excellent lunch.
A short trip to Arlington also provided us with the option to choose our own agenda. A guided shuttle service was provided in between the various memorials. The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, the Changing of the Guards in front of the Memorial Amphitheater are not to be missed as well as The Kennedy Memorial with the eternal flame. Arlington Cemetery is a beautiful Shrine to those who served our Nation with Honor. If you have to visit friends or family resting here, as I did, a private graveside shuttle is provided for you at the Administration Building.
Since I finished the tour at Arlington, I can't comment on any further stops. It was a great tour with a very pleasant and Informative guide.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour! Toni our driver and guide was knowledgeable and had a good sense of humor.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Karen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was excellent and the location fascinating

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

Colleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great way to see most of the DC sights in a short period of time. Our tour guides were nice and informative. There are many times where you are dropped off at a location and told when/where to meet the bus for pickup, so if you are extremely geographically challenged, this is a heads-up. Also, wear comfy walking shoes, even though it's a bus tour, you'll do a ton of walking! Overall a great experience!

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Joe I think that's his name told us a lot of very interesting information on the way out and Mount Vernon was just great. Paul showed up on time to give us a ride back.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Nancy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great time. The trip was good and very informative. The bus driver, Big Joe, was great to ride with and kept us on our toes with facts and questions. I would recommend this trip!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

steveandbeck

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was great but ran into some touring issues. The Marine marathon was the same day as our tour so we couldn't get into or around Arlington Cemetery. I think that is something the touring company should know ahead of time before allowing tours to get booked. Knowing this we could have had a little. more time to do some of the extras like the distillery tour. We were able to use our tickets and go to Arlington the next day but that cut into our day at Gettysburg. All in all we still had a good day and Tony our guide was great!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent drivers on both days who were very knowledgeable and who made both trips very interesting.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message