Travelers to Washington DC could easily spend weeks exploring the many museums, monuments, parks and attractions showcased That being said, there are also an array of worthwhile day trips accessible from the city. To help you plan your quick jaunt ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 857 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kenyon k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Tour- I loved it. The guide was very knowledgeable and we felt we really saw the battle. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Jane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were apprehensive about this tour and ensuring we found the place in Union station to depart from. We need not have worried the instructions were perfect and the tour was really good. We had a very engaging driver named David who really made us welcome and shared lots of information. There is lots to see at Gettysburg and a guide joins the coach to take you to interesting points. The guide really knew his stuff and we thought this tour was excellent.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Dana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour! A stop in downtown Gettysburg at the Shriver House with our own personal docents was a great start! We then moved on to the Gettysburg National MilitaryPark Museum and Visitor Center. We received a ticket for the Museum, the Film and the Cyclorama. The tour was concluded with a two-hour battlefield tour guided by a Licensed Battlefield Guide. This was an all-day tour. Well worth the .

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

jftwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was wonderful. So full of information it brought the civil war to life. To actually see the battle field was great. The visitors center had great things to see. The panorama show was fantastic. A painting brought to life all the way around. That was the best part of the trip. I would recommend this trip to everyone who comes to Washington DC.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Janet K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Bus driver was outstanding. He gave us interesting information as we drove into and out of Washington DC. He had good advice for places to eat in Gettysburg, and provided valuable information about the visitor's center.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Mariesol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was wonderful. Learned a lot. The changing of the guards is not be missed very moving ceremony.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our driver was great and so was the lunch. Had plenty of time at Monticello as they have removed the visit to the University of Virginia -- Good call. Loved the day and had a great trip!

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

MichaelM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip and super value....pity the weather wasn't gr8. Definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Marie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a truly fun, relaxing and enjoyable way to get to see Monticello. During the 2 hour ride, we watched a DVD about Thomas Jefferson and on the way home, we saw a most amazing DVD about the Lewis and Clark adventure. We were treated to a surprise stop at the University of Virginia and had a chance to take a quick walk around to see the Rotunda, the Chapel and the old classrooms and dorms. Continuing on up the road for a trip into the past to the Michie Tavern for a delicious lunch and tour of the beautiful grounds. Our bus driver was really great, caring and we all felt very safe with him at the wheel. In minutes, we got to Monticello and had a few hours to walk around to see all there is to see, including a guided tour of the inside of this amazing home. I would certainly recommend this to anyone wishing to visit DC and all that it has to offer.

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

Wanda J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was so nice to have the 7 day pass to go whenever we wanted, to any 3 of the cities. Price was reasonable also

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

abward1117

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our first day trip took us to Mt Vernon. Our bus driver was excellent. He had a wonderful knowledge of American history. He made the trip very interesting.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip that gave a fantastic overview of the battle
The guide was really knowledgable and the tour followed the sequence of the battle.The new visitors centre is amazing and the tour of the Schriver House was really interesting
The day went really quickly and I would thoroughly recommend the tour

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

June C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our bus driver/tour guide, Wayne, was amazing! Informative, funny, courteous, helpful, and most of all professional. My sister and I had a wonderful time from start to finish. I would definitely sign up with Viator on my next adventure!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

D'Ann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour. The whole experience was great. Mount Vernon was nice to see the country side. Arlington National Cemetery was very moving tour. The changing of the guard was a very emotional experience. The whole tour was more than my husband and I expected.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

judyjacobs234

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip with knowledgeable driver. The museum at Mt. Vernon was interactive and delightful for a 74-year-old grandmother, a 44 year-old daddy and a 10 year-old grandson. We all enjoyed the tour of Mt. Vernon as well as Arlington. We stayed totally engaged the entire time.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Virginia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had the best tour guide ever! I would say that it would have been nice to have a little more time at Arlington. We ran out of time and weren't able to see the things we wanted there.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

martaleida United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding experience. Well worth your time and money.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Barbara D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The bus driver driver was knowledgeable and tried to show us as much as possible on route to mt Vernon and Arlington.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour! Packed a lot of D.C. sights into 2 days. Had a different tour guide on each day one around D.C. one to Arlington/Mt. Vernon and both were funny and knowledgeable. If you you're looking to get a taste of the major D.C. attractions and spend a little more time at Arlington/Mount Vernon then I would highly recommend this package.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

dad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip
Wish we could of explored downtown Gettysburg
Intend of stopping for lunch at a strip mall.
Very interesting trip though

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Theresa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great. Our guide was very funny. It was a great day and tour and I would book it again.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Ian F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic tour and experience. Tour guide Robert was full of great information and all round a great day out.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Vikki D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a wonderful tour. Appreciated the driver's information about Alexanderia,and the stop at Christ's Church in Alexandria where George Washington worshipped. We had 3 hours at Mt. Vernon,time to tour and take it all in.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Tammy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide was great! He was friendly and told some very good stories. The actual tour of Mt. Vernon was impressive. The mansion tour was good, and I like that we could linger afterward in the museum.

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

toni.wendtmann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour, the tour through the house was informative. would recommend this to anyone and lunch in the restaurant was great.

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message