Travelers to Washington DC could easily spend weeks exploring the many museums, monuments, parks and attractions showcased That being said, there are also an array of worthwhile day trips accessible from the city. To help you plan your quick jaunt ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 581 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Long day but well worth it. Smooth travel, great information, enjoyable guide.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Tour guide was also very informative and humorous. Mt Vernon is an amazing place with lots to see. George Washington was certainly an amazing person, and I hadn't realised he had so much in his life. I'm inspired to now read more about his life and impacts.
Agree with other comments that 3 hours at this site is not enough, but was still well worth a visit, especially for future reference.

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is awesome. I would recommend this tour to anyone. It was worth every dollar we spent. We had a great time.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Again, another great tour experience. Our bus driver and Tour guide was great. The Shriver house was an unexpected surprise. Would have liked to seen a bit more the actual Battlefield.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide/bus driver was so good and had the best personality. Nice air conditioned buses. I could have used one less hour of Mt. Vernon and 1 more hour of Arlington. I felt like we rushed through it a bit.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The whole day was a great experience.

From the driver, through the tour of the town house, the presentation and diorama in the Visitors Centre and finally the battleground tour with the guide brought the event to life.

One of our most interesting experiences of our US holiday.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

the check-in was easy and efficient. Buses very comfortable. Loved what was packed into the 2 days - see a little of everything. This is definitely the best way to visit Washington DC. Day 1 Bus Driver great. He used a headset for speaking and very easy to understanding. Extremely knowledgeable. Day 2 Bus Driver also very good. A little unnerving that he was using an actual microphone in one hand, while driving around the very busy city with the other. Suggest all bus drivers use headsets. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The was exceptional and fabulous. My family enjoyed every minute. We wished it could have lasted longer. We highly recommend it. We enjoyed watching the Gettysburg movie on the trip there and back.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

NewTravler
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and day trip! I've always wanted to visit Monticello and glad I finally did. I read the reviews on Viator prior to booking and now I am paying it forward. The bus ride was comfortable with a friendly bus driver. The drive there featured a DVD on Thomas Jefferson and the ride back featured a movie. The tour of Jefferson's house was awesome and the tour guide was very informative. The Monticello grounds and surrounding views are amazing. I was able to catch most of one of the two free tours of different parts of the grounds. While we were given several hours at Monticello, I personally could have used a bit more time...but then again I am a history buff and tend to take a while soaking everything in. In summary, it was a great day trip and tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very nice trip. Mt. Vernon is beautiful. It was a very hot day so we didn't explore as much as we thought we would.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Driver was very knowledgeable and friendly...good time thank you!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing day and tour! One of the highlights of my trip to Washington DC. Highly recommend it!!!

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Driver was great as well as the guide at Gettysburg. Nice ride great day.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour! It gave us plenty of time to see everything we wanted to see without feeling rushed. The driver was great! Very informative .

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour. Tony was a great driver and tour guide.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is definitely a journey to the past. You are guided every step of the way. There are narrators throughout.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very well organised tour with excellent information from the local guide .

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent, very well run, on time, great guide , great driver, great plan and would do it again and recommend to anybody!WWB

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was very good. It was a very convenient way to see both Mount Vernon and Arlington Cemetary. The Bus Driver did a very good job and was very informative. The only criticism we have is the information on where to check in at Union Station and where to meet the bus could be more detailed as we had a difficult time finding where to check in and meet the bus as it is a large facility handling all forms of transportation not only Bus Tours.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great experience, very informative , enjoyed it and glad I was able to do this tour.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed the tour very much. Bus left on time and the commentary from driver during the trip to Gettysburg was good. The guide who joined the bus was very informative - the whole experience helped me appreciate the battle at Gettysburg.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly enjoyable with enough time to visit each attraction.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our day at Gettysburg was wonderful. Met some lovely people on the tour. The driver was good. A long day but well worth it.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message