Travelers to Washington DC could easily spend weeks exploring the many museums, monuments, parks and attractions showcased That being said, there are also an array of worthwhile day trips accessible from the city. To help you plan your quick jaunt ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 836 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip that gave a fantastic overview of the battle
The guide was really knowledgable and the tour followed the sequence of the battle.The new visitors centre is amazing and the tour of the Schriver House was really interesting
The day went really quickly and I would thoroughly recommend the tour

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

June C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our bus driver/tour guide, Wayne, was amazing! Informative, funny, courteous, helpful, and most of all professional. My sister and I had a wonderful time from start to finish. I would definitely sign up with Viator on my next adventure!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

D'Ann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour. The whole experience was great. Mount Vernon was nice to see the country side. Arlington National Cemetery was very moving tour. The changing of the guard was a very emotional experience. The whole tour was more than my husband and I expected.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

judyjacobs234

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip with knowledgeable driver. The museum at Mt. Vernon was interactive and delightful for a 74-year-old grandmother, a 44 year-old daddy and a 10 year-old grandson. We all enjoyed the tour of Mt. Vernon as well as Arlington. We stayed totally engaged the entire time.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Virginia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had the best tour guide ever! I would say that it would have been nice to have a little more time at Arlington. We ran out of time and weren't able to see the things we wanted there.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

martaleida United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding experience. Well worth your time and money.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Barbara D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The bus driver driver was knowledgeable and tried to show us as much as possible on route to mt Vernon and Arlington.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour! Packed a lot of D.C. sights into 2 days. Had a different tour guide on each day one around D.C. one to Arlington/Mt. Vernon and both were funny and knowledgeable. If you you're looking to get a taste of the major D.C. attractions and spend a little more time at Arlington/Mount Vernon then I would highly recommend this package.

Doing what: 2-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC

dad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip
Wish we could of explored downtown Gettysburg
Intend of stopping for lunch at a strip mall.
Very interesting trip though

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Theresa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great. Our guide was very funny. It was a great day and tour and I would book it again.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Ian F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic tour and experience. Tour guide Robert was full of great information and all round a great day out.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Vikki D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a wonderful tour. Appreciated the driver's information about Alexanderia,and the stop at Christ's Church in Alexandria where George Washington worshipped. We had 3 hours at Mt. Vernon,time to tour and take it all in.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Tammy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide was great! He was friendly and told some very good stories. The actual tour of Mt. Vernon was impressive. The mansion tour was good, and I like that we could linger afterward in the museum.

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

toni.wendtmann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour, the tour through the house was informative. would recommend this to anyone and lunch in the restaurant was great.

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

Vicki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very interesting, I learnt a lot

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

Jan P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a nice drive to Mount Vernon, and we were able to stop at the Christ Church for a docent talk and tour. The guides were all very knowledgeable and welcomed questions. Well worth the time and money!

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

kuhlalbo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a wonderful tour with a nice guide.

Doing what: Day Trip To Mount Vernon From Washington DC

Mandie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our Driver was excellent! Definitely a great trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Julienne S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Très beau voyage....Il est vrai que le tour était indépendant, mais nous avons pu nous retrouver. Je recommande ce tour, car Philadelphie est une ville qui porte en elle les empreintes de l'indépendance américaine. Nous avons également fait Mount Vernon, et Washington. Les pages d'histoire qu'écrivent ces endroits se recoupent et vous donnent une vue d'ensemble de l'histoire américaine et de son indépendance.
En revanche, par rapport au tour, on mentionne qu'un lunch est offert, mais il n'y a pas plus de précision que cela. Pourriez-vous en dire davantage?

Doing what: Washington DC to Philadelphia Day Trip

Sarah B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour with a very funny and knowledgeable driver /guide, Tony.
Mount Vernon was very surreal and beautiful place which had lovely grounds.
Arlington cemetery was also breathtaking and the changing of the guard brilliant. Well worth a visit to cemetery if visiting Washington.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

suzanne.henry1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip was very interesting. Our specialist guide at Gettysburg was very knowledgeable.

Out lady driver was excellent and she had a great personality.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Graham P M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the tour immensely. As Australians visiting the site of the battle of Gettysburg was a very moving experience and one I would highly recommend to anyone thinking of taking this tour.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a great time on this tour. Our driver was excellent and we didn't feel rushed. Although our time at Arlington Cemetery didn't feel long enough so much to do. Our bus driver said we could stay longer, but would need to take the train back. Many of the passengers did just that, I would highly recommend that too. The best part was visiting Mount Vernon. Make sure to wait in line by the garden to get a tour of the inside of his home, we almost missed it. Also, as you head back to the food court, don't forget to stop by the small museum inside. Unfortunately, we missed it and didn't get to see some of Washington's belongings, including his dentures!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Tour guide/driver was humorous and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Rees M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a most informative tour. Enjoyed Mount Vernon and could have stayed longer to take in more of the museum.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message