The Battle of Gettysburg, the architecture of Thomas Jefferson, General Washington’s mausoleum; it would be a shame to visit DC and miss out on all the surrounding area has to offer. Consider portioning some of your time in this historical city to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 638 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was excellent! The guide was very knowledgeable and had very interesting commentary that made history come alive at the different memorials. I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful day out - and an experience to remember

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip and Mr. Tony was really great about giving us the information about the area but not to much and even gave us some insider tips which I really appreciated.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a very scenic, interesting, and pleasant way to get to Mt. Vernon. The pier was very easy to find and a very short walk from the Waterfront Metro Station. The narration was quite interesting and there was a lot more to see along the river than I expected. There were several breaks in the narration so you could enjoy the scenery. Mt. Vernon itself is well worth a visit. You are given a ticket when you disembark that tells you the time of your tour and the system worked very well. We were able to see everything, did not feel rushed, and learned a lot from the docents. A wide variety of food options is available for lunch. There are several outbuildings and gardens to visits depending on one's interest. If I have any criticism - and it is very slight - it is that I wish we had had about half an hour more at Mt. Vernon. Ran out of time to really experience the gardens. As usual, very good value for the money.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really good, but we would have liked to have a little more time.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I took my two older sons, ages 9 and 8, and they loved it. The bus driver was great; he showed the film Gettysburg on the trip up and back, which the boys loved, and he drove expertly. The re-enactor at the Farnsworth house let the boys hold his rifle and bayonet. Most impressive was the tour guide of the battlefield who involved us all in his explanations. He clearly loved to teach. My rating of 4 stars should really be 4 and a half. In my view only (not my boys') I was sorry there wasn't more time to tour the battlefield on your own. We did get off the bus, but not enough -- since the guide had just two hours with us. I recommend offering a tour for people who already know about the three days of the battle and want to see more of the field. Still, this tour offers a great introduction, and it's very kid friendly. Thank you.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A long trip, but worth it and hype food was really good.

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had five days in Washington and enjoyed it all but my grandson (13) and I both thought this was the best part of our trip.. Only down side; waiting for the bus to begin the tour, there were four tours waiting for buses with a very small area to line up in

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a great time. The river cruise was wonderful. We would have liked a little more time at Mt Vernon (maybe 4 hours instead of 3) but we did see everything. Highly recommend.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Nice way to see Mt Vernon and Arlington. Wish we'd had a little more time at Arlington to see General Lee's home. Driver was funny too.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message