The Battle of Gettysburg, the architecture of Thomas Jefferson, General Washington’s mausoleum; it would be a shame to visit DC and miss out on all the surrounding area has to offer. Consider portioning some of your time in this historical city to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 913 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Long day but well worth it. Smooth travel, great information, enjoyable guide.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

River trip was great Boat crew very helpful and friendly We loved the a/c on the way back. RS

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband and I took our grandson age 17 on the tour, we really enjoyed it and have told some of our friends about the trip, traveling by bus we saw more than if we would have tried to drive and have to find parking. I would give it a five

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was an absolutely wonderful day. We had a great driver and very informative and wonderful tour guide. It was the best part of our vacation.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Informative and easy! Enjoyed the boat, river cruise, and guided tours!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fantastic tour. The guide was knowledgeable and the Shriver house was amazing. It truly brought this American part of history to life.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome trip. I would definitely recommend it!!!

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved exploring Gettysburg. Having someone else do the driving and navigating really took the pressure off and allowed us to just enjoy our experience. The Gettysburg Visitor Center was excellent - I would have liked to have had more time to explore there. The battlefield tour was incredibly humbling it was incredible to see the sites I'd read about in history class as a kid.

A couple of tips:
-If you're sick of eating cafeteria and gift shop food like everywhere else on your vacation, bring some snacks. It's a long day and you'll probably get munchy at some point and all you'll be able to find are M and Ms and peanuts.
-Plan for all sorts of weather. When it rains, it can really rain.
-Watch the 1993 Gettysburg film or read Michael Shaara's Killer Angels before you go. I was really glad I did because I had forgotten so much since my history class days. It isn't necessary to have a good time, but I enjoyed it even more than my family did because I was familiar with names and details that they weren't. It also allowed me to get even more out of our tour guide because I could ask him questions along the way instead of his usual and good! canned speech.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tony the tour guide was the BOMB! Tony was very personable, informative, friendly and had a GRAND personality. Highly recommend this tour. Worth the money, for sure.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great! Christopher our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and entertaining. We really enjoyed visiting all the sites, it was culturally rich and historically significant. My only qualm is that I would suggest stopping somewhere more interesting for lunch, the tourist trap sandwich kiosk was not good. Other than that, it is really worth doing this tour as a first time visitor. I suggest brining your own lunch.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was amazing, we thoroughly enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour guide was phenomenal, I zipped up here from Virginia as I was only here for a week and booked this tour. A

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a very nice way to see Mount Vernon. A nice peaceful cruise up the river on a beautiful morning. Could have used a little more time at Mount Vernon, but we managed to get it all in. What an amazing piece of property.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent. Well worth the . Christopher was outstanding. Ask for Chris!!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

very useful trip with friendly and knowledgable tour guides

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Competent drive Ali,knowledgeable ,polite guide Lynette .the tour covered most of the citiy's attractions with plenty of time to take pictures and walk around.
We enjoyed ourselves vey much. It was really worth it especially as we were in town for only two days

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

WAS GREAT.WILL RECOMEND IT AND WILL DO IT AGAIN

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was exceptional. The tour bus was comfortable, and the video during the ride was very informative. Once we arrived at Montecello, the docents on site were great.

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This one day tour was fantastic! Considering we only had one day to try and see as much as we could of Washington, we certainly felt we did this with the excellent driver and our guide who was such a joy to spend the day with. Her enthusiasm, passion and love for Washington's history was catching and very entertaining!
We would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting beautiful Washington!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Unbelievable history! Breathtaking views of the Potomac! Stood there imagining how Martha felt as she awaited the return of her husband. Audio guided tour was great, gave so much information as you traveled through the amazing property. Reciting the Pledge of Allegiance in a group, standing in front of the burial tombs of George and Martha, was an emotional experience. Such a privilege to spend time on the very land and in the very rooms of the property he called home. A full and informative perspective into the life of one of the greatest men to ever live. An absolute must for anyone who loves this great country!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! Excellent tour Guide! Thx Nick,

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to get to Mt. Vernon. There was plenty of time to see the estate, eat lunch and shop in the gift store. Don't buy any of the jellies or jams they offer if you are flying home...TSA confiscated these items at the airport!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We would recommend this tour to anyone. Bryan our tour guide was knowledgeable, funny and helpful. We were glad to have an air condition bus and bottle water available for us too. It was a very hot day and I don't think we would have been able to see all we did if we had done this on our own. Will book again with Viator tours.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message