The Battle of Gettysburg, the architecture of Thomas Jefferson, General Washington’s mausoleum; it would be a shame to visit DC and miss out on all the surrounding area has to offer. Consider portioning some of your time in this historical city to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1237 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Informative and comfortable with knowledgeable guide and driver.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Wanda J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was so nice to have the 7 day pass to go whenever we wanted, to any 3 of the cities. Price was reasonable also

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg City Tour

Joseph C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

When we got there we were told unless someone else showed up they would have to cancel our tour.No big deal for them but was very stressful to us.Luckily 2 more people showed up and the tour was done.Guide was fabulous and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Rhonda S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Monticello is spectacular, but a couple of issues reduced this review to three stars. We left Union Station at 8:00 and told we would arrive at Michie Tavern at 11:00 for lunch. A little after 11:00, we pulled into University of Virginia and were told that Michie Tavern couldn't take us until 12:00, so we would stay there until 11:45. It was raining a little, so it wasn't a great time to walk around, but that was our choice, besides sit on the bus. The driver didn't know where we could get a snack or use the restroom. No explanation for this was ever given. Once we arrived at Michie Tavern, we were treated like 6-year olds on a field trip. We were not allowed to walk around without a restaurant employee escorting us. It was highly regimented and just plain weird. This place is a tourist trap. We were supposed to tour Michie Tavern, but because we were running late, we skipped this part and went onto Monticello. The driver parked the bus at the bottom of the hill and we were supposed to meet him there. There was an overweight, older woman using a walker on the tour, and I walked ahead and asked the driver if he could go up to pick her up, rather than her traversing the gravel walkway with a walker. He refused and said it was too difficult, but that was where he dropped us off in the first place! He said I'll go up and talk to her. I'm not sure how talking was going to make her walk easier, but this could have very easily turned into a liability issue for the local tour operators. He walked her back to the bus. He was rude. The rest of the day went off without a hitch, and Monticello was fabulous. If I had it to do over again, I would rent a car for the day. It would have been cheaper and more fun.

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

Virginia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had the best tour guide ever! I would say that it would have been nice to have a little more time at Arlington. We ran out of time and weren't able to see the things we wanted there.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Jason P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Christopher was excellent. He was very professional, entertaining/ knowledgeable. He is an excellent guide. He never asked for tip at the end, which was refreshing although, pretty much everyone volunteered to provide :
He made the DC trip exceptional ....

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

dad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip
Wish we could of explored downtown Gettysburg
Intend of stopping for lunch at a strip mall.
Very interesting trip though

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

martaleida United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding experience. Well worth your time and money.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Barbara D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The bus driver driver was knowledgeable and tried to show us as much as possible on route to mt Vernon and Arlington.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was a perfect way to see DC in 6 hours. Our guide Christopher was absolutely WONDERFUL!
He was informative, big personality, friendly, funny and professional all in one package!! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit D.C. A

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

judyjacobs234

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip with knowledgeable driver. The museum at Mt. Vernon was interactive and delightful for a 74-year-old grandmother, a 44 year-old daddy and a 10 year-old grandson. We all enjoyed the tour of Mt. Vernon as well as Arlington. We stayed totally engaged the entire time.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Sabiha C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Kristofer and Ali were amazing !

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

D'Ann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour. The whole experience was great. Mount Vernon was nice to see the country side. Arlington National Cemetery was very moving tour. The changing of the guard was a very emotional experience. The whole tour was more than my husband and I expected.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Tommy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Chris and Tony were outstanding. Very comfortable, safe, entertaining and very informative. I can't think of a better way to do a quick orientation and see this much for a very reasonable price.
A great value.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

mothermolli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Tour guide Christopher was very knowledgeable, had a great sense of humour and was most accommodating of everyone's needs. Great value for money.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

GLENN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

John A. was especially good. Very professional, informational, knowledgeable, kind, courteous, helpful. John was the. BEST. tour guide I/we have ever had!!!!!!!! Sam, the driver, was super good in maneuvering the traffic.!! Glenn and Ellen Barnes

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Kerry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Mary was so knowledgeable! There was not a question raised by the 27 of us that she didn't know the answer to. She was so kind and made our day feel more like visiting a friend in a new town than taking a tour. I would recommend this tour to anyone. There is so much more to understand about the monuments than most of us realize!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip that gave a fantastic overview of the battle
The guide was really knowledgable and the tour followed the sequence of the battle.The new visitors centre is amazing and the tour of the Schriver House was really interesting
The day went really quickly and I would thoroughly recommend the tour

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Thomas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Mary is an excellent, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable tour guide. We truly enjoyed her stories full of
Informative facts and historical details.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

June C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our bus driver/tour guide, Wayne, was amazing! Informative, funny, courteous, helpful, and most of all professional. My sister and I had a wonderful time from start to finish. I would definitely sign up with Viator on my next adventure!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Brenda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great quick tour of D.C. It was my first time there so I was able to see several things in a short period of time. Our guide was wonderful. She told us so much history about everything. She was very pleasant and kept our group together. It was very educational. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

margaret r

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Cruise and Mt Vernon tour were very good. The weather was not. There wasn't enough time to enjoy all of Mt Vernon. It was difficult to hear the boat tour info- speakers not well placed and not loud enough.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Robert M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Chris and driver Tony were terrific. We saw the major monuments which was a great way to start our visit to DC. Unfortunately the boat ride was cancelled for reasons that were not clear to us and we never got to see the white house due to a lock down after there was a shooter at the Capitol. Otherwise I would recommend this as an introductory way to see sights.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Sarah R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, would have loved more time at Mt Vernon, felt a little rushed

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message