The Battle of Gettysburg, the architecture of Thomas Jefferson, General Washington’s mausoleum; it would be a shame to visit DC and miss out on all the surrounding area has to offer. Consider portioning some of your time in this historical city to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 635 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Tour was great - one of the best we've experienced! Our tour guide, David Cooper, was also great!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

the tour guide was very informative and knowledgeable of the area. Time spent at locations was efficient. Would recommend tours to anyone. A great experience.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Awesome tour and our tour guide was great!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Brilliant. We were in Washington for just 2 nights and thanks to this trip we got to see all the main points of interest. Our tour guide Lynette was lovely and new her stuff and our driver Evelyn was always there to meet us. Must do tour and great for the price.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The morning portion of the tour..that is, to Mt Vernon, was delightful experience. Our driver, David Cooper, gave excellent suggestions on how to navigate the mansion; he also provided an accurate time frame.
However, the afternoon portion was not as seemless. The tour was to be of Arlington Cemetery via tram; the date was Saturday, December 13th. It was the day of the annual wreath-laying ceremony at Arlington...the trams do not run on this day. As a result, we were on our own to tour the cemetery as we wished.
It seems to me that the tour company should have been aware of this and made other arrangements or cancelled the tour for that day.
Very disappointing.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The tour guide was really weird. Uncomfortable experience. Thank goodness it ended early

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Our tour time at Arlington was cut short because we had to go back to the facility to pick up additional tourists. We did get to see the changing of the guard but then had less than 15 mins. To see everything else. Very disappointed as I really expected the full afternoon there as the tour package indicated. Bad business in not delivering what we paid for--

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Ken C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An outstanding day tour with one of the best guides we have ever experienced. There were only 6 on the tour and this made it even better.
Brilliant weather with clear blue skies and an outstanding guide who shared all sorts of insightful comments and history. A great way to be introduced to the city. Pace of the tour was excellent , lunch break was good at the Pentagon Shopping Mall.
An outstanding day tour and certainly recommend it as a great way to get an introduction to this wonderful city and its history.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour...I highly recommend. Our tour guide Paul was super. The three stops in Alexandria were very informative and the docent lead tour at the Mt. Vernon mansion was wonderful. I recommend you give yourself at least three hours to tour the mansion and grounds and to have a quick bite.

Mike and Lorraine; January 2015

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The Mount Vernon and the Arlington National Cemetery Tour was a great way to spend a day in DC/Virginia.
Our driver was really engaging and gave us great tips on how to navigate Mount Vernon.

The only reason I don't give this 5 stars is because the instructions to Union Station were very vague and not very helpful. Unfortunately there were (not the driver) several staff members were very unprofessional and did not treat us well. It is not obvious that you need to have tickets for Mount Vernon or Arlington National Cemetery Tour (for the tram). This particular individual had a very nasty attitude when we asked questions. Specifically when he told my group that we needed to go inside the office, I only asked why did we need to do that, only to get a nasty look, followed by the rolling of the eyes and not a single reply to my question. Please be mindful that while you may know the area, we are just visitors and do not know how to navigate around. Answering our questions would be helpful. It really set a nasty tone right at the beginning, but soon the driver and the tour washed that nasty experience away.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

We enjoyed our trip to Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery. The bus driver was knowledgeable and friendly. We had ample time to see all the sites at Mount Vernon and enjoyed lunch on the site. Because Viator also offers just a morning or just an afternoon tour, those of us who paid for the whole day, had to be taken back to Union Station to let off the morning tour goers and then pick up the afternoon people. We ended up waiting in the Union Station for quite some time while the bus driver visited with other bus drivers. It was a waste of our time and then we got to the Arlington National Cemetery late and barely made it to see the changing of the guard. It seemed unfair to the full day paying tour goers to have to waste 1 or more hours of the trip as a convenience for Viator. I would recommend them looking at a way to remedy this situation. Thank you!!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very nice. The driver was very knowledgable and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

excellent day trip! smooth boat ride down the Potomac, Washington's estate is amazing! dont miss it!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour of DC highlights. War memorials were awe inspiring. First time seeing the World War II and Korean sites, Our tour guide, Andy, did a great job. Well done.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message