The Battle of Gettysburg, the architecture of Thomas Jefferson, General Washington’s mausoleum; it would be a shame to visit DC and miss out on all the surrounding area has to offer. Consider portioning some of your time in this historical city to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1258 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Informative and comfortable with knowledgeable guide and driver.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Marie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a truly fun, relaxing and enjoyable way to get to see Monticello. During the 2 hour ride, we watched a DVD about Thomas Jefferson and on the way home, we saw a most amazing DVD about the Lewis and Clark adventure. We were treated to a surprise stop at the University of Virginia and had a chance to take a quick walk around to see the Rotunda, the Chapel and the old classrooms and dorms. Continuing on up the road for a trip into the past to the Michie Tavern for a delicious lunch and tour of the beautiful grounds. Our bus driver was really great, caring and we all felt very safe with him at the wheel. In minutes, we got to Monticello and had a few hours to walk around to see all there is to see, including a guided tour of the inside of this amazing home. I would certainly recommend this to anyone wishing to visit DC and all that it has to offer.

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

Wanda J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was so nice to have the 7 day pass to go whenever we wanted, to any 3 of the cities. Price was reasonable also

Doing what: Colonial Williamsburg Admission

MichaelM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip and super value....pity the weather wasn't gr8. Definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our driver was great and so was the lunch. Had plenty of time at Monticello as they have removed the visit to the University of Virginia -- Good call. Loved the day and had a great trip!

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

patrick.versepuy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

La visite de la maison de Georges Washington à Mount Vernon est l'occasion de faire une petite croisière sur le Potomac qui borde Washington DC. La maison du maître est très richement décorée contrastant avec les petites maison des employés et esclaves de Washington. C'est un lieu magnifique avec une vue splendide sur le Potomac. La croisière est également très instructive autant que belle.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Mariesol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was wonderful. Learned a lot. The changing of the guards is not be missed very moving ceremony.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Dana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour! A stop in downtown Gettysburg at the Shriver House with our own personal docents was a great start! We then moved on to the Gettysburg National MilitaryPark Museum and Visitor Center. We received a ticket for the Museum, the Film and the Cyclorama. The tour was concluded with a two-hour battlefield tour guided by a Licensed Battlefield Guide. This was an all-day tour. Well worth the .

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

jftwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was wonderful. So full of information it brought the civil war to life. To actually see the battle field was great. The visitors center had great things to see. The panorama show was fantastic. A painting brought to life all the way around. That was the best part of the trip. I would recommend this trip to everyone who comes to Washington DC.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Enjoyed the tour and Brian very much. He was very knowledgeable and explained any questions we had thoroughly.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Janet K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Bus driver was outstanding. He gave us interesting information as we drove into and out of Washington DC. He had good advice for places to eat in Gettysburg, and provided valuable information about the visitor's center.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

chegrma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Chris was great, knew alot about all the sites we stopped at. Our driver Osai really knew how to get us to our destination in all that crazy traffic! It's a great tour to see alot of the DC sites in 1 day - we didn't have much time in Washington so it was what we wanted.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Jane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were apprehensive about this tour and ensuring we found the place in Union station to depart from. We need not have worried the instructions were perfect and the tour was really good. We had a very engaging driver named David who really made us welcome and shared lots of information. There is lots to see at Gettysburg and a guide joins the coach to take you to interesting points. The guide really knew his stuff and we thought this tour was excellent.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Jane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved the boat trip done the Potomac though felt we should have been told we needed ID to collect the tickets. Mount Vernon is a wonderful place and the staff and guides are so engaging we thought this was good value as there is a lot to see.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Jane T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a great cruise up the Potomac even though the weather was damp. Mt. Vernon was a fantastic place to visit. Great museum, great history. Would recommend taking this vs. driving.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

kenyon k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Tour- I loved it. The guide was very knowledgeable and we felt we really saw the battle. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Traci G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very crowded. Knowledgeable staff

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Joseph C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

When we got there we were told unless someone else showed up they would have to cancel our tour.No big deal for them but was very stressful to us.Luckily 2 more people showed up and the tour was done.Guide was fabulous and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

reginad55

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour itself was awesome. The guide Nick was superb his knowledge coupled with his humor was above exceptional. The only issue was the advertisement indicated that the tour would be aboard a luxury bus and the bus we were on was no where near luxury. I wish I had taken a picture of the bus. I choose this tour for our group based on the advertisement and I was thoroughly disappointed. Luckily we had a great tour guide.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

reginad55

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour itself was awesome. The guide Nick was superb his knowledge coupled with his humor was above exceptional. The only issue was the advertisement indicated that the tour would be aboard a luxury bus and the bus we were on was no where near luxury. I wish I had taken a picture of the bus. I choose this tour for our group based on the advertisement and I was thoroughly disappointed. Luckily we had a great tour guide.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Francis B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Excellent driver and good place to visit to understand Washington .

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Francis B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Excellent driver and good place to visit to understand Washington .

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

Niranjan

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Nice tour. Guide was informative and funny. Customer service also was cooperative. Thank you Team Viator.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message