The Battle of Gettysburg, the architecture of Thomas Jefferson, General Washington’s mausoleum; it would be a shame to visit DC and miss out on all the surrounding area has to offer. Consider portioning some of your time in this historical city to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 863 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ramona E
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Kudos to passionate tour guide Andy and bus driver Tony for a great tour!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was easy to book the tour. We really enjoyed the relaxing river trip combined with visit to Mount Vernon. The views of the river added a new dimension to seeing George Washington's home. Mount Vernon is a wonderful stop all by itself: the house, tour, lunch at the Mount Vernon Inn, the new museum, and a fabulous gift shop.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Andy our tour guide was very energetic and knowledgeable. We will highly recommend this tour.
Ada and Len Greenfield

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Driver was very knowledgeable and friendly...good time thank you!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

NewTravler
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and day trip! I've always wanted to visit Monticello and glad I finally did. I read the reviews on Viator prior to booking and now I am paying it forward. The bus ride was comfortable with a friendly bus driver. The drive there featured a DVD on Thomas Jefferson and the ride back featured a movie. The tour of Jefferson's house was awesome and the tour guide was very informative. The Monticello grounds and surrounding views are amazing. I was able to catch most of one of the two free tours of different parts of the grounds. While we were given several hours at Monticello, I personally could have used a bit more time...but then again I am a history buff and tend to take a while soaking everything in. In summary, it was a great day trip and tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

NewTravler
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and a must see for any vacation in the Washington DC area. The boat cruise on the Potomac River was enjoyable. Once we arrived we had set times for the house tour which allowed plenty of time afterwards to tour different parts of the grounds including a small on-site museum. I found out this large estate and surrounding land is only a fraction of the surrounding land that George Washington owned when he was alive. The tour of home was great and really is a step back in time to the founding days of United States. Highly recommended!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Not a single complaint.....well, except the coffee on the boat was really undrinkable. Strangest off taste I have ever encountered--and I am not normally picky about my coffee. Other than that, everything was great. Everything about the trip was well organized and professional.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great! The boat ride on the Spirit of Mount Vernon was fantastic and informative although a tad chilly and it was a great way to approach the estate. The grounds at Mount Vernon were spectacular, as was the tour within the house. My only complaint is that I wish we had more time to spend there, not being able to see the Distillery and feeling a bit rushed in the GORGEOUS museum that they have in the visitor's center / food court. Another regret is my choice in footwear all of the paths are gravel/dirt, so sneakers are a must!! I recommend this trip to all, but bring a jacket for the boat ride and do not wear sandals!!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very nice trip. Mt. Vernon is beautiful. It was a very hot day so we didn't explore as much as we thought we would.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The was exceptional and fabulous. My family enjoyed every minute. We wished it could have lasted longer. We highly recommend it. We enjoyed watching the Gettysburg movie on the trip there and back.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful tour. The cruise down the Potomac was relaxing as well as informational. There was ample time to tour Mount Vernon before returning to DC. I would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Five stars....loved everything...boat, food, personnel. Thanks.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would recommend this tour if you only have 1-2 days in DC, its gives you a fantastic overview of what to see in DC. If course if you want to spend time in the many museums, you will need to need a week or more!
It was quite hot when we visited, so the air-conditioned bus and cold water allowed us to cover much more ground then you could do yourself.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice I loved the boat ride and then the tour.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had an excellent experience with Linda, our tour guide, and Tony, the driver. Linda was enthusiastic, well informed and caring of her group's well being.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Completely efficient from start to finish. Our tour guide Andy was absolutely fantastic, he worked so hard, his knowledge was brilliant and he made the tour amazing, he made it interesting and held our attention, he had us all in the palm of his hand. What a very interesting guy. Since the tour I have wanted to find out more about some of the places we visited and famous people he told us about. Please pass on our praise of Andy to the company

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The attention to detail and our tour Guide John was a great host during our day in Washington, DC.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a short business trip and wanted to include a day of sight seeing. This was certainly the way to go. Our Tour Guide, Joan was awesome. She provided extra tidbits of info for an extra special touch and was so knowledgeable and courteous at all of our stops. The trip accommodations were wonderful. Must Do!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a great way to visit Mt. Vernon. The cruise was lovely. Will definitely plan to do this again with out-of-town guests.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable! Clean bus, knowledgeable guides, overall an excellent tour.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We highly recommend this tour. It is a great way to see the sights. Our tour guide, Christopher, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The boat ride on the Potomac was nice. Wear comfortable shoes. Even though you are on the bus you still get off to look at the different memorials, White House, etc.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The whole day was a great experience.

From the driver, through the tour of the town house, the presentation and diorama in the Visitors Centre and finally the battleground tour with the guide brought the event to life.

One of our most interesting experiences of our US holiday.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide/bus driver was so good and had the best personality. Nice air conditioned buses. I could have used one less hour of Mt. Vernon and 1 more hour of Arlington. I felt like we rushed through it a bit.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message