• USD ($)
  • English
The Battle of Gettysburg, the architecture of Thomas Jefferson, General Washington’s mausoleum; it would be a shame to visit DC and miss out on all the surrounding area has to offer. Consider portioning some of your time in this historical city to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 461 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Took my 12 year old grandson for 6 days in Washington DC over spring break. We saw almost everything we had planned and had a wonderful time. My favorite day was the trip to Mr. Vernon. Mt Vernon and our tour director was wonderful!

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I was extremely impressed with the whole experience !! The driver and tour guide were very knowledgable and very interesting. I have already referred the tour to friends traveling to DC.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour - the driver was very informative. Would recommend in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful tour. Truman, our tour guide, was passionate and knowledgeable about Gettysburg and we learned so much. He also recommended a book that I purchased in the gift shop and that I am anxious to begin reading: Gettysburg: A Strange and Blighted Land by Gregory A. Coco. Informative, emotional and worthwhile tour for anyone interested in Civil War history. A day well-spent.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

This full day tour is divided into 2 halves- Mount Vernon in the morning and Arlington in the afternoon. I would rate the Mount Vernon a 5+ and would definitely recommend this. The afternoon tour was ok. What we were able to see was great but it was really too rushed to really take in the sights at Arlington.

I would recommend the half day Mount Vernon tour and just go see Arlington independently without this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The bus tour was great. Loved the guide, made the tour so much fun. The downside was the guide was given the wrong time for our one hour boat tour of the river, so we missed it. The boat tour was one of the main reasons we chose this tour. Was not happy with missing the boat ride and lunch on the river.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The return to the bus terminal to pick up afternoon group was a waste. This should not be sold as a full day tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Tour did not include what was described. Our tour guide did give us a little history of DC, but not the information on Alexandria as described, I don't think he mentioned any of the places described on tour description. He just dropped us off at Mount Vernon and picked us up later. The description of tour says the tour guide would guide us through Mount Vernon. Fortunately, Mount Vernon does have guides stationed throughout to give you information. The tour van had broken seat belts that didn't work, and the driver was aware of this. Tour guide/driver just said, " It will be okay, you'll be safe." I didn't really feel comfortable with that answer (especially since it was raining that day). Tour guide was very pleasant, however.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were only in DC for a long weekend and we wanted to see everything possible in a relatively short period of time, so this tour was great for getting the most out of a day. Our driver/guide was knowledgable and entertaining, and since we went in mid February, the crowds were minimal. You have the most time to spend in Mt. Vernon (approx 3 hrs), which worked for us as that was what we were most interested in seeing. It gave us enough time to see all the areas, do a little souvenir shopping and grab lunch. You then drive through Old Alexandria on your way to Arlington. You probably have the least amount of time in Arlington to stroll around, but if you hit all the tram's, you'll be able to see all the key areas (changing of the guard, Arlington house...etc.) and still be back in time. Then off to the National Mall where there is another 1.5 hrs or so to explore the various memorials, which we found to be enough time as well. Overall, the trip was perfect for what we were looking for and is probably the best way to get the most out of 1 day. As mentioned in other reviews, the only part that could have been better is the communication on how to get to the bus terminal to start the tour. We made it as we gave ourselves extra time, but I could see where it may be difficult to find if going there for the first time. Again, great trip overall.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This day was a highlight of our vacation. The drive to Mt. Vernon through Old Town Alexandria was beautiful. Mt. Vernon is a place that should not be missed. It really gives one a sense of the life of George and Mary Washington. The extensive grounds are just beautiful. Stunning views along the Potomac River, the Tomb and the Museum are all worth taking the time to see. Very well and accurately preserved. What a treasure. Of course, Arlington Cemetery is also a national treasure and a significant and moving experience. It makes one realize the extent of sacrifice and patriotism that characterizes our country. Our driver was Tony, he was very pleasant and entertaining.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I really enjoyed the tour. Nick, the tour guide was awesome.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Loved Mt. Vernon once we were dropped off. However, we couldn't visit a lot of the grounds because of the snow. On the hand, there was not a great crowd which was nice. I felt it was questionable whether the van could make the trip. It didn't seem in the best condition. I also thought more time would be spent in Alexandria.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The DVD player on the bus was not working so we weren't able to see the DVD on Thomas Jefferson on the way to Monticello. After almost 3 hours on the bus, it would have been better to allow us a restroom break before funneling us directly into the tour at Michy's Tavern. We then had to wait until everyone was finished shopping at the gift shop after the tour before being taken over to the buffet and restrooms. The food was excellent! Monticello is not to be missed!

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour bus was a relaxing and comfortable way to travel. It was my first day in DC and lucky the weather was cool and clear day. The driver was informative but not exciting but then it was a 8 hr day. I would definitely recommend this tour. Mt Vernon and Arlington is a beautiful area.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great day, I'd totally recommend this tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable and was helpful. Only thing that was even remotely a problem was that our driver forgot to tell us to get lunch at Mount Vernon.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message