The Battle of Gettysburg, the architecture of Thomas Jefferson, General Washington’s mausoleum; it would be a shame to visit DC and miss out on all the surrounding area has to offer. Consider portioning some of your time in this historical city to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 836 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was easy to book the tour. We really enjoyed the relaxing river trip combined with visit to Mount Vernon. The views of the river added a new dimension to seeing George Washington's home. Mount Vernon is a wonderful stop all by itself: the house, tour, lunch at the Mount Vernon Inn, the new museum, and a fabulous gift shop.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Andy our tour guide was very energetic and knowledgeable. We will highly recommend this tour.
Ada and Len Greenfield

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Driver was very knowledgeable and friendly...good time thank you!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

NewTravler
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and day trip! I've always wanted to visit Monticello and glad I finally did. I read the reviews on Viator prior to booking and now I am paying it forward. The bus ride was comfortable with a friendly bus driver. The drive there featured a DVD on Thomas Jefferson and the ride back featured a movie. The tour of Jefferson's house was awesome and the tour guide was very informative. The Monticello grounds and surrounding views are amazing. I was able to catch most of one of the two free tours of different parts of the grounds. While we were given several hours at Monticello, I personally could have used a bit more time...but then again I am a history buff and tend to take a while soaking everything in. In summary, it was a great day trip and tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

NewTravler
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and a must see for any vacation in the Washington DC area. The boat cruise on the Potomac River was enjoyable. Once we arrived we had set times for the house tour which allowed plenty of time afterwards to tour different parts of the grounds including a small on-site museum. I found out this large estate and surrounding land is only a fraction of the surrounding land that George Washington owned when he was alive. The tour of home was great and really is a step back in time to the founding days of United States. Highly recommended!

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very nice trip. Mt. Vernon is beautiful. It was a very hot day so we didn't explore as much as we thought we would.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The was exceptional and fabulous. My family enjoyed every minute. We wished it could have lasted longer. We highly recommend it. We enjoyed watching the Gettysburg movie on the trip there and back.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would recommend this tour if you only have 1-2 days in DC, its gives you a fantastic overview of what to see in DC. If course if you want to spend time in the many museums, you will need to need a week or more!
It was quite hot when we visited, so the air-conditioned bus and cold water allowed us to cover much more ground then you could do yourself.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice I loved the boat ride and then the tour.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very good tour. Christopher our young guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Only criticism was the picking up point. We found the correct location but there were no signs or stop notices to tell us where the actual bus stop was. We asked several people in the area but nobody knew. When the tour bus arrived there was no indication that it was a Viator tour. Perhaps a portable 'A' board could be displayed as to the picking up point?

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Richard was our bus driver. Very informed and knowledgeable. I only have one small complaint and that is the tour said we were going to go to the Lincoln Memorial and Viet Nam memorial and have a chance to walk around. I feel we spent to much time at Mt. Vernon. But , overall it was a nice tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed our tour. Our driver Raleil was a very careful and good driver. Our tour guide, Andy, was very good. He really knew his history and tied all the points of interest into a powerful meaning for all. However, Andy did do a little bit to much acting in getting his point across. I guess you could say it was a little over the top. However, I would recommend the tour to others. The boat ride was very enjoyable and included interesting sights, too. The bus and bottles of water were a very welcoming relief on such a warm day. Thank you!!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Mt. Vernon is a wonderful place to visit. You can feel the history here. If you are a fan of George Washington, it's a must to see.

Doing what: Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was amazing! Only thing that wasn't amazing was some of the other tourists being annoying but that's life.

Mary was our tour guide and she was incredible. Extremely knowledgable about all the locations and told us about their things we could do on our stay here.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Mount Vernon is very interesting. It is a nice day trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I want to tell you that we thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Andy, the tour guide, was amazing! Very knowledgeable and entertaining! Tony, our driver, was very nice. We were thrilled to have taken this wonderful tour!
Márta

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Only one way to describe this-- AWESOME!

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Covered a lot in 6 hours, exactly what I wanted

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Covered a lot in 6 hours, exactly what I wanted

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was informative and professional. He made it so much fun. The driver was kind and professional. I recommend this tour!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent !!!! The best tour guide you could get. Very knowlegable, funny and great with the traffic as their were streets blocked due to a street Parade. Saw all the major monuments and sights with the River Cruise after lunch giving you a different perspective of DC.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Cruising the Potomac River made our Mt. Vernon trip very special. Many interesting sights and bits of history were pointed out along the way. Mt. Vernon is a must-see! We need to go back to spend more time in the interactive education center. The movies were great. The tour of the house was excellent and managed quite well with all of the many visitors.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic. Craig was incredibly knowledgeable and incredibly prepared. Saw all the highlights of DC and finished off with a beautiful cruise down the Potomac.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great. It was amazing to actually see where the battle took place and to hear from our park guide what the soldiers would have experienced on that 3 days of fighting

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message