The Battle of Gettysburg, the architecture of Thomas Jefferson, General Washington’s mausoleum; it would be a shame to visit DC and miss out on all the surrounding area has to offer. Consider portioning some of your time in this historical city to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1175 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

suzanne.henry1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip was very interesting. Our specialist guide at Gettysburg was very knowledgeable.

Out lady driver was excellent and she had a great personality.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Richard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a very nice trip well worth the ticket price. Mount Vernon is a beautiful place to visit. We went on Columbus Day so we were not able see everything of interest during the 3 1/2 hr stay. Staff said non holiday visits are less crowded. The museum is unbelieveable, right down to Washington's dentures. The river is calm with scenic views. Highly recommended.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Sarah B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour with a very funny and knowledgeable driver /guide, Tony.
Mount Vernon was very surreal and beautiful place which had lovely grounds.
Arlington cemetery was also breathtaking and the changing of the guard brilliant. Well worth a visit to cemetery if visiting Washington.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Mandie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our Driver was excellent! Definitely a great trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Christopher the tour guide made the day! He was super knowledgable and engaging!

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Barry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Christopher the tour guide was a very knoeldgeable young man with a great sense of humour. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

magdalena v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide did a very good work.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

eric d

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

good trip, however didn't get to spend much time at any stop in Gettysbury..Felt rushed all day, but that is what you get with a guided tour..Much better to go solo next time

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Philip S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The day cruise down to Mount Vernon was very well done. Just enough info from the crew on what we were passing but still time to carry on a conversation with fellow passengers on the way down and way back to DC. The tour of Mt Vernon itself was good as well. You were given the right amount of time to tour the buildings as well as get a snack if you wanted as well. Got back to the dock in plenty of time for the relaxing sail back to DC. Weather was great for that time of year as well.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

ronwiesia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

To short of a tour. Not enough of time to see everything. This trip should be ONLY to see the Jefferson home and grounds.

Doing what: Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip from Washington DC

michael jwilson m

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

very informative only problem p/a on bus not working missed a lot of commentary as we were sitting at back of bus.

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

Ricky B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Driver was very knowledgeable and nice.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

A Robert C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

It was great. Especially Mt Vernon.. Could have used more time at Arlington

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Jeffrey F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The driver was funny and informative. We enjoyed the trip

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Rees M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a most informative tour. Enjoyed Mount Vernon and could have stayed longer to take in more of the museum.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

hunterfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable day, and the cruise on the river is a great way of seeing something different.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Britt B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Not to be missed! From Union Station we left D.C. with a very informative and pleasant guide. The fall colors and the fog rising from the Potomac river made for a beautiful trip to Alexandria and a brief stop at the Christ Church for photo-ops. At Mount Vernon we were turned loose on our own and could create our individual agenda. The Mansion tour was guided, however a map of the estate was easy to follow. The impressive estate designed by a brilliant man and president ,with a vision of the future and the needs of people, is evident all over. A shuttle service is provided between a few places, since a lot of walking is required. Docents, full of information, are all around to answer questions. If you have time, the Mount Vernon Inn serves an excellent lunch.
A short trip to Arlington also provided us with the option to choose our own agenda. A guided shuttle service was provided in between the various memorials. The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, the Changing of the Guards in front of the Memorial Amphitheater are not to be missed as well as The Kennedy Memorial with the eternal flame. Arlington Cemetery is a beautiful Shrine to those who served our Nation with Honor. If you have to visit friends or family resting here, as I did, a private graveside shuttle is provided for you at the Administration Building.
Since I finished the tour at Arlington, I can't comment on any further stops. It was a great tour with a very pleasant and Informative guide.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Harold Freedman F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A little wobbly at the start, as the bus and tour guide were late and the group was standing and wondering what was happening. However, once we were on our way the driver and tour guide were both excellent and the tour provided everything we were promised and again, excellent tour guide Nick???. Very happy to have the river cruise included a week after the end of the season for that. Cheers Harry and Jill Freedman

Doing what: Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour

jbuchan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We highly recommend this tour.....well organized, excellent, entertaining, informative driver as well as speaker guides. The information given and all the areas covered really brings history alive.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Qin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I loved this tour. It was exciting and sad at the same time to be in the Gettysburg battlefield where thousands of people of the same country killed when fighting for their principles. It was a turning point in the American History and from this day it shaped the core values of our country.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

joebono

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Mt. Vernon is beautiful and more extensive than I expected. Learned a lot about George Washington that I didn't know.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Tour guide/driver was humorous and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Timothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely wonderful excursion. Starting with a friendly staff on the river boat cruise to the fantastic home, museum, pioneer farming and exhibitions going on that day. My only negative comment would be that I wish it lasted longer.

Doing what: In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a great time on this tour. Our driver was excellent and we didn't feel rushed. Although our time at Arlington Cemetery didn't feel long enough so much to do. Our bus driver said we could stay longer, but would need to take the train back. Many of the passengers did just that, I would highly recommend that too. The best part was visiting Mount Vernon. Make sure to wait in line by the garden to get a tour of the inside of his home, we almost missed it. Also, as you head back to the food court, don't forget to stop by the small museum inside. Unfortunately, we missed it and didn't get to see some of Washington's belongings, including his dentures!

Doing what: Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour

Graham P M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the tour immensely. As Australians visiting the site of the battle of Gettysburg was a very moving experience and one I would highly recommend to anyone thinking of taking this tour.

Doing what: Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message